Search:

SIYE Time:20:17 on 25th January 2022


Reviewer: harry 4Eyes Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 10:41AM Title: Chapter 7: Trouble with Trolls

starstarstarstarstar

ARGH!!!!! SIYE just ate my review...ohwell lets try this again hopefully won't eat my review this time.

This story is Intense,I loved it, I'll admit I had my fears when you did three three typical rewrite points I dislike allot 1) Harry is brought up by a super Aurer, 2) Harry is Brought up in America and 3) Harry is sorted in Slytherin.

I dislike point 1 because in every case I have read on his Harry ends up super powerful with more spell knowledge than even Dumbledore but you have done something I have not read before and that is Harry was brought up normally and just taught a few spells that might help him but otherwise a normal kid with a loving mother. Good Job.

Second point, I have nothing against Americans but Harry is still British and I don't think being brought up in America is going to make him Gun trigger happy or a baggy jeans Skater Boy, I like how Harry is still Harry only someone who grew up with a normal childhood and a loving supportive upbringing. excellent

and then lastly Slytherin Harry, I so dispise all Slytherin Harry as they always make him so arrogant and best friends with Draco with Snape as his Mentor or make it so All Slytherins are misunderstood and it's really the other houses that are in the wrong, speciall Gryffindor who was the real evil dictator not Slytherin.

This is the first time ever I have read a Slytherin Harry who is essentially just Harry but someone who is still hated by the Slytherin for what he did, and Snape still hates him for his looks, and the other houses hate or fear him because of what they have taught about Slytherins and fearing him because of that knowledge and the fact he had defeated Voldermort so he could be the next dark lord.

I am a guy and i'll admit the treatment Harry was getting made me cry and at work no less, hopefully things look up after this chapter atleast he has a friend with him now, and the rest of the school will back off when they find out he risked his own life for another person a muggleborn at that...and might even get some house unity in the future, the hat will be pleased.

I love this fic so far and can't wait for the rest to be validated. Also love Daphne, very nice charactor for an OC.

Well loving it
Keep up the great work
Harry

Author's Response: I understand where you are coming from, but with this Harry, I\'m truely trying to create something entirely new. As growing up with a legendary ex-Auror, well, that\'s going to have a major impact. Daphne has NOT left her past behind, she really can\'t. She\'s lost everything, and no matter how hard she tries, she can\'t shield Harry from that. I specifically wanted to avoid one of those fics where Harry begins Hogwarts with a tremendous advantage over his classmates. He\'ll eventually learn a hell of a lot, and become powerful enough to face his destiny, but for now, he\'s on an even playing field. As for being raised in Canada? Claw\'s Clan is a wizarding community, and Daphne is a pureblooded heiress. Harry\'s been raised in a slightly more civilized manner than with the Dursleys in some respects, though he seeks to emulate Daphne, who is not always kind and respectful. As for clothing, Harry\'s been wearing robes for as long as he can remember, and he\'s used to them. Make no mistake, Slytherin Harry will be very different from his canon Gryffindor self. He won\'t truely develop until he\'s thrust into the role he was born for, but you\'ll see him begin to change, especially as book 2 gets underway. Let me put it this way: Harry wouldn\'t take a Killing Curse for someone he barely knows. Or even someone very close to him. For Daphne? Probably, though he knows that would probably kill her. Trust me, it\'s difficult to explain without giving away too much, but he\'s very different. Daphne is to me, absolutely fascinating. You\'ve barely touched the tip of the iceberg with her thus far. When it\'s all out there, it\'s very possible you\'ll question how the hell she\'s capable of raising a child. Like I said, Daphne has NOT left her past behind. She still seeks vengeance.



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 10:24AM Title: Chapter 6: Taking to the Skies

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter....hope Minerva can help Harry. update soon.



Reviewer: IHateSnakes Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 10:09AM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great start. S.



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 09:55AM Title: Chapter 5: First Impressions

starstarstarstarstar

Ron is being a git, but hopeful he'll listen to Harry's words, and they become friends... will I hope they do. As they do work great together, and it would be a shame ro part them. At least Hermione might be able to look between the houses and become firends soon.

Author's Response: Ron\'s interesting. Basically, while insecure, immature, ignorant, and closed-minded, he still has the capacity to be a brave individual and a loyal friend. But based on the way I see his character, he would never have been friends with Harry if his childhood idol was Sorted into Slytherin (Ron no doubt heard the Harry Potter Story nearly as many times as his sister). Quite the opposite. He would have been bitter at having his hopes dashed. While his friendship with Harry in canon is genuine, to Ron, it represents an achievement of sorts. In a family with two Head Boys, a Quidditch captain, and a pair of twin geniuses, his friendship with Harry serves as something that sets him apart from the rest of his family. It\'s more subconscious than overt, and it\'s more the reason for befriending Harry in the first place. In this instance, that never happens. However, Ron will grow up. How long it takes, and how much damage he\'s done already? That remains to be seen.



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 09:20AM Title: Chapter 3: Return of Harry Potter

starstarstarstarstar

I hope you don't put Harry and Hermione together... it wouldn't be right... Hermione should be with Ron... even if he is a git in this story.

Author's Response: If it was Harry/Hermione, it wouldn\'t be on this sight. The only reason SIYE is allowing a story with two or three lines devoted to Ginny is because she and Harry will eventually get together.



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 08:41AM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

I just read your bro... and I do hope Harry and Ron do become friends. By the way, am I right in guessing that Ginny is going to be a Slytherin too??



Reviewer: Dragen Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 08:34AM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

starstarstarstarstar

Great start to the stroy keep up the good work, and I can't wait to see what happens next.



Reviewer: AdminQ Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:43AM Title: Chapter 5: First Impressions

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: AdminQ Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:43AM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

No Review



Reviewer: AdminQ Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:42AM Title: Chapter 6: Taking to the Skies

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: AdminQ Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:42AM Title: Chapter 4: Sorted Affairs

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: AdminQ Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:42AM Title: Chapter 3: Return of Harry Potter

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: AdminQ Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:42AM Title: Chapter 2: Raising Harry Potter

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: AdminQ Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:41AM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

No Review



Reviewer: AdminQ Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 03:38AM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

starstarstarstarstar

I am impressed. Read your email I sent with a little more well earned praise. The lack of reviews is no reflection, give it time, and they will come. -Steve(AQ)



Reviewer: Azabaza Signed Date: 2006.04.25 - 01:22AM Title: Chapter 7: Trouble with Trolls

starstarstarstarstar

Oh my god. Tears are nearly streaming down my face...

I'm loving this story already, and I'm wondering why more people aren't reviewing... it's certainly a good read. After year one is over, I'm looking forward to see Ginny's reaction towards Harry in year two. ;)



Reviewer: ChickenIsGood Anonymous Date: 2006.04.24 - 10:16PM Title: Chapter 5: First Impressions

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I kind of skipped the Canada parts, but this is good. I just stole a few chapters from fanfiction.net.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: ZanyMuggle Signed Date: 2006.04.24 - 08:40PM Title: Chapter 1: Halloween

starstarstarstar

Woo hoo! Good to see this fic here! If any fic is a good addition to the annals of H/G AU's, this is it!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear