Search:

SIYE Time:7:40 on 20th June 2018


Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.06.20 - 03:50AM Title: Dark

starstarstarstarstar

What a fascinating chapter which provides question after and question and lacks much in the way of answers! Let's start with: "What the Hell was in Ginny's drink? Then let's follow up with: "Who put it there?"

How about adding: "Which wizard was able to follow her so effectively when she was running blindly and lost in Muggle London?" Obviously this wizard, along with whatever team he is participating with, is desperately tying to keep Harry and Ginny apart! The truth is unlikely to be something that will set this team of wizards (former Death Eaters, given the likeness of one to the Malfoy men) free? In fact, is it not more likely that it could lead to their incarceration? Questions! Questions!

Thank you for allowing Dean's true nature to come through! I suspect he is just a former rejected boyfriend who has lost his memories, but what a creep! He takes Harry's noble behavior and tries to make him look like a total womanizing jerk in the hopes of opening a door to "comfort" Ginny. That's right, look for some one vulnerable, attempt to break her heart, or at least put her well off her game, and then swoop into the role of savior. Ugh! Dean simply needs to stay away from Ginny! God, I hate opportunistic asses!

And what about Dora? I have a hard time envisioning her as part of the bad guy squad, and suspect she will play out to be working for good, but she provided that mysterious drink. Nevertheless, I doubt she mixed the mysterious ingredients that produced such a mysterious reaction from the aforementioned Dean. And here is Dean again! I started to ask why it was that Dean retained his true last name, but then, so did Lee and Shay -- at least I think I remember Shay being referred to by his last name, just once, earlier in the story ... Finnegan. So, Questions abound, but answers are hard to find!

Harry and Ginny have lost their families, or at least perceive themselves to be orphans. And only they, along with Hermione, have lost their true last names! Questions, Questions, Questions!

Great chapter, by the way. Outstanding work!




Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.19 - 03:28PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Ah...so Dora! is actually coming through for Ginny/Mione as well as us readers...(Or is that you who's doing that?)...and shedding a bit of light.

Thanks for the gift!

Author's Response:

Yes, Dora officially walks the floor as the fifth protagonist! She will play an increasingly key role going forward, and will shed a fair bit *more* light in the next chapter -- things you may have been guessing.

You're so very welcome. My appreciation for the kind thoughts, Gene!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.06.19 - 02:31PM Title: Dark

starstarstarstarstar

OBOY! OBOY! A new chapter from the greatly gifted genius GHL!! The title made me think of "Dancing in the Dark"(Bruce Springsteen 1984) and "Shot In The Dark"(Ozzy Osbourne 1986)! Okay, I have to admit I wasn't sure 'adrenalised' was a real word until I looked it up in the dictionary! I also must admit that I never would have thought of Hermoine Granger as the 'sultry-siren' or a 'scary-bitch-from-hell' type! Bedazzlingly-beautiful-bookworm certainly but the other two - not so sure! Tonks apparently has some skill with makeup and hair considering the looks Lee was giving Mione! Ouch! Guess Dean found out the hard way why you don't tick off the fiery redhead! And he deserved it for trying to beat Harry's time with Ginny! Dean is lucky Harry didn't give him a nose job! Speaking of red, Ginny's long, luxurious red hair reminded me of "Strawberry Fields Forever"(Beatles 1967)! Boy your weren't kidding when you said this was an action chapter! BTW, three rights do rarely make a left but they will get you back where you started! ;) And it's Harry to the rescue - kinda! As Harry was running down the street I couldn't help but think of a song that may have been running thru Ginny's mind at the time - "I Need A Hero"(Bonnie Tyler 1984), which immediately made me think of Bonnie Wright who played Ginny in the movies! Nice ending with Dora showing up but now I'll be wondering what happened to the bad guy and whether Harry punches Dean out! Just glad Ginny is safe in Harry's arms! (you missed a good opportunity for a snog there) In honor of the way Harry and Ginny were holding each other and their growing love, I decided to end this review with a beautiful old love song that I never tire of hearing, "My Cup Runneth Over"(Ed Ames 1967):
Sometimes in the mornin' when shadows are deep
I lie here beside you just watching you sleep
And sometimes I whisper what I'm thinking of
My cup runneth over with love
Sometimes in the evening when you do not see
I study the small things you do constantly
I memorize moments that I'm fondest of
My cup runneth over with love
In only a moment we both will be old
We won't even notice the world turning cold
And so, in these moments with sunlight above
My cup runneth over with love
My cup runneth over with love
With love
May your cup runneth over with more great chapters!
Cheers! (This time with a glass of 2016 Domaine de Barons de Rothschild Légende Bordeaux Rouge which is a cabernet-merlot blend I have in my wine rack)!
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response: A classic Bordeaux! You honour me; thank you!

Yes, Dora did curtail any post-crisis affection in this chapter, however let me offer some encouragement in the form of a) chapter 13 -- the s-word is truly satisfied, and then b) chapter 14 -- a duty begets a dare becomes a date begets a duet...

Ozzy's 'Shot in the Dark' is indeed a match for the kind of dark peril our protagonists encountered in this chapter -- good call! Springsteen's offering is more angsty dissatisfaction of the sort that might have fit earlier in the story, when the darkness was that of the mind. For, in this story, the harsher the perilous cold, the hotter and brighter the passion flares.

Yes, bad-ass assailant tends to bail, doesn't he. Adds a bit of mystery to the drama, perhaps. As far as the situation with Dean, expect the unexpected...

Strawberry Fields is definitely out there in a transcendental with Lucy in the Sky -- good choice! In fact, I can't help wonder if both of those somehow influenced 'Drops of Jupiter' -- there's that same whimsical quality in all.

Thank you for walking us back to Ames' classic croon, and thank you for your kind words and inspired thoughts!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.06.15 - 05:13AM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

What an interesting chapter! So, as Ginny and Harry work to find the answers, Tonks is trying, benignly it appears, to protect Harry from what, exactly? His memories? His destiny? Both? And if AU Harry Jordan is anything like Canonical Harry Potter, he won’t care for this any more than he cared for Dumbledore’s disclosure of protecting Harry while withholding vital information!

Great job, by the way! You have simultaneously pointed us in the general direction of the truth while opening doors for (potential???) obfuscation?

Sneaky thing that you are!

Author's Response:

Obfuscation! An alternate working title for this story?

Yes, there is a mirror of canon here in the choice of solution to a difficult problem, and the challenges of those people who are left to work within the framework of such dubious choices.

In the end, I was glad in canon that Rowling removed the divine halo from Dumbledore's aura, replacing it with a insight into how he too was really just another damaged person -- good, but possessed of hardships that beget flawed judgment. A lot of harsh disillusionment in those books, considering they began as children's tales, but at least there are some fine allegories in there.

My appreciation for sparking yet another series of stirring thoughts; thanks Ed!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.06.15 - 04:26AM Title: Purple

I needed to re-read this chapter to get my head back into things because I believe we are upon a critical turning point. However, in the midst of such an admirable development, I forgot to mention how insightful you are with Lee and the rapid beginning of his recovery from a broken long-term relationship!

I hope we do not all share this experience, though I suspect many of us do; the sickening feeling of watching helplessly as someone we love desperately falls increasingly out of love with us. I recall feeling lost, rudderless, and the sensation of flailing about trying to influence my beloved into rekindling her affection for me. Of course, this never works, and the more I flail about, the more desperately possessive my actions become, the more rapidly the object of my affection seeks to end things! Ugh! I hate being out of control of any situation, but how much worse can it get than losing the perceived love of your life?

So, she pulls the trigger and end things. My world is about to end, right? I fall asleep in abject misery. But when morning dawns, so does the realization that my torment is over. That horrifying pressure is gone, for there is no longer anything I can do.

Accepting this reality, I realize that both despair and desperation have fled and I feel, surprisingly, GOOD! Suddenly I begin to relate to the world like I always have and the desperate, cloying, smotheringly possessive person I had become is GONE!

Had this monstrous asshole never raised his head, would she still have ended things? I’ll never know that particular answer. However, I can now see that the answer didn’t matter, for now I am free to be me and can renew the search for someone who will love me for who I am, and not the dependent wimp I had allowed myself to become.

The beautiful thing is that you SHOW us this reality of life in very few words and with great mercy to Lee. Amazing job!

Author's Response:

Extraordinarily eloquent and heartfelt response -- thank you for sharing!

It has always mystified me how love and hate can frequently be so closely mirrored as two sides of same (oft-twisted) coin; how two very good caring people can be plagued with insecurities that turn one on the other in ways so often so regretful. Over the decades I've gradually wondered if the whole notion of love is even worth it, if the penalty, the moment something goes wrong, is so demonical. Truth be told, I'm now going on 16 successful years with my wife, but am grappling with a close cousin whose marriage is ending after 14. That has sparked some deep thought that perhaps has emerged in the rather 'hopeful' outcome for Lee -- a recognition that the loss already 'was', and now is the moment to begin the gradual 'regain'; now is the moment to recolour a world of memories not in anger or as betrayal, but rather the water under the bridge of life experiences.

I think you said it better.

Anyway, thank you again for illuminating!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.06.14 - 05:08PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Oh my! I have to say that I really do love Dora ;) Tonks was always one of my favorite completely underutilized characters in the Harry Potter world - a tough, smart, sexy without trying, clumsy without being hapless, woman. Ginny and Mione are bound to look gorgeous by the time she is done with them, especially since she can obviously utilize a bit of magic if needed. Actually it's a bit of a relief to realized that at least a few good witches still exist and know something of what is going on in the world and the possible danger they're in (Harry in particular). I was very interested in Ginny's descriptions of purple and the words she used to describe the blue and the red, as well as the memories and the power. Is it important at all that the words she used for blue are so very Ravenclaw in nature? Very curious and very well done...such a shame about Malfoy....

Author's Response:

So very glad you like this particular incarnation of the inimitable Tonks :) She is going to have her hands full with Ginny and Mione, both of whom can be 'handfuls' in this story, but she gives as good as she gets and does a yeowoman's job of introducing our Muggle-minded characters to their non-Muggly heritage. And, of course, her courage will be exemplified in other ways.

An excellent thought on Ravenclaw blue, especially in light of Ginny ascribing to that colour a set of virtues that are exquisitely Ravenclaw. And, of course, both Ginny and Mione have strong Ravenclaw personality features. Interesting...

A shame indeed about Malfoy! In chapter 14 you will begin to glimpse a bit about some of the others he has dragged into the morass.

Wonderful review -- thank you! I hope you're doing well!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.06.13 - 06:36PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Ginny and Hermione dressed as 'hottie sluts' for their *Js...commendable happy ending.

This damn Real IRA pokes its head again. I admit confusion on this front coupled with neurolinguistic schizophrenia. I mentioned something in one of the earlier reviews regarding this. The three Feather meanness, shaken 5 times not stirred. I mean, if you really want a mean song.....I can loose one like Odysseus in his grand return to his home. Speaking of which I wonder if that segment of the SIYE population heard it as lose in their heads throughout the chapter? Oh well pop me in the nose and slip on a noose. Get it right on the first try.

Choosing a song was Hard for this chapter so I propose 3 songs :)

For blue, a pioneer of rhythm and blues crossing over to rock. He's so damn good he named 2 songs after himself

Bo Diddley
Bo Diddley (1955)

For red
Barrington Levy
Saw Red

For that first kiss
The Melodians
Sweet Sensation (1972)
(Lyrics withheld due to taking up too much space

I like how Tonks pretended to speak another regional dialect for the job. I do hope you would have a plan to change names and literary references if you decide to go that other route elsewhere. Edit and mold it like a piece of Clay.....(uhhhh). Cheers my man ;)

I'm sure anyone reading these reviews might be scratching their head, but they should rest assured I have scars on my own.


Author's Response:

Of course Bo Diddley is a legend, and with a monikor like that, it's a wonder he's not a scat lyric too. Actually, he probably is. Scratch that statement.

I've not previously encountered The Melodians or Barrington Levy, although my current playlist includes 'Fast Times at Barrington High' (band = 'The Academy Is'), and I have partied on the same Barrington Street in Halifax that the Barenaked Ladies savaged in their hit song 'Hello City'. Anyway, I appreciate the dedications and have added them to my YouTube playlist.

Speaking of playlists, this may mean absolutely nothing to most readers, but I have acquired a major crush on Tay Jardine. Oh, she can sing!

Okay, having got that out of my system, it's time to get down to brass tacks! The 'Real IRA' is, as your confusion suggests, merely a ruse. The villains as using it at a front, and you can see from Dora's hesitation, that she prefers to use a term like that instead of calling them crude things like Death Eaters, or even a cabal of dark wizards.

Regarding any consideration of releasing this as a non-HP fiction, I've let go of that. However, it's so close to non-fanfiction, I've begun releasing it for free on self-publishing sites. Not getting much traction on Inkitt or Wattpad, but the story seems to have caught fire on AvalonNovel -- The format is ghastly (100% plain text, courier font, only on androids), but I've posted 6 chapters over a little more than three weeks, and already have nearly 11,000 hits. 11K hits in less than a month? I'll be lucky if I get that on SIYE in a year. Anyway, the next novel will not be HP fanfic, though you'll recognise some key concepts. May start that in the fall, and will certainly let you know.

Thank you sincerely for the chance to chatter!



Reviewer: snapelover Signed Date: 2018.06.13 - 11:43AM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Not sure where Dora is getting her kopytkas, but the ones I've had are definitely tasty! So Under Solo is a real place? Cool. Another spot to visit when I'm in London next October. Any more good party spots planned for the story?

Author's Response:

I must admit that I don't have Dora's recommendation for you on where in North London to get good Polish carry-out, but I *can* confirm that Under Solo is real, as was The Half Moon. Camden Palace is now called Koko, but is otherwise there, in all its glory of past decades.

One point of guilt is that (see Chapters 13,14) I needed a formerly-real restaurant to give bad press to (bad as in 'evil') and (for a variety of plot-complementary reasons) the House of Wolf in Islington, believing that the restaurant had gone under around 2010. Now, however, I've jut found out that it re-opened last month! So, by all means, do visit and please do not hold any fictionally snarky sinister happenings against them! In the past (as House of Wolf, followed by Dead Dolls House, and now back to HoW) they have had fascinating food and drinks... if occasionally questionable service...

Anyway, thank you very much for your lit review and, in return, you get a slightly schizophrenic restaurant review.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.06.12 - 04:56PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

This chapter was certainly pivotal almost to the point of making my head spin! Methinks the plot thickenethed - a lot! Harry and Ginny certainly shared some mellow moments at the start, which of course made me think of "Have You Ever Been Mellow"(Olivia Newton John 1975)! All that talk about the color blue made me think of "BLue Eyes Cryin in the Rain"(Willie Nelson 1975), "Blue Suede Shoes" (Elvis 1956) and "Crystal Blue Persuasion" (Tommy James and the Shondells 1968) at the same time! Glad Harry made it to the gig in time but that must have been some wild ride with Dora! Wish I could've looked inside Mione's brain to see what she thought of Dora calling her "Grangey"! WHOO HOO! First kiss for Ginny & Harry! You sure didn't waste any time getting to the snogging in this one! After that smooch Ginny gave him, I half expected Harry to start singing "Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me"(Mel Carter 1992)! Assuming of course he could get that stunned goofy look off his face! Hmmm, gaunt cheeks and long platinum hair - Gee, wonder who that sounds like - ferret indeed(Wink Wink)! Leave it to the brains in the group Mione to figure out Dora's cover! This story just got alot more ominous - can't wait to see what the threat against Harry is about and what he and Ginny are starting to remember! In honor of Harry and Ginnys' first kiss, I decided to end this review with some verses from another fav of mine "IF"(Bread 1971):
If a man could be two places at one time,
I'd be with you.
Tomorrow and today, beside you all the way.
If the world should stop revolving spinning slowly down to die,
I'd spend the end with you.
And when the world was through,
Then one by one the stars would all go out,
Then you and I would simply fly away...
Cheers for another success G! (This time with a Stolichnaya Vodka Tonic with a twist of fresh lime)(or if you are really adventurous, try an oyster shot - that's a tall shot glass filled with Stolis, a dash of tabasco sauce then drop in a raw oyster and shoot the whole thing down)! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

First of all, please watch for the drinks order in chapter 14. The venue, I believe, converged well with the recommendation.

Secondly, whilst we're on the topic of drinks, I may take you up on the vodka and lime, although I may have to exercise discipline and hold off until Saturday afternoon... As far as oysters, are concerned, I've actually chased quite a number of those with nothing more than lemon juice, but Stolis may make more practical sense -- kills more bacteria :)

Love the IF recommendation -- thank you! Certainly familiar with Blue Suede Shoes, and Willie's Blue Eyes, but will have to do a bit of YouTube exploration to acquaint (or reacquaint) myself with the others.

In any case, yes, a first smooch, but you'll have to wait for chapter 13 for that to be outdone (a bit of drama to be disposed of first), and Mione's first major on-the-case deduction. And a few baddies lurking in the corners. Can't have an angsty genX drama without some evil hench-dudes :)

Gracie for the great comments and cultural illuminations, Cosmo!



Reviewer: she123 Signed Date: 2018.06.12 - 01:31PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

I know this isn't tagged as a comedy, but Ginny is funny! She's funnier than Lee. though he's amusing too, in kind of a grown-up version of canon Lee Jordan. Good job!

Author's Response:

Glad you think so! My sketch of her is a bit the way Mione described her in chapter one -- chippy, hard-scrabble sparrow. That's to say that she has had a difficult life, and has suffered many disadvantages, but has a strong character, an innate optimism, *and* a sense of humour. A gritty one, but humour nonetheless.

I'm glad you also like my LJ characterisation. Compared to canon, he's a bit shaped by older-brother responsibilities, and the fact that he's effectively spent a chunk of his youth as 'head of household', but he's easy going and enthusiastic, and is quick with both good natured needling and self-deprecation. At least that was the intent, and seemingly you agree.

Thank you very much for your kind words!



Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.06.12 - 07:31AM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting! Big difference in Ginny before Harry and after; big difference in Dora under cover and not. So, is this headed for spy thriller territory?

Author's Response:

Yes, Ginny has been slaying some internal dragons, and Dora was (of course) a bit more than she seemed.

Spy thriller? I'd say, not quite. There is some action and a bit of cloak and dagger, but ultimately I think the story remains that of four young adults confronting surprises about a hidden past that made them who they are today.

Regardless of the answers, great comments and question. Thank you!



Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.06.10 - 03:55PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

What an intense series of shorts, the way Harry and Mione ended up converging and running over together to help Ginny. It sounds trivial when I put it like that, but it really came off as heart-pounding stuff. Well done!

Author's Response:

Hey, glad you enjoyed that sequence! I think I called it 'tennis match' writing in an earlier review, but it's more of a 'sawtooth convergence'. In any case, they're fun to write; translate well to cinematography.

Thank you for the review, CG!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.08 - 08:41PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

This just in: the 'official' nomination for *GHL's best line* in the chapter 'Purple':

"Glared. At her fugitive, flagrant, repeat-offending, serial-tapping, yet ever-so-slightly contrite-looking, finger."

Thought you would want to know...as soon as possible

Author's Response:

Hah! Yes, of course I'm always deathly curious how crazy extravagant lines like that will play out :)

Truth be told, quite few crazy lines survive the edits -- I often figure that ones like that above are too complicated to be worth it. But that one, well, seemed worth the complexity.

In any case, my sincere gratitude to someone who tolerates (even condones) my quirks!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.06.07 - 01:56PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

I find it interesting that the overall tone you have created for the story is really something completely unique in comparison with your other fanfics. However, as you stated below, your attention to detail still comes to the forefront. That in particular is not islolated to this story.

As a serial reading the pacing of this story feels slow. Could be the characters getting lost in their head for a few moments with their own thoughts. A lot of reflecting happening while the outside world appears to...either pause or fade away. When the internal dialogue is done nearly no time has passed. Not the typical GHL sprinkling of confusion, but it does leave me disoriented at times. Do not take this as a negative. Anything that manages to affect my cerebral process as I read I usually look upon as a piece of good writing.

Now then, it has become a habit to propose songs to go with the chapters. On that note as Harry was frantically looking for Ginny the song that popped into my head:

Chi-Lites
Have you seen her (1971)

One month ago today
I was happy as a lark
But now I go for walks
To the movies, maybe to the park
I have a seat on the same old bench
To watch the children play, huh
You know tomorrow is their future
But for me just another day
They all gather 'round me, huh
They seem to know my name
We laugh, tell a few jokes
But it still doesn't ease my pain
I know I can't hide from a memory
Though day after day I've tried
I keep sayin' she'll be back
But today again I've lied
Oh, I see her face everywhere I go
On the street and even at the picture show
Have you seen her
Tell me have you seen her
Oh, I hear her voice as the cold winds blow
In the sweet music on my radio
Have you seen her
Tell me have you seen her
Why, oh, why
Did she have to leave and go away?
Oh...oh...oh...oh...oh...
I've been used to havin' someone to lean on
And I'm lost, baby, I'm lost

Harry's meditative state (astral plane maybe?) gave us a glimpse of a part of your writing style that I didn't know I was waiting for in this story until it appeared. Brill. I love having to get out my metaphysical compass to go searching for the last...(well, you know)


Author's Response:

Motown! I think I've heard a few covers over the years, but the original slays with the reverb base and airy vocal opening.

Much today, so let's begin with what you phased as 'not' a criticism, but has actually been on my mind. There is indeed a lot of time flux in this chapter, beginning with Ginny's ten second internal soliloquy (could have been 5 minutes for a slower mind), and then accentuating with Harry's and Mione's all-day tennis/fret match starting in slow motion then accelerating all the way to the mad dash up St. John Street. I can certainly see why anyone's internal chronometer would get a bit confused. My coping mechanism, as a writer, is to put up road signs on a fairly regular basis. If those signs aren't around then, as a general rule, time slips by faster when characters are alone with their own thoughts (as in like, 'holy crap, where did the time go?!') and slower when there's action or dialogue.

Still thinking about how best to accomplish time flow, though. A lot of my writing is both cerebral and time-sensitive, and those two factors tend to complicate each other.

So, yes, 8+ chapters is quite a while to go without a semi-hallucinatory experience in one of my stories :) There are no more in the next four chapters, but surely at least one more before the story is done.

Wonderful comments and thoughts, thank you!



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2018.06.07 - 08:07AM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

As you're talking about chapter 12 and beyond I can see that the reveal is going to be far more intricate than anything I've been expecting. Not complaining though!

Author's Response:

Two different musings woven in there -- how long will it be, and how complicated will it get? Having finished a draft of chapter 13 a couple of days ago, I now have a pretty solid feel for how complex the plot will become (more elaborate than people might have assumed five chapters ago, but perhaps less detailed and intricate than they might now be wondering), however it's still a bit tricky to gauge how long the story will run. Some time ago, I pulled the number 20 chapters out of thin air, and that may still be a decent target.

Anyway, great to still have you along for the ride, Ellen!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.06.06 - 11:15PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

Okay! This is outstandingly well done and extremely exciting. My pulse has quickened, and I simply can't wait for the next installment!!!

Author's Response:

Happy happy happy to hear that!

I think that something I had a bit of an instinct for writing, and have continued to improve, is the art of the 'little' dramas. We all have our own little mysteries and dramas -- like looking across a crowded room wondering if that person in the odd hat was in your third grade class... or sitting in traffic, fretting over whether you'll be late for your meeting. The art is in being able to relate little things in a way that brings the pulse to a quicken; builds that 'can't wait' response.

Capturing little dramas, I think, is a way of recreating the angst and strains in our everyday, of translating them to a fictional plot, yet simultaneously (hopefully) bringing a sense of resolution. If learning how to do that is the only thing I eventually master in writing, I will be satisfied :)

Thank you very much for an exceptionally kind review!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 09:21PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

"Clair de Lune"...of course she asked for that!

Truly perfect unfolding...

Author's Response:

For all the great composers of the last five hundred years, I don't think any truly foresaw the atmosphere of a 20th century piano bar the way that Debussy did.

I realise that Clair de Lune is one of the classical pieces most often assigned to talented kids, but the music itself almost seems to require the haze of a low watt lamp; a glass of whisky on the piano, and the wafting aroma of a beautiful woman's perfume...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 09:21PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

"Clair de Lune"...of course she asked for that!

Truly perfect unfolding...

Author's Response:

Thank you so very much for finding a word that perfectly captures what I'm attempting to do with this story.

Unfolding.

The story as a whole, and each chapter therein, the goal is to relate how little life mysteries twist and then release to reveal the core thread.

Thank you again, Gene!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 04:58PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! Okay, so Harry and Ginny both seem to be remembering something vital and terrifying from their pasts. I'm trying to determine possible general time lines and realize that my biggest question of the moment is: Does this story follow canon at all? As in, can I assume canon events up until a certain age or a particular book in the series? You've dropped hints that have occasionally made me suspicious about many canon events, but at other times, I wonder if I'm seeking hints where there are none and I should assume no canon events at all. Obviously, I realize that the conversation Harry and Ginny appear to be about to have might answer some of that. They are both orphans, or at least they both believe they are orphans, from what time? From what age? Greatly anticipating the next chapter :)

Author's Response:

This is a very short response, predicated by my foot being half out the door, so more to follow later. I will spill one key bit of unrevealed info: This story presumes canon up until the point of deciding whether it would be Pettigrew or Sirius who would serve as the Potters' Fidelius secret keeper.

Twist, anyone?



Author's Response:

Anyway, having lobbed a small knowledge grenade into things yesterday, I shift back into proper response mode.

Given how I phrased it, you can thus presume no standard 1990-1998 canon, but I think you 'can' assume that I will not have done anything terrible to canon characters, other than to morph their personalities according to large differences in formative experiences and, for most, a youth brought outside of the magical world.

And yes, more details will emerge, beginning in the next chapter, and then more substantively in Chapter 12.

Thank you for the prompters, Kimberly!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 01:27PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

Of course my first thought when I saw the title of this chapter was of "Purple Rain"(Prince 1984)! With what happened between Lee and Angie, it reminded me of the song "I'll Never Fall In Love Again" (The Carpenters 1970)! Glad Mione was able to help pull Lee out of the funks but I'm still holding out hope you'll keep a little cannon in this thing by having Ron 'Smith'(still alittle AU) show up to sweep Mione off her feet(unless of course whatever happened to Ginny & Harry in the past removed Ron from the picture)! WOW! What a twist in this story and quite the conundrum for Ginny & Harry with their flashbacks to the past, especially thinking they may have known each other before (Theme song from the Twilight Zone,1959 - 1964, plays in background)! For some reason Harry and Ginny's new love and this story made me think of the song, "We've Only Just Begun" (The Carpenters 1970)! Good to know this AU Hermoine is still as scholatically gifted as canon Hermoine! You know, when you mentioned that tall, serious, actually quite good-looking fellow student I was hoping that'd be someone besides Ernie! Oh well, "Que Sera Sera"(Doris Day 1958)! Glad Harry, with an assist from Mione, found Ginny at the end! Can't wait to see what they are remembering about the past, but I suspect that in the end, love will conquer all! Considering that Ginny & Harry were as close as a crack in the door to each other at the end, I decided to end this review with some ap verses from "Close To You" (The Carpenters 1970):
Why do stars fall down from the sky
Every time you walk by?
Just like me, they long to be
Close to you
Just like me, they long to be
Close to you
(Yes, this chapter was a tribute to Karen Carpenter who we lost way too soon)! Can't wait for the next thrilling episode(Cut to Lone Ranger theme song in background)! Cheers G! (This time with a glass of
Craggy Range Te Muna Road Vineyard Pinot Noir 2010 from New Zealand)! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

Karen and Richard C. definitely make a splash in this review! Yes, Karen's death was a tragedy, though her death provided a resonating self-image message even to this most current generation of girls and women. Regardless, the Carpenters were definitely musical pioneers.

No, I think that Purple-Rain is what happens to those who read this chapter and find themselves having to go back to consult the first one...

I believe, if you skim through semi-recent reviews, you may get a glimmer of an idea of where/how Ronnie Smith might ultimately enter the proceedings. I'm fairly certain he's too late to cash in on the Mione Granger sweepstakes, but that hopefully will not be the end of the world for him.

Mione will be showing off her real-world smarts quite soon -- watch for her in the next chapter.

Keep the New Zealand wine coming! It's fine inspiration for a new tale that is just starting to take shape in my mind.

Finally, many twists heading your way! Hope your seat belt is fastened, and thank you for all!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear