Search:

SIYE Time:12:02 on 16th August 2018


Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2016.04.02 - 04:52PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

Don't recall ever seeing a FF HP story with a squib as a main character...much less a beloved squib.

Beautiful



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2009.10.04 - 11:54PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Beautiful.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2009.08.07 - 06:41PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstar

I guess that must be a bit like having parents and siblings that are really clever and you struggling with even the simplest things like reading and writing.

Did you know that we don't have lightning bugs in the UK (sigh). My sister lives in the states and its one of the highlights of a trip to see her in the summer!



Reviewer: harrypotterspirit Signed Date: 2008.08.28 - 09:36AM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarhalf-star

It is utterly important for preteens/teens to be accepted by their peers. I felt Harry and Ginny's sadness about their daughter perception of herself but not for the fact that she was a Squib. I like how you showed the different approach each parents used to help James find her gift and joy in the world. An orginal story.



Reviewer: muachh Signed Date: 2008.03.10 - 07:49AM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Szors Signed Date: 2008.02.12 - 12:15PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2007.05.16 - 03:37AM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

When I started reading this, all I could think about was "a girl named James?" I wonder if the have a boy named Sue? Apologies to Johnny Cash..

By the time I was finished, I was so touched by your story. Each in own way is different, and if we don't fir into a mould that someone has set,we FEEL the difference, and just want to belong.

I don't mean the feeling of the boys that killed at Columbine, Virginia Tech. or the many schools across the country, using not fitting in as an excuse for pure evil.

The rest of us face our difference with hope and pride.

Thanks for remining us.

Darian



Reviewer: Kerian Anonymous Date: 2005.12.07 - 07:45PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

A very cute idea. I liked the idea that Harry and Ginny might have a squib child, though it was a little bit weird that they gave their daughterss boys' names. I like that most of the children had familiar last names. But I did notice that the unicorn is referred to as "his pure whiteness" but then Ginny tells James to hold the apple out to "her". Just a little thing. A good fic- and I really do love that song ;)

Author's Response: Haha, funny story: okay, so I was writing the end of it, and it was very late at night and I was EXTREMELY tired, and I got to the part of the unicorn, and I couldn't decide if it should be a he or a she, and I sat there for about ten minutes when without warning I burst into tears and was like "WAHHH! This story SUCKS---I can't even decide what sex the f***ing UNICORN is!!!! I'm a FAILURE!!!!" and so in the end I just decided that they James would call it a he and Ginny would call it a she. True story. Anyway, now that I've convinced you that I'm utterly cracked, thank you for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Laura Anonymous Date: 2005.05.23 - 01:08PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

OMG!! You're back! It took me a while to find this story. I was checking your space for updates in House of Quick and Hungry when you satisfied me with this little number. It is absolutely adorable!!! It almost made me cry. Not a lot of fics can do that, thank god, but this one is brilliant. Anyway, we need to have a talk. What happened to House of the Quick and the Hungry?!?! I've been missing it. It's my favorite fic of all time, and you haven't updated in forever!!! Come on! I'm still waiting for the H/G goodness! Good luck and keep at it!

Author's Response: I'm almost done now, sorry to have left you guys waiting so long, but thanks for stickin' by me!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Carolien Anonymous Date: 2005.05.14 - 05:41PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

That was a beautiful story, i genuinly cried, i'm such a wuss... The only thing i found a bit confusing were the names, but "i've seen odder"

Author's Response: Yeh... someday I'm going to write a fic chronicling each of their births and the reasons they were named what they were, hopefully then it will make more sense, but for now... we've all seen odder. Thanks for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Delani Anonymous Date: 2005.05.02 - 10:01PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

Hah! Here it is! Okay, his name is Jim, not Brian, but the whole universe is good, so I suggest you read more of Magnolia Mama's work at PS: http://www.phoenixsong.net/sympho ny/story/1870/ Delani

A uthor's Response: I know, I LOVED that story!!!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: hyperblonde016 Signed Date: 2005.04.28 - 08:21PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

I judged your story for The Muggle Picnic Challenge. I really enjoyed your story! It was a very nicely written and enjoyable fic! Good Job! And.. The BEST of LUCK to you for the challenge!! -Brooke-

Author 's Response: Thanks



Reviewer: Sir Ollivander Signed Date: 2005.04.28 - 07:11PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

I just re-read your story for judging the Challenge. How interesting you used Remus and James for girl's names. Orininal. Good luck.

Author's Response: Yeah, well, they had all those girls and all those male figures waiting for namesakes, so you know, they had to get a bit creative! Thanks for the revie!



Reviewer: emmamoonpotter Anonymous Date: 2005.04.28 - 03:18PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

I just read your story for the challange. What a beautiful family story. Very touching and heart warming. Good Luck!

Author's Response: Thank you!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: xaphania Anonymous Date: 2005.04.28 - 05:45AM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

great story, I read it as I am a judge, and I liked your original take on the challenge guidelines. Well done!

Author's Response: Thanks!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Sabine Strohem Signed Date: 2005.04.27 - 07:34PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

Talk about original--definitely a creative scoop on the entire thing, with Harry & Ginny married and with two daughters. I liked how you ended it, sweet, vivid imagery and a nice idea on squibs in the magical world... Good luck in the challenge! -SS

Author's Response: Thank you! x3



Reviewer: Sunny Anonymous Date: 2005.04.27 - 07:00PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

This was the sweetest, most unique story I have ever read, combining Harry and Ginny's acceptance of muggles and squibs with the inevitable fact that our hearts occasionally have more trouble accepting others than our minds do.

Author's Response: What a brilliant review. Sorry, that sounds somewhere between stupid and pompous on my part but really, that was a fantastically written review that absolutely made my day. Thank you.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: KikiDeeDee Anonymous Date: 2005.04.26 - 03:15PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarhalf-star

Interesting submission, definately original, have just judged for the challenge and have to say I do like the original take on the idea. Good luck. Kiki

Author's Response: Yay, thank you!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Zelthian Signed Date: 2005.04.24 - 09:06PM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

Reviewed for the challenge. Very intersting story! Good Luck!

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: Delani Anonymous Date: 2005.04.23 - 01:11AM Title: The Better Part of Magic

starstarstarstarstar

Erm, I meant Laurent, of course...silly me...

Author's Response: I knew who you were talking about ;-)

[Respond: In Review]



../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear