Search:

SIYE Time:16:44 on 18th June 2018


Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.05.17 - 11:49PM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

Oh no! I'm guessing the IRA is the Death Eater equivalent in this story - or maybe they really are Death Eaters. Its hard to tell. Poor Harry and Ginny - they both have some idea about magic, but obviously are very conflicted about it. I wonder if Hermione had experienced any accidental magic. It would probably freak her out and make her pull back into herself even more.

Author's Response:

So very true -- Mione may not know the details, but I think we can trust her to be suspicious of this up-crop in domestic terror.

Yes, I'm afraid that the knowledge of magic for both Ginny and Harry is a bit of a pain and stain, a bit as it was for canon's pre-Hogwarts Harry. For Hermione (Mione), the only glimmer you have is her hesitation (Ch. 2) in giving a personalised answer to Ginny's question about e.s.p. and telekinesis. I am very close now, in first draft phase, to tackling the issue of how Mione will react to this very touchy issue. Tricky from a writing perspective, since even canon offers conflicting guidance; canonical Hermione is such an odd mix of plastic-thinking liberal, and rigid conservative.

Great review! Very helpful in setting the subconscious wheels turning toward their next big task.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.05.16 - 09:34PM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

"shallow as a squid tin"? Of course, you came up with that phrase.

Likewise, pulling out the heavy-guns in quoting musicians! [Mark Knopfler]

Anyway, to state the obvious...it is so refreshing to have a fanfic author who is such a good writer and who is also so reliable. Wow...we are blessed.

Author's Response:

Heh, yes. It's kind of rare that a simile seems called for (generally when needing to assimilate the silly) so I very rarely use them but, when called upon, it pays to be unique. Wrestled with that one for a while -- something that sounded 'catchy' (pun partly intended), and something one would be more likely to find at Tesco than Walmart :)

I think my fiction has always relied a bit on lyrics for A/N and, given my nature of the plot oscillations, it seems I could re-quote 'Why Worry Now?' five times a year.

Thank you so much for the touching boost of flattery! Definitely the right note on which to resume tearing apart / reassembling chapter 8. Cheers!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.14 - 10:00AM Title: Trouble

THE LINK YOU POSTED FOR FANTASTIC BEASTS IS EXACTLY THE ONE I SAW IN MY THEATER WHEN I WENT TO SEE THE AVENGERS MOVIE.......COMES OUT NOVEMBER 16TH. THERE IS ALOT OF TALK AND EXCITEMENT ABOUT JUDE LAW AS DUMBLEDORE. LOOKS REALLY COOL!

Author's Response: Groovy! Thank you again for the tip and heads up!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.13 - 07:56PM Title: Trouble

ON A SERIOUS NOTE, I DON'T ACTUALLY BELIEVE THOSE TRAILERS ARE REAL AND SITE READERS SHOULD BE WARNED!
AS FAR AS I KNOW, JKR HAS NOT ANNOUNCED PLANS TO MAKE THAT MOVE! WOULD BE COOL THO!

Author's Response: Pretty groovy, impressive production quality but fake. The story, as I know it, is that the movie concept was originally raised as an April Fools Day prank. JKR actually did meet with Warner Bros. to discuss a movie proposal on 4.24.2018, but then announced to the world on 4.25.2018 that there would be no movie. Of course, with Rowling, 'nothing' is forever.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.13 - 07:49PM Title: Trouble

HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD PART I

THIS IS A MOVIE SUPPOSEDLY COMING OUT JULY 2019 - DANIEL RADCLIFF AND EMMA WATSON MAY BOTH BE IN IT.:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e269 ey5hlOA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-UAb zN4uC9g

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkCl JTzXWbQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vZ8 53hAy0A

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jnj7 uuWP-xE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tfJy yfNegLU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Ocw J9AxyL0

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CzMx 1fIhX_M

Author's Response: As stated in subsequent message, the movie's not going to happen... but for anyone who'd like to see some damned impressive amateur cinematography (or artful splicing), a lot of these are way cool!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.12 - 07:33PM Title: Trouble

PUT THE WORD OUT!! I'VE SEEN A PREVIEW FOR THE NEW FANTASTIC BEASTS "THE CRIMES OF GELLERT GRINDLEWALD"MOVIE COMING OUT IN DECEMBER! ALL THE CHARACTERS FROM THE FIRST ONE APPEAR TO BE IN IT AND JOHNNY DEPP PLAYS GRINDLEWALD AND THERE IS A NEW CHARACTER PLAYED BY JUDE LAW.....NONE OTHER THAN A YOUNGER ALBUS DUMBLEDORE!! LOOKS TERRIFIC AND I CAN'T WAIT! AUROROFTHELIGHT

Author's Response: Muy Brillante -- thanks for the tip! I do like these Newt Scamander prequels! I'm going to post the Youtube trailer (1 min 56 sec). If you've seen a longer version, you can comment on where you saw it.



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.05.10 - 09:46PM Title: Trouble

Glad you enjoyed the music selection. Yeah, couldn't be call and response, something missing.

You know, I was specifically trying to avoid forecasting the next chapter. It wouldn't be the first time you have taken a full offensive with metaphoric symbolism. Not even the first time in this story.

Gravener....Hettie? I'm sure I must have signed my name to an email once or twice. Maybe I gave it to the other you. Maybe the other me gave it to the other you. I should probably look into that issue. I think we touched upon this back in the reviews of Splinters, or I could just be hallucinating the memory.



Author's Response:

True, as Trix, Splinters and TPC are fairly metaphorical, and FoT is a torrent of symbolism. This story is a bit more earthy and basic, but once you factor an apple, a ring, a veil, etc...

My other self is still asleep -- stuck in the wrong time zone perhaps. I'll ask him when he's awake.

Forgot to acknowledge your earlier Auclair vision -- intriguing. Could be the Portugal match, perhaps to be played in a new World Cup stadium down in Wiltshire. Taken under advisement -- thanks!



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2018.05.10 - 04:52AM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

Time for some more stars, even though you won't get a clever review from me. I do like the little hints that are peppered throughout the narrative (even if I probably miss all but the most obvious) and its a good, unusual and interesting read even without playing detective.

Author's Response:

Foremost and first, thank you for chiming in, Ellen! Great to hear from you!

It's interesting how an aspect of a story can take on a life of its own... in this case, the mystery. Oddly enough, at the outset, my driving interest was to explore the characters and their personal journeys upon being placed in rather unusual circumstances. There was also the element of a romance emerging above straining obstacles. To begin with, therefore, it didn't occur to me that the 'mystery' component (how did they get there? what will happen as old clashes with new?) would occupy much interest. Now that it has, of course, I'm embracing it, but the true original 'character study' goal is still what pushes the words onto the screen.

All that is a roundabout way of saying that I'm immensely pleased to hear your 'even without playing detective' clause, because that's what was there at the very beginning :)



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.05.09 - 08:37PM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

Two worlds circle and prepare to collide, methinks!

Author's Response:

Good analogy! The metaphor works best when one plots out those Keplerian orbitals of two bodies in *slight* disequilibrium. This i to say that things may circle, and circle, a few times before the inevitable is realised.

Well, thank you most gratefully for your ever astute comments. Much appreciated!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.05.09 - 04:17PM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

A direct continuance from last chapter, excellent. Just a moment ago Harry was spellbound by the lyrics for Ginny's song coming from a female voice. Of course it was her he comes to find out... Yet, he is so enthralled to be in this mysterious young lady's presence that the significance of her singing the song he wrote seemed to fade from his awareness. Magnifique!

On the surface both are quietly mesmerized by other. Really enjoyed the internal dialogue and the ensuing non sequitur... From the internal dialogue we were given a valid segue though. While admonishing herself she manages to confuse Harry to the root of the her sudden Thank You. Sizzling chemistry underneath it all.

Harry really beat himself up with this train of thought. Hoping Ginny can alleviate some of that soon. Poor guy has a case of the feels causing chaotic calamity with his clarity.

Ginny's pull toward the taboo. Was she remembering pain specifically from the interaction with Harry when pondering the metaphysical abilities, or did her interaction with Harry cause her to remember the pain via the old memories of forbidden? Harry goes for an apple ;).

The magic and feels and the strong musical connection overarching upon the story renders my mind to another song hailing from the West Indies.

The Maytals
It Was Written Down(1972) B side

It was written down there by those prophets
It was written down there on the ground
It was written down there by those prophets
It was written down there on the ground
One love, one heart
One eternity, one joy
Come sing a song with me and do your harmony
Go sing a song with me and do your harmony
My father sent me to warn the nation
It was written down there from creation


A decree of support for whatever your plans.





Author's Response:

The Wailers! As in Marley, Livingston & Tosh! Sorry for the delayed reaction -- I am showing my limitationss, I fear. And the Maytals coined the word Reggae? Wow, one learns lots of wild stuff in this line of recreation :) Anyway, I appreciate the song -- moving stuff!

Forbidden / apple? Now who the heck is going to notice a tiny detail like that? Now you're going to think the next chapter is merely belabouring the symbol.

Glad you enjoyed the internal dialogue as there was rather a lot of it. It was indeed intended to flow better than the spoken word. I've experienced conversations like that. I believe I've created such conversations by over-internalising.

Case of calamitous-chaos-causing clarity? Your last name wouldn't be Gravener, would it?

I'm fairly certain that I was supposed to say something else, but my brain has faded into the fog... Perhaps more later.

Thank you for transcending!



Reviewer: snapelover Signed Date: 2018.05.09 - 01:06PM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

Sorry for not having reviewed earlier. This is a great story. Very novel!

If you move your posting elsewhere, send me a link, plz!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the kind words! I haven't decided anything yet, but yes, I'll certainly keep you in the loop!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.05.09 - 05:36AM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

A lot of self-reflection going on in this chapter by Harry and Ginny. I love the way you wove in a few snippets of their past experiences. You've answered some of my unasked questions while of course creating more. Interesting how Ginny pieced together that they both have powers. I'm glad she seemed comfortable with the idea in the end. Could lead to a fascinating conversation eventually ;) Harry is definitely a bit lost in thoughts and feelings. Music seems to currently be his only outlet though I have no doubt that will soon change :) The end worries me - leading to a slew of questions - Is Voldemort alive? Are his followers behind these attacks? Do they know about Harry? Are they searching for Harry? Is anyone trying to protect Harry? If so, how? I could go on but will leave it there. Greatly looking forward to reading the next chapter!

Author's Response:

Aha, you *did* read through carefully, didn't you!

This story is far less impenetrable than FoT was, so the shape of some answers does begin to resolve bit by bit. But there are a few surprises. This is to say that not all of your y/n questions are answered 'yes'. There is one crucial one where the answer is 'mostly not'. The answer to your 'how' question will begin to resolve in chapters 7,8.

As to your suggestion of a fascinating eventual conversation, might I suggest that there is a bit of a musicalis interruptus element to this story when it comes to details. This ties way back to the fundamental unasked question that I hinted at some time ago.

Finally, I'm glad you did recognise the significant positive in the chapter. It comes into play rather soon.

Wonderful comments! Thank you, K!



Author's Response: Correction: given some on-the-fly editing, some salient hints are now present in chapters *6*, 7 and 8.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.08 - 01:38PM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

Not sure why you are thinking of moving this story from this site, which is my favorite, but I guess sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do! So Harry and Ginny finally meet and it seems they are infatuated with each other! As I read about their meeting I was listening to an oldies station on my stereo who coincidentally started playing "Can't Take My Eyes Off Of You" (Franki Vali and the Four Seasons 1967)!:
You're just too good to be true
I can't take my eyes off you
You'd be like heaven to touch
I wanna hold you so much
At long last love has arrived
And I thank God I'm alive
You're just too good to be true
Can't take my eyes off You
Seemed very appropos at that moment! I'm not sure they even remembered Mione was in the room with them! Couldn't help but wonder if your use of the term 'non sequitur' means you're a fan of the cartoon by the same name?! Harry sure seemed conflicted about what kind of feelings he was feeling for Ginny - wait, did I just add to the confusion in this story or is it just a weird feeling I had?! Harry's feelings conundrum made me think of the song "Feelings"(Morris Albert 1975)! Ginny seems just as conflicted by her feelings too(boy there sure were alot of feelings floating around this chapter)! Not sure why she thought of the bully but glad she nailed the stinker! Made me think of "One Of These Days" (Tim McGraw 1997)! I suspect that Ginny and Harry are sensing each other's magical ability or maybe just the magic occurring between them! Kind of a downer at the end of the chapter there! Hope it;s not a portent! I wasn't aware if the IRA is still in the terror game in the UK or have been supplanted by the ISIS scums- but bad news all around! Hope that the girls are OK! I decided to end my review on a positive note and give a nod to our favorite couple at the same time with a verse from one of my favs, "Lady" (Lionel Richie 1980):
Oh, Lady, your love's the only love I need
And beside me is where I want you to be
Cause, my love, my love
There's something I want you to know
You're the love of my life,
You're my lady
Cheers! (This time with a glass of Jack Daniels Bourbon and water on the rocks) :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

Hey Cosmo! Many thanks for a two-song review! I am, quite simply, honoured!

If/when I make the switch-over, I'll dash you an e-mail with details, explanations, etc. I do intend to continue supporting SIYE, if perhaps mostly in an administrative/cheerleading role. Writing remains a passion, and this story continues to be a hoot to craft, but there are reasons to seek fresh horizons.

IRA! Yes, and no. You may recall that the last true terrorist action of the long-standing IRA conflict was the May 1996 Manchester bombing, however in 2000-2001 a splinter group calling themselves "The Real IRA" rose up in protest of the peace negotiations, and started bombing stuff. That's what the characters keep hearing about. Or is it??

Non Sequitur? Actually I was just getting all fancy literary on you however, having searched for the comic and having seen Danae typing into a Dead-Head-Apple MacIntosh, I find myself on the verge of another bad habit! Thank you. I think...

Yes, lots and lots of feelings in this chapter! Do they feel love or magic? I think in chapter 2, they felt magic (perhaps more than just their own magic too), however now I state with optimism that there is more. Unless you say that 'love' is 'magic', in which case perhaps there are different types of magic.

Why did the recollection of the schoolyard incident pop into Ginny's head? Perhaps because the authour wants you to know that, despite her chary reticence, she's no shrinking violet. Or, perhaps because that somewhat scarring image pops into her head whenever something is trying to warn her off the infamous 'forbidden'. Ye shall finde out!

Bourbon on the rocks! You *know* that's a fitting way to end this particular chapter. Merci Beaucoup!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.05.08 - 08:07AM Title: Trouble

starstarstarstarstar

The opening scene almost felt like the famous butter dish scene, however, this time with butter dishes for both, lol.

I liked the way you've drawn Harry's character sketch, and that he's aware of his strange powers. Let's hope the mental preparations for his luhvvah will help Harry.

The schoolyard tyrant remembered me a wee bit of Dudley. It's intriguing how Ginny always seems to feel the Forbidden, I wonder if Harry feels it, too. The big question, however, is, what/who had caused that feeling...and that strange 'punishment'. What is the mystery behind the mystery? When did their ways apart?

You made me quite curious where you want to move with your story...and why. I'm pretty sure you'll let us know as soon as you made your decision.

Author's Response:

Two butter dishes -- great analogy. Thank you! Yes, that depiction of awkwardness is highly intentional, and may even go a little beyond the 'starstruck youth' motif. In fact, a very key undercurrent in most of this chapter relates to the 'key unasked question' that I'd hinted at a few chapters back.

Glad that Harry's anxious doubts worked for you! There are several key messages in all of that. One is that Harry, despite having some major plusses in his life, is no super-Harry. He's a nice fellow, but a bit of a mess in ways that differ a bit from his canon issues.

Dudley! To be brutally honest, I was still (in this freewheeling story) wrestling with the question of whether the bully was anyone in particular. I figured that he was not Crabbe or Goyle, since they're far to thick to achieve dominance. I somehow didn't realise that I could well be writing a Harry-less version of Dudley. That may stick!

The mystery behind the mystery will gradually unfold, however the mystery behind the mystery behind the mystery is why the unfolding occurs so slowly.

Believe it or not, the above statement was semi-fundamental, rather than the gibberish that it might seem ;)

Yes, I'm still working on formatting annoyances, but will absolutely let you know if/when/where I relocate the story.

As always, thank you Martin!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear