Search:

SIYE Time:19:29 on 16th October 2018


Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2018.06.14 - 06:25PM Title: River Psychology

Is this the BEST of the chapters?

Perhaps...



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.04.09 - 09:46PM Title: River Psychology

Even tho you apparently will never see this, still have to review. Have admired this most awesome story for many years...and hope that you at least come to SIYE, even if you don't log in, to check the reviews from time to time...to remind yourself of how much your creative expression is loved.

Thanks



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2010.06.06 - 03:09PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

"...carrying me over his shoulder like a cold, wet sack of highly distraught potatoes." LOVE the distraught potatoes!

“Sometimes life's like that, too. Fate, or luck, or sometimes the people in control will be heading in one direction, and instead of fighting against them to try to get your way, you have to settle your expectations a bit. You have to decide which side your principles are on, and you have make your way closer to that side always, no matter what specific opportunities have passed you mustn't look back or you'll be dragged down under. That's why they call it River Psychology.”.....

......“No matter–the bottom line is the same thing.” He stopped and picked the strainer up to get a better look at me with his affectionate eyes, “Just choose a side, Ducky,” he kissed the top of my head, “and go with the flow.”

I've never heard of River Pyschology before, but now it's about to save my career. Having -after 30 years--switched to a different school district where stupidity reigns supreme and the obstacles standing in the way of my being the excellent teacher I've always tried to be are simply mind-boggling, I've been starting to think that maybe I should do something else with my life between now and retirement. But the steady application of River Psych should enable me to make it......just go with the flow, while always striving for the "right side" of the bank. Since I"ve always loved my job, this is clearly my best alternative.

Thank you!

BTW, outstanding explanation for Ginny's POV in books 6 and 7. Well done!


Author's Response: So glad you liked it! River Psychology is actually another one of Arthur Weasley's misapprehensions and ill-applied uses of muggle contraptions---one which might be more familiar to you as reverse psychology, I know you wrote this review a year ago, I just decided to wander back down memory lane today after years away from HP fandom. Hope your job is going well, hang in there!



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2009.10.04 - 01:58AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

This IS powerful.

Thank you.



Reviewer: juice14 Signed Date: 2009.08.17 - 06:01AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

Wow that was an emotional moment. You really have a flair for tearjerking *sniff*



Reviewer: Dumbledore Anonymous Date: 2007.02.05 - 10:11AM Title: River Psychology

Great chapter. I suppose it's hard to follow 'River Psychology'.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Dumbledore Anonymous Date: 2007.02.05 - 10:10AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter. I suppose it's hard to follow 'River Psychology'.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: lucky_black_cat Signed Date: 2006.09.25 - 07:49AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

Awesome. A wonderful chapter. The title immediately caught my attention, even though I knew nothing about River Psychology. It makes perfect sense though - and I can perfectly relate to Ginny, because my first memories are ones that I couldn't understand until very few years ago. That part about naming Fred, George and Ron after the Prewetts had me on the verge of tears, and I think it was a very well-written scene, because you haven't stayed with Molly's overprotective façade - you've gone beyond that, to the reasons why she is the way she is. "Knock their socks off." You definitely did. Thanks a lot for this wonderful read, Laura! -Sonia



Reviewer: Enchantedgurls Signed Date: 2006.04.23 - 07:52PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Ginny was so sad in this chapter. Aww. I still really enjoyed it!

Author's Response: Sad? Yes, but definitely not suffering. It was something of an emotional climax---or lowpoint, depends on how you look at it, I guess. Anyway, I\'m glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for the review!



Reviewer: Delani Anonymous Date: 2006.03.27 - 08:33PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

Hmm. This River Psychology has got me going...It's involvement in Ginny's life was really sad to watch, but in the end, it's what we've all got to do in one way or another. Oh wow. Molly's breakdown. That was...intense. I can only imagine being able to connect with my mother like that and you made the feelings hurt with the tears but smile with "Ducky, knock their socks off." Wow. The tone of this seemed so...conclusive? That doesn't mean what I think it means, does it? Can it be? Is this piece really reaching its end? Oi! Oh, and should I be concerned that the fish house running-from-the-government sounded all too familiar...lol. Delani

Author's Response: Yeah, River Psychology is something I stumbled upon, and when I did, I realized that it was the entire life force and the secret to Ginny as I\'ve written her, this story has been a voyage of self discovery for me, and this chapter was sort of like the climax of that, and the rest of it is that oh-so-relieving resolution, I think. Thank you, ad nauseum, for your feedback!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Penny Lane Anonymous Date: 2006.02.13 - 11:50AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

I've embarrassed myself enough in previous reviews, what with all the gushing and groveling I've done, so this time I'll restrain myself and just say that this line... "...carrying me over his shoulder like a cold, wet sack of highly distraught potatoes." ... made me laugh out loud.

Author's Response: Yay, I love it when people tell me their favorite lines. See, now, until you said that I wasn't sure it was even funny to anyone but me. Thank you SO much, as always, for your amazing reviews!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Lexie Anonymous Date: 2005.12.28 - 06:03AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

I made it a rule never to read GinnyFic before now. But I am so glad I made the exception for this one time; this is absolutely amazing - every detail of Ginny's relationship with her brothers, their insights. This is just so incredible; there isn't one thing I would change about it. The Sirius and Ginny moment wasn't something I would have included in this fic - or even thought would work within the mechanics of this fic - but you pulled it off and it made Ginny seem more *real*. I loved it. Can you tell? *g*

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much! I couldn't imagine anyone who never wanted to read a Ginny-fic liking this and am so honored that you read it and doubly thrilled that you actually enjoyed it. Thanks so much for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Pokie4389 Signed Date: 2005.12.19 - 09:57PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

LOVE IT!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Lisa Anonymous Date: 2005.12.12 - 11:51AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

What a splendid chapter! (Yeah, I know... I'm just trying to write something other than 'great'). I loved the part where Arthur tried to explain river psychology to Ginny, it' such a 'dad thing' to do... Just as 'rolling with the punches' seems to be such a Ginny-thing (and maybe a youngest sibling-thing. I know that I've learned to 'roll with the punches'...) So thanks for yet another great chapter, and hopefully many more?? Oh, and it's so funny that you actually think that Sweden is cool, most people don't even know that the country exists...

Author's Response: Three more. Thanks for the review ;-)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Rutzy Anonymous Date: 2005.12.11 - 07:23PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

poignant Ginny PoV :> can't wait for the next update and what's the status of H&G in this phase of your story. all the best from NYC :>

Author's Response: Hey thanks!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: kranestad Signed Date: 2005.12.11 - 07:24AM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

read several chapters now, great storytelling as always :)

Author's Response: Thank you, as always! :-)



Reviewer: rach Anonymous Date: 2005.12.10 - 11:10PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

Ginny and her dad with the strainer are adorable. absolutely adorable. What a touching chapter. Cant wait for more :)

Author's Response: They are, aren't they? Thanks for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: cre8v Anonymous Date: 2005.12.10 - 05:38PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

Even if I'm repeating what everyone else has said, I hope you enjoy to hear that your story was AWSOME just one more time. All of this river phycology has made my head spin, but I love the way you ended the chapter. I hope you not only had fun writing this chapter, but will have fun writing the next chapter because an auther that likes what they are writing normally likes what the readers are saying about it.

Author's Response: Oh come on, I hope I'm never too arrogant to feel better when people like my story. Thanks for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: sweetdreamer285 Signed Date: 2005.12.07 - 08:52PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

I have been following your story from chapter 1 to to now (14). I only need to say a great big Bravo for your contribution to our phenomenal world. Keep it up! ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you! :-)



Reviewer: raiining Anonymous Date: 2005.12.07 - 07:03PM Title: River Psychology

starstarstarstarstar

Aww. Damn. made me cry. really really good. I have to go study now but - really really good!!

Author's Response: Yeh... I should have been studying when I wrote that... but oh well! Thanks for all the awesome feedback!

[Respond: In Review]



../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear