Search:

SIYE Time:9:49 on 18th January 2022

Reviews For Brass Monkeys

Reviewer: AlbusSeverus Signed Date: 2008.04.14 - 11:57PM Title: Brass Monkeys

starstarstarstarstar

40 Stories, quite the acomplishment, thank you for sharing so much with all of us.



A very entertaining story, quite a unigue approach to the challenge, congrats on your award, by the way.



Tough break for Spense, the best of intentions and whatnot. Obviously something went right as evidenced 9 months later.

Author's Response: It really was cold there that night. We had a lot of fun entries for this Challenge and I enjoyed using the lodge again. I\'m glad you enjoyed it. Thanks! Eric B.



Reviewer: lilyevans_Jan30 Signed Date: 2008.03.15 - 06:00PM Title: Brass Monkeys

Just brilliant. I know this is your regular writing style to insert yourself into the story, but I love reading it every time. Although with the blizzard and an isolated mountain hotel, I kept waiting for Harry to complain that "all work and no play makes Harry a dull boy." Congrats on the win.

-Mel

Author's Response: Thank you very much for your comments, and just as much for your reading. No...Spenser is not me and to be truthful, I wouldn't want to be him. I am so much closer to Alastor "Mad-Eye" Moody in personality. My little girl Jennifer "Loony" loves the one character.

I like to have an ensemble cast, but only in support of our favorite couple. They in turn enjoy cold evenings and warm quilts. Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: blackwritingquill Signed Date: 2008.03.15 - 01:41PM Title: Brass Monkeys

OMG, I COULDN'T STOP LAUGHING! Great job!

Author's Response: Please breathe! Breathe! I can't afford any lawsuits over uncontrolled laughter! Thank you for reading and reviewing though. Eric B.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2008.03.04 - 01:49AM Title: Brass Monkeys

starstarstarstarstar

Judged for competition.

Interesting story as always. For one thing, I notice that this fic takes place in neither Great Britain nor in the U.S., like the rest of your stories, but in Canada. Well, it's definitely "cold outside" there!

I notice how here, Harry and Ginny take turns telling the other to stay inside. In other words, they take turns being the "wolf" and the "mouse."

That Ron, finding reasons to interrupt. LOL! He's got a wand, so why can't he stop the avalanche? It's all just so he can avoid Hermione -- I wonder what she's wearing, that Ron bought for her birthday, but he won't face her with it. LOL!

This is definitely a songfic in the true sense of the term -- and I notice how you threw in a few extra songs, not just "Baby, It's Cold Outside."

JKR said nothing about Ron/Hermione having that many kids -- until I read the note at the bottom about the children being introduced in an earlier fic. I think I read your "Great Broom Race" when it first came out -- but when you have 40 stories, it's easy to forget which ones I've read. It must have been tricky keeping JKR's Rose and Hugo yet keeping your triplets. We know this is slightly AU since Luna's married to Spenser, not Rolf Scamander....

Overall, excellent fic as always. (At least you know this challenge won't have anonymous flamers voting 1/10 like last time!) I wish you luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: I introduced the Canadian lodge at the end of "The Best of Times"; it is based on where I went on my own honeymoon once upon a time. The fun in this story is in how hard Ginny and Harry are trying despite the interuptions. If you look at them, there isn't a one that actually needs Harry's personal attention, but his going to help is part of his character and why Ginny loves him. I'm afraid that I had already given Ron and Hermione all those kids before Book Seven came out. If the girls keep receiving presents from Victoria's Secret though, then anything is probable. As for Rolf Scamander...if you have the chance read a little bit of "A Friendly Game of Quidditch" to see what I did to him in this alternate universe. He's a naturalist all right, but I'm having too much fun with Luna interacting with Spenser. I had a lot of fun writing this story, and listening to several versions of the theme song. Thank you for reading and reviewing. Eric



Reviewer: Elizzza Signed Date: 2008.03.01 - 09:30AM Title: Brass Monkeys

starstarstarstarstar

Quiet chuckles all through. Thank you.

Actually, you have just given me an idea for another challenge involving Arthur Weasley causing havoc by misunderstanding muggle items - obviously rescued/helped/fooled/pranked/whatever.. .. by our favourite pair and their friends.


Author's Response: I had my own idea where Arthur attempts to imitate his wife and cook a large meal for their anniversary in a Muggle kitchen. One of the reasons I picked the Canadian ski lodge was the possibility of there being more of a Muggle influence in North America. That obviously can lend itself to fun situations. Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: elaithin Signed Date: 2008.02.27 - 03:16PM Title: Brass Monkeys

starstarstarstarstar

Let's see... Psycho, A Christmas Story, the challenge song - I'm certain I missed other references slipped in. Highly entertaining as always, and it's always interesting to see the way you tie it into your other stories. Well worth the read! - Patrick

Author's Response: A Psycho Christmas Story? Hmm...little Ralphie hacking Santa to death with a butcher knife? No, maybe that won't work. The toy-elves are far too protective of the big guy. I'm glad that you enjoyed this though. Thanks! Eric B.



Reviewer: Dianne Signed Date: 2008.02.20 - 06:34PM Title: Brass Monkeys

Wow, congratulations on your 40th story! From your very clever use of the Bates to the Wizard Scout Cookies I enjoyed this story fully. It was so nice to see Neville and Luna here as well and in Canada no less eh?! Cool! The many disturbances of the peace .... er piece LOL, were so clever and so funny I really did laugh out loud and that is rare for me when reading fics. I loved the blasting of the avalanches and naming of the children after the storm, which reminded me of the North American blackout when they wondered whether we'd have a baby boom on our hands after that. A seriously enjoyable story and I really loved reading it so thanks so much for sharing.

Author's Response: You're the first person to tell me that they caught the Bates reference. No, Wizard Scout cookies are not made from real Wizard Scouts...I don't think. Let me check the ingredients on the side of this box. Oops!

I included the entire Scooby gang in Harry and Ginny’s trip so that I could not only utilize the friends as unwitting antagonists, but could also subject everyone to similar...challenges. Thank you for reading! Eric B.



Reviewer: Torak Signed Date: 2008.02.13 - 08:56PM Title: Brass Monkeys

"She passed us the bottle." Genius.

I'll review in more detail when we get to the judging. But... "Kaylee"? Bit of a Firefly fan? ;-)

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. Eric



Reviewer: hjp74 Signed Date: 2008.02.13 - 01:56PM Title: Brass Monkeys

starstarstarstarstar

A very good challeng fic & evan though i havent read all your storys just manly your one shots i still relly felt that you captured harry & ginnys chareteristics very well.

my the end ther i relly felt for harry all he want is a nice romatic winter evning with ginny & what happens all he gets is intruptions & i loved the way you built up harys & ginnys growing frustration with all those intryuptions untill finally you had ginny be the one to snap (though i noticed harry was on the sidelines so to speck charing her on when she falterns spencer. oh and having them start of as on charecter in the song then change to the oppersite one was done very smothly & fit the story perfectly. particuley with ginny & the overcoat im surprisd hary was evan able to consintrate on fixing anything..

As for the location well come abslutly perfect thoug i havent been to banff i was luky eneugh to go to lake louise sevral years ago & thee seniory is just stunning so yes great interpritation of the song combined with a great location adds up to a very well written laced with humur fic.

good luck in the challenge & in the DSTA comady award.

James

Author's Response: I decided on the approach I did for a few reasons. The romantic evening seduction questions how serious either one is. Are they just having fun with the song? Are we seeing noble gentleman Harry or the scoundrel? I wanted to have the readers feel that I was pushing the limits of their characterizations until the surprise at the end. I intentionally didn't specify when all this occurs. As for the resort; I've used the lodge before and I thought that a Canadian site, with access to Muggle devices, would add to the confusion. Thank you for reading! Eric B.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear