Search:

SIYE Time:19:27 on 16th October 2018


Reviewer: Truthrowan Signed Date: 2018.06.24 - 11:04PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well, I read this as part of the Hidden Gems recommendation, despite my normal dislike for first person POV's. I found this work delightful and charming enough to get past my preferences for 3rd person POV's, and look forward to reading some of your other works.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.04.13 - 07:21PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

I have read so, so many HP stories here (& at FF.net) over the past 10 years...and I hope you at least partially grok and remember, when life can be particularly challenging, how utterly brilliant your creative expression was when you wrote this. And when you brought it to completion.

You have a gift in this regard...and what you have given us with these words, with these inspirations and this commitment has been truly wonderful.

Thank you...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2016.04.02 - 05:17PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

A wonderful conclusion...to a wonderful story...



Reviewer: aisha22 Signed Date: 2011.02.11 - 12:08AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

An amazing story! U were so true to all the characters. I applaud u



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2010.06.06 - 05:55PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

I'd heard of this fic many times, but have never befor gotten past the chapters about the brothers. I'm delighted to find that it is so much more than a Weasley family biography. River Psychology and all that combined to make Ginny who she was and brought her to this point.......just brilliant.

And, I must thank you for NOT giving a blow-by-blow account of every color and flower and dress and --god help us, the vows!-- from the wedding. Thank you for bypassing the trivialities and focusing on the deeper meanings and feelings. Very well done.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2009.10.04 - 02:49AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

You deserve all of the glowing reviews you've gotten so far...and are due to continue getting many for years to come.



Reviewer: juice14 Signed Date: 2009.08.17 - 06:14AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

Overall a great piece! Your different POVs really add a lot of depth to all the characters! Nice!



Reviewer: Teffers Signed Date: 2008.12.29 - 12:07AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

I really enjoyed this story. I felt that you found - and developed - and stayed in true character - for Ginny. (Something I find quite remarkable after reading fics for many years!) I just finished re-reading HP again, and "The House of the Quick and the Hungry" felt right, like it nestled in with the story (aside from canonical differences, of course). I liked your approach of telling the story from all different perspectives, it was a chance to get to know the Weasley brothers.

I hope you keep writing, I really enjoy your style.

Cheers!



Reviewer: 7Ginny7 Signed Date: 2008.09.28 - 07:15AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarhalf-star

luvd it !!!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2008.09.12 - 11:28PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstar

Thank you.



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns Signed Date: 2008.02.08 - 03:55AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

Oh wow. What can I say? Such amazing depth to your characters. Such wisdom. I am truly moved. Thank you!



Reviewer: sanidad Signed Date: 2007.11.27 - 05:31AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

I was originally turned on to your writing through kschneyer's fic "A Slow Boat to Shippers’ Hell" and reading this exceeded my expectations. I don't know what I can add that other reviewers haven't already said in one form or another. Keep up the great work!



Reviewer: BeyondRedHorizons Signed Date: 2007.09.21 - 10:31AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

I was gobsmacked when I learned that you were only 17 when you wrote this piece. The insight, maturity and sheer eloquence of your writing are astounding - you make even the most minor, comic characters of JKR's universe seem believable, human, and poignantly real. A work of more than 50,000 words, and not a dull moment or lazily described passage - I truly envy your talent. This is truly a marvelous work.



Reviewer: SanityEscapesMe Anonymous Date: 2007.07.06 - 06:21PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

I always loved this story...it's very different and well written

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Lalaith Signed Date: 2007.04.25 - 02:39PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

The canibal king with the big nose ring
fell in love with the dusty maid
and every night by the pale moonlight
across the lake he came
and he hugged and he kissed
his pretty little miss
by the shade of the Bamboo Tree
and every night by the pale moonlight
it sounded like this to me:
"Garump" kiss kiss
"Garump" kiss kiss
"Garump didly eye dee aye"
"Garump" kiss kiss
"Garump" kiss kiss
"Garump didly eye dee aye"
"Oh I'll build a bungalo big enough for two!
Big enough for two my honey
Big enough for two!
And when we're married, happy we'll be!
Under the Bamboo
Under the Bamboo Tree!
If you'll be m-i-n-e, mine
I'll be t-h-i-n-e, thine
and I'll l-o-v-e, love you
all the t-i-m-e, time
you are the b-e-s-t, best
of all the r-e-s-t, rest
and I'll l-o-v-e, love you
all the t-i-m-e, time -
rack'em up stack'em up
somebody's been here
givin' you a lesson on love!
words of inspiration
straight from heaven above.
That kiss you gave me
sure was a winner
you aint no beginner
somebody's been her before!"

Just thought you'd like to know the song that played through me head constantly that last chapter.

Love the story! Goes down as one of my ultimate favorites.



Reviewer: twinsmom Signed Date: 2007.02.18 - 08:18PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

WEll this was really cool. I totally enjoyed reading it. It wasn't the same old love story. But, had depth to it and a harsh dose of reality. But, still a love story nonetheless.

Great Job! And I am now off to read your outtakes.

christy



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2006.10.08 - 03:11AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

I know this isn't a new story, but you mentioned having a Birthday...so Happy Belated Birthday! Someone said once that it's better to gove than receive, and you have given us a wonderful story to take out and read again and again. So, on behalf of myself and your other readers, thank you so much for the gift!



Reviewer: lucky_black_cat Signed Date: 2006.09.25 - 08:56AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

Again, we get to see that deep and wise part of Molly, and it was great. What she told Ginny was absolutely right, and I believe she would not have managed to get any sleep until she figured everything out, help from her mother or not. Also, I do wonder if Ginny had a huge case of pneumonia the morning after. :P I also loved the title of the chapter, and how you began and finished with that sentence, "east by southeast of the castle". The part where the boys get drunk... well, it wouldn't be the eve of a wedding if nobody got drunk. I was pretty sad when Percy died, and that tear of Ginny's while she wished he were there tugged a bit at my heart as well, but I'm pretty happy about the way you wrote it all. She finally changed her mind about Hermione, I see! It would've been pretty original and funny to adjust to that choice, but of course Arthur is glad Ginny decided against it in the last minute. Ron's "You don't even know" made me giggle, and the ending was perfect. It was the way it had to end, couldn't have been any other way, still I'm sad it's over. Anyway, this review is getting too long to be healthy, so I'd better stop now. Thanks for a wonderful story, Laura! -Sonia



Reviewer: Rhetor Signed Date: 2006.08.20 - 07:13PM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

This last chapter, especially the passages at the beginning and the end, are beautifully lyrical and say the sorts of things about a wedding that I wish someone would always say. I tried reading those two passages aloud to my wife but I choked up too much.

As for the rest of the story, I certainly appreciate your thoroughness and your giving "flesh and blood" to Ginny by seeing so many others through her eyes and her through the eyes of so many others.

I agree with what others have said; you really should write something non-derivative and original and get it published. You've got the gift.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! I hope you noticed that the chapter title came from the words which opened and closed this chapted, I had just a smidgen of satisfaction when I wrote that. You may be happy and/or surprised to know, as well, that I\'m actually working on something original, and your review has given me just a little more inspiration to continue my crazy-ambitious plan to write a novel. So thanks.



Reviewer: Shaw Anonymous Date: 2006.07.17 - 03:17AM Title: East By Southeast of the Castle

starstarstarstarstar

I'm not in the habit of creating a user account on a random fanfiction website with pink background celebrating the relationship of two prepubescents simply to congratulate the author.

I'm not even a Harry Potter fan. I know the basic plot of the books- nowadays, who doesn't? But I despise JK Rowling as an author. I only read your story because it happened to be the webpage open on my 13-yr old sister's computer when I sat down to write an email one evening.

Don't let this go to your head - I notice that you seem overly eager for reviews, and I'm always a little wary of bloggers or writers who do so, as if reviews somehow validate their existence- but you are easily the most talented young writer I have yet encountered. Especially if you are seventeen.

You have a tremendous insight into people... and I don't mean the characters of the HP novels. I note that you dedicate your stories to various individuals- friends and family, I imagine- accompanied by some of the most clever one-line dedications I've ever chuckled over. Am I wrong in guessing that a great many insights gained into Ginny's life and character are in fact derived from your personal experiences with the people to whom you have dedicated your work? This tells me that you have an insight into more than the fictitious Ginny and the Weasleys, and are able to observe and pinpoint much in your relationships with real people. It makes me wonder if the Ginny in your stories is "walking in your shoes"- and if you are experiencing a sort of alter-ego life and self-discovery through her... as if Ginny were an extreme archetype of yourself. Or perhaps I have it all wrong.

You also have a talent, innate or acquired, for the art of the memorable line. Most writers never achieve it- I read a lot. It is that semi-sublime capability to combine poetic description, precise meaning, and brevity. I run into about five or six in each chapter.

I hope that you will one day expand the scope of your attention to include non-HP work. Your portrayal of the self-struggle/discovery of all these characters displays many parallels with people in my own life, and it has been facinating. I will probably not read any more from this site- not my reading preference. But congratulations. As a writer, you have nowhere to go but up.

Author's Response: Wow. I can\'t say anything but thank you. You\'re right when you guessed about why and how I write, and it\'s funny because most of the people in my life feel the same way you do about Harry Potter. So thank you for the review---I think I\'ll go write my own novel now.

[Respond: In Review]



../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear