Search:

SIYE Time:18:10 on 21st October 2018


Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.06.15 - 04:26AM Title: Purple

I needed to re-read this chapter to get my head back into things because I believe we are upon a critical turning point. However, in the midst of such an admirable development, I forgot to mention how insightful you are with Lee and the rapid beginning of his recovery from a broken long-term relationship!

I hope we do not all share this experience, though I suspect many of us do; the sickening feeling of watching helplessly as someone we love desperately falls increasingly out of love with us. I recall feeling lost, rudderless, and the sensation of flailing about trying to influence my beloved into rekindling her affection for me. Of course, this never works, and the more I flail about, the more desperately possessive my actions become, the more rapidly the object of my affection seeks to end things! Ugh! I hate being out of control of any situation, but how much worse can it get than losing the perceived love of your life?

So, she pulls the trigger and end things. My world is about to end, right? I fall asleep in abject misery. But when morning dawns, so does the realization that my torment is over. That horrifying pressure is gone, for there is no longer anything I can do.

Accepting this reality, I realize that both despair and desperation have fled and I feel, surprisingly, GOOD! Suddenly I begin to relate to the world like I always have and the desperate, cloying, smotheringly possessive person I had become is GONE!

Had this monstrous asshole never raised his head, would she still have ended things? I’ll never know that particular answer. However, I can now see that the answer didn’t matter, for now I am free to be me and can renew the search for someone who will love me for who I am, and not the dependent wimp I had allowed myself to become.

The beautiful thing is that you SHOW us this reality of life in very few words and with great mercy to Lee. Amazing job!

Author's Response:

Extraordinarily eloquent and heartfelt response -- thank you for sharing!

It has always mystified me how love and hate can frequently be so closely mirrored as two sides of same (oft-twisted) coin; how two very good caring people can be plagued with insecurities that turn one on the other in ways so often so regretful. Over the decades I've gradually wondered if the whole notion of love is even worth it, if the penalty, the moment something goes wrong, is so demonical. Truth be told, I'm now going on 16 successful years with my wife, but am grappling with a close cousin whose marriage is ending after 14. That has sparked some deep thought that perhaps has emerged in the rather 'hopeful' outcome for Lee -- a recognition that the loss already 'was', and now is the moment to begin the gradual 'regain'; now is the moment to recolour a world of memories not in anger or as betrayal, but rather the water under the bridge of life experiences.

I think you said it better.

Anyway, thank you again for illuminating!



Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.06.10 - 03:55PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

What an intense series of shorts, the way Harry and Mione ended up converging and running over together to help Ginny. It sounds trivial when I put it like that, but it really came off as heart-pounding stuff. Well done!

Author's Response:

Hey, glad you enjoyed that sequence! I think I called it 'tennis match' writing in an earlier review, but it's more of a 'sawtooth convergence'. In any case, they're fun to write; translate well to cinematography.

Thank you for the review, CG!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.08 - 08:41PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

This just in: the 'official' nomination for *GHL's best line* in the chapter 'Purple':

"Glared. At her fugitive, flagrant, repeat-offending, serial-tapping, yet ever-so-slightly contrite-looking, finger."

Thought you would want to know...as soon as possible

Author's Response:

Hah! Yes, of course I'm always deathly curious how crazy extravagant lines like that will play out :)

Truth be told, quite few crazy lines survive the edits -- I often figure that ones like that above are too complicated to be worth it. But that one, well, seemed worth the complexity.

In any case, my sincere gratitude to someone who tolerates (even condones) my quirks!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.06.07 - 01:56PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

I find it interesting that the overall tone you have created for the story is really something completely unique in comparison with your other fanfics. However, as you stated below, your attention to detail still comes to the forefront. That in particular is not islolated to this story.

As a serial reading the pacing of this story feels slow. Could be the characters getting lost in their head for a few moments with their own thoughts. A lot of reflecting happening while the outside world appears to...either pause or fade away. When the internal dialogue is done nearly no time has passed. Not the typical GHL sprinkling of confusion, but it does leave me disoriented at times. Do not take this as a negative. Anything that manages to affect my cerebral process as I read I usually look upon as a piece of good writing.

Now then, it has become a habit to propose songs to go with the chapters. On that note as Harry was frantically looking for Ginny the song that popped into my head:

Chi-Lites
Have you seen her (1971)

One month ago today
I was happy as a lark
But now I go for walks
To the movies, maybe to the park
I have a seat on the same old bench
To watch the children play, huh
You know tomorrow is their future
But for me just another day
They all gather 'round me, huh
They seem to know my name
We laugh, tell a few jokes
But it still doesn't ease my pain
I know I can't hide from a memory
Though day after day I've tried
I keep sayin' she'll be back
But today again I've lied
Oh, I see her face everywhere I go
On the street and even at the picture show
Have you seen her
Tell me have you seen her
Oh, I hear her voice as the cold winds blow
In the sweet music on my radio
Have you seen her
Tell me have you seen her
Why, oh, why
Did she have to leave and go away?
Oh...oh...oh...oh...oh...
I've been used to havin' someone to lean on
And I'm lost, baby, I'm lost

Harry's meditative state (astral plane maybe?) gave us a glimpse of a part of your writing style that I didn't know I was waiting for in this story until it appeared. Brill. I love having to get out my metaphysical compass to go searching for the last...(well, you know)


Author's Response:

Motown! I think I've heard a few covers over the years, but the original slays with the reverb base and airy vocal opening.

Much today, so let's begin with what you phased as 'not' a criticism, but has actually been on my mind. There is indeed a lot of time flux in this chapter, beginning with Ginny's ten second internal soliloquy (could have been 5 minutes for a slower mind), and then accentuating with Harry's and Mione's all-day tennis/fret match starting in slow motion then accelerating all the way to the mad dash up St. John Street. I can certainly see why anyone's internal chronometer would get a bit confused. My coping mechanism, as a writer, is to put up road signs on a fairly regular basis. If those signs aren't around then, as a general rule, time slips by faster when characters are alone with their own thoughts (as in like, 'holy crap, where did the time go?!') and slower when there's action or dialogue.

Still thinking about how best to accomplish time flow, though. A lot of my writing is both cerebral and time-sensitive, and those two factors tend to complicate each other.

So, yes, 8+ chapters is quite a while to go without a semi-hallucinatory experience in one of my stories :) There are no more in the next four chapters, but surely at least one more before the story is done.

Wonderful comments and thoughts, thank you!



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2018.06.07 - 08:07AM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

As you're talking about chapter 12 and beyond I can see that the reveal is going to be far more intricate than anything I've been expecting. Not complaining though!

Author's Response:

Two different musings woven in there -- how long will it be, and how complicated will it get? Having finished a draft of chapter 13 a couple of days ago, I now have a pretty solid feel for how complex the plot will become (more elaborate than people might have assumed five chapters ago, but perhaps less detailed and intricate than they might now be wondering), however it's still a bit tricky to gauge how long the story will run. Some time ago, I pulled the number 20 chapters out of thin air, and that may still be a decent target.

Anyway, great to still have you along for the ride, Ellen!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.06.06 - 11:15PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

Okay! This is outstandingly well done and extremely exciting. My pulse has quickened, and I simply can't wait for the next installment!!!

Author's Response:

Happy happy happy to hear that!

I think that something I had a bit of an instinct for writing, and have continued to improve, is the art of the 'little' dramas. We all have our own little mysteries and dramas -- like looking across a crowded room wondering if that person in the odd hat was in your third grade class... or sitting in traffic, fretting over whether you'll be late for your meeting. The art is in being able to relate little things in a way that brings the pulse to a quicken; builds that 'can't wait' response.

Capturing little dramas, I think, is a way of recreating the angst and strains in our everyday, of translating them to a fictional plot, yet simultaneously (hopefully) bringing a sense of resolution. If learning how to do that is the only thing I eventually master in writing, I will be satisfied :)

Thank you very much for an exceptionally kind review!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 04:58PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! Okay, so Harry and Ginny both seem to be remembering something vital and terrifying from their pasts. I'm trying to determine possible general time lines and realize that my biggest question of the moment is: Does this story follow canon at all? As in, can I assume canon events up until a certain age or a particular book in the series? You've dropped hints that have occasionally made me suspicious about many canon events, but at other times, I wonder if I'm seeking hints where there are none and I should assume no canon events at all. Obviously, I realize that the conversation Harry and Ginny appear to be about to have might answer some of that. They are both orphans, or at least they both believe they are orphans, from what time? From what age? Greatly anticipating the next chapter :)

Author's Response:

This is a very short response, predicated by my foot being half out the door, so more to follow later. I will spill one key bit of unrevealed info: This story presumes canon up until the point of deciding whether it would be Pettigrew or someone else who would serve as the Potters' Fidelius secret keeper.

Twist, anyone?



Author's Response:

Anyway, having lobbed a small knowledge grenade into things yesterday, I shift back into proper response mode.

Given how I phrased it, you can thus presume no standard 1990-1998 canon, but I think you 'can' assume that I will not have done anything terrible to canon characters, other than to morph their personalities according to large differences in formative experiences and, for most, a youth brought outside of the magical world.

And yes, more details will emerge, beginning in the next chapter, and then more substantively in Chapter 12.

Thank you for the prompters, Kimberly!



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 01:27PM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

Of course my first thought when I saw the title of this chapter was of "Purple Rain"(Prince 1984)! With what happened between Lee and Angie, it reminded me of the song "I'll Never Fall In Love Again" (The Carpenters 1970)! Glad Mione was able to help pull Lee out of the funks but I'm still holding out hope you'll keep a little cannon in this thing by having Ron 'Smith'(still alittle AU) show up to sweep Mione off her feet(unless of course whatever happened to Ginny & Harry in the past removed Ron from the picture)! WOW! What a twist in this story and quite the conundrum for Ginny & Harry with their flashbacks to the past, especially thinking they may have known each other before (Theme song from the Twilight Zone,1959 - 1964, plays in background)! For some reason Harry and Ginny's new love and this story made me think of the song, "We've Only Just Begun" (The Carpenters 1970)! Good to know this AU Hermoine is still as scholatically gifted as canon Hermoine! You know, when you mentioned that tall, serious, actually quite good-looking fellow student I was hoping that'd be someone besides Ernie! Oh well, "Que Sera Sera"(Doris Day 1958)! Glad Harry, with an assist from Mione, found Ginny at the end! Can't wait to see what they are remembering about the past, but I suspect that in the end, love will conquer all! Considering that Ginny & Harry were as close as a crack in the door to each other at the end, I decided to end this review with some ap verses from "Close To You" (The Carpenters 1970):
Why do stars fall down from the sky
Every time you walk by?
Just like me, they long to be
Close to you
Just like me, they long to be
Close to you
(Yes, this chapter was a tribute to Karen Carpenter who we lost way too soon)! Can't wait for the next thrilling episode(Cut to Lone Ranger theme song in background)! Cheers G! (This time with a glass of
Craggy Range Te Muna Road Vineyard Pinot Noir 2010 from New Zealand)! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

Karen and Richard C. definitely make a splash in this review! Yes, Karen's death was a tragedy, though her death provided a resonating self-image message even to this most current generation of girls and women. Regardless, the Carpenters were definitely musical pioneers.

No, I think that Purple-Rain is what happens to those who read this chapter and find themselves having to go back to consult the first one...

I believe, if you skim through semi-recent reviews, you may get a glimmer of an idea of where/how Ronnie Smith might ultimately enter the proceedings. I'm fairly certain he's too late to cash in on the Mione Granger sweepstakes, but that hopefully will not be the end of the world for him.

Mione will be showing off her real-world smarts quite soon -- watch for her in the next chapter.

Keep the New Zealand wine coming! It's fine inspiration for a new tale that is just starting to take shape in my mind.

Finally, many twists heading your way! Hope your seat belt is fastened, and thank you for all!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 08:49AM Title: Purple

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, did Ginny really watch Harry playing the piano all Valentine's eve? Didn't they talk about what just happened? Did Harry ever notice that their flat is being watched?

“Treating a lady 'well' needn't always be the same as treating her 'slow and proper', eh?" I thank Lee on behalf of all readers for his advice...and I hope Harry will heed his advice before we all get impatient. ;-)

Oh, Harry wonders that Lee knows the Smith's, but he didn’t ask him how and why...I wonder if he’d asked Lee if Ginny had been there. It seems the two of them need to be together to get the break-through…and it seems Ginny remembers more than I thought. Interesting, Harry had given Ginny the ring at some point in the past, whomever it belonged to. Did someone send Harry to bring the ring to Ginny? How did Harry get the ring if it really belonged to Ginny's mother? Or did it belong to Miss Lily? (No spoilers, please. I'm just pondering aloud.) If only I could see if the ring has an inscription.

Did Harry become so troubled over the day because he somehow sensed that something was wrong with Ginny...or did he suffer from the same after-effects of the events of Valentine's eve as Ginny? It probably doesn't matter, but the first option sounds a bit more romantic, does it?
It seems the walls of the ‘forbidden’ are slowly crumbling as they seem to remember more and more details. I’m quite curious if the first step for a break-through is waiting for us in the next chapter...and what ultimately will let the wall of the ‘forbidden’ collapse...the ultimate ‘forbidden’…their first kiss? I'm curious what will happen when they'll finally overcome what is trying to keep them apart.

Great chapter! Thanks a million.

Author's Response:

First of all, there is a common theme to multiple questions here, which I will summarise as 'why don't they talk'? In fact, that was the crucial unasked question that I had hinted about way back in the notes for Chapter 2.

So, why the hesitation? Wouldn't many things have gone a lot easier if people had just... compared notes? The answer, perhaps, is now within the realm of speculation. The issue will also begin to obviate, because at the beginning of the next chapter, Harry and Ginny actually *do* begin to talk. It's tentative, but it is a start.

You also made a request in this review that will be 'partially' addressed in Chapter 10, though you may find Chapter 13 to be more satisfying in that respect.

The ring! Doesn't seem to make sense, does it? It was clearly Ginny's mother's wedding ring, yet Harry had it in his hand, in that dark chamber, many years ago? No spoilers.

Finally, I caught you a bit by giving you the beta-test version of the chapter. Lee's sentiment to Harry was valid but, for the sake of crafting a 'crafty' chapter, I made some tweaks to his message. You may take both versions to be canon, if you wish :)

Finally, I do think it's more likely that Harry has become attuned to Ginny's state of mind and suffered accordingly. The vision in the university quadrangle is a consequence of this growing connection; a connection that is forcing them slowly to address their past.

Kind thanks for a great review! Hope the rest of the week, and its associated festivities, are wonderful for you and your family!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear