Search:

SIYE Time:17:36 on 17th May 2022

Reviews For OF STARS AND DUELS

Reviewer: Mistress of Potions Signed Date: 2011.11.01 - 01:37PM Title: Chapter 8 OF STARS AND DUELS

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I've always liked Sirius and this is a great way to include him in Harry's life. It also gives proof positive that Sirius loved Harry very much, an assurance that would be unique, just as Sirius was.



Reviewer: redwoodhouse Signed Date: 2007.06.18 - 09:25PM Title: Chapter 8 OF STARS AND DUELS

starstarstarstarstar

Very good story. I like to see the justice given to the Malfoy family and their lack of honor. Well done

Author's Response: thanks for the review. i loved writing this story and while there are SOOOO many spelling and grammatical errors, i've left it as is so i can see just how much my writing has improved. i am glad that you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2007.05.24 - 12:28AM Title: Chapter 2 Dreaming of Air

starstarstarstarstar

I've read your great, insightful reviews...but this is (Ithink ) the second story of yours I've read, nad it probably ttoo old for you to read comments.

The one thing I've sorely missed in the movies is the Hogwart's Express visitations by Malfoy and group. Granted, this one wasn't as funny as most in the books...but the boy just never learns.

My opinion of Dumbledore, after the third book, seems to be about what Harry's is in your story...Wind up your little weapon, and let him kill Voldemort...in the meantime let Malfoy have a go at him...for what? Practice?



Author's Response: i agree with you. i'm torn up with dumbeldore. i love him but he is what he is...a master manipulator. he wants harry to be as normal a teenager but he allows so many things to happen to him too. it's pretty psychotic if you think about it. and yeah, the train scenes are the best especially the one where harry, ron, hermione, and even fred & george hit him with different spells at the same time. priceless!!! thanks for the review...i know there are a bunch of spelling and grammar mistakes but it was my first story posted and i decided to leave it that way so i can see how much i've progressed. carolyn



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2006.11.15 - 12:23AM Title: Chapter 8 OF STARS AND DUELS

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

This is, by far, the longest entry I've ever read -- for any challenge in the history of SIYE, with eight chapters and over 12000+ words. And I enjoyed every chapter.

Not only does this fic avoid HBP canon, but it appears to be AU with OotP as well. As other reviewers have already pointed out, Harry has never taught the DA in this fic, so he needs Remus to help train him and Ginny to show him what the Room of Requirement is. And of course H/G get together early.

This fic fits very well after the death of Sirius at the end of OotP -- indeed this does have the feel of a sixth year fic written before HBP. Connecting Draco to Sirius is an ingenious idea. Of course I've heard of the Sirius, the Dog Star, and it's interesting that the star Sirius has a key role in beating Draco. I also like the new and budding relationship between Remus and his new "cub" Harry.

Overall, not bad for a first-time author. I wish you luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: wow! thank you for your review. i feel so honored by you and everyone else that reviewed this story!!!



Reviewer: Merlani Signed Date: 2006.11.13 - 12:43AM Title: Chapter 1: Remembering and Moving On

starstarstarstarstar

Read for judging purposes. Good Luck!



Reviewer: Bryher Signed Date: 2006.11.06 - 06:54PM Title: Chapter 1: Remembering and Moving On

starstarhalf-star

Great story - loved the idea of the family tradition of duelling. And lovely ending - very sad/nice when Sirius saved Harry's life! Keep writing :)

Author's Response: thank you so much for this review! i am so happy because i got alot of good feedback and suggestions on this story and how to make future stories better. i wasn\'t planning on writing another story but this experience has given me the incentive to do another. again, thanks!!!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 11:05AM Title: Chapter 8 OF STARS AND DUELS

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A very nice finish. I was very impressed with how you utilized the...well, I won't give it away here. I was surprised that the Malfoy parents were there, and to a lesser degree that they would allow their son to bind them to those conditions. The duel overall was well-staged and properly paced. It was a good culmination to an entertaining story. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: the malfoys are arrogant and it was easy to write them into the final chapter. how do you think the reporters found out about the duel ;) but they are a family who\'s arrogance was ultimately their downfall. obviously they never lived by Sirius\'s rule: forget the past and your destined to repeat your mistakes. maybe i\'ll write another peice centered around this book. we\'ll see. i thank you for your reviews and your suggestions. i read your piece and i couldn\'t stop laughing. i love your sarcasm!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 10:57AM Title: Chapter 7 THE CHALLENGE IS MADE

starstarstarstar

Hmm... The terms of the duel are a bit different. Now I have to wonder about all the other duels that you said occurred throughout history between the two families. The reference to the time they will meet was not missed. You've given us all the proper clues, now we get to see whether my guesses are correct. Onto the battle! Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: yes, i put in my own twist. most of the stories pretty much had the same rules but it didn\'t fit into my ending. i actually wrote out my ending, how i envisioned the duel, and wrote my story around it. you are the first reviewer to catch that! thanks!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 10:49AM Title: Chapter 6 A MOST NEEDED INTERMISSION

starstarstarhalf-star

Ah, he doesn't discover the Room of Requirements until his sixth year in your universe. Naturally, Ginny would know about it from Gred and Forge. This short chapter is important for two reasons. It sets the tone still further for the actual challenge, and it establishes something important between Harry and Ginny that will help him during the duel (just as it will in his final fight with Voldemort). Thanks for another entertaining chapter. Eric B.

Author's Response: i wanted ginny to provide harry with something to take his mind off of everything but he couldn\'t leave the castle. i am of the belief that the Marauders found that room first so it was easy for me to have ginny know about the room from Remus. the biggest challenge for me in this story wasn\'t writing about the actual duel but putting my ideas and thoughts in this story without having to refer to much to past events because i didn\'t want that to be the focus. just like in my first chapter i have harry and ginny already together with a hint of how they got there. it fits but it doesn\'t take away from the main story line.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 10:35AM Title: Chapter 5 DECISIONS MADE

starstarstarhalf-star

Actually Harry is well-trained in the art of dueling after leading the D.A. Still, it is good that Remus work with him in this respect. He shouldn't be too hard on Dumbledore however, since the older Wizard was actually right that time. I'm curious as to how the headmaster will react after the actual challenge. Closer and closer. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: harry is trained in the books but what he and remus did was more of an auror style of training and dodging spells. (later on i\'ll go and make that clearer.) see, harry knows what to expect from voldemort. voldemort doesn\'t play games, he\'s direct and has a purpose. in his way he has his own sense of honor. malfoy, on the other hand, is unpredicatable and sneaky. you really don\'t know what to expect from him and he knows nothing of honor because all his family ever taught him was arrogance and a sense of expecting everything to be given to him because of his family name.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 10:28AM Title: Chapter 4 DISCOVERIES AND CONFESSIONS

You threw me a bit of a loop when you sent all of them to Diagon Alley instead of Hogsmeade. Still, it provided you with the means to get the book to Harry. It was interesting how you brought up the history between the two families, as well as opening the door regarding a duel. Your point about the inheritance is also going to provide us with some fun I think. Thanks. Eric B.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 10:22AM Title: Chapter 4 DISCOVERIES AND CONFESSIONS

starstarstarstar

You threw me a bit of a loop when you sent all of them to Diagon Alley instead of Hogsmeade. Still, it provided you with the means to get the book to Harry. It was interesting how you brought up the history between the two families, as well as opening the door regarding a duel. Your point about the inheritance is also going to provide us with some fun I think. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: i always wondered if there was a connection to gringotts via hogsmeade. kids shopping and such, i\'m sure they\'d run out of money. well since story is pretty much a/u, i thought it was safe to have them spend the day in diagon alley instead. thank you for all your wonderful reviews!!!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 10:13AM Title: Chapter 3 ESCAPE FROM STUDYING

starstarstarstar

"Knickers-in-a-knot-madman"...now there's a classic line. I liked this fluffy interlude, and it serves the purpose of setting up the events that I know are coming in your next chapter. Poor Ron. Well, I'm sure that Hermione will give him some good care...after her typical lecture. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: i love harry potter and the books but hermione annoys the poop out of me! i am waiting for a scene where harry and ron get fed up and cast some kind of charm that removes her mouth from her face!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 10:05AM Title: Chapter 2 Dreaming of Air

starstarstarstar

A green tail flugglestork? I thought that they were extinct. The dream that you employed was good, and naturally it has me thinking and asking all manner of questions, which of course includes "What did Malfoy do?" You need to be careful with your paragraph spacing in places. It is a common problem, and hardly life threatening though. The story is progressing nicely, and I can see how it is going to lead into the duel. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: it\'s a common misconception that the green tail flugglestork is extinct and i think it\'s because people confuse them with their cousins, the blue tooth whumplestork.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2006.11.05 - 09:52AM Title: Chapter 1: Remembering and Moving On

starstarstarstar

I liked the way that you began the story with the conversation between Harry and Remus Lupin. You've provided a good transition into the Sixth Year world that you've created. I can appreciate your bringing Harry and Ginny together early, and in fact several of the Challenge authors have (including me...sort of). The first movie has Devil's Snare not enjoying sunlight, so it wouldn't be in a greenhouse. The book however takes a different approach, so it would be proper in your story. A good start. Thanks. Eric B.

Author's Response: i tried very hard not to go by the movies, which was hard since i love to watch them. but in the books, we\'ve also seen devils snare in hospital rooms and such so i didn\'t think it would be a stretch to find them in a greenhouse.



Reviewer: Keira Azul Signed Date: 2006.11.02 - 12:08AM Title: Chapter 2 Dreaming of Air

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Wooh, buddy, this is one loooooong challenge entry! I'm trying to read them all by the 15th, but if there are any more like this it will be a challenge in and of itself.:) I thought that sealed door was very interesting - you did a really good job on describing Harry's struggle for conciousness. Very interesting so far, and I'll keep you posted as I continue. Good luck!

Author's Response: hi! thanks for the review. i feel honored that you would even read my story because i\'ve read yours and mine does not even come close! i enjoyed writing this story and i know that there is at least 1 contradiction in my story but i\'ll fix that at a later date. but thanks so much for dropping a note. it gives me the courage to try writing something else. oh yes, good luck to you. a few of my friends have read your story and they\'ve loved it like i did! carolyn



Reviewer: Tron Signed Date: 2006.11.01 - 12:24PM Title: Chapter 8 OF STARS AND DUELS

starstarstarstarstar

Great ending! The idea that it was Sirius that saved Harry makes the ending that much better. Well done.

I'm not surprised that Malfoy tried to AK Harry. That seems like something the ferret would try.

I guess Harry will be a really weathy man now. The Potter, Black, and Malfoy fortunes are his.

I hope you will write more Harry and Ginny stories and post them here. Thanks for sharing with us and good luck in the challenge.



Reviewer: Tron Signed Date: 2006.11.01 - 12:13PM Title: Chapter 7 THE CHALLENGE IS MADE

starstarstarstarstar

Nice drama.

How could Dumbledore not have seen how bad things were between Harry and Malfoy? I know he isn't blind, but he must have been wearing blinders!



Reviewer: Tron Signed Date: 2006.11.01 - 12:08PM Title: Chapter 6 A MOST NEEDED INTERMISSION

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice fluffy chapter, but there is one problem.

Harry is very well aware of what the room of requirement is. He used it in the fifth book to train the DA members and that all happened before Sirius died. Nothing major, but it does put a wrinkle in the flow of the story. You could have easily had Harry watch her "create" the door and then ask her why they were going into the room of requirement.

Oh well, on to the next chapter.



Reviewer: Tron Signed Date: 2006.11.01 - 12:03PM Title: Chapter 5 DECISIONS MADE

starstarstarstarstar

The tension is mounting! I hope Harry lets Malfoy have it!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear