Search:

SIYE Time:20:16 on 19th June 2018


Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.15 - 02:38PM Title: One Step Ahead

starstarstarstarstar

Have read this chapter a few times over the years...it is so brilliant in various ways.

Even though it seems like you won't ever see a new review, have to say it anyway.

Hope you've continued to nurture your muse and your immense storytelling skills...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.14 - 06:25PM Title: River Psychology

Is this the BEST of the chapters?

Perhaps...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.13 - 10:49PM Title: Little Ginny's Little Vigil

Wow! This story (which I've read numerous times over the years) has just been featured on the site as a "Buried Gem"...which it truly is.

I love this particular chapter. More than the others? I don't know...but I've been reading THIS one just now.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.04.13 - 07:21PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

I have read so, so many HP stories here (& at FF.net) over the past 10 years...and I hope you at least partially grok and remember, when life can be particularly challenging, how utterly brilliant your creative expression was when you wrote this. And when you brought it to completion.

You have a gift in this regard...and what you have given us with these words, with these inspirations and this commitment has been truly wonderful.

Thank you...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.04.09 - 09:46PM Title: River Psychology

Even tho you apparently will never see this, still have to review. Have admired this most awesome story for many years...and hope that you at least come to SIYE, even if you don't log in, to check the reviews from time to time...to remind yourself of how much your creative expression is loved.

Thanks



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2016.04.02 - 05:17PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

A wonderful conclusion...to a wonderful story...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2016.04.02 - 01:39AM Title: Little Ginny's Little Vigil

Saw this story...which I recall with great fondness if not many details...being featured, and I dipped into this chapter...



Reviewer: Lilah Signed Date: 2011.07.24 - 02:39PM Title: George Taught Me Well

starstarstarhalf-star

I read your note to read "17..." first and I'm glad I did. It definitely put things in context.

To be honest, I think my mind would never have gone there when it came Sirius/Ginny interacting with each other. BUT... and this a big but... I can totally see this happening in the context of your story. Sirius was an old dog; I mean, that's who he was, in a very unapologetic way. He'd been in Azkaban for years and then holed up at the OoP headquarters. Ginny is, according to canon, very hot. I can totally see how/why Sirius would notice she's hot. And it's not like he was attracted to her -- he just noticed she's hot. And then immediately was appalled at noticing it. (And he was drunk.)

Ginny, for her part, is at a stage in her life where she's trying to figure things out and see how attractive she is & she was drunk, as well. So, she acted on an impulse.

All that to say: while I would never have written that scene, I'm not sorry I read it, because it was a well written chapter. (I do wonder how Harry would ever react, though, if he found out.)

Definitely looking forward to reading more!!!



Reviewer: Lilah Signed Date: 2011.07.24 - 02:11PM Title: Fred Had No Regrets

starstarstarstar

Given what happens with Fred, this is very poignant. I can imagine that Ginny probably felt stricken later on.

I love how you describe the differences between George and Fred. I also liked the example you gave with the Lee Jordan thing -- how she kind of flirted with him without realizing she was; Fred's reaction, as well as how everyone couldn't help but laugh at her. That is the sort of thing that happens with little sisters all the time.

The only part where I need to shift my perception is the idea that Ginny has low self esteem. My interpretation of her character was that she was always fairly strong & confident and that the way she was with Harry was out of character for her. So, your version of Ginny is taking a little getting used to, but you write so well, I can utterly see where this particular Ginny is coming from and why she feels the way she does.



Author's Response: I know, my Ginny is rather different from Ginny as she turns out to be in the books. I wrote most of this story before HBP came out, and all of it long before DH, so much of it was written on the post-OotP assumption that Ginny, Neville, and Luna were going to be bigger characters. I can't really justify some of my moves with this story, I wrote it between the ages of 15-17, and now that I'm SO much older and wiser, at 22 (I wish there was an eye-rolling emoticon), I sort of just cringe when it comes to this story--all my stories, in fact. Thanks for your kind words, and for taking the time to leave such thoughtful reviews!



Reviewer: Lilah Signed Date: 2011.07.24 - 01:31PM Title: Percy Paid Attention

starstarstarstar

Aw, poor Ginny. I remember that scene in the book & I also remember thinking that I felt really bad for Ginny. Harry, Hermione, and Ron were always pretty mean to her & I can imagine that it must have been a deep hurt for her to be so left out all the time. Especially since she had such a huge crush on Harry.

I think this must have been a pretty difficult chapter to write. To show a relationship between Ginny & Percy without writing him out of character takes a lot of skill. As usual, you did a fantastic job.



Reviewer: Lilah Signed Date: 2011.07.24 - 01:17PM Title: Charlie Was a Prewett

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Ooohhh.... I am LOVING this. Can't stop reading. There's something addictive about your writing... and I think the first person POV works really well for this story & lets us get into Ginny's head even better. Fantastic job!



Reviewer: Lilah Signed Date: 2011.07.24 - 01:07PM Title: Bill Was Always There

starstarstarstarstar

Just read the first chapter. What a great start! I can totally see Ginny has this sort of relationship with Bill (or even Charlie). I always figured the oldest two probably loved her and spoiled her rotten.



Reviewer: aisha22 Signed Date: 2011.02.11 - 12:08AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

An amazing story! U were so true to all the characters. I applaud u



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2010.07.26 - 09:15PM Title: Little Ginny's Little Vigil

just dipped into this story right here....believe I'v read it before. Anyway, wow! what a chapter.



Reviewer: agedhpfan Signed Date: 2010.06.16 - 12:52AM Title: George Taught Me Well

starstarstarstarstar

I haven't read your reviews, did people really react so terribly? Didn't you as much as say in the A/N before the chapter to read the other story to get the whole story? I think you're writing is great, I wouldn't dream of stopping here!



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2010.06.06 - 05:55PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

I'd heard of this fic many times, but have never befor gotten past the chapters about the brothers. I'm delighted to find that it is so much more than a Weasley family biography. River Psychology and all that combined to make Ginny who she was and brought her to this point.......just brilliant.

And, I must thank you for NOT giving a blow-by-blow account of every color and flower and dress and --god help us, the vows!-- from the wedding. Thank you for bypassing the trivialities and focusing on the deeper meanings and feelings. Very well done.



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2010.06.06 - 03:09PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

"...carrying me over his shoulder like a cold, wet sack of highly distraught potatoes." LOVE the distraught potatoes!

“Sometimes life's like that, too. Fate, or luck, or sometimes the people in control will be heading in one direction, and instead of fighting against them to try to get your way, you have to settle your expectations a bit. You have to decide which side your principles are on, and you have make your way closer to that side always, no matter what specific opportunities have passed you mustn't look back or you'll be dragged down under. That's why they call it River Psychology.”.....

......“No matter–the bottom line is the same thing.” He stopped and picked the strainer up to get a better look at me with his affectionate eyes, “Just choose a side, Ducky,” he kissed the top of my head, “and go with the flow.”

I've never heard of River Pyschology before, but now it's about to save my career. Having -after 30 years--switched to a different school district where stupidity reigns supreme and the obstacles standing in the way of my being the excellent teacher I've always tried to be are simply mind-boggling, I've been starting to think that maybe I should do something else with my life between now and retirement. But the steady application of River Psych should enable me to make it......just go with the flow, while always striving for the "right side" of the bank. Since I"ve always loved my job, this is clearly my best alternative.

Thank you!

BTW, outstanding explanation for Ginny's POV in books 6 and 7. Well done!


Author's Response: So glad you liked it! River Psychology is actually another one of Arthur Weasley's misapprehensions and ill-applied uses of muggle contraptions---one which might be more familiar to you as reverse psychology, I know you wrote this review a year ago, I just decided to wander back down memory lane today after years away from HP fandom. Hope your job is going well, hang in there!



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2010.06.05 - 08:02PM Title: Their Best Boy

starstarstarstarstar

Wow. Supremely well done. This chapter is elegant and precise on its own, but the small touches that connect it back to specific language in earlier chapters just put the shine on the diamond. This is the best fic I've ever read about Percy, hands down.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2009.10.04 - 02:49AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

You deserve all of the glowing reviews you've gotten so far...and are due to continue getting many for years to come.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2009.10.04 - 01:58AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

This IS powerful.

Thank you.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear