Search:

SIYE Time:18:51 on 21st April 2021

Reviews For Buttonfly 501

Reviewer: MollyandArthur Signed Date: 2017.01.29 - 07:50AM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

Fascinating, entertaining, and extremely logical! I greatly enjoyed this alternate ending to Harry's fifth year, as well as the implied relationship between Harry and Ginny in the near future.



Reviewer: dronvire Signed Date: 2015.10.04 - 01:06PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

Better than canon



Reviewer: beryl Signed Date: 2011.04.21 - 08:06AM Title: Buttonfly

Very creative! Full marks!



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2010.04.10 - 05:05PM Title: Buttonfly

We just had to come back and re-read this, and it's just as wonderful as it was before. Thanks again for sharing it!



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2009.03.05 - 01:37PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstar

I thought that was a very subtle plan. Hurray for Harry!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed the bunny that attacked.



Reviewer: Noonzakai Signed Date: 2008.10.06 - 11:07PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

I felt like applauding after I read this. Excellent work, it doesn't matter when you wrote it either. Buttonfly 501 is an alternate ending that you can branch off into many different stories. Good job, I give 10/10.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, and saw several opportunities after it. I like writing things where the readers have to become participants in what\'s going on, thinking or anticipating. The ending here is one of those. Thanks for reviewing.



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2008.05.09 - 10:37AM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great story, and rather innovative solution to the problem. The only way I'd improve it would be to explore a little more the incipient H/G relationship.

Author's Response: Exploring the relationship that may (or may not) be about to start is one of those things that can\'t be well served in a short piece like this. Leaving it open at the end allows for a wide range of personal interpretations -- maybe they immediately fell into one. Maybe it took a few weeks, or months. Or maybe it took years. But the seed was planted for understanding each other a new level, and that was enough for my purposes. While I have been tempted to add on to this, I\'ve got too many other things going on to risk detracting from more needful things. Thanks for reviewing.



Reviewer: Circuitsoft Signed Date: 2008.01.08 - 04:50PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

That was, actually, rather interesting. I can actually see extensions to this story, but it also sits alone rather well.

Author's Response: Glad you found some interesting ideas lurking in the bunny. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.



Reviewer: Miri Signed Date: 2007.08.15 - 01:15PM Title: Buttonfly

Well. what a fascinating and in-gene-ious way for Harry to "vanquish" Voldemort. It also explains your odd title...for those who are pant-ing to know. The story certainly kept me guessing as to what Harry was up to. I presume that once Voldy runs out of the reviving effects of his Horcruxes, wherever they may be (goodness, Harry doesn't even have to look for them ), then he will indeed die in earnest. Or do the Horcruxes not come into play in this AU and the Dark Lord will indeed suffer forever? Brr, chilling thought. There are indeed things worse than death. And I wonder what the remaining effect, if any, this will have on the Deatheaters?

You really are fond of Snape aren't you, you old softy...not! LOL But, I'm going to have to agree to disagree on your viewpoint of Dumbledore and his choices in this story. Having said that though, I'll admit to a somewhat wistful wish to see what comes next. Wistful because, due to the background you've given for this story, it's very unlikely to be continued.

Yes Josh, it was indeed an amusing diversion.

Author's Response: Deja vu? You posted the review twice, so I assume you fell to the back-button glitch here on SIYE.



Reviewer: Miri Signed Date: 2007.08.15 - 01:13PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well. what a fascinating and in-gene-ious way for Harry to "vanquish" Voldemort. It also explains your odd title...for those who are pant-ing to know. The story certainly kept me guessing as to what Harry was up to. I presume that once Voldy runs out of the reviving effects of his Horcruxes, wherever they may be (goodness, Harry doesn't even have to look fo them ), then he will indeed die in earnest. Or do the Horcruxes not come into play in this AU and the Dark Lord will indeed suffer forever? Brr, chilling thought.

You really are fond of Snape aren't you, you old softy...not! LOL But, I'm going to have to agree to disagree on your viewpoint of Dumbledore and his choices in this story. Having said that though, I'll admit to a somewhat wistful wish to see what comes next. Wistful because, due to the background you've given for this story, it's very unlikely to be continued.

Yes Josh, it was indeed an amusing diversion.

Author's Response: Arrr, at least I'm not the only one fond of bad humour :) Or rather, the best kind of humour. Pity that more don't appreciate it. Diversions come in all flavors, don't they? I assume you had read DH by the time you reviewed this, though I hadn't until recently. I'm not sure that taking Dumbledore to task at the end is actually inappropriate. The man was playing a game of high-stakes poker, where the chips had their own limited sentience and ability to guess. He lucked out by sheer chance, which for a supposedly brilliant person, is just plain daft. As for Snape, I don't think you want me to go there -- my language would get me in trouble. DH was, to me, insufficient in those regards -- in the details, in the weak "justification" for actions taken, and everything that was left unsaid. Sigh. Let's not go there. We may agree to disagree at that. Anyway, regarding the crusties, this isn't against or for the horcrux model -- it works either way. The key question to ask is why the AK rebounding off Harry in canon did not wipe out that fragment of V's soul? When it did after the crusties were gone? The only workable theory is that the remainder cannot pass until all other fragments have passed, so he's doomed to suffer that way until someone turns up his crusties and destroys them, one at a time. Alternately, if you don't like crusties, he's nearly immortal, and when the "nearly" bit runs out, so will he. Take your pick, or make your own theory :) Oh, and Echoes 26 is in beta now. Finally. Sigh.



Reviewer: _kb_ Signed Date: 2007.08.14 - 10:21AM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

Yet another example of a twisted mind. Good job! :-)

I still like this and am glad you finally posted it. I do like the argument at the end against Dumbledore. I have to wonder how JKR would write Dumbledore's response to Harry's diatribe, as Harry's message rings very true -- the logic can not be pecked (ha! figure that one out). You really only leave me with 1 question, besides the others I've already asked. :-) What did Snape mutter to Ginny just before he left?

Too bad about the deley on EoP, but I fully understand. With school starting, my time to do anything else for the next week is very limited...sigh. Later! -- Kevin

Author's Response: Twisted, eh? Perhaps. Maybe it depends on your frame of reference? I can hope, at any rate. Snape's muttering - surely you have a strong idea... I'm sure the appropriate injection of commentary relating to Ginny and _others_ would be apt. I can always drop it in an email if you're really curious. EoP 26 is in beta, at last. Whooo. Now, about AFI 5, Moo2:8, and...



Reviewer: Chatmandu Signed Date: 2007.08.13 - 10:51PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

Genes! Err... Jeans! (snerk!)

Author's Response: Are you thinking what I'm thinking, Pinky? ... Uh... yeah, Brain, but where are we going to find rubber pants our size?



Reviewer: animegodess Signed Date: 2007.08.13 - 09:55PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

This was really really good. Excellent job.

Author's Response: Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I'm glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: Jonathan Avery Signed Date: 2007.08.13 - 08:55PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

You have such a deviously clever mind. It is the one thing I like the most about your writing. Well played clerks. Well played indeed.

Author's Response: Wow, I'm almost blushing. That's pretty high praise, I think, given how some of your own thinking runs. That, or it's a backhanded way of saying I need therapy. I'm going to opt for the former :) Thanks for the thoughts, although I'm not sure everyone would agree with you. (Oh: I'm still plugging away on that doc - it's not urgent at the moment, is it?)



Reviewer: Sovran Signed Date: 2007.08.13 - 08:20PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

Of all of this, I think that my favorite element is that you let Harry collapse a bit at the end. With a story like this, where Harry is cunning and deceptive, it would have been easy and somewhat satisfying to have him walk off into the metaphorical sunset with his head held high. If you'd done that, I don't think very many people would have thought to object. However, the way you did do it, with feelings finally overwhelming him, rings much more true. Of course, I personally am glad that Ginny was there to support him, but the most important bit is that his momentum finally gave out. That, as much as anything, shows that what is Right is not always Easy.

Author's Response: You again, eh? I dunno that I allowed him to collapse, so much as he demanded to be allowed to collapse. The switch was thrown in Dumbledore's office the night before, and the rage and frustration combined to make a series of choices. Anyone who has been forced to put up a facade like that will know the feeling when the rush stops, and all you're left with is shaking limbs, a dizzy sensation, and a headache with too much turmoil inside. In canon, he let some of that out by the lake. Here, that calibration to The New Reality has yet to occur ... but it takes the first tiny steps at the end. With Ginny lending her support, who knows what the summer might bring? But at this point, it's enough for her to see a new side to him, and for him to come to a new understanding about her. Thanks, as always, for your work in making this story complete.

Author's Response: You again, eh? I dunno that I allowed him to collapse, so much as he demanded to be allowed to collapse. The switch was thrown in Dumbledore's office the night before, and the rage and frustration combined to make a series of choices. Anyone who has been forced to put up a facade like that will know the feeling when the rush stops, and all you're left with is shaking limbs, a dizzy sensation, and a headache with too much turmoil inside. In canon, he let some of that out by the lake. Here, that calibration to The New Reality has yet to occur ... but it takes the first tiny steps at the end. With Ginny lending her support, who knows what the summer might bring? But at this point, it's enough for her to see a new side to him, and for him to come to a new understanding about her. Thanks, as always, for your work in making this story complete.



Reviewer: ash darklighter Signed Date: 2007.08.13 - 05:58PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really enjoyed this. Could you do a sequel? I suppose as you are fed up with it, I guess not. But I did enjoy it.
Ash

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it, but I don't have any real plans for a sequel. That doesn't mean it won't happen, it's just unlikely. Between my main story (Echoes) and the other random bunnies I've been chasing, plus the side projects with other authors... eh, it's not something I think about. I could be persuaded to let someone else write a sequel, if they could convince me they'd get it right, but otherwise? Unlikely. Sorry to disappoint you like that. Thanks for sharing the thoughts.



Reviewer: hjp74 Signed Date: 2007.08.13 - 02:44PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

well that was fun

A very intresting way of getting rid of tom & absolutly brilliant one at that vey slythirne of harry indeed. The ide of tricking a imortal voldermotrt into breaking a unbreakable vow & therfore get sucked into a loop of continuly trying to die while having his soul trapped on earth is a fantastic idea & in realaty they could just leave him like that maybe put him on dispaly somewhere & iam absoultly posative both sirus & james are having a good laugh at the pranking of Lord Voldermort.
Howver it was that last bit where after doing what was required of him he then turn on dumbledore & gives him that ultimatium relly showed his maturatyi although givan his history i doubt how much effect it will have in making dumbledoore change & i wouldnt be surprised if at least hermione ron & ginny joined him in exhile & after all they have been put through over those last 5 years i wouldnt blame them.

Is this just a one shoh or will there be a follow up chapter because it sounds from your A/N that it was but its down as a incomplet story.

James

Author's Response: I think we all have an inner Slytherin at one point or another. Harry had a bad hair day, you might say, and decided he wanted out. As for what to do with Voldie, there are lots of possibilities. It's hard to say what Dumbledore or the Ministry might decide to do. With Fudge at the helm, though, you know that it's all a lost cause. As for the ending rant and pointed commentary, bear in mind that Harry has spent less than 24 hours assimilating what he learned after making a mess of Dumbledore's office. He should still be hacked off, and act accordingly. As for the status, sorry, that was my mistake -- it's a one-shot. I have no plans for a follow-up, but if someone else wants to try and write one, I might let them. Thanks for the thoughts, as always. Cheers.



Reviewer: Breaten Signed Date: 2007.08.13 - 02:42PM Title: Buttonfly

starstarstarstarstar

Very good, i have to say this was very enjoyable, and i enjoy your other works as well.

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying the strange things my mind conjures up. I hate to say it, but Echoes is going to be delayed at least another couple of weeks. Sigh. At any rate, thanks for sharing your thoughts.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear