Search:

SIYE Time:6:50 on 24th April 2018

Reviews For You're Still You

Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.06.20 - 08:40PM Title: The Gift of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

I really enjoyed reading this story. Ginny gave Harry such an extraordinary gift and then gave him the understanding of how to use it to improve his life. The Weasley family getting together to decorate the Burrow for Christmas was such a lovely idea.

Author's Response: Family seems to be a big theme in the HP series: the family that's missing, the family that's too social conscious, the family that loves each other and values every member, including those they extend that love to. Ginny has benefitted immensely from the latter form of love so that when she sees how bereft Harry is, she's willing to draw him in and share what she knows will comfort him. I must say that it was lots of fun to create the decorating scenes in this chapter. We know enough about Molly Weasley to know that she "would" want a clean house before all the decorations go up and I think she takes a certain pride in knowing that she's teaching her children good habits... even if they grumble through their tasks. Besides, it's another way of showing Harry how a "real" family works. I'm glad you liked the story. Thanks for reading and reviewing.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.06.20 - 07:42PM Title: Chapter Three: An Understanding Heart

starstarstarstarstar

Sweet chapter. It is wonderful that Ginny found Harry and that he was slowly willing to explain some of what he is going through. Hearing about all of these events through her mind is definitely intriguing.

Author's Response: Like you said about Hermione's parents, our favorite author really did sideline Ginny, so I wanted to explore her point of view rather than Harry's in this story. Because Ginny obsessed over Harry from a very young age, I'm of the opinion that this has given her almost a sixth sense or a sort of radar that tells her how to best approach him. The fact, too, that she's the youngest of seven has given her the advantage of observing her older brothers and learning how to read their moods and how to not get into trouble (when it's so much more fun to get them into it!). As for Harry, I wanted him to slowly discover that he won't be yelled at or bullied into telling what's bothering him when he's with Ginny. I think it empowers him to know he has a choice to talk about it or to remain silent. For someone in his situation, that's real power, so he's slowly learning to trust and help himself cope with his burdens. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.06.20 - 08:39AM Title: Trouble in the Tower

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry. He really is so lost in his grief at the moment. As if losing Sirius was not bad enough, he is also dealing with the knowledge of the prophecy, memories of the battle in the Department of Mysteries, the confrontation with Tom, and his relationship with Dumbledore.

Author's Response: Since this was written prior to HBP coming out, it seemed natural that Harry would be having a very hard time dealing with all that's troubling him. It's a lot to cope with for even a "normal" teenager, which of course, Harry is not. However, he's a lucky young wizard to have friends like Ginny, Ron and Hermione.



Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2016.06.20 - 07:15AM Title: Seeking Harry

starstarstarstarstar

Nice idea of Ginny and Hermione having a girl's weekend of shopping and attending muggle celebrations with Hermione's family. Hermione's parents were never discussed much in the books, and the possibility of students leaving school occasionally for family events was also never really addressed much. Looking forward to reading more about Harry and if the girls can help him a bit.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing this story. I wrote it back in 2004 and after so long, I'm still quite pleased when someone leaves a review. I'm glad you like the story so far. When I wrote the story, I really didn't know if it would be possible for Hermione to get permission from Dumbledore to leave school for something other than a funeral. It seemed quite decadent to have the girls get to go to a party, let alone shop for dresses the day before, especially since the Weasley vault is portrayed as empty. As for Mr. and Mrs. Granger, I see them as being rather indulgent of Hermione's because they see so little of her, so they just might be trying to make that up to her by spoiling her a bit with extravagant things. Anyway, you'll see what happens with Harry in the next chapter. Enjoy!



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.03 - 03:16PM Title: The Gift of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

Its really nice how Harry is involved in the Christmas preparations. Apparently he likes it very much.
The way how Ginny presented her gift to Harry was very touching and brave. I'm curious to see how their relationship develops in the future.

Many thanks for a great story! Iím looking forward to read the sequel now.


Author's Response: When I wrote the preparations-for-Christmas scenes, I had the idea that this would be the first time Harry was able to participate in activities he'd only watched from the confines of his cupboard at the Dursleys'. Therefore, no matter how shabby, how threadbare, how chipped or wrinkled or ancient the decorations, how silly the traditions, Harry is going to enjoy himself and finally feel part of the festivities. Ginny has a huge amount of Gryffindor courage and she is sure enough of her feelings for Harry that even if he doesn't reciprocate, he will at least be aware of how important he is to her when she presents him with her gift. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.03 - 02:44PM Title: Chapter Three: An Understanding Heart

starstarstarstarstar

The conversation between Ginny and Harry in the RoR was written beautifully. Ginny is determined to help Harry, but she is somewhat uncertain how far she should go and what to do that could help Harry. Furthermore, she fears that the rest of the trio will refuse her closer involvement. On the other hand, Ron and Hermione are busy with each other ... so many uncertainties.
This kind of conversations between Ginny and Harry are the parts of ff that I always like the most, although they usually increase the tissue consumption, lol.


Author's Response: I suppose I should have put a tissue warning on this particular chapter. Harry so often feels isolated from even Ron and Hermione just because of what goes on in his own head. Finding out that there is someone who understands and cares about him will go a long way toward healing his mental wounds and maybe even the hole in his heart where love used to be. No matter what, I think he will be a stronger person after this conversation, don't you? Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.03 - 02:41PM Title: Trouble in the Tower

starstarstarstarstar

I wonder about Colin's relationship with Ginny. Is it more than a classmate thing, at least from Colin's point of view? Ginny seems to encourage him unconsciously.
Obviously, Harry has switched into self-destruction mode, without aid he will not make it. I'm curious to see what Ginny is planning.

Author's Response: At this point in the story, I think the Colin/Ginny relationship is more platonic than anything else. They're friends, but Colin wants more than Ginny is willing to give right now. However, as distracted with Harry as she is, she may be giving Colin more encouragement than she means to. No matter what, Things will straighten themselves out, including Harry, in time. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.04.30 - 06:38PM Title: Seeking Harry

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I have read the Gifts trilogy about a year ago as one of my very first fanfics ever. In my recollection "You're still You" is the story about the saddest Harry that I ever read and since that time it was always in my mind. A couple of month ago I made a mental note to re-read the stories. Since I am registered at siye now, I want to leave some of the thoughts which came up when I read this story. So be aware to receive a few comments from me in the next couple of days. In case that some of my thoughts are incomprehensible, just ignore them. I am aware that my grammar is not the best. On the other hand, I am also very well aware that Iím often somewhat overprotective regarding Ginny and a little harder in my assessment regarding Harry. Unfortunately I cannot change it. I hope you can forgive me.

Ah- regarding the first chapter, itís really nice to have a story from Ginnyís POV because she is the sole reason why I read fanfic and such kind of stories a very rare. Furthermore, I feel confirmed me that we have the saddest Harry ever.

No written comments about girls and their shopping passion of mine. I am a well-bred husband.

In your authorís note you mentioned that the title for this story comes from a song of the same name.
The way you described Harry, alone at the cold Quidditch pitch, remembered me a bit of an old song, from 1970 I think, called ďIsn't It Quiet And Cold?Ē by Gentle Giant.


Author's Response: I wrote this story over twelve years ago, so I don't remember why I chose Ginny's point of view, other than the fact that I would probably get more action from seeing Harry and his predicament through her eyes. The funny thing about it is that I started the story without a title and when a certain album came into my possession, I jumped at the chance to use the title and the song. I will definitely have to look up the song you mentioned. As for Harry and his grief, I tend to agree with you. I think I wrote him this way because of several factors. First, he was just getting to know Sirius, his second connection to his parents, when he went through the Veil in Harry's defense. Second, Harry experienced grief the summer before with Cedric's death and now that someone else has died because of him, guilt has entered into the mix as well and Harry just doesn't know how to cope with the two emotions at the same time. Therefore, he goes back to school after being isolated from his friends the entire summer and just can't pull himself together to care about himself or his grades. Since Ron and Hermione seem to be more interested in themselves than Harry, it now falls to Ginny, who "happily" makes Harry her business. I'm glad you are sharing your thoughts on the story with me.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.07.22 - 08:41AM Title: The Gift of Hope

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I have just found this story. Do not know how I missed it. Very moving.

Author's Response: Well, guess what??? I just found your review! Therefore, I think we're even. I'm glad you liked the story. It's the very first one I ever wrote, so it's definitely much rougher than my later stories. It's also the first story in the Gifts Series; New Year, New Hope and Summer Story are the two sequels. I think you might have read and reviewed those. thanks for reading.



Reviewer: mysinger Signed Date: 2011.11.05 - 03:26PM Title: The Gift of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

This is such a good story, especially the last chapter where Ginny tells Harry how she feels and explains the carved box to him. I look forward to reading the sequel

Author's Response: I'm sorry I haven't responded before now. Anyway, I'm glad you liked the story and hope you liked its sequel. If you haven't read that one yet, now that I know you're actively reading, I'll look for new reviews for it. Thanks for reading my story.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2011.08.12 - 06:10PM Title: The Gift of Hope

Just been over to youtube to listen to the song....it made this story even more special:-)


Author's Response: I'm glad all the information I provided about the song helped you enhance your experience of the story. I'm checking it out on Youtube, too! It's been a while since I've heard the song. Again, thanks for reading and reviewing.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2011.08.12 - 06:05PM Title: The Gift of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

That was a very moving scene....when Ginny explained her gift. And it's not just a material gift but an emotional one given from the heart which, I'm glad to see, has been accepted by harry as just that. I am very confident that Harry will (with the continuing support of Ginny) be able to use it as an excellent tool to lift his spirts, get him back on track and give him the optimism that he CAN accept what life has thrown him and succeed.

Author's Response: At least in this story, Harry was ready emotionally to accept her gift for what it was, support for and an invitation to lean on her emotionally. I think he realizes that if he doesn't let someone help him he'll truly be alone and that's something he really doesn't want to be. Thanks for reading and writing to me.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2011.08.08 - 05:51PM Title: Chapter Three: An Understanding Heart

starstarstarstarstar

Hopefully having off-loaded the prophecy to Ginny, Harry might find it lessens the continuous torture he's been dunduring in his mind.

Author's Response: It may not completely solve Harry's problems, but it probably will help. Professor Dumbledore always has Harry tell about his bad experiences right after they happen so he won't dwell like this on them. Maybe finally talking to someone he trusts about the prophecy will help. One more chapter to go... Thanks for reviewing.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2011.08.07 - 07:01PM Title: Trouble in the Tower

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry, things must have really got on top of him. What he needs is help to talk about his feelings and to put some ghosts to rest, not being badgered about how far behind in his work he is which is only going to further depress him and make him feel even more unworthy.

Author's Response: That's what friends are for... right? And Ginny, in the next two chapters will try her best to be the person Harry needs to talk to. Keep reading. I think you'll be happy with how this story turns out. Thanks for writing to me.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2011.08.07 - 06:46PM Title: Seeking Harry

starstarstarstarstar

I wonder what the gift she is getting made is...I am guessing it's for Harry,

It's nice to think that the pupils of Hogwarts can get permission to leave for the occasional long weekend like this....makes it seem more human:)

Author's Response: It's been a long time since I received a review for this story and it's nice to have to go back and read what I wrote so long ago in order to respond to your review. Just so you know, the answer to your question will be given in chapter four. I think the teachers and Dumbledore would need to have a policy of not keeping the students "captive" all term at Hogwarts. The school might have a rule that students can't go home every weekend, but it seems to me that going home once or twice a term is a reasonable number of absenses. Harry doesn't choose to exercise this option for obvious reasons, but Hermione and the Weasleys certainly could... in canon, they just don't choose to because they want to support Harry. Thanks for your thoughtful reveiw.



Reviewer: kajoy22 Signed Date: 2009.09.07 - 01:42PM Title: The Gift of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

good story

i know it doesn't really matter,but josh groban didnt start singing until 1997,when he was 16,so hermione couldn't have played the song in 1996

Author's Response: This was the first fan fiction story I ever wrote. At the time, I didn\'t know the unstated rule about using songs that appear in real life after a story is supposed to have taken place. I hope you\'ll forgive me my transgression. I know better now, but at the time, the song fit what I was feeling about the story and I don\'t want to change it now.

Author's Response: Thank you for your review. I\'m glad you liked the story. This was the first fan fiction story I ever wrote. At the time, I didn\'t know the unstated rule about using songs that appear in real life after a story is supposed to have taken place. I hope you\'ll forgive me my transgression. I know better now, but at the time, the song fit what I was feeling about the story and I don\'t want to change it now.



Reviewer: juice14 Signed Date: 2009.07.14 - 05:28AM Title: The Gift of Hope

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Hmmm I like what you've done with Ginny ... in comparison it makes Harry an absolute troll haha..

Somehow she's so much more mature ... I chalk it down to girls vs boys, Tom Riddle and your ideas of what you want for her. It does seem a bit indulgent but hey it makes the story nice to read.... so thanks!

Will continue reading more :)

Author's Response: I\'m glad you like my story and appreciate your review. This is the very first fan fiction story I ever attempted and now that I look it over I see the same inconsistancies you do in the characterization. I sincerely hope I\'ve become better at getting my characters right! I look forward to reading more of your reviews.



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2009.06.07 - 11:51AM Title: The Gift of Hope

starstarstarstarstar

aww, cute chapter
loved it!
I'm going to have to read the sequel now!

Author's Response: I\'m so glad you enjoyed this story. It\'s the first one I wrote and I can see all the rough spots that need smoothing over or a complete rewrite to make it come up to standard. I\'m glad you like it enough to go read New Year New Hope.



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2009.06.07 - 10:26AM Title: Chapter Three: An Understanding Heart

starstarstarstarstar

wow! great chapter
a lot of deep stuff going on in this chapter

Author's Response: Thanks! Since this was my first attempt at mild angst it\'s good to know that I seem to have pulled it off!



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2009.06.07 - 10:01AM Title: Trouble in the Tower

starstarstarstarstar

great chapter
I think it's about time that someone kicking Harry back into gear
glad to see the "Fred and George" traits coming out in Ron as well as Ginny at the end

Author's Response: I\'m glad you liked it. Harry does need to know someone cares and even if he doesn\'t like how the adults are treating him, he needs to grow up and learn to take responsibility. Also, everyone needs to be devious sometimes. Thanks for reviewing.




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear