Search:

SIYE Time:18:16 on 20th August 2018


Reviewer: indywriter Signed Date: 2018.06.05 - 05:16PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

I'm sure you won't see this, but I really loved this story. I can see it all unfolding, and I get that it's innocent. It's a moment in time that neither one could recapture, even if they wanted to.

"but something, call it a hunch, tells me that that was the last time I'll ever really see Ginny Weasley." Oh Sirius... Despite his wild streak he really was sentimental.

There's just a lovely sort of something about this story. I want to call it chemistry, but just as readers have misinterpreted your story I think they would do the same with that description. But I think you would understand. There's something perfect about the timing, the people, the moment... Everything combines in a perfect storm. It really gels well.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2016.04.04 - 04:06PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Always delightful!



Reviewer: Marinka Signed Date: 2014.10.06 - 03:55AM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Lil Miss Nothing Anonymous Date: 2013.11.23 - 06:32PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstar

i liked it, a bit creepy and pedophilian but i liked :)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Green Eyes Signed Date: 2011.11.05 - 09:51AM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

This got an amazing amount of reviews for a one-shot and virtually all of them were glowingly positive, so I know that I am in a serious minority in what I am about to write, but . . . as a male around Siriusís age who has a number of female family members around the age that Ginny was then, I just canít find a spin to put on this lingering, intimate kiss that is not . . . uncomfortable, to say the least.



Reviewer: babewithbrains Signed Date: 2010.07.11 - 01:34PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

Hmmmm. Interesting fic. I didn't expect Ginny to snog Sirius then, but I guess it's kind of expected if she was drunk. I like Sirius' narration - very in character.

~Soraya~



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2010.01.03 - 12:41PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

this is very very good
you (and Sirius) really seem to understand Ginny and bring her across in a way that we never see in the books
I agree that it's just a kiss though
love the story



Reviewer: Amanda Vega Signed Date: 2009.08.21 - 02:56AM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

You know, I love this fic... but this has been bothering me since I set the world clock on my camera:

Casablanca and Greenwich (and therefore London) are in the same time zone.



Reviewer: 7Ginny7 Signed Date: 2008.09.20 - 02:09PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarhalf-star

MAN!! she KISSED him on the LIPS?!!?



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns Signed Date: 2008.02.08 - 01:17AM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

Great voice, a truly believable Sirius. I also think it's quite reasonable to expect Ginny to act like this, and her teenage side is something JKR just doesn't give us enough of. Also, I read this first a while ago, and this philosophy has stuck with me:

Itís just a fact that rings true universally, nobody could deny that sitting with a pretty girl isn't unpleasant by any means.

Also:

Itís perfect. Itís too intimate and lingering to be a daughterly kiss, but itís nothing that either of us could ever be ashamed of come morning. It's just... a kiss. I don't remember the last time I've been kissed like that. ...When she breaks away she averts her eyes to the floor and bites her bottom lip with a small smile before straightening with an air of confidence and satisfaction. "Goodnight."

Well done.

I hope that enjoying this story so much doesn't make _me_ a Certified Lascivious Bastard. Just don't tell Molly.

--PB



Reviewer: goingbacktosquareone Signed Date: 2007.09.24 - 11:23AM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstar

This story was very moving. Losing Sirius was one of my biggest disappointments of the HP series as a whole. I can't imagine where things might have gone if he'd been allowed to live...his character was just so robust!

I really loved your portrayal of the moment of Ginny realizing it's the New Year for Sirius...I too see it as just a kiss.

Other than the minor grammatical and spelling errors, this story is excellent. I'm going to add it to my favorites and then check out your other stories! I'm glad I found your work!



Reviewer: FireOnIce22 Signed Date: 2007.06.22 - 07:46PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

"But by some miracle of Merlin, something in them knows that hate is a nasty concept to force upon a baby, and for that I wish I had never grown up."

I love this line, and I've added this story to my favorites. Very well written - Stacy



Reviewer: FireOnIce22 Signed Date: 2007.04.26 - 02:31AM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

No Review



Reviewer: FireOnIce22 Signed Date: 2007.04.23 - 11:27PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: ginnyp_harryp Signed Date: 2007.04.14 - 10:56PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

total awsome fic! great job :D



Reviewer: SophiaMaria Signed Date: 2007.04.02 - 02:31PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

I was just going through some of my old favorites and stumbled on this again (it's bookmarked in my favorite stories folder, along with the Quick and Hungy series). It's a little gem that very nicely shows the longing that both Sirius and Ginny feel, not for each other, but for things they think that they'll never have. This fic has influenced my writing in two ways. First, the cross gen aspect -- my story features Harry with an older OFC -- and second, Sirius drinking in the kitchen, as I wrote another story that features Sirus drinking in the kitchen at Grimmauld Place. I didn't consciously lift that from your story, but it must have made an impact because that's where I envisioned him in my story. I look forward to reading more of your writing!



Reviewer: twinsmom Signed Date: 2007.02.18 - 08:39PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

That was almost chaste! Love it.

christy



Reviewer: lucky_black_cat Signed Date: 2006.07.04 - 05:30PM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

What an awesome fic. I read this some time ago, and today I just decided to have another look at it. And it's as great as I remembered - maybe even more so. It's probably one of my favorite fics in the whole world, seriosly. Maybe it's because Sirius is my favourite character, or maybe it's because it's written so well that it's impossible to dislike it. Thanks! -Sonia

Author's Response: Wow, impossible to dislike it? Ah if only that were true! Haha, thanks for the review!



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2006.06.18 - 03:09AM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

I just came across this story of yours and realized it was a missing scene from the house of the quick and the hungry! I'm really glad that in that story Ginny explained to George that it was kind of like a pity kiss with sirius, inocent and all. Ha! I liked this! And I'll be waiting for a sequel to the above mentioned story (no pressure LOL).

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2006.06.18 - 03:03AM Title: Seventeen Minutes Till Midnight in Casablanca

starstarstarstarstar

I just came across this story of yours and realized it was a missing scene from the house of the quick and the hungry! I'm really glad that in that story Ginny explained to George that it was kind of like a pity kiss with sirius, inocent and all. Ha! I liked this! And I'll be waiting for a sequel to the above mentioned story (no pressure LOL).

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear