Search:

SIYE Time:7:30 on 21st October 2018


Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.07.04 - 05:43PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

Very curious. Dora seems to know magic - at least she reversed the leg locker (or whatever) on Ginny. I still can't figure out what Harry may or may not know. Lucy (Luna? I guess) seems to know or thinks she knows something. The books are mysteriously mentioned again. Great chapter!

Author's Response:

True -- magic exists! Dora knows enough to reverse a leg locker... a leg locker cast by a wizard with a wand, which is a rarity in this story. So, while much has been lost, not everything has been lost by everyone.

Correct on the Lucy / Luna guess, and beautifully commented to phrase it at "seems to know or thinks she knows". Ambiguity is a wonderful tool to use, sometimes :)

On that note, I shall leave my response quite ambiguous, and express my deep gratitude for another brill comment!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 09:21PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

"Clair de Lune"...of course she asked for that!

Truly perfect unfolding...

Author's Response:

For all the great composers of the last five hundred years, I don't think any truly foresaw the atmosphere of a 20th century piano bar the way that Debussy did.

I realise that Clair de Lune is one of the classical pieces most often assigned to talented kids, but the music itself almost seems to require the haze of a low watt lamp; a glass of whisky on the piano, and the wafting aroma of a beautiful woman's perfume...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 09:21PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

"Clair de Lune"...of course she asked for that!

Truly perfect unfolding...

Author's Response:

Thank you so very much for finding a word that perfectly captures what I'm attempting to do with this story.

Unfolding.

The story as a whole, and each chapter therein, the goal is to relate how little life mysteries twist and then release to reveal the core thread.

Thank you again, Gene!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.05.31 - 04:41AM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, my! Now I am getting my deficient brain settled in this timeline thanks to your comments about the great battle of 1987 and the little birdie that sits upon my shoulder saying, “They were Obliviated to save them from immeasurable pain and tragedy raises its frightening head! Ugh! But this is wonderfully well put together!

Author's Response:

So yes. The veil does lift a fraction for our readers, and the glimpse is not reassuring.

While there are loose ends to contend with, and perhaps there is a score to settle... but the measure of comfort that will hopefully arise is in the strength the characters are granted in themselves, and a strength much greater in the joining of pillars into a frame.

Thank you very much for your sincere thoughts!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.05.29 - 11:15PM Title: Frost

In reply to the one and nearly only Aurorofthelight:

Given the timestamps on the reviews it made me feel like this was a Brennus review page. Great minds indeed, Sir.

As far as cultural enrichment, I can attest to lysergic absolutely being used to create the entire album Yellow Submarine. The litmus test is using lysergic while listening. Call it intuition, or Obeah, or a pattern of attempting to expand consciousness during the first decade of this century.

Author's Response:

True! Yesterday was a busy day! A smaller crew than would decorate the best Brennus discussion pages, but just as lively.

Reminds me that I did offer to check with Mark as to the location of his current writing efforts, and whether he would be interested in old voices chiming in on his new pursuits.

And finally, yes, it amazes me that as many of the famous musicians of the 60's truly did survive within functioning cognition given the depths of experimentation. But you say that chemically enhanced listening can detect chemically enhanced composition? Interesting. I will probably not try it out, though. My brain is odd enough as it is.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.05.29 - 07:06PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

First, well done on a great chapter! I'm so glad Luna is involved :) Odd she may be, but she is also incredibly intuitive and clearly knows more about what is happening than most everyone else of the younger generation. Second, wait a cotton picking minute! Who was sending what kind of spell towards Harry and Ginny? Witches and wizards must still be quite active in Britain of this reality. I'm sorry to hear about the relationship troubles between Lee and Angelina. Besides difficulties of time and place, they also seem to be suffering from difficulties of time and reality. This is a complicated story you are weaving! Curious to see where it will go next!

Author's Response:

Luna / Lucy indeed! Ever wise and insightful, though perhaps edgier after a childhood with someone other than an eccentric independent publisher. I have just decided on how she must return to the plot. It will be a bit later -- maybe around chapter 14. That should make for some fun writing :)

Yes, I fear I definitely threw a bit of frost into everyone's Valentine's. And a snake in the grass, even! As far as what spells? Locomotor Mortis was likely what hit Ginny, but whatever nasty he threw at Harry, we may not learn precisely.

You raise a compelling assumption with respect to the activity level of wizardry in this world. This assumption / query will be addressed as time goes on. I'm sure it would shock you to hear this, but the answer may not be quite what one would assume ;)

Complicated? Yes. Fortunately not nearly as insane as FoT :)

A predictable wonderful set of prompters! Thank you, Kimberly!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.29 - 05:11PM Title: Frost

Note to RighT3rantZ: Great minds think alike! :D

Author's Response:

Given the prolonged discussion, let me take the opportunity for this week's cultural broadening experience!



Author's Response:

Oops, nearly forgot to address the Remus comment from earlier. Sadly, the answer was no. You will discover later that both Sirius and Lupin had different difficulties during the long prolonged Wizarding War...

So, Dora was accompanied by someone else.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.29 - 05:10PM Title: Frost

Note to RighT3rantZ: Great minds think alike! :D

Author's Response:

Speaking of levitating Lucy and her crystalline carbon, I assume? Great minds indeed!

Speaking of great minds, John Lennon seriously did spend decades of his life swearing that the songs were about his niece's drawings, and not about psychedelics. Sure John. I'll split the difference and say it was his artistic impression of his niece's sketches whilst he was under the influence.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.05.29 - 04:42PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

At last, the much anticpated chapter 8!!! Why does Kingston Shelby remind me a lot of one Kingsley Shacklebolt?! Sounds like this Brixton Academy is a dream come true for Lee and company, which of course reminded me of the song, "All I Have To Do Is Dream"(Everly Brothers 1958)! Mione and Ginny walking by that park and Mione's thoughts about it brought to mind the song "MacAruthur Park"(Richard Harris[future Dumbledore & before he became Sir Richard]1968)! Quick work by Miss Manners Mione to set Lee straight after his tiff with Angelina and pull him out of his doldrums - somewhat! About half expected Lee to start singing "Love Hurts" (Nazareth 1975)! Is it just me, or did that girl named Lucy in the tie-dyed dress, castigating Harry about some book remind anyone else of Luna Lovegood!?! Or is one of your chapters confusing me again?! That scene certainly made me immediately think of "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds"(The Beatles 1968)! Kudos for mentioning those famous wizarding names but wasn't the great battle in 98 not 87? Oh wait, AU! And there's that darn Dean trying to beat Harry's time with Ginny again! Glad Harry got to her in time to save her from what appeard to be a wizard! I would love to know if the first name of the kind gentleman with Dora was by any chance, Remus?! Quite an interesting Valentines Day and this chapter was certainly worth the anticipation! Lots of sparks between our 2 love birds(but still no snogging darn it) - very touching ending with the piano bit! Considering everything that went on between Harry and Ginny in this chapter and their deepening attraction & reactions to each other, I decided a good end to this review would be with verses from another fav of mine which I own an original 45 of - "Crimson and Clover"(Tommy James and the Shondells 1965):
"Ah, now I don't hardly know her
But I think I could love her
Crimson and clover
Ah when she comes walking over
Now I've been waitin' to show her
Crimson and clover over and over
Yeah, my, my such a sweet thing
I wanna do everything
What a beautiful feeling
Crimson and clover over and over"
Thanks for another stellar chapter, G and Cheers!
(This time with a glass of 2014 Coppola Merlot)
:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Author's Response:

Miss Mione Manners! Brill! She did drop an H-bomb (not of the thermonuclear variety), but otherwise a great characterization. Thank you!

Richard Harris was knighted? Interesting, To be honest, I always thought MacArthur Park was excessively whiny, but definitely a potent ear-worm. And a classic!

Speaking of classic, the Everly Bro's tune absolutely fits the bill, though "Love Hurts" is a closer match to both the mood of this particular Valentine's day, and the genre goes well with Indie Rockers.

Yes, in this 'real' universe (i.e., the one you and I and 'some' other readers inhabit) Mione Granger and Harry Jordan were still studying for their A-levels, Ginny Smith was a year away from that, and Lee Jordan was stocking shelves at a Sainsbury's on Camden High Street. And they were all eleven years past an incredibly unpleasant series of events that they don't seem to remember.

TJ and the Shondells / Crimson & Clover! I grew up with the Joan Jett & the Blackhearts version. Speaking of an ear-worm! Nonetheless, thank you greatly for the lyrical trip back along memory lane!

I have indeed partaken of Coppola Estates Merlots! For some reason, staring into a glass of that, though, I feel ever so slightly like Vlad Dracul...

And that is a great note to end a Valentine's commentary on :)



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.05.29 - 04:39PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

Ah yes, back in 2002 when steak knives weren't considered a deadly weapon in Britain. Better get the lad a butter knife. It will certainly be more delicate than Angela's harsh accent...especially in...I dunno, France was it?

Lucy, the lunatic is on the path. What did I just witness transpiring in this scene I must ask myself...as I fear you could only allude if you were asked directly.

Lucy in the sky with Diamonds
The Beatles (1967)

Picture yourself in a boat on a river
With tangerine trees and marmalade skies
Somebody calls you, you answer quite slowly
A girl with kaleidoscope eyes
Cellophane flowers of yellow and green
Towering over your head
Look for the girl with the sun in her eyes
And she's gone
Lucy in the sky with diamonds
Lucy in the sky with diamonds
Lucy in the sky with diamonds

:) Seems Lucy likes the weed, but what happened with Ginny.? She seemed to go into a trance...where everyone was gawking(or she perceived them to be) and Dean followed her....and that slim silver haired man was out there waiting...something forbidden. She realized something about '87, great. I still don't know what most of this ultimately means, but I am along for the ride regardless.

So the party was after pi o'clock but ended at 10. Would that have put the strange events in the nine o'clock hour? Was that Kingston that saved the day? Quite a nice ride.

Is Ginny going to have to make the first move for HJ?

Author's Response:

Where to begin?

Let's commence with timing: the party was on a Thursday evening, so that would have meant Harry would not have gotten off work until 5pm, and would have been home around 5:30. I guess we could have assumed Ginny and Mione to have arrived a bit after 6:30, and the foursome would have eaten supper between 7-8pm. Chaos was quite short lived -- likely starting around 9:30, and ended around 10pm. So yes.

Looney Lucy is 'reputed' to have a cannabis thing, although she may have come by her eccentricities honestly. And yes, I do believe she would have loved Lennon's psychedelic tune!

What happens to Ginny and her little freak-out? Well, it appears to be a pattern here that she is unable to handle situations where [herein I obscure something useful]. In a normal world, one might have pegged her as a PTSD candidate. In this story, however, that might not be true.

Yes, Angie is kind of a no-nonsense person. I believe she has a good heart but, like everyone, is damaged I fear.

Sadly, I cannot write a good Saaf-London accent. In some neighbourhoods it is not too distant from a West Indies accent, but there are re-Anglifications, and it does not translate well to the page.

Marvelous review, thank you!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2018.05.29 - 02:11PM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarhalf-star

The fight in the park is a sure pointer to something. How it all turns out is still lost to me. Fascinating!

Author's Response:

Glad I have you intrigued, Dad!

Yes, the scuffle on the frosty green is the first solid proof that the angst is not all in their heads. Beware of roller coaster (figurative) ahead!

Thank you for the review!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.05.29 - 11:47AM Title: Frost

starstarstarstarstar

My first thought when I opened the chapter?...Uh, oh..Frost? What did he plan for today? Doesn't sound like Valentine's.

I'm curious for a while now if the Mysti Stags will still exist at the end of the story. I'm not sure if it's important...probably not.

I wonder if Angelina leaving England also had something to do with the 'forbidden'.

Ah, Otter Bitter, brewed where the red-headed Smiths lived in the past...or are still living...I should have tasted it when I visited Ottery.

Is Lucy by any chance an incarnation of Luna who sees through all things, and is wiser than everyone else...
The great battle of '87? ...interesting detail, even in two ways, the date itself and the fact that all the details Lucy/Luna mentioned to Harry had quite the impact on Ginny...and as it seemed to Harry, too.

I wonder what cloaky (no matter if it was Malfoy or not) really wanted from Ginny. Did he wait outside, or was he somehow alerted because something 'forbidden' happened...

Do Dora and/or King know what happened? Did their parents bring their kids to 'safety' into the Muggle world after the '87 Battle, just like Albus Percival did with baby Harry? It's an intriguing idea, isn't it? Their false identities could be an indication that something is true about this.

Ah yes, Clair de Lune again. I was quite curious right from the first chapter or was it the second chapter, what their relationship was in the past. After all, they were kids, about 7 or 8 or so (as the great battle of '87 confirms)...Seems the ring probably is really her mother's. But somehow there must be more...

I was wondering for a while now with whom Mione will end up with...if there'll be someone at all...the red-headed Smith bloke Lee was remembering ...or Lee himself. Although it looks like the latter at the moment, I wouldn't be surprised if Red Hair Smith will show up someday.

Author's Response:

Yes, your Devon pilgrimage! So, did I recall you going to Ottery St. Mary?

It's a good question that you raise. I'm going to merge both Angie and Ronnie into the same discussion, as two slightly-developed characters whose full roles I haven't yet decided. The original story map didn't really project them into the later stages, yet we have an odd convergence of two nice people who no longer fit into the core-four, and both hate England. It's probably not spoiling too much to say that Ronnie will not swoop out of nowhere to catch Mione... and Angie isn't getting Lee back, but what if [speculation redacted for mysterious purposes]?

There is more to the ring.

Moving along with other queries, there are at least *four* people around who have a decent grasp of what happened in 1987: Dora is one, but she is youngest and knows least. Kingston knows more. At least one is dark. One you will meet in the next chapter. And yes, one could make an argument for Lucy being a fifth member of the cognoscenti, though I think you characterised it well by saying that she 'sees', rather than knows. As far as your deduction regarding what was done with the children, you will learn a reasonable amount in Chapter 12... but I fearlessly predict that you will not learn enough to satisfy.

That, I think, is about all that I can share right now. Thank you for some great little discussion points!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear