Search:

SIYE Time:6:04 on 19th August 2018


Reviewer: indywriter Signed Date: 2018.06.20 - 08:26PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I really enjoyed this... Not that I'm a huge fan of Ginny's age at starting this part of their relationship. And I don't say that to be a prude, but I think Ginny would be focused enough on her goals to either take the necessary precautions. I guess I need to know more about your AU though, it could make perfect sense here.

But I have to say that I love your Molly. I love that she feels that initial, pearl-clutching horror but manages to hold it in and remember what her own life was like at that age. I love that she puts Ginny's need for support above her own need to protect and smother. I don't much enjoy stories with Molly being screechy and judgmental. I know she had her moments, but I think it all comes from deep love rather than control and judgment.

And as confident as Ginny is, I think she still has those moments of doubt. I think there are definitely moments where she's faking it. Just like she did with Harry in the books. She pretended to be over him and be cool, but she was still interested. You know what I mean?

Anyway, I liked this peek at your AU. I'd like to see more.



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2018.06.08 - 01:36PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I quite liked this for the Molly and Ginny point of view. I hate stories where all Molly can do is rant and overreact to things. But the Harry-in-my-head would always show Ginny more consideration and respect than to just love her and leave her to sort out the consequences. But then I'm not a 16 year old boy....

Author's Response: You know this is something i had thought about but actually hadn't considered the inplications for. Harry and Ginny had waffled for about five or si days befire deciding to talk to Molly. They were going to speak to her together but in this AU Ginny and Molly are the sort who talk regularly and at length. Ginny just couldnt cut her mother out like she was doing. It was an impulse. And the two are close is what I'm getting at here... :)



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2018.06.08 - 03:11AM Title: Chapter 1

starstar

Although this is a good interaction betwen mum and daughter, I can't see anything of the Ginny I love or the Harry i love in this story. It seems that you created your own characters andthen adde a random name. It could be Susan Bones and Justin or Demelza Robbins and Jimmy Peakes. That guy isn't Harry at all.

Author's Response: I want to address this correctly because I can see where you're coming from. I just... disagree. See going into this I wanted this to be less about the relationship between Harry and Ginny and more about Molly and Ginny.. Whilst at the same time showing that even with the alterations to canon Harry and Ginny are still, well, Harry and Ginny. I read a while back that one of the great weaknesses of literary romances was their woman. Even in the event that they are a core character, or even meant to be powerful in there own right, almost inevitabely female leads in romances wind up taking a back seat. At all costs I aim to avoid that cliche. This story was a challenge for me in that Harry is a key part of it., hell he's half the reason there's anything going on. But I wanted to acknowledge his... er... contribution without being the stories subject. How then do I show the evolution of a relationship where with just this 1200 word snippet, Admittedly yes, I could swap Harry's name out with literally any male and make it work? Minimilism. Show an excited Ginny. Show a relieved Molly. Show a determined if Nervous Ginny. Show a determined yet nervous Molly. The two of whom I believe are still true to canon. My point being, this Snippet is not about Harry. I hope within that context you'll be willing to give other material I produce a try going forward. Because Harry/Ginny is part of the core of the story I plan to tell. But I plan for Harry and Ginny themselves to be a core of it as well if that makes sense.



Reviewer: MichiganMuggle Signed Date: 2018.06.07 - 10:50AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well, that is certainly an understanding Molly! She definitely recovered quickly.



Reviewer: Celtics534 Signed Date: 2018.06.06 - 11:44PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

I'm rather intrigued. I love a good AU and this sounds like one that will have my favorite things... Well at least Harry and Ginny relationship. Even better if it comes earlier in the timeline than the original. I look forward to reading this plethora of AU you have going on!



Reviewer: maisa potter Signed Date: 2018.06.06 - 10:41AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

Nice one-shot, but I would looooooove to read the full AU story. Is it published somewhere? or in process?

Author's Response: It's been in a state of perpetual outlining for somewhere around 3 years now. Anither scene involving Harry is currently being written. :)



Reviewer: Aurorofthelight Signed Date: 2018.06.06 - 09:52AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I really enjoyed this story! Very cute interaction between mum and daughter! Thanks for sharing with us! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2018.06.06 - 07:58AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

What a lovely little story! I'm glad Molly was so understanding, an unusual approach to parenting for her. However, it was the right approach in this instance because Ginny certainly needed understanding and guidance rather than a harpy. Well done.

P. S. You might consider getting someone to help you find and correct your punctuation and capitalization errors.

Author's Response: *Side eyes one of the single most respected authors/beta's in the fandom...* Aaaand if some one were to say grovellll... er ask?



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2018.06.06 - 07:08AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great little tale. I'm looking forward to reading this far larger AU story of yours.

Author's Response: I'm looking foward to purging, SHARING, I meant sharing! it with you!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear