Search:

SIYE Time:8:23 on 19th October 2018

Reviews For For Luck

Reviewer: Fl4v1nh4 Signed Date: 2018.03.22 - 12:27PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

I live your writing and I missed you fics so much haha this should have an AU sequel just saying! Keep posting please :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I actually have another, chaptered fic posting at the moment. It's called Some Cuts Leave Scars here on the site.



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.03.21 - 11:27PM Title: For Luck

The sex change scarf, a rare trope. Cheers.

Author's Response: LOL - leave it to Fred and George, right? Thanks!



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2018.03.19 - 09:25AM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2018.03.17 - 04:26AM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

The final version of this story is positively spellbinding. You kept me on the edge of my seat during Harry and Ginny's unexpected journey. Poor Harry! The abruptness of being jerked away from Grimmauld Place certainly stirred up unwanted memories; he's very lucky that Ginny could help him cope with them and I'm glad she shared her experiences with flashbacks with him. I'm sure that gave him the courage he needed to help her when they were hiding from the Death Eaters. While I laughed at the consequences of Harry's disguise, I think the funniest line in story belongs to Sirius when he remarks that this is probably the first of many times Harry sneaks in late after a date. Well done!

Good luck with the Challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks, Arnel!! I like to imagine that had things gone differently, Harry would've one day lived with Sirius, although I doubt he'd ever truly be able to outsmart him. But things weren't meant to be, so unbeknownst to either of them, this would be the only time he'd catch Harry sneaking in late after a date. Sigh.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.03.14 - 02:07PM Title: For Luck

Oh, I meant to comment that I love the very Princess Leia like 'for luck'!

Author's Response: Ha! That thought occurred to me, too, but I used it anyway - and you're the first person to point it out!!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.03.14 - 02:06PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

I love it! Danger, Voldemort, and a touch of romance! I love the way you write the two of them and Sirius is great. The twins' prank was classic - it could be a best seller! Good luck in the Challenge!

Author's Response: Thanks very much - I had fun with this challenge - and anything where we get a bit more time with Sirius is a win in my book!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.03.13 - 10:20AM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

I love this story! Clever comedy with enough drama to hold the plot together. Excellent! Thank you!


Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed!



Reviewer: Ranma-sensei Signed Date: 2018.03.09 - 12:53AM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.03.08 - 06:16PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, they’d been very lucky indeed. Great story, I loved it.

Seems, Slytherin's locket will find its way back to Voldemort as soon as someone finds it in this room.

Grimmauld Place seems to attract hidden portkeys like candles a moth. On the other hand, it's exactly the place I had in my mind when I suggested the topic for a challenge.

I hope your power problems are solved in the meanwhile. A friend of mine wrote to me that he was without power for three days. He'd been freezing bitterly in his house with 40F all the time. I'm already trembling at the thought alone.

I wish you good luck in the challenge.

Author's Response: Thanks very much! I thought of Grimmauld Place as soon as I read the challenge, and it seems we all did! I'm planning on reading all the entries over the weekend, so I'm looking forward to it. Your friend must live in the Northeast as well, because his story sounds exactly like what we were going through, and we had more snow yesterday. Come on, Spring!



Reviewer: snarky24 Signed Date: 2018.03.08 - 06:06PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

LOVE this fic! Where do I start? I love how you used "luck" as a theme throughout -- linking it to the "Lucky you" line, the kiss for luck, and the last line. The danger escalated so fast! I was on the edge of my seat when they were hiding from Voldemort. But you diffused it quickly with the Diva Deception scarf (that was such a curveball that I was laughing with surprise!). I was completely with Harry when he thought Ginny was crazy for being more afraid of falling than of Voldemort, but her admission that she was actually trying to protect him from Voldemort gave a completely different meaning to the good luck kiss, in my mind. I imagined that she must have been so afraid and possibly believing the Voldemort might discover her and kill her before she got out, and that was her way of saying good bye if the worst were to happen.

I also really like how you drew parallels with Harry and Ginny's experiences with Voldemort and used that as a way for them to relate and empathize with each other. I really wish JKR had explored this in canon a bit more since I think this is a key part of Ginny's ability to be Harry's "greatest source of comfort."

I also love where you picked up this story. I am currently writing a missing moment post-Lucky You scene with Ginny and Sirius, but I think you've done it so much better than I possibly could!

Author's Response: Wow! What an awesome, detailed review. Thanks so much! As for your OotP missing moment - I cannot wait to read it! I'm sure you'll do an excellent job, and I love seeing all the little nuances different fic writers pick up. I completely agree with you that I wish JKR had explored more of the connection between Harry and Ginny and their shared trauma. I think it enables them to really get each other, but... she wasn't focused on the romance so I have to respect that. Still, can't help wishing for a smidge! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story.



Reviewer: Ronald8472 Signed Date: 2018.03.08 - 03:21AM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

I like this story. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 07:48PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

Loved this!!! You really made me laugh with this story ;) Harry and Ginny departing and returning so rapidly was very interesting. The good luck kiss was sweet! I also enjoyed Sirius giving them their first shots of Firewhisky. Very well done!

Author's Response: Thanks! My goal was to meet the challenge, but also write a story that could be a missing moment from OotP and didn't change the timeline at all. I ended up hurting my own heart with Sirius' line about catching Harry out all night with a witch. Unfortunately for both, it was the only time. :(



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 01:27PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

A very exciting outing for Harry and Ginny and a really fun read, too.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. When this challenge was announced, Grimmauld Place just screamed out to for a starting point to me. I think it's funny it seemed to speak the same way to others, as well.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 09:56AM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Interesting evening for the two of them.

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review! I hope it was interesting in a good way!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2018.03.06 - 09:44AM Title: For Luck

That is for sure, Ginny is brave all the way though but needing to give harry some balance....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks very much! Ginny was very brave, and always like stories where she takes care of him, so there you go!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.03.05 - 06:47PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

Absolute brilliance Mel! The is was a magnificent story! Just the right amount of dramatic danger and knee-slapping comedy to balance it out! Especially laughed hard at Harry in drag and Stan's reaction to him(her) and that only the twins could have come up with a sex-change
scarf! Standing ovation for this one! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad it made you laugh. I kept thinking as I was writing that it verged on being too silly, but it amused me to walk the tight line.



Reviewer: Bluest Witch Signed Date: 2018.03.05 - 05:29PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks very much!



Reviewer: aurorasky Signed Date: 2018.03.05 - 02:25PM Title: For Luck

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really enjoyed this especially with the twist that the portkey landed them in Voldemort's unknowing hands! WOW! You had me on the end of my seat reading :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you found it enjoyable. I really had fun with this one, and I loved the idea of having them escape on something as Muggle as a bus, lol.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear