Search:

SIYE Time:18:46 on 29th November 2021


Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.09.07 - 01:14PM Title: Chapter 20: Tests and Trials

starstarstarstarstar

Some of the dialogue is funny and some is very deep and the whole thing is so very original. The characters are real but not a copy of the J. K. R.`s and have a life of thier own. I give it ten out of ten in the hope you will get it finished



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2011.09.06 - 10:29PM Title: Chapter 20: Tests and Trials

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2011.04.23 - 02:15PM Title: Chapter 19: Dreaming

starstarstarstarstar

That's certainly a satisfying finish of the chapter!

Thank you for the new momentum in posting.



Reviewer: harrypotterspirit Signed Date: 2011.04.20 - 09:49PM Title: Chapter 19: Dreaming

starstarstarstar

I wonder what the symbolism of the tree means, I shall have to think about that. Neville was always the character that you felt sorry for, but warms the heart to see him accept himself. A lesson for many of us, too. You included alot of political posturing. Just where will it all go? Looking forward to more.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.04.20 - 12:19PM Title: Chapter 19: Dreaming

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Intersting stuff. Formidable writing.



Reviewer: bengpotter31 Signed Date: 2011.04.20 - 11:11AM Title: Chapter 19: Dreaming

starstarstarstarstar

Nice chapter and interesting. I'm so glad you updated. I do hope they can try Fudge successfully. I wonder what the significance of the 'tree' on Tom's forehead. Update soon please.



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2011.04.20 - 02:55AM Title: Chapter 19: Dreaming

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: PrettieKittie Signed Date: 2011.04.09 - 09:21PM Title: Chapter 17: A Day in the Life of Ginny Weasley

So after leaving my last review I needed to finish reading the series to make sure I hadn't left a unfair critic before. I see that history is a bit different than in canon and I am glad that is explained but I find that some characters are still one dimensional.



Reviewer: jediprankster Signed Date: 2011.02.08 - 11:31PM Title: Chapter 18: The 'Lesser' Things

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Once again, I have to say that I absolutely love your characterization of Luna Lovegood. (At least I think I've said that to you before. It's been a while since I have reviewed a chapter of yours.) She comes off as being completely whacked out of her mind crazy, while simultaneously making more sense of a difficult subject than the average person. Probably the thing that irritates Hermione the most about Luna is that the crazy girl often makes the most sense of them all.

So Harry and Ginny are slowly working their way back towards each other. And their interactions ring true. That's something that most authors have difficulty with. If two characters have a fight about something significant, the reconciliation usually falls flat. It's usually not believable. Probably because the author tries to rush it. You're not. That's a good thing. It makes things feel that much more real.

Again... I absolutely love your Luna. Keep her crazy... yet saner than most.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2011.01.23 - 11:15PM Title: Chapter 18: The 'Lesser' Things

starstarstarstarstar

These last three chapters have been quite gratifying. It's amazing how much recall I have of all the years, after so long. That's a reflection of how good a writer you are...what a distinct voice you have in weaving this story.

As a reader, my thanks for the healing that's beginning with H/G...that's been stressful on everyone.

...and a broader thank you for it all...the whole package.



Reviewer: Wolfs_Scream Signed Date: 2011.01.22 - 12:50AM Title: Chapter 18: The 'Lesser' Things

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well, it's good to see that Harry & Ginny seem to be engaging in some mutual "course correction" in their relationship.

It was, however, a bit unexpected, given Harry's rather abysmal performance as "friend" to Hermione in that opening scene. Yeah, I get that his relationship with Hermione is (much!) different from that with Ginny (both here and in Canon). Still, I can't rightly blame Hermione for being rather miffed at him -- and I'm a fairly clueless (about social interactions, anyway) guy. At least he seems to have convinced Hermione to try training with McG again, which is a Good Thing.

Interesting developments with Zabini & Malfoy. I suppose that "loyalty" isn't valued all that much in Slytherin -- not that Harry's done all that much to warrant Zabini's loyalty in the first place.

That final scene was amazing -- it appears that you enjoy writing Luna; I certainly enjoy reading conversations in which she participates in this story.



Reviewer: LeprechaunJV Signed Date: 2011.01.21 - 03:08PM Title: Chapter 18: The 'Lesser' Things

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: harrypotterspirit Signed Date: 2011.01.20 - 06:56PM Title: Chapter 18: The 'Lesser' Things

starstarstarstar

Nice to see Harry and Ginny begin to deal with their differences, at least some understanding of the others behavior was put on the table. Now that you have introduced Daphne I am hoping to see more of her in the story. Although, Luna's comment of Daphne dying is disappointing but not surprising. Thanks for another chapter to this nice story.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.01.20 - 01:15PM Title: Chapter 18: The 'Lesser' Things

starstarstarstar

What a strange but wonderful conversation between Hermione and Luna at the end of that chapter. Good to see this story is back in gear.



Reviewer: HP18 Signed Date: 2011.01.20 - 09:43AM Title: Chapter 18: The 'Lesser' Things

I'm glad Harry and Ginny are finally working things out. And I love how you portray Luna



Reviewer: jediprankster Signed Date: 2011.01.01 - 02:29AM Title: Chapter 17: A Day in the Life of Ginny Weasley

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I was pleased to see another little bit of this story. A whole chapter exploring Ginny's perspective on things.

There is a point near the end of the section in Charms class, where you intended to make the word 'purported' in italics, but you made that word and every word after that for the rest of the chapter in italics. All the italics makes things a bit hard on the eyes.

Author's Response: Yes, the formatting gets a bit annoying at times. I think I\'ve fixed it.



Reviewer: Mistress of Potions Signed Date: 2010.12.02 - 01:35PM Title: Chapter 17: A Day in the Life of Ginny Weasley

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Glad to see the continuation of this story. And Harry's acceptance of the necessity for Daphne's punishment.



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2010.12.02 - 04:23AM Title: Chapter 17: A Day in the Life of Ginny Weasley

starstarstarstarstar

Another chapter and how swift.

I gather something had gone wrong with the formatting as the second half is in cursive. But it did not diminish my pleasure at reading this chapter. :)

Looking forward to reading more and to see how Daphne is doing.

Thanks.



Author's Response: Really? I'm not seeing any formatting glitches.



Reviewer: harrypotterspirit Signed Date: 2010.12.01 - 08:55PM Title: Chapter 17: A Day in the Life of Ginny Weasley

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Even though you mention this chapter is transitional we can see the need to set up the next conflicts and relationships. I was surprised Harry suggested Ginny stay and witness his dressing down by Dumbledore and Snape. Wondering who put Dawlish up to attacking Harry and Ginny. Sybel was closer to understanding her feelings than even she would believe possible.



Reviewer: parakletos Signed Date: 2010.12.01 - 02:28AM Title: Chapter 17: A Day in the Life of Ginny Weasley

Despite the time spent by H&G on the page I found the chapter strangely unsatisfying. That is not a criticism of the writing, btw, but I think born of the desire for Harry to stop trying to overreach himself in the political world and concentrate on life closer to home.

Dumbledore is right, Harry does need to involve him, but perhaps he needed to see what Harry was capable of first before he would be more open and honest with him. Where I really fear for him is if he fails to reconcile with Ginny properly. Having her as a friend is all very well and good but he needs the emotional support that no one else is capable of providing. She is shrewd enough to understand what is going on in the wider world, but also understands enough of the boy to know where he is lacking emotionally. I think it will always be a broken, dysfunctional relationship but it is one that Harry needs badly and I suspect that Ginny does too.

A couple of points on local colour: a chalk board should be a blackboard and faculty would only be used to describe university staff. In a school they are just known as the staff.

Looking forward to more.



Author's Response: Brit-picking is always appreciated. While I do my best and will likely be spending the next year in the UK, I am but a poor American.

Author's Response: Also, I do understand that this chapter was quite transitional. It's setting up a lot of things - a renewal of Harry and Ginny's relationship very possibly being one of them. Not that I'd ever make it that easy.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear