Search:

SIYE Time:6:50 on 24th April 2018

Reviews For New Year, New Hope

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.08.18 - 03:36AM Title: Chapter 19

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well, I finally finished! Sorry it took me so long, and I apologize for not leaving reviews after each chapter. This late after publication, it seems silly to go into that much detail. I want to congratulate you on the fantastic battle scene, though I have to admit I was puzzled by your choice to have the Death Eaters using the Cruciatus Curse, but not a lot of Avada Kedavra! Why would they refrain from the Killing Curse when Voldemort gave the "dead or alive" order? Loved what you did with Ginny! Her behavior during the battle was outstanding, but left her as a real-like person, not the second coming of Wonder Woman! Harry's recovery and Ginny's reciprocation was compelling stuff. As for the ending of chapter 18 and chapter 19, I was left quite puzzled by your decision to have Harry withholding information from Ginny. Had you chosen to make it be because Ginny was underage, maybe that would make sense to me. But by saying that he was holding back from telling Ginny because the fewer people who knew, the lower the odds of someone divulging the secrets, wouldn't Ginny, his closest confidant, greatest supporter, and person who had given part of herself to Harry have been absolutely the least likely to slip up and divulge this information. If I were to be Ginny, I would be terribly hurt and, eventually, pissed off (American use of "pissed")! Despite these qualms on my part, I still found this story well written, compelling, and enjoyable! Thank you for sharing it with us!!!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you've finished the story and liked how I ended it. The story's focus changed quite a bit during the three years of its writing, especially after I made the decision to include HBP canon halfway through the story! I think I was afraid of writing an AU story, thinking that keeping up with current canon was the best policy. I think my decision to have the Death Eaters use mostly the Cruciatus Curse stems from that decision. This, too, goes for Harry's sudden withholding information from Ginny, mostly, because in HBP Dumbledore tells Harry to only tell Ron and Hermione about the Horcruxes and other pertinent information. In that book, she accepts his decisions, so I made her accept them in this one; and yes, if I were to rewrite the story, I'd have her as mad as a wet hen. However, my notes from this story have long since vanished, so I don't know what, exactly, I was thinking! Keeping Ginny "real" during the battle was one of my original ideas. I'd never liked the idea that a girl younger than Harry and Ron had to be protected, so instead, I empowered her to help others and do what she could with the assets available. This, too, is one of my favorite parts of the story. Thank you again for reading my story and taking the time to share your thoughts on it.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.08.15 - 11:52PM Title: Chapter 13

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I've been enjoying your story, reading in bits and pieces while on vacation! You're absolutely correct about your improvement as this story has progressed. While your use of the English language has been excellent from the start, your storytelling improved greatly! I chose this story based upon your premise as summarized and didn't pay attention to the date of writing! I am looking forward to reading some of your more recent work after I finish this!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for noticing the improvement in my writing! May I recommend that you finish the trilogy by reading Summer Story? You'll see improvement in that story over this one. It also holds some of my own favorite chapters. Of the rest of my stories, please read in this order, For Love of Family and Ancestors. In each of these three novel-length stories, you'll find I've tried something new as an author. You'll also notice that I stopped publishing in 2014. That's because our computer died and I've never recovered the stories I'd been writing (and failing to back up.) Since then, I've dedicated my writing time to editing for quite a few authors. I enjoy helping others blossom as writers, but I still miss the writing. Hopefully, one of the Challenges will catch my eye and my muse will get its spark back. I look forward to more of your reviews.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.08.05 - 12:58AM Title: Part Six

starstarstarstarstar

This was a superb chapter. I thoroughly enjoyed how you advanced the plot and developed the characters! What a nice touch, too, that Snape got what he deserved!

Author's Response: I had fun writing about how Snape got his just desserts. I'm glad you liked the chapter. Thanks for reading and commenting.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.08.03 - 06:39AM Title: Part Five

starstarstarstarstar

Thank you for this chapter ... for the in-depth discussion ... and for showing us the fire that has been lurking under the surface since the first installment of this story arc and about which you told us at the beginning of this installment. It is the wee hours of the morning and I can't sleep. Ugh! But when I closed my eyes while thinking of Harry's frame of mind in your story, I saw an image of Harry living in a dark hovel with a demonic dragon perch over the roof. The front of the home is open and a bright light shines within. Ginny. To have developed such a stark image of despair and such a striking contrast of hope and love tells me you have been capsulizing very powerful emotions in your writing. Good stuff! I looked up your stories because you have been mentioned as the primary beta for several stories I have found to be thoroughly enjoyable and was curious to see your own work. Finally, I apologize for the typos in my first review. I'm using my iPad while reading at night so I don't wake my beautiful wife of 40 years! As a result, the type is too small to read well. Still, I will try to do better! You have me hooked on this story and I look forward to reading more. I remain anxious about the "murderer or murder victim" attitude Harry is demonstrating. Under that frame of mind, the troops who freed the Jews from concentration camps, as well as those who stopped the terror and death marches in the Pacific in World War II would be murderers rather than liberating heros. I think JKR did a remarkable job illustrating that point throughout all seven books, and drove home this dichotomy when she had Harry offer Tom Riddle the chance to repent from his evil ways and find some remorse in what little was left in his soul at the time of the final battle! The final battle was between a murderer and a true hero, not between two people who must either commit murder or be murdered. She illustrated this so powerfully in their respective choices of spells, Avada Kedavra versus Expelliarmus! Oh well, I will not keep talking about this incessantly. I promise!

Author's Response: It's been thirteen year since I started this story and ten since I finished it, so you're making me go back and read my own story! Anyway, I think what I wanted to convey with this chapter is that, as you so eloquently put it, Ginny is the bright light that shines in Harry's darkness. I do like your image of Harry's dark hovel because it parallels something I conjured in chapter seven. As for his attitude of "murder or victim," teenagers can be a bit melodramatic, an attitude I'm dealing with with my own son. The Prophecy is a lot for Harry to wrap his head around and because of his original frame of mind, he's choosing to focus on that part rather than the one that says he'll have something the Dark Lord know not. Add to that his depressed state of mind and it's no wonder he's having a hard time. Please give him time. By the end of the story Harry's attitude will have evened out and he will have grown and matured because he has the support of his friends and teachers. Thanks for reading and sharing your feelings.



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2017.08.01 - 12:31AM Title: Part Four

starstarstarstarhalf-star

So far, so good! You write very well and seem to be piecing together an nice second installment to your series. Two observations: (1) Why tell us UN summary that the payoff for the H/G fandom happened interregnum and off-page? It falls under the category of "show me, don't tell me" I believe. (2) Do you really not make a distinction between murder and self-defense/defense of others? You have made numerous references to the fact that Harry and even Ginny believe the idea that Harry must murder or be murdered. I suppose some sub-set of total pacifists claim that all killing is murder, but that is a very small fraction of those in the realm of moral/ethical philosophy! It is certainly NOT true to the canon, as Harry clearly stated that, not only would he want to see Voldemort killed, he would want to do it himself! I am very curious to see where you Ho with this, and whether or not you will stick with this treatment, or if the characters will evolve. In a room with five of his friends -- people who supported him at the DoM -- wouldn't at least one of them pointed out that, not only will they support him as he struggles with his burden, but also that his burden will not make him in even the least bit immoral?

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. For as long as it took me to write this story, I certainly hope the characters evolve because in the interim between publication and the last installment, I grew tremendously as a writer. I look forward to more of your reviews.



Reviewer: Mysinger1 Signed Date: 2017.07.13 - 04:49PM Title: Chapter 19

starstarstarstarstar

A wonderful Story! I love the way you have portrayed Ginny's character in these two stories. My favourite part was the Battle in Hogsmead and the safehouse in Honeydukes. Your writing of Ginny's injury and recovery was fantastic. I also loved how students from all four houses were recognized at the leaving feast. Well Done!

Author's Response: You've covered all the important parts of the story! It was important to me to show how much can be accomplished when everyone cooperates and works together toward a common goal. It was also important that the students realize just how important every little contribution is to the whole... that's why I included the ceremony at the leaving feast and not just the House Points and Quidditch Cup winners. I'm glad you liked how I wrote about Ginny's injury and recovery, too. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.11 - 05:01AM Title: Chapter 19

starstarstarstarstar

I'm curious what Dumbledore is planning and why it excludes Ginny. I hope that no JKR-like nasty surprise waiting for us. Until today, I was not able to forgive her regarding Harry's daft behaviour and the break-up.

It was fun to read a story with a very strong Ginny POV character. Good thing I do not have to wait for the sequel :-)

A big THANK YOU for sharing this wonderful story!


Author's Response: I grew a lot as a writer while I was writing this story and I think telling it from Ginny's point of view helped me learn about characterization and making these people seem real. She is just as strong in the next story. I'm glad you liked this story and are going to read the sequel. Thanks for all the nice reviews, too.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.11 - 05:00AM Title: Chapter 18

About half a year ago, Ginny started her Harry watching at the Quidditch pitch and now Harry helps her to get back her self-confidence to fly at exactly the same place. That's a very nice analogy.
The conversation between Ginny and Ron was very revealing; it was great how she gives him advice concerning his relationship with Hermione.


Author's Response: Ginny and Ron have always been close, so it seems natural that they would feel free to talk about their relationships and help each other out. I'm glad you think the Quidditch pitch analogy was a good one. I do too. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.11 - 04:35AM Title: Chapter 16

starstarstarstarstar

The way Ginny helped during the battle was impressive. Perhaps she finds pleasure in the profession of healer. I'd like that better than Quidditch star. Nothing against Quidditch, but I don't like the circumstances of that profession.
The 'mind talk' thing between Ginny and Harry is still a puzzle for me. I thought that it might be connected to the necklaces. However, they could still talk even after Ginny had taken the necklace from Harry. Hence, there must be another explanation...


Author's Response: Ginny has never been a coward and it really rankled when Harry wanted her to hide. However, she found the little niche where she could be supportive and useful to her friends and classmates. At this point, I don't think she's thinking about a career, just about how best she can help during the battle. As for the bond between Harry and Ginny, it did start with the necklaces, but because the two were so receptive to the "mind talk" it became second nature to them, even after she takes the necklace off Harry. You see, the bond is powered by their love for each other and because that love is so strong, the bond between them grows ever stronger. Does that make sense? Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.11 - 04:15AM Title: Chapter 13

starstarstarstarstar

It is good that Harry is so often at Ginny side during her healing. That will mean a lot to her. And hopefully, Ginny's time in the Hospital Wing will make him clear how much she means to him.
I was a bit surprised that Gryffindor plays the second time against Slytherin within a couple of weeks.

great chapter, thank you!

Author's Response: Harry realizes just how much Ginny gave of herself to him, so now he's reciprocating. I think that in the long run, they will both realize how important the other is to them. By the way, sometimes that's just how the Quidditch schedule runs. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.07 - 03:57AM Title: Chapter 11

starstarstarstarstar

It is time for Harry to learn that there are other important things in life beside the prophecy. I hope that he finds the time to take care of Ginny, despite of his tight schedule, and to give her the strength she needs to recover. It’s his turn now, to give the gift of hope to Ginny.
Apparently, the Wizarding World is not involved in the British National Health Service. Therefore Ginny's health now depends on whether the Weasleys can accept Harry's offer.

Ginny's accident and her healing were often in my mind while reading other stories where Ginny was injured. Somehow, sometime last year, I lost track in which story that accident had occurred. Now I know it again :-)

Many thanks for another great, emotional chapter!


Author's Response: When I wrote the story, I was not very well informed about the British National Health Care system and therefore thought it was very much like the American system. However, since then, I have done my homework and while I decided to leave this story as is, I've come to think that Ginny's treatments just might be experimental so that extra funding just might be necessary to supplement what she'd ordinarily receive. As for the injured Quidditch players' fund Harry set up, I'm now thinking that he set up a general fund to be used for any student who desperately needs money to remain at Hogwarts whether it be to pay for something worthwhile. I'm glad this part of my story stuck with you and that you now know the source. I'm currently re-reading some old stories looking for a particular scene myself, so I know exactly the feeling of bewilderment about where I read it. I look forward to your next review.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.06 - 05:51AM Title: Chapter 10

starstarstarstarstar

Hermione's behaviour on the Valentine's Ball was impossible. I could have strangled her and I could still do it. That was the beginning of all the trouble at the end of the ball. I am glad that Ginny and Harry had some time together at the beginning and end of the ball.
... But now we have, or Harry has a new riddle to solve...

P.S. I could still strangle her!!!


Author's Response: All I can say is that Hermione sometimes doesn't know when to quit, so readers want to strangle her. Please don't. It wouldn't be my story if she suddenly disappeared from it, right? As for Harry's new mystery, keep reading... you'll find out more. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.06 - 05:21AM Title: Chapter 9

starstarstarstarstar

Harry has really given some thought regarding the Valentine's gift. On the other hand, from my experience, deep in their heart the boys often are more romantic than the girls are.

Great chapter, thanks a lot!


Author's Response: I'm so glad you think the boys are secretly more romantic than the girls, especially Harry. I had a lot of fun researching this chapter to get it just right. I'm glad you noticed.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.06 - 04:54AM Title: Chapter 8

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Oh yes, the magic mind link. I've also been wondering how it works. It has certainly something to do with the necklaces. Will the link be disconnected when either of them lose the necklace? I'm excited about the puzzle's solution.
And again, no comments regarding the female shopping habits. That's another, more difficult mystery. :-)



Author's Response: In every story I feel the need to let the "girl" out in the characters and in this particular story, it came out in a rather detailed shopping fest. As for the necklaces, you'll just have to read along, since the longer Harry and Ginny wear them the stronger their bond becomes. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.06 - 04:24AM Title: Chapter 7

starstarstarstarstar

I had hoped that it would be a little quieter now for the two of them, and they can find some peace and time for each other, now where Ginny's detention is over and Harry is up-to-date with his homework. Although, of course, there is still much is at their schedule. But no, again, life is hard but unfair.
I'm glad that Ginny is able to get through to Harry and that he trusts her enough by now to open up to her and that he allows himself to get support. On the other hand, I keep asking myself how Ginny over and over finds the strength to straighten him up.
The idea of the tandem flying after Quidditch practice was great.
I am relieved that the Valentine's Ball appointments were made a little more smoothly this time. However, that was probably to be expected so.
I wonder about the current state regarding Snape, sorry Professor Snape. Is he still alive? Is he all right? Will Harry be punished? ... Question after question, the next chapter are the answers?


Author's Response: I'll address Severus Snape first. I actually dropped the ball on that bit of story line when I was writing later chapters and never did say what happened to him in the end. I'll tell you now that Madam Pomfrey was able to straighten him out and he eventually made a full recovery, much to Harry's chagrin. Your comment about how Ginny finds her strength to do what she does for Harry can be answered simply: love. That complicated emotion gives you strength to do what needs to be done for the person you love, no matter what, and Ginny's love for Harry is unconditional. Besides, there are those little perks like their tandem flight that help renew both their spirits and give them the strength they need to face their/Harry's problems. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.06 - 03:45AM Title: Part Six

starstarstarstarstar

Ginny's idea with the bonded necklaces is very prescient. I wonder how that "talking thing" and that "dream sharing thing" works; certainly, it is somehow connected to the necklaces. I suppose we will know soon.
The tight timetable is a considerable challenge. I hope that they do not bit off more than they could chew. How much sleep does a normal witch or a normal wizard need compared with a Muggle?
Urg, McGonagall, every time the two of them have a few minutes for themselves, surely someone will interrupt them. Life is hard but unfair. (Unlike McGonagall, who is always considered as hard but fair)

Great chapter, thank you!


Author's Response: Professor McGonagall, like any prudent head of house, needs to know what's going on with her charges: she wouldn't be a good head of house if she didn't interrupt them on occasion. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.05 - 03:48AM Title: Part Five

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, didn't I tell you. Ginny is patient and persistent, even though Harry has really hurt her. Good thing he ultimately comes to his senses. But it will probably not be the last time that he hurts her ...
I really like the idea that Harry is a teacher. Surely, part of the reason is that I really dislike the idea that either Ginny or Harry is becoming a publicity loving Quidditch Star or Auror. Aurors are mostly lonely people who have no family, or if they have a family, they are always away when they are needed at home. Even worse, Ginny as Quidditch Rita Skeeter.

Oops, I'm digressing again. To make it short: it was a wonderful chapter, thank you!


Author's Response: Ginny knows that Harry is inexperienced when it comes to having the support of the people who love him, because the Dursleys certainly can't be bothered. Therefore, her persistence comes from her own stubbornness as well as her desire to help her boyfriend learn what it is to be loved, even during the rough patches. I'm glad you like the idea of Harry becoming a teacher. From personal experience, the job is rewarding because it offers the anonymity Harry craves while giving him the opportunity to work with the future, his students. Thanks for reading. I look forward to your next review.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.05 - 03:19AM Title: Part Four

starstarstarstarstar

The way how Ginny reads Dumbledore the riot act was splendid. Surely, she was surprised about herself.
It's hard to put yourself in Harry's shoes. While his situation is understandable, you never know exactly how Harry will react. But Ginny can, at least sometimes. Seemingly, she is often the only one who is able to anticipate his train of thoughts. In addition, she is patient or persistent, always at the right moment.
The way Harry’s friends have expressed that they stick by him, was impressive. I hope it helps Harry to open up a bit. However, I do not think that his lone wolf habit is already past. That would be very un-Harry-like.


Author's Response: I had fun writing the Ginny/Dumbledore scene since it just might give one a glimpse into the woman Ginny will eventually become. Harry's friends follow him because he demands nothing of them, gives everything of himself and inspires others with his bravery: in other words, he is loved by his friends because he tries to be "just Harry" to them without demanding anything back. What he gets back is their friendship and loyalty.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.04 - 08:05AM Title: Part Three

starstarstarstarstar

I am relieved that Ginny and Harry are talking to each other. I was really worried. And it's nice to see how Harry is worried about Ginny, and not only because of his usual security concerns. I had to smile how Harry is worried about Ginny's eating habits.
Ginny is so utterly fixated on her self-imposed task, that she rushes into a predicament because of her unprepared actions. Are these the risks which one takes out of pure love without giving it much thought? Obviously.

Oh, btw., it is certainly not as easy for you to recall all the details of a story to answer the reviews after so many years. I'm reading Ginny / Harry stories since about a year now, usually about 4-5 hours every evening, and sometimes I have to be very carefully to not mix the story line with the story that I've read before.

... and before I forget: many thanks for another wonderful chapter!

Author's Response: You'll see in this story that Harry and Ginny always find time to talk; it's how their relationship grows and deepens. In this chapter, Harry's concern for Ginny's eating habits show just how much he worries about her and lets her know that he cares as much about her as she does about him.



Reviewer: Gin110881 Signed Date: 2015.05.03 - 03:35PM Title: Part Two

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Ginny really makes herself a lot of work in order to help Harry. She's so busy with her research, that she has not seen Harry since the Christmas holidays. Or did I miss something? Hopefully Harry will not have a relapse without having Ginny around him. If this happened, Ginny certainly wouldn't forgive herself.
Thanks for the great entertainment so far!


Author's Response: Ginny knows the risks of what staying away from Harry for a time might entail. Her goal, in the long run, is to have several things that will help him in his various times of need. She loves Harry enough to take on a nearly impossible task, even if he doesn't understand the magnitude of her selflessness just yet. Eventually, he will and things will start happening for the better for them. Keep reading. I look forward to your next review.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear