Search:

SIYE Time:21:50 on 24th October 2021


Reviewer: bart Signed Date: 2011.04.06 - 05:15PM Title: Chapter 1

starstar

No Review



Reviewer: bookish327 Signed Date: 2007.11.26 - 07:44PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

Your Harry definitely expresses his anger very bluntly and vocally. I was a bit surprised by its ferocity with Dumbledore, the Order, and the Weasleys. I did enjoy the romance aspect of Harry having been in love with Ginny for years: not knowing what to do with those emotions before and now feeling able to protect her, so he's going for it. Her reaction to his sudden declaration of his feelings put a big smile on my face, too. (I'm very sappy and proud of it.) I also liked the whole idea of Harry's new powers. That was very creative of you, and he used them in inventive ways (e.g., the strawberry sundae, pranking Dumbledore, etc.). I would have thought he would have been more likely to prank Snape, or maybe Filch, but it WOULD BE impressive if he could get a prank past Dumbledore.

This is just my opinion, but even if Harry were going to defy what Dumbledore, the Order, and the Weasley brothers wanted him to do, I think he might have said it a bit more tactfully while still being calm and firm about it. I was surprised when he "sneer[ed]" at Dumbledore and the Order and said he'd been "locked up in that hell hole for [their] amusement." He was also very cocky and brash about the way he pointed out that none of them would be able to kill Voldemort, only he could, and he wouldn't be doing so for any of their "sorry arses." I can understand his having a lot of frustration for being in the dark about many things for so long, but I don't think the Order as a whole had felt amusement for his being stuck at Privet Drive. They were the ones having to mind him while he was there, to make sure nothing happened to him, after all. I always felt like the members of the Order just wanted to protect him and help him, and they meant only the best for him, which is why they helped Dumbledore in his master plans to bring down Voldemort. Dumbledore was not perfect by any means, but I think he always thought he was doing the right thing, to keep safe as many people as possible.

I also don't think Harry would throw Ginny's brothers against the house, into the clearing, and then across the yard into the lake unless he knew he was doing that in a way that would make his point without killing them or causing permanent injury. If, say, Bill had been paralyzed or killed during this encounter, that might have put a bit of a damper on Harry and Ginny's future relationship. (And the Weasley family would have been a tad unhappy, too, it's safe to say.)

Also, although I enjoyed the running joke with the twins, the popcorn, and the butterbeer, if they felt their brothers were in danger of bodily injury from an angry wizard, even if it were Harry, I think they'd get involved, or at the very least, say something to try to keep the situation from becoming fatal for someone. I would have thought Ginny would be a bit stunned about (and maybe even a little afraid of) this violent of a reaction to her brothers' over-protectiveness. (Now, if she hexed them, that would be another thing, since they were her brothers, and she'd hexed them before. Things are always different when it's YOUR family; that's human nature.) I'm not saying Harry should have taken what other people said lying down, but maybe he could show them how much magical power he has now (which he'll be able to protect Ginny with) in non-threatening ways. Maybe turn the Bill, Charlie, and Ron into flobberworms and dress them in Easter bonnets for a minute or two (or long enough for Fred and George to take a picture of them). Or use his fifty lights to pick up the Burrow and move it ten feet to the left. Or put Ginny and himself into an imperturbable magical bubble which would protect them from any spell, a herd of rampaging hippogriffs, and all forms of Muggle taxes. That would show how powerfully Harry could protect Ginny, rather than potentially hurting his future brothers-in-law. You see what I'm getting at: the type of amazing magic that would impress them without hurting them. I'm not saying all of this because I'm a pacifist or anything like that; I just didn't seem like Harry would do those things to the Weasleys. He loves the Weasleys. Remember how quickly he forgave Ron in GoF, after months of them being mad at each other. They're practically family.

When Ron hit Harry as hard as he did near the beginning, that didn't seem like Ron, either. Even at the worst moments of their relationship, Ron didn't hit him (except after being drugged by the love potion in that box of chocolates, which he can't be held responsible for). He yelled at Harry and said awful things, but he didn't hit him (although I'm sure he wanted to) when they were angry with one another in GoF. When he came upon Harry and Ginny snogging out of the blue, I could see Ron being stunned, then yelling many things he'd later regret, and finally slamming out of the room or house, but decking him so hard Harry was bleeding from the back of the head after he hit the wall was OOC, in my opinion.

Mrs. Weasley is also not generally known for keeping silent, and I felt like she would have had something to say about the situation. Imagine: earlier that morning, no one knew that Harry had any special feelings for Ginny, and now a physical confrontation has taken place in the yard with Harry more than holding his own against two of her adult sons and Ron because Harry and Ginny are dating now, all of the sudden. Then, she just laughs, goes inside to cook dinner and mentally plan the wedding? She's not going to say ANYTHING, even if it's just a little, "I'm so glad" kind of statement with a big hug for Harry? Remember, she loves to hug Harry almost every time she sees him, and here she's about to start PLANNING THE WEDDING, but still no immediate verbal or physical reaction to something for which she's been hoping for probably years and years? That's a pretty restrained reaction for Molly Weasley.

I know, I know, this is AU, so I should let things go. I'm not trying to be a flamer here. I just wanted to constructively point out some issues that I thought you might want to reconsider, in your future stories. I loved different aspects of the story (e.g., Harry's new powers, his love for Ginny and his confidence in expressing it now, the twins' reaction to the fireworks and mayhem going on around them, and especially the "All's happy on the Weasley front" quote). I look forward to reading more of your work and wish you only the best.



Reviewer: Jonathan Brenner Signed Date: 2007.06.05 - 03:22PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Nice story carolquin, Harry tormenting Ron, Bill, and Charlie was rather amusing!



Reviewer: Enchanted Signed Date: 2007.05.29 - 08:31PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I am terrible at leaving reviews. I very rarely write one, but I sure do love receiving them. How terribly selfish of me. The only loyal review I leave is for our dear Matt for Taking Control and I leave them mostly because I know both Ruby and Matt enjoy reading them, so it is a bit self serving. So on that note please forgive me for not leaving you a review sooner, it was very remiss of me especially in the face of your, oh so, generous and kind reviews.

Okay, so now onto my review.

You gotta love a Harry that takes charge. In a sense I think it's the part of us that enjoys seeing justice meted out to those who've wronged our hero. A part of me understands that what we love the most about Harry Potter and the series is the fact that here is a somewhat ordinary boy thrust into extraordinary circumstances and through his choices, his heart and his friends he is able to overcome the obstacles that life and Voldemort has placed in his path.

The Weasly 6! Ha! I thought that was a cute epithet, I might just steal it for a future story :-P The Twins as always are my favorite characters in Canon and I liked your interpretation of them as well. Ron, well he's my least favorite HP character and he is often portrayed in the polar ends of the spectrum, yours was a happy medium.

Again, please forgive the tardiness of my review. May you enjoy the journey.

Happy Writing
~Enchanted



Author's Response: maggie, i am the same way. i don't review for every story i read...well the majority of them i do but its the type of reviews that i leave that makes the difference. i may say 'cute' or 'nice' or 'good job'. but there are stories that leave such a hold on me that i have to let the author know how they're story has affected me. now, the day you stop reviewing TC is the day i cry! i look forward to your review with each chapter because they are hysterical and you always manage to get some topic of conversation going that's even more hilarious. i actually posted a new story yesterday and actually got a wonderful review from Ruby. i felt so good when i read it. i may not be a great writer but people like you and ruby, who offer me words of encouragement to just keep writing, it really humbles me. so thanks!!! oh yeah....how is the next chapter of Power coming along????? carolyn



Reviewer: CodeRomance Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 04:27PM Title: Chapter 1

dont worry i am reading the sequel...i actually need to go back to a few of the chapters to review!



Reviewer: CodeRomance Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 04:26PM Title: Chapter 1

dont worry i am reading the sequel...i actually need to go back to a few of the chapters to review!



Reviewer: CodeRomance Signed Date: 2007.04.17 - 12:43PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

ok that was really funny...i like that fred and george didnt get involved in it...and why may i ask didnt they? what would have been funny is if ginny did something to them because they DIDNT care enough to defend her against "boys" and "harry" even if she was mad at her other brothers for doing so. but it was great all round! i loved it!

Author's Response: i am so thrilled with your review! i love the twins but as crazy as they are they are not stupid. they clearly saw that crossing harry at this point was not the thing to do. so they did the only thing they could do....sit back and enjoy the show. hope you read the sequel!!! carolyn



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2006.12.25 - 08:15PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I never read this in FF...so this was all new to me. I probably wouldn't have found in in SIYE had I not decided to read your latest posting. I noticed it was a sequil to THIS story, which indeed begged for an sequil. It was a great story, and now I get to read your next.

Happy Christmas, Happy Boxing Day



Reviewer: Tron Signed Date: 2006.11.30 - 12:02PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Thank you for posting this story here!

I really enjoyed this story on FF.net and I'm happy to see you sharing with us here. I hope you post Lights Path to Life here as well. When I read the third chapter, I was wondering how you were going to explain Hermione's actions and was pleasantly surprised by your theory. As a person who strives to learn everything humanly possible, Hermione would be drawn to what Harry is capable of doing. I was almost convinced she was under the Imperious to cause problems in the group.

I hope to see more from you soon!



Reviewer: blue magic Signed Date: 2006.11.27 - 06:49PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Fleek Signed Date: 2006.11.26 - 08:38AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Aww no reviews =[ I shal review!

The mind of each individual author never ceases to amaze me. This is yet another fic in which was totally different from most. I seem to be reading a lot of these lately... Hmm... Oh noes talking to myself is certainly not good :o! All in all I enjoyed reading it, and I look foreward to more fics in the future if you choose to keep writing :)




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear