Search:

SIYE Time:22:17 on 20th October 2018


Reviewer: Dumbledore Anonymous Date: 2007.02.05 - 09:58AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

Hmmm... Ron's getting philosophical. Great chapter.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: critmo Signed Date: 2006.06.26 - 09:32AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

I like this story, the changing perspectives as a means to take the story along are great, and this is the best chapter yet. I don't know why, but this has just about the right feeling about it.

Author's Response: Thanks! I\'m so glad you feel that way!



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2006.04.23 - 07:43PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

This was such a good chapter. It really made me think the way Hermione was thinking about how Ginny worked her way backwards into Harry's identity. Very mature writing. And I like the way Ron was trying to make out HG's relationship. Good chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks! If there\'s any chapter in this story that\'s filler, it\'s this one. Ron and Ginny\'s relationship didn\'t get resolved at all in this one the way George\'s chapter resolved their relationship, and Ron is one of the main focuses in chapter seventeen. Thanks so much for this review, because I do like this chapter very much regardless, and it\'s nice to know someone else does as well.



Reviewer: Delani Anonymous Date: 2006.03.26 - 10:00PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

*sits in chair, ready to burst* BAHA!!!!!!!!!!!!! I've had the occasional smirk in the last few chapters, but ahh, what a respite this piece was. It was the, what, second line? and I was already giggling - "I dunno, what do you call conversation that isn't small talk? Big talk? That doesn't seem right but you get the idea... " Yup, I get the idea; this was a continually fresh piece and eeek! the dialogue was fantastic. Just when Ron seems, well, like Ron, he pulls out this deep and honest piece about love. Aww. But really, the change in tone was great and I just feel so calm now. (Which is great, 'cause I'm off to watch Desperate Housewives! ) Delani

Author's Response: Yeah, if there\'s a chapter that was filler, it\'s definitely this peice. If possible, I wish I could have delayed it until chapter sixteen or seventeen and made it more specifically about him and Ginny, but that just wasn\'t happening. I\'m glad you liked it though, means a lot, thanks for the wonderful review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Raiining Anonymous Date: 2005.12.07 - 06:55PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

Oh this one was shorter but oh so good. I love Ron. particularly enjoyed "Maybe it slowly came upon you...maybe it quietly, imperceptibly changed your mind, like an old friend who knew you better than you knew yourself. Maybe it was clever like Hermione." snicker

Author's Response: Yeah... probably the shortest one from here on out. Thanks again for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: rach Anonymous Date: 2005.12.04 - 05:47PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent! i can't wait :)

Author's Response: Thanks!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: cre8v Anonymous Date: 2005.12.03 - 11:39PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Speechless... best out of the whole story, so far! Only one question is sitting in my head waiting to be answered. After the last wait, I figured it would be easier to just ask when the next chapter was coming instead of wasting time going on the internet just to see if you've updated. So when do you think the next chapter will be here, because this is mind boggling and extremely good writing!

Author's Response: There, I've updated, just for you!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: ladybug Anonymous Date: 2005.12.03 - 07:07PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

Once again, you have given us some extraordinary writing. It really is beautiful. But I do have some feedback about this chapter because it was not at all what I expected, and so it has left me wanting a little. I've been reflecting on it for several days now and just reread it to see if my perceptions were justified - I'm not sure they are, but you did ask for feedback... It feels to me a bit short, not in length but in content. I think I can tell you wrote it in a night (though, I am very impressed your writing is so completely formed and beautifully crafted after only one night's work). This chapter seems to be more about the grand concept of love than either Ginny or Ron. I would have expected the Ginny-Ron relationship to be perhaps the strongest of the Ginny-brother relationships, and that had me hoping that I would learn something more and new about both Ginny and Ron. (And perhaps more about the world you have been creating - where Percy is dead, etc) But Ron seems a bit too caught up in Hermione and the 'Ginny-with-Harry' person to be able to see Ginny for herself. If this is deliberate I would like it to be made more explicit, because it feels to me like Ron doesn't see Ginny as her own person anymore. Perhaps it's because there's no direct interaction between Ron and Ginny (the way there is between Ron and Harry, or Ron and Hermione) - it's like he's looking at Ginny through intermediaries and not seeing her for himself. I guess I hoped that Ron's point of view would get much closer to the real Ginny (not just the real Ginny-Harry relationship) than any of the other brothers - not in perception, necessarily, but in relating to her. In itself, this is a beautiful and expressive piece and I really like it - moreso after the second read. It's just in the context of the whole story that I wish it gave me more. Congratulations on your great work, though, I will definitely keep an eager watch for the rest of it. *very reluctantly about to press the Submit button*

Author's Response: Yes, thank you very much for the feedback! To address your question: this chapter takes place at the apogee of Ron and Ginny's unintentional rift: Ron is still only eighteen (though, as you might have guessed, he fancies himself much more mature than that), he and Harry and Hermione have been tracking down the Horcruxes for going on one year now and he's barely seen Ginny at all. When he isn't absorbed in matters of the war and death he thinks about Hermione and their brand-spanking-new relationship, and not much else. Harry and Ginny really have gone their separate ways (for now) and Ron has gone with Harry, and I just couldn't manage to write a piece about the depth of their relationship from Ron's point of view when Ginny is, regrettably, nowhere near the forefront of his thoughts. As such, I understand what you mean about this chapter being a bit of a let down: it is, and I wouldn't call it intentional per se, because it's really more that I had no choice (or at least, I don't have the skill as a writer to pull off a plausible alternative). The only consolation I can offer you is that while 'the finer aspects' that this story has set out to depict are becoming lost and obscured in the confusion of the war, they are strong enough to endure, and will be there when the smoke clears. Now that every character has been "a box" to put their thoughts on Ginny in (a format that was becoming more and more onerous with every chapter, I assure you), the story will draw itself together in a more organic fashion, and if I'm half as good as the wonderful praise I've received from you all you should be satisfied, in the end, to forgive me for all the random tangents and false pretenses. Thank you so much for taking the time to articulate your honest opinion, it helps me quite a lot.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: aschowin Signed Date: 2005.12.02 - 09:34AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Wow, ythis is a really great story (I know, I'm a little slow on the uptake if you're into your thirteenth chapter and I'm just figuring that out). I enjoyed all of the different points of view, as well as the six galleons from Snape. You write with a lot of depth and wit, great job.

Author's Response: Yay, a new reader! Welcome, welcome and thanks for the review!



Reviewer: Chreechree Anonymous Date: 2005.12.02 - 02:50AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

I was thrilled to see a new chapter. I'd almost forgotten how much I'd enjoyed this story. Can't wait to see more!

Author's Response: Heaven forbid! Haha, thank you!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: shawn24 Signed Date: 2005.12.01 - 09:42PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

This is really quite awsome. I love stories about Ginny, and I really appreciate the insite into her life as told by her brothers. Well done, bravo, cudos and whatever else you need to get back to the computer and write some more!!!

Author's Response: Just that, thank you! :-)



Reviewer: Rutzy Anonymous Date: 2005.11.30 - 07:57PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

i'm delighted there's an update. very in character of R&Her and their take on H&G. also very in character of Harry's thoughts on his relationship with Ginny :>

Author's Response: Ahh, a Requiem-er! I'm so happy you're satisfied with the H/G!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Laura Anonymous Date: 2005.11.30 - 04:28PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

Finally! Again you make us wait for months, and again I say that it was worth it. I have always loved Ron, and I love how you describe his apparent thickness when it comes to emotions. But I believe that Ron is a bit more sohpisticated and clever than we give him credit for. Which is why I liked his conversation with Hermione, where he cleverly explains love off as "Magic". Priceless. Please keep it up. I'm guessing the next chapter has more to do with Harry... could we get some nice, teeth-rotting fluff in there? Please update soon!

Author's Response: Have you read, I Hope You Rot Your Teeth Out? Haha, thanks for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Lisa Anonymous Date: 2005.11.30 - 12:28PM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

Well, I'm waaaay to lazy to think of any synonyms so I'll just stick to 'great'. The end note makes me so happy 'This is not the end', yay :D So, I've been listening a lot to 'Laura Laurent' lately and it really is on great song! You've got to love Bright Eyes... I'm feeling lazy today so I'm won't check my spelling and stuff, sorry if it's a bit swenglish (uhm, I'm from Sweden, but you get what I mean, right?).

Author's Response: You're from Sweden?! Wow cool, I'm definitely your new biggest fan. (Not that I'm from Sweden or anything---I just think it's a cool country) Haha, thanks so much, as always, for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: bridget Anonymous Date: 2005.11.30 - 10:23AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

i like it. Even though it makes me feel that there is more there, or maybe that there sould be more there, but i know that the rest will come. i love your writing style. i love how true and deep this story feels. i'd love more.

Author's Response: More? I can do more, and I will---it's on the way! Thanks for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Cloz Anonymous Date: 2005.11.30 - 09:34AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

Forgot to say; Love your Ginny....so refreshing to have her not perfect yet still completely charming. She seems 16, but still more mature, just like the real Ginny would be. Also, love that you show how she is affected by being the 'apple of everyone's eyes!' PLEASE update...as I am new to this fic, not sure about your updating speed.

Author's Response: I'm updating REALLY fast it seems (to me) like. Just be thankful you weren't one of those poor suckers waiting around when I went on my 7 month absence, haha. Thanks for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Cloz Anonymous Date: 2005.11.30 - 09:29AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

Just read your story...whole thing. Kept having to stop because it was so good. I have never read a fic like it where Ginny's life is mapped out from the point of view of those she thinks don't understand her but really do...better than anyone. LOVE IT! I would love to see a Harry or Ginny point of view at the end, Hope you update quickly as it is utterly adictive. Great writing by the way...good mix of humour with all the serious facts.

Author's Response: Thanks! I love it when new people find my story!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: star dust Anonymous Date: 2005.11.30 - 04:01AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

I personally think that you don't need to change a single thing. That was so heartfelt and amazingly insightful! All I have to say is that you must be an incredibly deep person! Very beautiful and sweet!

Author's Response: Why thank you!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: May Signed Date: 2005.11.30 - 03:46AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

with every review i leave, i tell you how much i love this story. well its no different this time. i love all of your work really but this story just shows how talented you really are. i am so happy that you updated and that we got to see a little into ron's mind too. i can't wait to read more you are a brilliant writer and your story gets better and better with every chapter.

Author's Response: Aww... that\'s so sweet, thank you!



Reviewer: zookeeper Signed Date: 2005.11.30 - 01:14AM Title: An Old Friend Through Quiet Ways

starstarstarstarstar

oohhh I can't wait! who is next?? hmm? Harry maybe? I've already posted on fanfiction.net my pure enjoyment of this story, but when I came over here I had to read it again! I've spent hours today reading your story, it's that good! Like the poster above, I can't wait to read the next chapter but I kind of hate it to be over, there seems like so much more story to read about.

Author's Response: Wow, on TWO sites?! You are my new favorite person!!! Thanks soooo much for the awesome praise! Now I'll try to earn it...




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear