Search:

SIYE Time:16:44 on 18th June 2018


Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.04.18 - 01:40AM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarstar

Fascinating chapter. Truly original and exciting! Why am I feeling with a strong degree of certainty that the ring is Ginny’s, not Molly’s?

Author's Response:

Thank you very much for the kind words, Ed!

Interesting thought about the ring. I will need to think about that further. I've always been fascinated by the evolution and emergence of symbols in a developing piece.



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.04.12 - 11:28AM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarstar

An unexpected surprise spilled itself upon the New Stories feed.

I had to have been one of the first to see it after it's official posting...and notice the edits to the author's note at the beginning on the second read. Nothing crazy, but still insight into your knitpicking. Could be just part of the esoteric remnants which draw me to read your writings too come to think of it.

Ah, a fic about song, but not *a* song. I once read somewhere something about melodical tomb poems. I seem to have forgotten the source, alas. I dug the drumming from Lee.

You used a good trick in developing our Ginny through an intuitive 'Mione. Will there be more Mione thought following? (wink wink)

Ginny has already been captivated by the voice of Harry when he is talking about a slippery marble floor. What will happen when she hears him sing?

I have to imagine you intentionally kept the story a secret from a few of us. Good show. I am excited for the coming installments.


Author's Response:

Ah! There are two types of review from you, my friend: those from which I believe I know what you're talking about, and those from which I definitely know what you're talking about :)

Last first: yes I did intentionally keep the story a secret from almost everyone who I might otherwise have been likely to tip off. The main reason, you've already intuited: I thought you'd more than earned the right to have a nice surprise. Anyone who reads my reviews on other stories knows how much I cherish a good surprise, so there are times when I also like to give them. Secondly, for previewing, I obtained feedback a small subset of a highly targeted demographic: a few writers who have produced intriguing pieces about personal rediscovery, and all female.

Veering back to your first main point, yes, I have to admit that I obsess quite a bit about introductory notes, and tend to psychoanalyse the words, phrases, the sounds and remote connotations. I can't recall all that I changed in the Chapter 1 intro in the first 12 hours after posting, but yes, the final version represents a refined message and the revisions made in order to reach final form might tell you a bit about me, or the story. Though I'm not exactly sure what ;)

Yes, I thought you might like Lee and his brash, enthusiastic, yet also very thoughtful and considerate view of the world. I think he arises most from the enterprising / idealist Lee Jordan from DH / Potterwatch.

You know, I did not make some conscious decision that Mione would be so key in introducing Ginny, or that Lee would play a bit of the same role for Harry, however as soon as the earliest draft played out, I was immensely glad of the choice. Ginny and Harry are challenging (and fun) to write in this because they are so hidden from themselves. I think back to that part of the famed Donald Rumsfeld quote: 'unknown unknowns'. Anyway, I'm fairly certain in this story that Mione will note rise quite as high as Hettie/Hermione did as the unacknowledged star(s) of FoT, but she will continue to play a huge role in both eliciting and facilitating Ginny. Meanwhile, Lee has a very important role as well. In truth, this will definitely be a four pillar story.

Finally, chapter 2 will indeed shed a bit of light on how Ginny responds to the singing. It may prove both illuminating and mysterious...

Wonderful review -- thank you!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.04.11 - 03:07PM Title: Rain

Any associated tune already in your mind?

Of course. Though I don't care if it's the original version by Brian Hyland, or the better known version by Albert West. I'm looking forward to Harry's interpretation of this song.

Author's Response: Well, that was a good little bit of pop history to be made aware of, especially writing for a HG site. Thanks! So, a bit of digging has uncovered a midi-file for plausible instrumentation of the Albert West version. Don't think I'd mess much with the lyrics, but in order to make a plausible indie rock arrangement, I'd need to introduce periodic tempo shifts, add some syncopation into the rhythm, and maybe shift the harmony into a minor key... Interesting challenge...



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.04.11 - 08:39AM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, that's what I call a surprise. I didn't expect a new story from you so soon, and that's not a complaint! To be honest, I was worried that you could stop writing altogether.

And to be even more honest, I considered trying to persuade you to continue the Rising to the Challenge series to the new challenge. I thought the recent topic fits very well with this series.

As so often in the past, you're again responsible for another First Time for me. As far as I remember, this will be the very first songfic I'll ever read.

Regarding the first chapter itself ... I can't say much yet, except that I'm eager to read more...somehow there's a secret looming in their past.

Somehow, I'm afraid the following anthem for a red head can't be found in the repertoire of the Mysti Stags:

Ginny-come-lately, sweet, sweet as can be
You may have come lately but Ginny-come-lately
You're the one for me.


Author's Response:

First of all, that you for the lyrics! Any associated tune already in your mind? You know, of course, that I have a long history of adapting today's reader comments to tomorrow's plot development, so if you wish to establish 'terms of use', then please do so :)

Em, yes, I suppose not quite a songfic by standard definition. A story about song, as opposed to a story about *a* song. How's that for a subtle distinction? Anyway, the music narrative here involves (slight spoiler alert) a medium in which Harry begins to acquire fame, in a life that might possibly have been devised to keep him unnoticed. Speaking of 'unnoticed', hopefully that little sentence, buried in a drab reply, will be overlooked by most readers :)

Ah! 'Rising to the Challenge'? Well, in taking over responsibility for the Challenges, I did rather derail my original plans of making that a sequence of challenge stories, since there are good reasons preventing me from both running the challenges and submitted to them. That said, you are the second person in less than 24 hours who suggested I write another (presumably last) story in that series. I was actually under the impression that people had pretty well forgotten about the series, but now stand enlightened. Thanks!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.04.10 - 10:15PM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarstar

Yeah!! Can't wait to discover how all of these players found their way to run down London without much memory it seems. I like Harry getting a brother in Lee - never would have thought of it, but it's very cool! I can't figure out if Harry knows he's doing magic or not - will be interesting!

Author's Response:

First of all, any time is a great time to receive a review from you, Sharon -- thank you! Secondly, the timing is especially fortuitous because I just last night had a little down time to work out the critical point of divergence; i.e., the assumption that canon is completely valid until a certain fateful what-if moment, after which everything goes a different way. Anyway, prior to last night I had some general ideas, but now (just in time to fail-to-respond to your perfectly phrased comment about ending up in London) I've got a decent map for how it all went wrong. Now, I merely have to write it :)

Lee and Harry Jordan? It's almost baffling to say that I started typing and, with little conscious thought, it all took shape on the page. I knew that there was a band; I knew that Harry would be their front-man. Drummers are free spirits with a lot of soul so, yeah, why not Lee Jordan? And the next thing I knew, Lee was blundering out of the shower, singing trash, and when he called Harry 'Bro', it was suddenly not just a term of figurative endearment. Strange how the mind works!

Does Harry know he's doing magic? I will answer both truthfully and semi-evasively that Harry knows he's doing 'something'.

Wonderful review to cap off a wonderful first day for the new little project. Thanks again!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.04.10 - 08:19PM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarstar

Love this new story so much! The music angle is refreshingly different. Ginny and Mione have a wonderful relationship that I'm eager to see develop over time:) My only confusion is - who the heck are Mary and Tanner in the opening scene? Please don't answer; I'm determined to try to figure it out, but hmmmm?

Author's Response:

Thank you, thank you, M&A!

So, although my current drafting (chapter 8) has begun moving more toward the romantic angle(s), I've had a wonderful time crafting the two friendships -- Ginny & Mione, and Harry & Lee. Basically, all of the four primary characters have, at some point, lost nearly all of their support network. Fortunately, sooner (Harry/Lee) or later (Ginny/Mione) they have been fortunate enough to come upon kindred spirits. In any case, the title (and the introductory rhyming couplets) reflect this gradual coming together which, really, is more the core of the story than the accompanying mystery, romance or drama. So, a great comment, and thank you again!

I will honour your curiosity (and your resolution) by not spilling too much on Mary and Tanner, except to tip you off on when to watch for these characters: Tanner -- pay close attention as soon as the lights come up after the Half Moon gig; Mary -- quite a bit later, after you figure out who the man in the dusky office is. All have canon personas (though Mary is minor).



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.04.10 - 02:46PM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarstar

Well this one sure hooked me from the start! Great to see a new one from the magical quill of the one and only GHL! AU indeed! I hope my confusion over where this is going will pass, but at least it looks like a lot of fun! At the beginning I would have sworn I was in a scene from a Mickey Spillane 'Mike Hammer' movie like "The Delta Factor" or "I, The Jury"! However, it seemed to slowly morph into something resembling "The Magical Mystery Tour"(Beatles 1967)! Good to know some things haven't changed in this universe and Mione is still a bookworm! I have to say that Mione and Ginny are a great example that opposites do attract - or at least can co-exist! Can't help but wonder if that finger Harry flicked was the infamous "Flying Fickle Finger of Fate" or was Lee supposed to read between the lines? ;) Definitely a lot of familiar characters popping up in this thing but "Nevi" & Gyorgi? Nice chance meeting between our favorite couple - I could just hear Frank Sinatra singing "It had to be you"(1949) in the background! I just have to ask you one burning question that's been annoying me since early in this chapter: What the heck does "scronchy" mean?! I'll be darned if I can find it in any dictionary! Either that word is really wonky(I did find that one) or this story is more AU than I thought! Considering the title of this chapter, I couldn't help but close with the following offering:
I never meant to cause you any sorrow
I never meant to cause you any pain
I only wanted to one time to see you laughing
I only wanted to see you Laughing in the purple rain
Purple rain, purple rain.....
(Prince 1984)
Can't wait to see were you take this! Cheers!(with a glass of Chateau Petrus Merlot)


Author's Response:

Quick caveat up front is that I may get pulled away before completing this reply, so be prepared for an abrupt cut-off, to be followed later with more.

First of all, your musical allusions are completely 'a propos'! There are plenty more in the text... Oops. Bye for now.



Author's Response:

I'm back! Anyway, yes, the musical allusions will be many and frequent and I love your Purple Rain insert. Very fitting!

The vast majority of the lyrics are home grown, written only for this story, although I will admit that Lee's song coming out of the shower was from a Canadian hard rocker named Sebastian Bach (no relation to JSB).

I do believe, yes, that Lee was given a subtle opportunity to read between the lines ;)

Fun fact: I have sung "It Had to be You" on stage in front of a substantial number of people. No, there are no recordings. No, I do not regret that there are no recordings.

'Scronchy' is not in your dictionary? As in like, "resembling, or pertaining to the scronch"? I see I have (on this rare occasion) expanded someone's vocabulary ;)

Thank you very much for keep me on my toes, Cosmo!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2018.04.10 - 02:34PM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow! Wow!

What a great start to this story!

Author's Response:

In a single review, you completely vindicated my decision to write this story -- thank you, Ronald!

I have to admit that the latter part of the tale remains a bit hazy even to me, but I think you will find that the rest of the telling remains pretty true to the start -- four generally good-natured 'twenty-somethings' trying to grow up, chasing vague dreams, discovering each other... and growing to understand that there's a bit more to who they are than even they themselves would have guessed.

Anyway, you've certainly given that happy boost to put other things aside, and write write write! :)



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.04.10 - 12:31PM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarhalf-star

intriguing. What is iy all about, Just have to wait and see.

Author's Response:

Hey Dad! Yes, this one takes everyone along a different little walk through life. There is a bit of mystery (per the Zorica discussion), a bit of sweetness, a bit of sadness, a little fun, some adventure and discovery (eventually) and quite a bit of turn-of-the-millennium culture :)

Hope you enjoy!



Reviewer: Rosina Ferguson Signed Date: 2018.04.10 - 09:33AM Title: Rain

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Brilliant opening chapter. Looking forward to what happens next.

Author's Response:

Always wonderful to have an infusion of cheer and encouragement from a fine writer -- thank you RF!

I think, if all goes well, I will likely settle into my Tuesday submission routine, so hopefully I'll not leave you just the right amount of time to ponder curiosities before offering the next round!



Reviewer: zorica Signed Date: 2018.04.10 - 07:33AM Title: Rain

starstarstarstar

OK. Another mystery that will mean me hanging out for each chapter until it starts to make sense! Haha. And yes I can’t wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Yes, I do admit that the 'mystery' tag fits the story very well. I also admit that the unraveling of clues is rather 'gradual'. So you may have to content yourself with a bit of character drama and romance for a while.

It occurs to me, in writing this response, that mysteries often make good romances, and that sometimes the reverse is true. Here's hoping for some plot synergy :)

Great to hear from you, Zorica!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear