Search:

SIYE Time:20:05 on 25th January 2022


Reviewer: Rocky235 Signed Date: 2006.05.25 - 11:10PM Title: Chapter 4: Sorted Affairs

starstarstarstarstar

I'm pretty tired, but what the heck. One more chapter won't hurt.



Reviewer: Rocky235 Signed Date: 2006.05.25 - 10:42PM Title: Chapter 3: Return of Harry Potter

starstarstarstarstar

I really like your long chapters. I read to escape and they allow that. Plus there are no distractions to yank me back to reality. Your grammar is good and no typos make for a happy reader.



Reviewer: Rocky235 Signed Date: 2006.05.25 - 10:22PM Title: Chapter 2: Raising Harry Potter

starstarstarstarstar

I like your dialog. It's natural, easy to read and not 'sing songy'.



Reviewer: Rocky235 Signed Date: 2006.05.25 - 10:05PM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

starstarstarstarstar

Gees, it took me 10 minutes to figure out how to leave a review. That ought to give you an idea of how useful my advice would be. It's a good thing I won't ever offer any.

Your story was recommended by Andrew McLean on a Yahoo fan site. I enjoyed the first chapter and am glad I took his advice.



Reviewer: EmeraldFire Anonymous Date: 2006.05.12 - 10:09PM Title: Chapter 15: Reunions, Revelations, and Returning Home

starstarstarstarstar

Great story. I really enjoyed this, especially your portrayal of Harry. I also believe that your description of Ron was pretty much spot on given the fact that Harry and Hermione were not close friends with him. Throw that together with the fact that Ron probably had a bit of hero worship prior to hogwarts puts his attitude in perspective. Again, great story and thanks :)

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Savannah Signed Date: 2006.05.08 - 06:06PM Title: Chapter 15: Reunions, Revelations, and Returning Home

starstarstarstarstar

Are you English by any chance? Your writing is really good. How long have you been writing? How old are you know? I'm 12 and in the sixth grade. Please write back to me so I can comment on your writing again. -Savannah

Author's Response: Nope, I\'m an American teenager who has never written any fanfiction before.



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.27 - 09:05AM Title: Chapter 15: Reunions, Revelations, and Returning Home

starstarstarstarstar

Great story... can't wait to read the next one Grey Maiden II: Slytherin's Heir. Hope it is just as good as this one.

I don't like the way that you put Ron, but I can see why you did it. I hoped that you would make Ron, Harry and Hermione as friends somehow, but sadly you didn't... but never mind. At the way Ron is acting I wouldn't want to be friends with him, the git.

So anyhow keep up the good work, and I hope you keep on going.

Author's Response: Personally, I don\'t think Ron was out of character at all. When he comes to Hogwarts, he\'s tactless, immature, and extremely insecure. You get a bit of a look into Ron\'s psyche in the next book, but really, this is what I think would have happened. Afterall, while Ron becomes a loyal friend, he becomes Harry\'s friend in the first place because he is the Boy-Who-Lived, and to Ron, that represents an achievement of sorts. Their friendship is genuine, but only exists in the first place because of who Harry is. This time around, Ron didn\'t meet Harry on the train, nor did he know who he was until the Sorting. Basically, he is my depiction of the biggest flaw in Rowling\'s work: limited PoV. Ron looks at Harry just like the two look at Malfoy in canon. And in both cases, Ron knows next to nothing about them. He jumps on Harry because he reacts to it and is an easy target. He\'s also very bitter, He\'s a bully, though its really the result of him not thinking, and more importantly, not having Harry and Hermione to reel in his impulsive behavior.



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.27 - 08:29AM Title: Chapter 13: Date with Destiny

starstarstarstarstar

And I thought that Ron Weasley was getting use to Harry, oh will lets hope when Harry saves Ron's sister, he be more friendly. Great work by the way.

Author's Response: Yes, when he saves Ron\'s sister...



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.27 - 08:03AM Title: Chapter 11: Norbert and Flamel

starstarstarstarstar

Great story so far, I think that Ron is getting use to Harry, but I don't think they'll be real friends just yet. At least the twins, don't mind him too much. Keep up the good work.



Reviewer: GryffKnight Anonymous Date: 2006.04.26 - 05:01PM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

starstarstarstarstar

This is an awsome concept, I think you are off to a great start. I can't wait to see what you do with harry and his friends. I can't wait to see what happends between Harry and Ginny and how Ron reacts. Keep up the great writting!

Author's Response: I\'ve always loved AUs where Harry was raised differently, but I haven\'t found many good ones. The idea of Daphne came from an aborted literary travesty where she was the DADA teacher. Then I thought, \"Hey, why not have Daphne raise him?\" I still remember writing the first chapter, when I had no idea if anyone would like this thing.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Chris Widger Signed Date: 2006.04.26 - 10:08AM Title: Chapter 14: The Color of Blood

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: IHateSnakes Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 10:36PM Title: Chapter 8: The Cerberus and the Dragon

starstarstarstarstar

God, I'm so mad at you...all these chapters to read and it's bed time. You have a truly fantastic story here, please keep going. Normally I don;t care for Harry/Hermione ships (if that is where you are going) but you are carrying it off perfectly. And was that Ron Weasley about to hit Hermione? Whew! One other thing...in an earlier chapter I believe you mentioned that Tom Riddle was a Gryffindor...? Top marks, Chris. S.

Author's Response: Nope. I said that Grindelwald was a Gryffindor, which I\'m allowed to do because JKR never specified what house he was in. And one more time, I wouldn\'t be allowed to post this here if it wasn\'t Harry/Ginny. Hermione and Harry are extremely close, but there is no romantic relationship there whatsoever.



Reviewer: Valandar Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 09:34PM Title: Chapter 15: Reunions, Revelations, and Returning Home

starstarstarhalf-star

With the hate between Ron and Harry in this fic (something that rather disturbs me, to tell the truth), I don't see how this willl become a Harry/Ginny fic. This site is primarily H/G, after all. However, it is well written, and I loved your portrayal of a younger Tonks.

Author's Response: It seems odd, doesn\'t it. But seriously, when has Ginny ever taken everything Ron has said to heart? Especially since he started treating her as a tag-along (I estimate age 8-9)?



Reviewer: herbiegirl8 Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:54PM Title: Chapter 4: Sorted Affairs

starstarstarstarstar

why? why is he in slytherin?

Author's Response: Because he\'s very different than he was in canon. And its because of his upbringing. The Dursleys, even using just JKR\'s descriptions (in other words, discounting possible abuse), belittled him, punished him for trying his best, and made him feel less than others. His \'saving people thing\' is a combination of subconsciously valuing himself less than others, and also trying to prevent others from feeling the way he did. Canon Harry was emotionally scarred and also stunted from his relatives. With Daphne, Harry\'s been encouraged to be all that he can be. She places limits, but they are to keep his childhood as normal as possible. He\'s more socially aware, and because he idolizes Daphne, he picks up important traits of hers, most importantly, excellent observation of the world around him. He isn\'t nearly as impulsive in both thoughts and actions, because he thinks things through first. He\'s Slytherin via process of elimination. He\'s no Gryffindor; he prefers cool logic to bold action in most circumstances. He\'s no Hufflepuff, and while he\'s a studious individual, intelligence is a also a quality of Slytherins. Trust me, when I\'m done with him, you won\'t be able to recognize him from canon Harry.



Reviewer: CruciareMors Anonymous Date: 2006.04.25 - 01:10PM Title: Chapter 7: Trouble with Trolls

starstarstarstarstar

Yay! You posted the whole story here! How cool is that?
You may know me from FF.net, I review there too. I just wanted to say welcome to this site... you really made a good choice (and you know what I'm talking about)!
Are you going to post SH here too? That would be brilliant!
Take care!

Author's Response: I\'m planning to post them all here. I\'m waiting for the SIYE community to read book 1 before I post book 2.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: IHateSnakes Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 12:56PM Title: Chapter 7: Trouble with Trolls

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very good story, a very well written "alternate history." I hope you are able to carry the story to completion, 7 years is a long time! I look forward to more. S.



Reviewer: IHateSnakes Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 11:16AM Title: Chapter 4: Sorted Affairs

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Ewww, Harry a Slytherin? Bet you got lots of notes about that! Great chapter. S.

Author's Response: Based on your member name, your response isn\'t surprising. But there\'s something you must remember about canon. It\'s told completely from the perspective of an emotionally-stunted, impulsive, and fairly judgemental boy. Harry shows us only the bad parts of Slytherin. GM Harry is much more openminded, though he\'s flawed, trust me. Slytherins aren\'t all junior Death Eaters. Remember that. That said, writing Malfoy as a good guy is transplanting the character of Ron onto Draco. These two will be rivals the whole way. Harry doesn\'t like Draco, and Draco certainly doesn\'t care for Harry.



Reviewer: IHateSnakes Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 11:02AM Title: Chapter 3: Return of Harry Potter

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Excellent story... One error: "Harry awoke the next day and got dressed. After a quick shower, he ran down..." I believe most kids take a shower BEFORE getting dressed! Lol, keep up the good work. S,

Author's Response: Oops. Well I suppose one could take a shower with their clothes on...but it\'s not exactly an intelligent thing to do.



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 10:47AM Title: Chapter 7: Trouble with Trolls

Great chapter... Hermione is finally going to be friends with Harry, will that's one down and the whole Weasley family to go. I hope he gets to be friends with Fred and Groage soon, other wise how will he get the Map in the thard book. I hope that hearing that Harry saved Hermione's life, will make Ron think... and that he will make firends with Harry... as I said before they make a great team, and it would be a shame to part them. Hope you get them together soon. But if that dosen't happen before the second book, then it'll be even harder for them, when Ron finds out that Harry can speek to snakes. Maybe saving Ginny's life will change that... we can but hope. Update soon please.



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 10:47AM Title: Chapter 7: Trouble with Trolls

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter... Hermione is finally going to be friends with Harry, will that's one down and the whole Weasley family to go. I hope he gets to be friends with Fred and Groage soon, other wise how will he get the Map in the thard book. I hope that hearing that Harry saved Hermione's life, will make Ron think... and that he will make firends with Harry... as I said before they make a great team, and it would be a shame to part them. Hope you get them together soon. But if that dosen't happen before the second book, then it'll be even harder for them, when Ron finds out that Harry can speek to snakes. Maybe saving Ginny's life will change that... we can but hope. Update soon please.

Author's Response: Keep in mind that my goal in creating an AU is to merely keep the climaxes and setting intact, while re-inventing the hows and whys.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear