Search:

SIYE Time:6:54 on 21st October 2018


Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2018.07.04 - 06:10PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

So Harry is still important, no matter where he is. I love that Harry and Ginny are able to figure things out - at least begin to figure something out. I'm guessing whatever happened to Ginny had to do with Dark Magic which is why she's so edgy around magic. Dora is certainly an interesting character. I'm guessing that Ferret Fart is Lucius, but he could still be Draco. I do feel for all the cute little ferrets out there linked to the Malfoy name!

Author's Response:

That is perhaps one of the most unique reviewer opinions I have heard in a long time -- sympathy for the ferrets of the world! I do agree, as their characters are far more evolved and interesting as pets than, say, rabbits. A fair sight more charming than the weasels whom Lucius and Draco seem to most closely physically resemble. I assume JKR perhaps only realised belatedly that she'd painted herself in a bit of a corner by naming a key protagonist family 'Weasley', and thus had to go with a somewhat sub-par secondary metaphor. Anyway, I agree.

And yes, Harry is indeed still important, even though he doesn't know why. And Harry and Ginny are starting to make a bit of progress on peeling those onion skins, though perhaps they could use a bit of help.

Great points to highlight and consider. Thank you, Sharon!



Reviewer: hot48cricket Signed Date: 2018.06.27 - 10:16AM Title: Prying

so Dora "Tonks" knows Harry - and knows that Ginny is really a "Weasley" but what the heck is going on??? Forgotten memories????

Harry is magical - and so is Ginny.

Author's Response:

Lots of question marks in the review, but it's actually a fair synopsis of the current state. Indeed, Harry and Ginny both sense their powers, whereas people like Lee, Dean, Seamus and Neville have no clue whatsoever. And quite a number of people have gaping holes in their childhood recollections.

As far as what's going on? You beat me to the punch by reading through to chapter 12 before I got a chance to respond. Although even at that point, there are lots of puzzlers.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.06.22 - 05:50PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

I've often pondered what might be the connection between Ginny and Harry, that Harry is able to somehow sense that Ginny is in trouble, and I was more than once wondering if it has something to do with the ring.

Just as often I pondered the question how powerful their power might be...without magical education...without having a wand. Is it just accidental magic, just a wee bit more powerful because they're older? On the other hand, their opponents obviously were quite surprised about the way they fought back...wandlessly.

An older question from the earlier chapters is, who's behind the 'forbidden', who made them forget. In earlier chapters, I thought it's their enemies, Death Eaters, or whatever to call them. In the meantime, I more and more suspect it's someone else...they themselves are blocking painful memories and everything connected with them ... especially red, the colour of the blood.
But who are Dora and Kingston working for? Ah yes, Dora. She was 15 at the time the mysterious battle happened. Obviously, she has a magical education. Does it mean that Hogwarts still exists...and, maybe, even something like the Order of the Phoenix?

...and then there's Dean. Too bad, Ginny's reservations about him were cut off when the tall man with long platinum hair made his appearance.

Great chapter. Thank you so much!

Author's Response:

Ginny's and Harry's connection -- it will only be revealed toward the end of the story, but I think you will appreciate it. You may have read the other review responses enough to be fairly confident that the ring is somehow part of the connection. That may indeed be the case, although I will state one thing here, which is that the ring itself is not magical...

Wandless, nonverbal magic. I think there is more will and control than accidental magic, however both Harry and Ginny are very limited by a lack of understanding of what realms of possibility are availed in a diversity of spells. What they are capable of is either raw and crude (blasts of unshaped power), or subtle and crude (basically unintentional e.s.p.), but almost nothing out of Goshawk's Book of Spells (let alone potions and whatnot).

Just got done a semi-final edit of chapter 12, which will answer some of your other questions. But not all.

The question of whether Hogwarts exists, and whether there is anyone higher up the chain than Kingston -- that will have to await late in the story.

As far as Deam, I shall discuss him more in responding to your next review. Thank you, Martin, and I hope you enjoyed some well-earned time off!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.19 - 03:28PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Ah...so Dora! is actually coming through for Ginny/Mione as well as us readers...(Or is that you who's doing that?)...and shedding a bit of light.

Thanks for the gift!

Author's Response:

Yes, Dora officially walks the floor as the fifth protagonist! She will play an increasingly key role going forward, and will shed a fair bit *more* light in the next chapter -- things you may have been guessing.

You're so very welcome. My appreciation for the kind thoughts, Gene!



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2018.06.15 - 05:13AM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

What an interesting chapter! So, as Ginny and Harry work to find the answers, Tonks is trying, benignly it appears, to protect Harry from what, exactly? His memories? His destiny? Both? And if AU Harry Jordan is anything like Canonical Harry Potter, he won’t care for this any more than he cared for Dumbledore’s disclosure of protecting Harry while withholding vital information!

Great job, by the way! You have simultaneously pointed us in the general direction of the truth while opening doors for (potential???) obfuscation?

Sneaky thing that you are!

Author's Response:

Obfuscation! An alternate working title for this story?

Yes, there is a mirror of canon here in the choice of solution to a difficult problem, and the challenges of those people who are left to work within the framework of such dubious choices.

In the end, I was glad in canon that Rowling removed the divine halo from Dumbledore's aura, replacing it with a insight into how he too was really just another damaged person -- good, but possessed of hardships that beget flawed judgment. A lot of harsh disillusionment in those books, considering they began as children's tales, but at least there are some fine allegories in there.

My appreciation for sparking yet another series of stirring thoughts; thanks Ed!



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2018.06.14 - 05:08PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Oh my! I have to say that I really do love Dora ;) Tonks was always one of my favorite completely underutilized characters in the Harry Potter world - a tough, smart, sexy without trying, clumsy without being hapless, woman. Ginny and Mione are bound to look gorgeous by the time she is done with them, especially since she can obviously utilize a bit of magic if needed. Actually it's a bit of a relief to realized that at least a few good witches still exist and know something of what is going on in the world and the possible danger they're in (Harry in particular). I was very interested in Ginny's descriptions of purple and the words she used to describe the blue and the red, as well as the memories and the power. Is it important at all that the words she used for blue are so very Ravenclaw in nature? Very curious and very well done...such a shame about Malfoy....

Author's Response:

So very glad you like this particular incarnation of the inimitable Tonks :) She is going to have her hands full with Ginny and Mione, both of whom can be 'handfuls' in this story, but she gives as good as she gets and does a yeowoman's job of introducing our Muggle-minded characters to their non-Muggly heritage. And, of course, her courage will be exemplified in other ways.

An excellent thought on Ravenclaw blue, especially in light of Ginny ascribing to that colour a set of virtues that are exquisitely Ravenclaw. And, of course, both Ginny and Mione have strong Ravenclaw personality features. Interesting...

A shame indeed about Malfoy! In chapter 14 you will begin to glimpse a bit about some of the others he has dragged into the morass.

Wonderful review -- thank you! I hope you're doing well!



Reviewer: RighT3rantZ Signed Date: 2018.06.13 - 06:36PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Ginny and Hermione dressed as 'hottie sluts' for their *Js...commendable happy ending.

This damn Real IRA pokes its head again. I admit confusion on this front coupled with neurolinguistic schizophrenia. I mentioned something in one of the earlier reviews regarding this. The three Feather meanness, shaken 5 times not stirred. I mean, if you really want a mean song.....I can loose one like Odysseus in his grand return to his home. Speaking of which I wonder if that segment of the SIYE population heard it as lose in their heads throughout the chapter? Oh well pop me in the nose and slip on a noose. Get it right on the first try.

Choosing a song was Hard for this chapter so I propose 3 songs :)

For blue, a pioneer of rhythm and blues crossing over to rock. He's so damn good he named 2 songs after himself

Bo Diddley
Bo Diddley (1955)

For red
Barrington Levy
Saw Red

For that first kiss
The Melodians
Sweet Sensation (1972)
(Lyrics withheld due to taking up too much space

I like how Tonks pretended to speak another regional dialect for the job. I do hope you would have a plan to change names and literary references if you decide to go that other route elsewhere. Edit and mold it like a piece of Clay.....(uhhhh). Cheers my man ;)

I'm sure anyone reading these reviews might be scratching their head, but they should rest assured I have scars on my own.


Author's Response:

Of course Bo Diddley is a legend, and with a monikor like that, it's a wonder he's not a scat lyric too. Actually, he probably is. Scratch that statement.

I've not previously encountered The Melodians or Barrington Levy, although my current playlist includes 'Fast Times at Barrington High' (band = 'The Academy Is'), and I have partied on the same Barrington Street in Halifax that the Barenaked Ladies savaged in their hit song 'Hello City'. Anyway, I appreciate the dedications and have added them to my YouTube playlist.

Speaking of playlists, this may mean absolutely nothing to most readers, but I have acquired a major crush on Tay Jardine. Oh, she can sing!

Okay, having got that out of my system, it's time to get down to brass tacks! The 'Real IRA' is, as your confusion suggests, merely a ruse. The villains as using it at a front, and you can see from Dora's hesitation, that she prefers to use a term like that instead of calling them crude things like Death Eaters, or even a cabal of dark wizards.

Regarding any consideration of releasing this as a non-HP fiction, I've let go of that. However, it's so close to non-fanfiction, I've begun releasing it for free on self-publishing sites. Not getting much traction on Inkitt or Wattpad, but the story seems to have caught fire on AvalonNovel -- The format is ghastly (100% plain text, courier font, only on androids), but I've posted 6 chapters over a little more than three weeks, and already have nearly 11,000 hits. 11K hits in less than a month? I'll be lucky if I get that on SIYE in a year. Anyway, the next novel will not be HP fanfic, though you'll recognise some key concepts. May start that in the fall, and will certainly let you know.

Thank you sincerely for the chance to chatter!



Reviewer: snapelover Signed Date: 2018.06.13 - 11:43AM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Not sure where Dora is getting her kopytkas, but the ones I've had are definitely tasty! So Under Solo is a real place? Cool. Another spot to visit when I'm in London next October. Any more good party spots planned for the story?

Author's Response:

I must admit that I don't have Dora's recommendation for you on where in North London to get good Polish carry-out, but I *can* confirm that Under Solo is real, as was The Half Moon. Camden Palace is now called Koko, but is otherwise there, in all its glory of past decades.

One point of guilt is that (see Chapters 13,14) I needed a formerly-real restaurant to give bad press to (bad as in 'evil') and (for a variety of plot-complementary reasons) the House of Wolf in Islington, believing that the restaurant had gone under around 2010. Now, however, I've jut found out that it re-opened last month! So, by all means, do visit and please do not hold any fictionally snarky sinister happenings against them! In the past (as House of Wolf, followed by Dead Dolls House, and now back to HoW) they have had fascinating food and drinks... if occasionally questionable service...

Anyway, thank you very much for your lit review and, in return, you get a slightly schizophrenic restaurant review.



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.06.12 - 04:56PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

This chapter was certainly pivotal almost to the point of making my head spin! Methinks the plot thickenethed - a lot! Harry and Ginny certainly shared some mellow moments at the start, which of course made me think of "Have You Ever Been Mellow"(Olivia Newton John 1975)! All that talk about the color blue made me think of "BLue Eyes Cryin in the Rain"(Willie Nelson 1975), "Blue Suede Shoes" (Elvis 1956) and "Crystal Blue Persuasion" (Tommy James and the Shondells 1968) at the same time! Glad Harry made it to the gig in time but that must have been some wild ride with Dora! Wish I could've looked inside Mione's brain to see what she thought of Dora calling her "Grangey"! WHOO HOO! First kiss for Ginny & Harry! You sure didn't waste any time getting to the snogging in this one! After that smooch Ginny gave him, I half expected Harry to start singing "Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me"(Mel Carter 1992)! Assuming of course he could get that stunned goofy look off his face! Hmmm, gaunt cheeks and long platinum hair - Gee, wonder who that sounds like - ferret indeed(Wink Wink)! Leave it to the brains in the group Mione to figure out Dora's cover! This story just got alot more ominous - can't wait to see what the threat against Harry is about and what he and Ginny are starting to remember! In honor of Harry and Ginnys' first kiss, I decided to end this review with some verses from another fav of mine "IF"(Bread 1971):
If a man could be two places at one time,
I'd be with you.
Tomorrow and today, beside you all the way.
If the world should stop revolving spinning slowly down to die,
I'd spend the end with you.
And when the world was through,
Then one by one the stars would all go out,
Then you and I would simply fly away...
Cheers for another success G! (This time with a Stolichnaya Vodka Tonic with a twist of fresh lime)(or if you are really adventurous, try an oyster shot - that's a tall shot glass filled with Stolis, a dash of tabasco sauce then drop in a raw oyster and shoot the whole thing down)! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response:

First of all, please watch for the drinks order in chapter 14. The venue, I believe, converged well with the recommendation.

Secondly, whilst we're on the topic of drinks, I may take you up on the vodka and lime, although I may have to exercise discipline and hold off until Saturday afternoon... As far as oysters, are concerned, I've actually chased quite a number of those with nothing more than lemon juice, but Stolis may make more practical sense -- kills more bacteria :)

Love the IF recommendation -- thank you! Certainly familiar with Blue Suede Shoes, and Willie's Blue Eyes, but will have to do a bit of YouTube exploration to acquaint (or reacquaint) myself with the others.

In any case, yes, a first smooch, but you'll have to wait for chapter 13 for that to be outdone (a bit of drama to be disposed of first), and Mione's first major on-the-case deduction. And a few baddies lurking in the corners. Can't have an angsty genX drama without some evil hench-dudes :)

Gracie for the great comments and cultural illuminations, Cosmo!



Reviewer: she123 Signed Date: 2018.06.12 - 01:31PM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

I know this isn't tagged as a comedy, but Ginny is funny! She's funnier than Lee. though he's amusing too, in kind of a grown-up version of canon Lee Jordan. Good job!

Author's Response:

Glad you think so! My sketch of her is a bit the way Mione described her in chapter one -- chippy, hard-scrabble sparrow. That's to say that she has had a difficult life, and has suffered many disadvantages, but has a strong character, an innate optimism, *and* a sense of humour. A gritty one, but humour nonetheless.

I'm glad you also like my LJ characterisation. Compared to canon, he's a bit shaped by older-brother responsibilities, and the fact that he's effectively spent a chunk of his youth as 'head of household', but he's easy going and enthusiastic, and is quick with both good natured needling and self-deprecation. At least that was the intent, and seemingly you agree.

Thank you very much for your kind words!



Reviewer: CoffeeGuy Signed Date: 2018.06.12 - 07:31AM Title: Prying

starstarstarstarstar

Interesting! Big difference in Ginny before Harry and after; big difference in Dora under cover and not. So, is this headed for spy thriller territory?

Author's Response:

Yes, Ginny has been slaying some internal dragons, and Dora was (of course) a bit more than she seemed.

Spy thriller? I'd say, not quite. There is some action and a bit of cloak and dagger, but ultimately I think the story remains that of four young adults confronting surprises about a hidden past that made them who they are today.

Regardless of the answers, great comments and question. Thank you!




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear