Search:

SIYE Time:7:43 on 21st April 2018


Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.03.23 - 01:02PM Title: Recovery and Reversals

starstarstarstarstar

Hermione is learning, but damn she's a hypocrite! All I could think of was her spending all of potions hissing at Harry about the Half-Blood Prince. She doesn't mind talking when she's doing it. I thought is was funny when she tried to rally people to her pov, but no one backed her. I think she's finally starting to have some empathy for the other students.

Author's Response: I think it would be really hard for Hermione to reconcile her image of Hogwarts to what the students went through the previous year, so it'll take some time. Hermione tends to think she's right - and she usually is - but it's on the emotional level that she still needs some maturity.



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2018.02.12 - 07:03PM Title: Recovery and Reversals

Hermione has heroes demoms to deal with and now is starting to see that maybe just maybe she needs to think before speaking more....it is refreshing to see it....kutgw

Author's Response: I think Hermione will always speak her mind, but she definitely needs to work on tact, lol. As we know, she's a future politician in the making, so she'll get it down.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.02.11 - 06:44PM Title: Recovery and Reversals

starstarstarstarstar

I'm so glad that Hermione and Ginny are talking about the problems from the previous year in a sensible way. Hermione may not value Quidditch, but she is certainly familiar with the pain and fear of being tortured. Loved the moment when Ginny told Harry she was wearing one of his old jerseys and black knickers! He needed the distraction.

Author's Response: LOL - thanks! Ginny knew the exact easiest way to distract an 18-year-old male, and it worked. I don't think Harry would even mind how tired he'll be at work the next day.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.02.10 - 10:13PM Title: Recovery and Reversals

starstarstarstarstar

Very interesting class with a load of character development. It's nice that you are showing both Ginny and Hermione maturing in their own, distinctly differenty ways. I'm puzzling how to write my own follow-up to a much more action-oriented story, and it is fascinating to see how nicely you are doing it. Yes, the pace is generally slower, but you still reach into the depths of emotional experience. There is no doubt about your writing talent, but this story shows your diversity of skills and a richness of emotional and psychological understanding. Now, this is not meant to say I ever found your character development lacking in your earlier works ... just that they were secondary elements to these stories. Now these character-driven chapters demonstrate equally gifted talents, just a differing order of priorities. Sorry for the lalbored description/explanation of what I am trying to say.... obviously, I'm failing in the quest! You, on the other hand, are doing quite well.

Author's Response: Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words. I can't tell you how much I appreciated them on a day I really needed a pick-me-up.. Our heroes are really young, and I think it's important that they have the chance to shine and find themselves as individuals in order to ensure a long life together in future. I'm glad the slower pace of this one isn't turning you off. I really agonized over that while writing it. Cheers!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.02.10 - 06:30PM Title: Recovery and Reversals

starstarstarstarstar

Another great chapter! I think Astoria is a good choice for Head Girl - she is Slytherin but her family weren't deathknibblers so I think she'd have a good sense of how both sides feel post-war! Definitely a lot of hard feelings flowing around Hogwarts! Glad Harry survived his encounter with the Dementors and Ginny certainly knew how to get him out of his funk! Looking forward to them getting together! Can't wait for the next chapter! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thank you! I was intrigued by the idea of using her, and in the prequel I dropped a few hints on things she'd done during the war that might make her a candidate. You are absolutely right that she's one of the few people who can actually see both sides objectively. Besides - the poor girl ended up married to Draco Malfoy, I had to do something for her!



Reviewer: Hank Signed Date: 2018.02.10 - 01:02PM Title: Recovery and Reversals

starstarstarstarstar

Intriguing chapter! I just want to know what idiot made Astoria Head Girl instead of Ginny or Hermione... (No offense against the author, of course). Write fast - I'm excited to see what comes next!

Author's Response: LOL - thanks, but I'm the idiot :) I suppose in canon it would be McGonagall, but she's reflecting my opinion on the matter, I just don't think Hermione should be Head Girl for Ginny's year. It sits wrong to me. I think Hermione is getting the harsh end of war consequences, but I think taking it away from all the candidates in Ginny's year to give it to Hermione would undermine her authority, anyway. As for Ginny - I don't think she'd want it. I see a lot of Fred and George in her - plus, she wasn't there for the entire year during the war, and I thought it ought to go to someone who had. Since Astoria is a blank slate, I thought it would be interesting. That's where I was coming from, anyway. :)



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2018.02.08 - 03:57PM Title: Recovery and Reversals

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This was great. I love the way Harry supports Ginny and it's a shame Harry is still having nightmares. I'm a person who hates bullying with a passion but I do understand feeling frustrated if you see someone who hurt you never get punished for it. Hope we have more Harry Ginny moments soon.

Author's Response: Thanks! In most post-Battle stories I've seen, there are no repercussions against the Slytherins who sided with the Carrows. In some, even Malfoy is allowed back to Hogwarts, and that just doesn't sit right with me, so I thought I'd explore it a little.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2018.02.08 - 02:47PM Title: Recovery and Reversals

starstarstarstarstar

Oh dear. The problems post war appears to be multiplying. So many issues to tackle. Excellent work as usual.

Author's Response: Thanks! I can't help but wonder how the dynamics at Hogwarts would work post-War. There has to be residual resentment - on both sides.



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2018.02.08 - 10:43AM Title: Recovery and Reversals

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Glad to see Harry made it out of his confrontation with the Dementors and that Ginny was able to help him deal with it. It does seem like a tricky situation with the students who used Unforgivable Curses on their class mates last year. Normally, that would be a one way ticket to Azkaban but since they were ordered to do it by their teachers? Even expelling them would seem to be problematic, that would effectively destroy any chance of a legitimate career for them. On the other hand how can you blame the other students who want to get back at them for being cursed?

Author's Response: Thanks! When I started plotting this story, what annoyed me was the fact JKR said Lucius and Draco didn't have to serve any prison time. I started expanding it from there, and some of the plot lines came from there. As the story goes on, more will come out about the new dynamics - both at Hogwarts and in the wizarding world in general. I don't think it can all be mended quickly.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear