Search:

SIYE Time:5:08 on 17th June 2021

Reviews For Fighting Fate

Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2013.03.17 - 11:15PM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice story. I didn't like much the first fic, but this one was great. Too bad you didn't post anything else, would love to read more (.



Reviewer: Senator of Sorcery Signed Date: 2013.03.10 - 06:12PM Title: The End of the First Year

where is the sequel? I want to see how Meridy tops her first year of infuriating her father.



Reviewer: Senator of Sorcery Signed Date: 2012.06.27 - 09:27PM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarstar

This was a lovely story; I would love to see a sequel to Fighting Fate.
[ although i think it would have been titled better as fighting harry seeing as mel/mer is fighting him
more than fate; still a lovely story.]



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2010.08.29 - 06:38AM Title: The End of the First Year

I have just been reading some of your previous reviews. There is somebody called piltad who was very negative I think. Please do not let his odd objections stop you writing. There are six more years to go!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2010.08.28 - 05:05PM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Brilliant but if there is not more to come I will haunt you.



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2010.08.18 - 02:44AM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarstar

What I need to know now is: would you like me to publish those chapters as they come on SIYE?

Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes!



Reviewer: colmshan1990 Signed Date: 2010.08.05 - 06:38PM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarstar

Do I want to read more?
In a word, yes.
Brilliant fic.



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2010.08.05 - 05:53PM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarstar

I enjoyed the story greatly. Excellent job. I would love to read the further adventures of Mel/Meridy.

And let's have some romance as well, remember what Jo said.



Reviewer: curren Signed Date: 2010.08.04 - 05:57AM Title: The End of the First Year

i found it a fun story and certainly worth a read...

Whether you continue is up to you entirely. I'd certainly read it, but you have to be sure. Your heart needs to be in it, and it has to be your choice, not ours. It wouldn't be good, i think, if the only reason you're continuing reading and writing is because other people asked you to. If you feel the quality is suffering because of the now AU nature of your story, you should draw your own conclusions.

But as i said, if you do decide to continue with this, i'll certainly read it.



Reviewer: SAS33 Signed Date: 2010.08.04 - 03:30AM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarstar

Lovely ending, I'm glad Meridy & Harry made up.

I'd definately love the see more stories with these characters. They're all really well thought out and come across realistically.



Reviewer: AnnaOnTheMoon Signed Date: 2010.08.03 - 11:13PM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstar

Please do write more! I've enjoyed this story :D



Reviewer: jmcmutt Signed Date: 2010.08.03 - 07:53PM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I have really enjoyed this story. I truly hope that you will write the sequels.



Reviewer: bengpotter31 Signed Date: 2010.08.03 - 07:06PM Title: The End of the First Year

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter. I doesn't surprise me that Allison figured out Mer's secret. Please continue posting Mer's story. I want to see how her life turns out.



Reviewer: ReaderRabbit Signed Date: 2010.07.14 - 11:09PM Title: Curiosity

I can kind of see why Harry didn't give her the clock given his job, but surely he would have given her the map. Harry and Ginny are very OC from what you would expect. I just cannot see him getting that fussed about her getting into trouble especially since she is not openly a potter and Ginny is so timid it's sad. She was as much a quidditch freak as Harry and you portray her as hardly interested at all.

Also I cannot believe Harry would not have gotten her the best broom out there. It would be easy to come up with a ploy to get it to her and instead of him being proud you have him totally opposite. What parent wouldn't be proud of an accomplishment like that? It doesn't make sense. These characters are total opposites of themselves.



Reviewer: ReaderRabbit Signed Date: 2010.07.14 - 04:13PM Title: Getting Started

Harry's Potters daughter even if she hiding it says You-Know-Who? I can't believe it. Even is she is pissed at her parents given how that man effected her parents and their families I think she would think it cowardly not to speak his name.

Very nice story so far. I typically do not like the next generation stories, but this story sort of resonates with me. It reminds me of the last Die Hard movie where the daughter was using her mother name and was a shite to her dad until she was in danger then her true feelings came out. I really liked that character because while she was being an as to her dad you knew that she knew that he loved more than the world and would literally kill to protect her like Harry although I don't really see any thing like that in Mel yet although I hope we will. It seems some what sad that she really doesn't acknowledge what her parents life was like although maybe they shielded her away from it or she just being bratty. I guess we'll see.



Reviewer: hawkeye2008 Signed Date: 2010.07.13 - 07:12AM Title: In Which Harry Potter Comes to Hogwarts

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter, please write another one sooner, thanks



Reviewer: jmcmutt Signed Date: 2010.07.12 - 03:36PM Title: In Which Harry Potter Comes to Hogwarts

Wow! This was a very intense scene. I can't wait to see what happens next.



Reviewer: mwinter Signed Date: 2010.07.12 - 10:35AM Title: In Which Harry Potter Comes to Hogwarts

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: mwinter Signed Date: 2010.07.12 - 10:35AM Title: In Which Harry Potter Comes to Hogwarts

To short. That's my only problem with this chapter. I wanted to see some but kicking from Harry (Even though it'll mostly be coming from Ginny) even though his daughter doesn't even want to be associated with Harry.



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2010.03.26 - 01:58PM Title: Preparations

I recently came across your story, and I have enjoyed Mer's adventures. There is a problem, however, that I want you to be aware of.

I know for the purpose of your story you need a conflict between Mer and her Dad, but you are making Harry come across far, far too harsh.

First off, its OOC. Remember this is the boy who looked in the mirror and saw his heart's true desire was family. And you recall what Dumbledore told Snape, that in appearance he was like his Dad, but in temperment, like his Mum. Lily was described as uncommonly kind.

Second, and this is unfair since you're not a parent and can't know. Parents exalt in their childrens accomplishments. For Harry to respond the way he did when he found out Mer had made seeker comes across to those of us who are parents as just plain silly.

I know you don't want to go back and rewrite the whole story, but I believe you would do well to try to tone down the conflict between Father and Daughter for the rest of the story.

Author's Response: You're actually very right about this. I started this story more than three years ago, when I was still in high school and frustrated with my own overprotective, oversensitive father. My views towards him have mellowed a lot since I've stopped living at home, and I think throughout the story Meridy's views towards Harry have mellowed out too--just as my portrayal of him is softening. If I ever rewrote this story, I would probably change the harshness of Harry's characterization in the beginning, at least a little (because if I changed it a lot, then the entire premise of the plot would be ineffective).




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear