Search:

SIYE Time:22:12 on 21st October 2018


Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.03.25 - 08:11PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

Hilarious way to conclude an otherwise melancholy chapter. To me, the most compelling writing was the conversation between Ginny and Harry. Wow! The last heartbreak Harry could withstand, or something like that! Very well done! I totally get it, the way Harry feels. Haven't we all been there at one time or another? But after witnessing Harry's incessant stream of painful losses, and knowing what a perfect fit Ginny is for him, it's just too sad of a thought for words.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so pleased you pointed that conversation out. I worked a long time on it, and it partially came from my frustration with fans who think Harry shouldn't be an Auror. It seems so natural to me, and part of what attracted Ginny in the first place, so I think she'll be fine with it. My .02, anyway. And I completely agree with you that Ginny is a perfect fit. The one part of Cursed Child that made it all worth it to me was seeing how well they worked together. I feel like I waited a long time for that.



Reviewer: Hank Signed Date: 2018.03.24 - 01:01AM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

ROTFLMAO!!!!!!!!! Rubber Johnnies!!!!

Author's Response: Grin! Thanks - I'm glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: indywriter Signed Date: 2018.03.23 - 11:18PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

Missing his whole lower leg? Ouch! So Ginny can accept Harry being in danger and getting hurt, but could he accept the same for her?

I loved loopy Harry. And Mr. Weasley and the rubber Johnnys? The perfect storm of awkward and hilarious! I almost feel like Harry would buy a car now just to keep anyone from asking about them again. lol

I can't wait to see just how Harry recovers. And is it wrong that a tiny little part of me wished that McLaggan would get a "kiss"?

Author's Response: I think he'd struggle with it more than she would because its in his nature to protect, but I also think he respects her enough to trust her. There will be a scene coming up in a few more chapters that will test that. I think you're right - Harry would buy the damn car just to avoid the conversation, lol. I had that exact same conversation with one of my alpha readers. As for McLaggan - he is a git, isn't he?



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2018.03.23 - 08:33PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

Ah poor harry...can’t get a break with George....but then again I hope Owen had a good time at dinner....as for Rita, well she got what she deserved....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks! I think Rita got what she deserved, too. I can't imagine the Weasleys leaving anyone on their own on Christmas Eve, so Owen was just scooped up into the Weasley cheer.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.03.23 - 02:59PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

You made me cry I was laughing so much! I love George! Great Christmas!!

Author's Response: Thanks! I love George, too. He's the one I worried the most about at the end of canon, so I felt compelled to make sure he was all right.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.03.23 - 01:30PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

Definitely wasn't expecting a lesson on the proper use of prophylactics(rubbers) but it was really funny to see Harry trying to maintain a straight face! Makes me glad I had my "motor" fixed some time ago! ;) Can't help but wonder what would have happened to Skeeter if Ginny's bat bogeys had hit her while she was in her beetle form! Bizarre Christmas, indeed! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: LOL! Imagining the looks on their faces during that scene made me laugh! I don't know if a Bat Bogey would work on a bug? Hmm, interesting concept. Of course, that kind of precise aim to hit a something as small as a Beetle would be something to brag about!



Reviewer: MichiganMuggle Signed Date: 2018.03.23 - 09:03AM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

Finally! A practical gift! Lol

I think Bat Bogeys are a good look for Rita. Too bad she couldn’t keep them longer. It would have made for a nice author photo for her next book.

I hope Harry gets a break after this. He’s had a rough few months, and he deserves some quality time with Ginny, uninterrupted by other Weasleys.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2018.03.23 - 06:26AM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

ROTFL. LOL I knew you were a great writer. I am pleasantly surprised to find you have a wicked sense of Humour! Shame Hermione did not walk in!

Author's Response: Thanks! I don't often consider myself as particularly funny, so it's very nice to hear someone thinks so!



Reviewer: snarky24 Signed Date: 2018.03.22 - 11:34PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter! The last scene was hilarious :) Ginny is very lucky the Minister let her off after she hexed Rita. But I'm sure she just became Rita's next target in the press. Looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: LOL - thanks! Personally, I'm with Bill - Rita deserved it! I like to think it was Bill who taught her that hex.



Reviewer: Time Shifter Signed Date: 2018.03.22 - 11:25PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

I've thoroughly enjoyed both this story and the prequel. You've done an excellent job capturing the different characters voices and behaviors, and Harry and Ginny's relationship has been wonderful to read. In particular I like that Ginny conveyed her concern about how Harry keeps getting hurt; between that and Owen often yelling at him to follow procedure, I'm hoping this will finally lead to a lecture from his boss about trying to always be the hero and ignoring that they have policies in place to avoid losing people. Harry as he is now is a liability to the team, and if he can't follow guidelines to protect his own life he certainly shouldn't be put in charge of other people.

Author's Response: Thanks! I think Harry will always put others in front of himself, and that's due in part to how he was raised. But, he's also only 18 at this point. I have an 18 year old myself, and they just don't get their own immortality. It can be very frustrating, but I do know they eventually mature, so I think Harry - who's had a lot of very mature responsibility already laid on his slip shoulders - is allowed to have his moments of acting his age. He'll get there - Ginny will make sure of it!



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2018.03.22 - 10:47PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstar

Rubber Johnny's lol is that what they're called in England? Great chapter and very funny.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm not British, but that's what I've been told! I love learning real British tidbits, too!



Reviewer: HpGwperfect Signed Date: 2018.03.22 - 08:14PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

Yay! I'm glad it didn't take very long for the family to be reunited with Harry and know that he was hurt. Losing half a leg, thank goodness he's not a muggle lol. I loved all the interactions between the characters. Especially George's gift to Harry lol. Such a good chapter!

Author's Response: LOL - well, to be fair, if he was a Muggle, he wouldn't have been Apparating in the first place! I do tend to beat him up a lot, so GInny can be mad at me. Thanks!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.03.22 - 07:22PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! I hardly know what to say...wonderfully light ending to some serious tension at the beginning ;) Truly that was a classic last scene with the box from George. I'll have to remember to revisit it anytime I need a mood lift :) Very well done indeed!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm delighted by the idea of having one of those scenes that people go back to for cheer! That's awesome!



Reviewer: Bretzelle Signed Date: 2018.03.22 - 07:06PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

That last scene was just hilarious !

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2018.03.22 - 06:33PM Title: Good Tidings of Comfort and Joy

starstarstarstarstar

Thank goodness Harry is alright. Loved the scene in the hospital of Harry high on potions, singing Christmas carols. The final scene with Harry and George's gift was priceless. Great chapter

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it - I had fun imagining it as I wrote!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear