Search:

SIYE Time:15:08 on 22nd January 2018


Reviewer: snarky24 Signed Date: 2018.01.21 - 07:07PM Title: Bitterness of the Past

starstarstarstarstar

Loved the Quidditch try outs and how you brought Hermione in. For a moment, I thought Romilda was going to be an insufferable Quidditch star! I’m very glad she did not make the team! I also really love Ginny’s friend group — Hermione, Parvati, Liz, Siobhan, etc. You’re great at giving them distinct personalities and the dialogue flows really well! I’ve always found it hard to write scenes with several people in them.

Harry’s “demon decorator” makes me laugh :) I think Harry’s strategy for dealing with the fan girls is so endearingly Harry-like and seems to be working just fine for him. I think Harry’s inexperience with girls is an interesting role reversal for Harry and Ron. It will be entertaining to see how that plays out. I really missed Ron this chapter! Hope we see more of him too.

The idea of the Dementors organizing is absolutely terrifying!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you like the Dementor angle, as that will continue. Ron does appear in the next chapter - and George, too! I like letting Ron having the upper hand in a few situations. Harry's great under pressure with Dark Lords and unimaginable terror, but the real life, day to day stuff, he's never really had a chance for that. A "quiet life" still has stressors!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 04:39PM Title: Bitterness of the Past

This was certainly a fun chapter to read! The quiddich trials were a real hoot especially with Hermoine as analyst! It seemed to have gone well for captain Ginny! Poor Harry seems to be suffering from "Snape Syndrome" with his potions studies! Good thing George got him to give it a rest(if you pair George with Violet you'll be one of the few not pairing him with Angelina - variety is the spice of life)! Good thing Harry wasn't trying to study with Ron because the only thing Ron is usually good at studying is his food or Hermoine! Will be interested in seeing what happens with the Dementors! Hope our favorite couples have a hook up soon! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 04:38PM Title: Bitterness of the Past

starstarstarstarstar

This was certainly a fun chapter to read! The quiddich trials were a real hoot especially with Hermoine as analyst! It seemed to have gone well for captain Ginny! Poor Harry seems to be suffering from "Snape Syndrome" with his potions studies! Good thing George got him to give it a rest(if you pair George with Violet you'll be one of the few not pairing him with Angelina - variety is the spice of life)! Good thing Harry wasn't trying to study with Ron because the only thing Ron is usually good at studying is his food or Hermoine! Will be interested in seeing what happens with the Dementors! Hope our favorite couples have a hook up soon! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you thought it was fun. I actually had a lot of fun with the group of girls at Hogwarts during this story, so I hope you'll continue to think so. There will be several times during the course of the story where thee couples can get together. I think the first one is in the chapter after next, although don't hold me to it!



Reviewer: SilvaGrey Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 03:15PM Title: Bitterness of the Past

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks! :)



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.01.18 - 09:10AM Title: Bitterness of the Past

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! I love the way that Ginny is welcoming help from Hermione when it comes to some of the analysis of Quidditch. Hopefully Harry will open himself to accepting assistance from George with Potions. I'm curious to see how the problem of the Dementors plays out over time. Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Thanks! The problem of the Dementors will be an ongoing story arc, so more to come.



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2018.01.17 - 11:53PM Title: Bitterness of the Past

starstarstarstarstar

It gets better and better. I'm surprised that Ron isn't having trouble with potions too in the books he was never any better than Harry. And speaking of Ron why is he not speaking up for Harry to Savage. I mean Ron and Harry are best friends so a little teasing between them is OK but if it were me I'd say something.
Ginny seems like she built a strong team but are she and Harry on the same page when it comes to their physical relationship?

Author's Response: Thanks! When it comes to extra study vs. food - which one do you think Ron would choose? ;) As for the teasing, I think it's good for Harry. In watching my sons, they just seem to relate to each other and their friends through barbs and teasing. Sometimes, it seems harsh to me, but they laugh it off, I think it's just a difference in how the sexes relate to each other. Anyway, that's what I modeled it after. Ginny and Harry's physical relationship... well, that's part of the story so I'm not going to answer that one for now.



Reviewer: snarky24 Signed Date: 2018.01.14 - 09:18PM Title: Ghosts and Phantoms

starstarstarstarstar

I liked how Ginny took a moment to visit the place where Fred died. Very well-written! I also like your take on Astoria. My favorite part was all the teasing at the Leaky Cauldron! I know it nettles Harry, but it’s endearing at the same time!

Author's Response: Thanks! I like to tease Harry. He's spent so much time dealing with extraordinary things, I like to see him a little baffled by the ordinary.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.01.12 - 08:06PM Title: Ghosts and Phantoms

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry! He really does have rotten luck. Unfortunately he may not be able to be out in public for a while longer. Someone needs to teach George to watch his mouth, perhaps Angelina. Great update!

Author's Response: Thanks! I think Harry will always be hounded by the press , much like our own celebrities - he just needs to learn how to cope with it. In watching my own sons, they tease each other unmercifully, but have each other's back when push comes to shove. I like to think the Weasley boys have accepted Harry into this dynamic.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2018.01.12 - 01:01AM Title: Ghosts and Phantoms

starstarstarstarstar

Lol. Love the ending. Sad to hear Susan Bones did no make it. You mentioned the Patronus. Will this play a part in another Harry is a very powerful wizrd sceario? Cannot wait. Did the others even r and can do a wronski faint?know that Harry is an excellent seeke

Author's Response: Alas, I think I've mentioned that I have an unreasonable dislike of Susan Bones, lol. This won't be a Super!Harry fic, if that's what you're wondering, but he will have a lot of need for using his Patronus.



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2018.01.11 - 11:51PM Title: Ghosts and Phantoms

Great chapter. I'm glad you brought Astoria in. I doubt Harry will ever go out with Ron and George again. I hope the press didn't hear because whether or not Harry and Ginny have been together is really no one's business.

Author's Response: Heh - don't worry, Harry will get used to the Weasley boys treating him just like they do each other ;) While it's true that it's no one's business, I imagine it's similar like we treat our celebrities, and all privacy is off limits. Don't worry though, the bar was crowded and noisy, so Harry's fears that everyone could hear what was being said were more his own discomfort.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.01.11 - 08:54AM Title: Ghosts and Phantoms

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! It's a difficult adjustment after you've been in a war! Glad to see Harry and Ginny are communicating! Poor Harry can't catch a break with the press! Can't wait for the next chapter! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, the press will continue to hound Harry, much as we see them do with our own celebrities. It's something, I think, he'll just have to learn to deal with, difficult as that might be.



Reviewer: Hank Signed Date: 2018.01.10 - 10:45PM Title: Ghosts and Phantoms

starstarstarstarstar

Ah, what are friends for if not to get you into as much trouble as they can! Gotta love Ron and George. I'm beginning to think Harry should have gone with Ginny and told Shacklebolt that he could borrow him during the weekends.... Excellent update!

Author's Response: LOL - thanks for the review. I wrote this scene after watching my teenage sons and their friends interact. It's an endless stream of teasing and insults, yet they continue to roll with it. I tried to incorporate some of that here.



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2018.01.08 - 12:52PM Title: Hurts to Say Goodbye

Off to a fun start! Good to see the sequel that you teased on Cuts That I have. Also, is the timing coincidental or did you intentionally start publishing this story EXACTLY 2 years after you published the last chapter of the original?

Author's Response: Blinks. I did? Sorry - I didn't even realize until you've just mentioned it, lol. That's a hoot, though! My goal was to finish by Christmas, which I did by the skin of my teeth. It's been in beta since then. I've been writing off and on since Cuts finished.



Reviewer: snarky24 Signed Date: 2018.01.07 - 11:21PM Title: Hurts to Say Goodbye

starstarstarstarstar

I loved the girl talk on the train and your portrayal of Luna — you did a great job of capturing her perceptiveness and expressing it in Luna’s own eccentric way.

Poor Ron! I hadn’t thought about how seeing Hagrid carrying Harry might cause him to be overprotective. It’s always hard for me to see Harry and Ron argue because I love those two!

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks so much for pointing out Luna. I haven't used her much in the past because I find her difficult. One of my goals for this story was to bring her in more, so I'm delighted you pointed it out! As for Ron, don't worry - I'm a big fan, and I adore the friendship between the boys. I think Ron takes a lot of unfair abuse in the fandom, and I strive not to do that. I think he's overprotective in general, and losing Harry would've shook him to his core.



Reviewer: SilvaGrey Signed Date: 2018.01.07 - 04:52PM Title: Hurts to Say Goodbye

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2018.01.07 - 02:55AM Title: Hurts to Say Goodbye

starstarstarstarstar

I'm so excited to see this story come up on the Most Recent List! I've been reading your reviews and as always, they're favorable.

I think I missed something in the Ginny section that clashes with canon. You say that Simon and Seamus were the ones with the idea to hide in the Room of Requirement, when it really was Neville who discovered the Room would provide a safe haven for anyone who wanted to escape the Carrows. However, I started thinking about that and maybe you're right: while Neville discovered what the Room could do for them, it could very well be Simon and Seamus who noticed he was missing and made the decision to go find him and then tell the others about their discovery of the safe hiding place. While this theory isn't completely canon, it certainly fits what Neville told Harry, Ron and Hermione on the night of the Battle.

Nitpicks aside, I love how you're tackling certain adult content and showing how each of the characters has matured over the summer.

Well done. I look forward to chapter two.

Author's Response: Aww, it's so sweet of you to leave comments here, too! When I started this project - over two years ago now - I kept my copy of DH on my desk to fact check. I know it was Neville who was the first to live there, but since he was in hiding, I thought it reasonable that others might've had to convey that message. I thought getting someone from another House seemed plausible, so there came Simon. As for adult content - yes, they're growing up. JKR never covered any of it as they were younger, but as they age, I think their storylines would have to, as well. I think even JKR slipped little bits in there to show this was happening. Thank you again for all your immeasurable help. I adored working with you. I love how you make me think how to make things fit!



Reviewer: Lokken Signed Date: 2018.01.06 - 03:38PM Title: Hurts to Say Goodbye

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Hank Signed Date: 2018.01.06 - 03:19PM Title: Hurts to Say Goodbye

starstarstarstarstar

Off to a good start! I'm looking forward to more! It's interesting how you've got Ron and Harry going back and forth at the end. I'm curious as to how you are going to handle the dynamics between the two. Should make for some good reading. Thanks!!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm a big Ron fan, but I don't deny he has his flaws, lol. I think a lot of the characters will be suffering some PTSD after the war, and this story tries to examine some of it. For Ron, he never really experienced a loss like that until Fred. I think losing Harry the same way only getting another chance would make him hyper sensitive to the fragility of life. He tries too hard to protect both Harry and Ginny, and only drives them spare in the process.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.01.06 - 08:05AM Title: Hurts to Say Goodbye

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Good to see you back with your excellent writing.

Author's Response: Thanks! It's good to be back!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.01.05 - 03:45PM Title: Hurts to Say Goodbye

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry! It has to be horribly awkward for him to even think about Ron and Hermione together physically, let alone walk in on them. Bill gave Harry sound advice about writing to Ginny. Hopefully he will write a good clear letter concerning the incident at the station, and they will avoid a silly misunderstanding. Looking forward to reading more!

Author's Response: I think it's part of Bill's DNA to be a big brother, and Harry has been taken under his wing. I hope you enjoy the story.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear