Search:

SIYE Time:10:24 on 28th May 2017

Reviews For Reality Bites

Reviewer: BobVosh Signed Date: 2013.10.03 - 05:57PM Title: Upon a Star

half-star

I was hesitant to review this, as I hate to leave bad reviews. I especially don't want to flame you. That said I pretty much hated this fic, and can't even explain why I finished it.
1. The AU makes no sense, HP and DM went to Hogwarts. The twins got the marauder map and played Quidditch, but never met Harry. So the marauders went to somewhere other than Hogwarts and so did the Weasleys? Doesn't seem well thought through. Oh, and Neville went somewhere else along with Hermione.
2. Ginny is a hosepipe that cries constantly. She seems wishy-washy, and the Neville thing seems super forced.
3. The alchohol scheme was silly. No other way to explain it than that.
4. TV shows don't mix in a world where magic disrupts technology. On top of that you made it very American instead of British.
5. Harry fluctuates between being very confident and knowing what he wants to shy and seemly incapable of deciding Also it is so against his very character to join this kind of show.
6. Very few of the characters seem likeable. However I suppose that is accurate for the kind of show it is, I don't know for sure. I hate these kind of shows.
7. Ginny fell in love in basically 1 date, in a period of 2 weeks.
8. Grammar and spelling errors bothered me. Minor, I know, but there it is.

I could keep going but each point beyond this just gets more petty.



Reviewer: evra Signed Date: 2011.07.11 - 03:01PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well, that Connie certainly is a nasty piece of work. Great story! I loved it!



Reviewer: st122 Signed Date: 2011.05.16 - 04:23PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

Thought I'd give leave a review, since I saw the last one posted. This tale does not deserve it as the last review. This is a great story, even though I dislike the show itself. Hope to read more from you at some point. Than you for writing!



Reviewer: Generic Euphoria Signed Date: 2010.10.11 - 03:52AM Title: Upon a Star

half-star

I'm really sorry, but this was actually so terrible it made me laugh. It's completely absurd. I understand a lot of AU, because sometimes it can be really ingenious and creative. Some times, you can see somebody trying to portray slight differences, or changing small facts about stories. Other times, people write their own stories with the characters J.K. Rowling gave us. Then, every once in a while, you find a story so terrible it forces you to reread all the good HP fan fictions just to get the taste out of your mouth.

I'm really sorry, but your story easily falls into that last category. There was no inventiveness. No creativity. No originality. You took a stupid Hollywood idea - one of the dumbest ones, I might add - and you mixed it with HARRY POTTER. If you can't see the wrongness in that alone, there's clearly something wrong with you.

I don't feel like going into the actual story, because let's be honest, there was no story. You took a Hollywood contraption, put Harry and Ginny into it, stuck in Neville for a stupid, terrible, completely predictable twist, and ended up with perhaps one of the worst Harry Potter fictions of all time.


Regards,

Generic Euphoria



Reviewer: my3goldensnitches Signed Date: 2010.08.17 - 10:25AM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

I just finished reading this for the 10th time. It is one of my most favorite!! Even knowing how it ends, I still love it :)



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2010.03.19 - 12:11PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

aww, soo very sweet
well done



Reviewer: Little Trooper Signed Date: 2010.01.06 - 03:25PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

I absolutly love your story i think i read it at least once a week it is that good.



Reviewer: juice14 Signed Date: 2009.07.09 - 01:23AM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Unashamed fluff! No heavy plot lines and very light hearted AU. Nice story!



Reviewer: sportluvr Signed Date: 2009.04.07 - 08:17PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstar

wow i really loved this. the ending w/ neville was kinda weird though and i dont think the actual reality show part was long enough. i cant wait to read ur sequel



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2008.05.28 - 08:05AM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Fabulous story. Well-done characters, and believable happenings. Thanks!!!



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.01.29 - 02:13AM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

This was a lot of fun. Fresh, different, a bit quirky...but very enjoyable. Thanks.



Reviewer: mrsmeggiepotter Signed Date: 2007.10.15 - 04:55PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: eaglebird Signed Date: 2007.08.19 - 11:36PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

Loved it!



Reviewer: HarryPotterLover_01 Signed Date: 2007.08.03 - 05:47AM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

omg i loved this story it was amazing!!! i startedr eading it today and it is now 2:46 in the morning! i couldnt stop reading i loved it! i cant wait to read other stories by you! keep up the great work!
Charlene



Reviewer: QwayMelqnu Signed Date: 2007.07.16 - 04:58PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

The power of Christ compels me to leave a review so that your count is no longer at 666, lol.

Excellent story. Definitely one that I couldn't put down till I was finished. And definitely a breath of fresh air from all the "Book 7" stories that I've been reading (and writing, lol). - My only wish it that I could've read about Neville's reaction to Ginny's choice, and maybe get a bit of insight on why he decided to show up for the show (if it was more than just wanting Ginny back anyway).

Thanks for the wonderful read and I look forward to seeing more of your stuff. Good job!



Reviewer: GINNY__POTTER258 Signed Date: 2007.05.13 - 06:18PM Title: Upon a Star

yay lovely story but what'll happen in the sequel? i do believe you only have the first chapter posted so this time i'm going to have to wait for updates *sigh* : )



Reviewer: UnorthodoxConvention Signed Date: 2006.10.14 - 11:05AM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

The story was good. Sweet. :)



Reviewer: ginnyp_harryp Signed Date: 2006.09.19 - 03:05PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

=]
how fun!



Reviewer: Sssith Signed Date: 2006.09.01 - 11:00AM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

Fun little story. Enjoyed the beginning better than then. Which is no surprise since I do not enjoy angst.

Did a nice job conveying the craziness of a 'reality' show. At least I think so, as I have never watched one.



Reviewer: ValorOrgulloso Signed Date: 2006.08.15 - 07:03PM Title: Upon a Star

starstarstarstarstar

I was just going to skip over this story at first, but then I read in the summary that I would love it! You were correct! Great story!!!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear