Search:

SIYE Time:5:13 on 17th June 2021


Reviewer: Nuvisionary Signed Date: 2009.01.14 - 06:58PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Wow! amazing sadness.



Reviewer: Ginny Rox the Burrow Signed Date: 2007.05.03 - 03:53PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Oh dear Lord,actual tears!!!*GRtB*

Author's Response: If I may say so, I'm proud of having broght out "real tears" from the readers of this story; it deals with death, possibly one of the most painful things a human has to endure. Thanks a mil for the review!



Reviewer: Ginny Weasley Signed Date: 2007.04.06 - 06:59PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Wow. Simply put, this was a piece of art. Thinking that Ginny Weasley could only die at the hands of a Death Eater or Voldemort himself isn't the correct thing for me to assume anymore. Now I know that even magical people are susceptible to things like cancer.

This made me cry, so hard. Please keep writing. You have a gift.

Author's Response: Thank you SO much. For a long time, I too was in the school of thought that the only way Harry and co. could die was at the hands of the Death Eaters, and judging by the amount of fanfics I read where that was the case, it seemed to be the majority view. And then, on Checkmated.com I read a story where Hermione dies, also of cancer, and I wept harder for Hermione dying of cancer than I ever had for any of Harry, Ron, Ginny or Hermione dying at the hands of the Death Eaters. It was very powerful, as have other death-related stories where the cause is natural vs. Death Eater, been. Thank you for reviewing!



Reviewer: griffindorechicky101 Signed Date: 2007.04.06 - 01:02AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

ive been crying since you annocuced tht she had cancer hurry up and come up with the next chapter please


Author's Response: The next chapter is in the works, and should be done sooner than later. However I make no promises. I just hope that the next chapter touches you the way this one has.



Reviewer: dori16 Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 11:49PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

great story!!! :)

Author's Response: Thank you.



Reviewer: eaglebird Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 11:29PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I usually choose to read a story based on the summary.

Normally stories with a summary such as yours I pass on. However, I have read a number of them on other sites and the better ones are usually very well written, express a perspective on a very sensitive issue with grace, and end up making tears come to my eyes. They make me think and reflect on what is important.

I have not read your story but I have read the 3 reviews that preceded me. I trust and respect their judgment to both read it and to appreciate it and to freely express their comments as to why they all liked it, which they have all done.

I respect your right to post this story. I hope you reason to post it has not been to challenge "the rule."

I hope that the site owner and the Admins convene a high level meeting of not only staff but also respected writers of this site to debate and clarify the editorial policy of the site. Not just the One Chapter Rule which is really a sub-set of a broader issue. My two cents is to keep R at the light end and to discourage NC-17 content. To me this one of the major attractions of SIYE. if I had high school age children I would feel secure if they were reading SIYE. I would feel less secure if they were visiting NC-17 sites. This includes not only graphic sex but also abuse, assault, rape, slash and whatever other dark topics there are. This story meets my criteria. PORNOGRAPHY did not and therefore I agree with the Admins in deleting it. It is a judgment call, but PORNOGRAPHY was the wrong story to make "Custer's Last Stand" on.

My apologies for bringing the debate to this story, but it has already been brought up by another reviewer and the timing of the re-posting is also quite obvious.


Author's Response: I usually read stories based on thier summaries too. I hope my summary was adequate, although if you have not actually read it yet...in any case, I urge you to do so. Without question, I had the hardest time summarizing this story over any other story I've ever written--how do you summarize such a horrible, painful loss?? Personally, though, where summaries are concerned, I'm drawn to the short, enticing ones that reveal very little while still capturing your interest. It's a very tough balance, but that is very much what I wanted the summary for this one to be. Feel free to critique how well/badly you think I managed that goal if you leave future reviews. Finally, no, my posting this story is NOT to challenge the rule, as it were; see my response to one of the other reviews for full detail, and even though I don't completely understand your debate (parts of it are confusing) I have no problem with you being the one to "bring the debate to [my] story".



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 10:16PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

It sure didn't get any easier to read this time through, and I know there is another chapter of heartbreak to come.

Thanks for having the courage to do thiss all over again.

Darian

Author's Response: One thing I'm proud of with the material that I have written for ch. 2 is that, yes, there is more heartbreak, but there are other things that people go through with death as well. As to having the courage to "do this all over again", I never deleted anything, or had to re-write anything. Really, the only thing I DID have to do was make up my mind about how I felt about the oneshot/death rule on this site and the initial pulling of this story from the site. I hold NO bitterness to the admins!



Reviewer: irollam Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 09:25PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

that is sooooo sweet.
im bawling now


Author's Response: Thank you so very much. At points when I was writing this, I was nearly bawling myself. I've had a similar experience in real life (a relative passed away from cancer) and writing dark, moody stories like these (although for the record, I believe this to be true regardless of whether or not I had experienced some of these things firsthand) help me appreciate life, which is part of the reason that, despite the dark, morbid nature of death, I really enjoy writing stories like this.



Reviewer: Kezzabear Signed Date: 2007.04.05 - 08:38PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

But why break the rules? How will this let the feud die? I think the story is sad but relatively well written but I think it'll just make things worse. Surely other fan fic sites dont have the oneshot death rule, why not utilise them? Why is everyone so hell bent on circumventing this one rule on SIYE?

Author's Response: er...do you mean you think I'm trying to cheat the admins of this site? I'm not. Now that I read the rule in it's entirety, I can fully appreciate the reasons behind the passing of this rule, and a second chapter to this story is in the works. But if you're interested, my original plan for this story was that it is one in a cycle of four oneshots, each featuring the death of Harry, Ginny, Hermione and Ron. I've also posted this on fanfiction.net, and will post the rest of the cycle there as well. If you enjoyed this story, I hope you will come back for more--both the second chapter on this site, and the rest of the cycle on ff.net. Thanks for reviewing.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear