Search:

SIYE Time:15:02 on 12th July 2024
SIYE Login: no

Reviews For An Icy Reception

Reviewer: wickedgirl93 Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 11:17PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

That was insanely adorable!!

loove it!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it!



Reviewer: hopeless romantic Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 12:15PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

hahahahaha. That was hilarious!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: Defender Signed Date: 2008.04.25 - 07:45PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

hehee! Very cute! I think Molly might blow up the kitchen if they announce her future Grandma status in a few weeks. :-)

Thanks and Congrats on the award! Well diserved!

Author's Response: Thanks! I think Molly would eventually get over it, but not for a while!



Reviewer: Bunny_Kitty_Forever Signed Date: 2008.04.18 - 11:06PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

OMG! That was so funny and sweet! No wonder it won! Congrats!



Author's Response: Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: Zapatorf Signed Date: 2008.04.16 - 11:52AM Title: Chapter 1

I read my first review for this, and decided that it wasn't near good enough anymore.
In short: I love your sense of humor. Love it. As you will soon find out, there's little I like more than a good humor fic, and this one is definitely fitting. Bravo, 10/10, you get the picture. ;D

Author's Response: Thanks Zap, if that is really who you are. After reading the discussion on Andi's thread, I am not sure who you are related to at this point. I really like humor too - and there is a lot less of it on this forum than angst, so more chances, IMO, to be original. Although as I discovered when I started Wrting The One Where Harry Has to Try All Twelve, it can be hard to be funny without making the characters either obnoxious, mean, or just totally out of character. I have a least one more funny idea in store, but it is probably a ways down the line as far as submissions. -Mel



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.04.06 - 02:23PM Title: Chapter 1

I just read this again and had to giggle. It's perfect. It's funny with just the right amount of naughtyness. It's funny that the lack of setting is something that doesn't bother me. I'm usually one who has to know what's going on around the characters--what room are they in, what's in the room...

But this story, and it's staggeringly difficult form, are amazing.

Mel, you deserved to win that award. Even before I knew you. Now that you're a fellow Minx, you deserve it even more. ;) Andi



Reviewer: kd112 Signed Date: 2008.03.20 - 05:52AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

brilliant!



Reviewer: AvantGarde Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 08:43PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

I definately agree with the decision of Best Comedy, my fiancee became concerned with all the loud laughing that resulted from reading this story. Congratulations!

Author's Response: Thanks! I love the thought that I can make people laugh out loud. Good luck with your own wedding planning! -Mel



Reviewer: jennyelf Signed Date: 2008.03.15 - 08:28PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

great story! I laughed at Harry having to convince his new wife to share a bed. I can definitely see Mrs. Weasley giving them an icy reception if they had eloped.

Author's Response: Thanks! A bunch of people felt sorry for Harry that he couldn't get Ginny into bed more easily. I like to think it was worth the wait when she finally came back. ;) -Mel



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.03.15 - 02:24PM Title: Chapter 1

Congratulations! You know I loved this. :)

Author's Response: Thanks! I was very surprised. I am working on more humor because it always puts me in a good mood. :)



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.03.09 - 01:45PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Oh how adorable! I love the choppy dialogue, the snippy comments. The dozens of red-haired relatives she won't remember because they look exactly alike and can't get their faces five inches away from their plates full of food! Snort! Good for Gin and Harry, escaping the frou frou and just getting married. The Weasleys will eventually get over it. Reading this reminded me of watching an episode of friends, where the conversation just rambles around and you get it...and it's FUNNY. Great work!

Author's Response: You just gave me a huge compliment when you compared my writing to an episode of Friends - still my favorite show ever (although the Office is running a close second). If you haven't, check out The One Where Harry Has to Try All Twelve - my attempt at more Friends humor, although some of the more obvious jokes won't be apparent until later chapters. Thanks!!



Reviewer: SunB Signed Date: 2008.03.07 - 09:45AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Loooved it! It had me laughing out loud! Great Job!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2008.03.05 - 01:03PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Oh ho! I wish that I had done that to avoid all the confusion associated with mine. I can understand why Molly is so angry, but I think that they are exaggerating about how long it will take her to calm down. No...actually it is probably very accurate. I really enjoyed how you slowly spooned us the story before popping that ending on us. It was well-timed and the whole thing flowed extremely well. Thanks. Eric B.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2008.03.05 - 01:49AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Judged for competition.

Well, this is certainly a different type of challenge entry, to say the least. There's a little known rule here at SIYE that scripts are not allowed. You know, like in a play, where all you have is the name of the character speaking, followed by his/her lines. Well, since this obviously got past the validation crew, this is NOT considered a script (though it's well close to one).

What makes this fic enjoyable is how it begins in medias res -- in the middle of things, namely an argument between Harry and Ginny -- and then you gradually reveal more and more details about what's going on. First you tell us that Molly sends H/G upstairs as a punishment for something -- then you reveal that they've been banished from a wedding -- then finally you reveal that it's their OWN wedding from which they've been banished, and they're arguing over how they've found themselves in this predicament! LOL! Awww, their first argument as newlyweds. LOL!

Like the other reviewers, I couldn't help bursting into laughter at the Lavender line. LOL!

Overall, not bad considering that this was your first fic. (BTW, I like your username and how it acknowledges Lily's birthday.) I wish you good luck in the challenge.

Author's Response: Thanks for the response and constructive criticism - I really appreciate it. I was very aware that scripts are not allowed when I submitted this, but I never considered this story to be a script - just a conversation that was much more interesting without giving attribution to the speakers, at least IMO, particularly since it matched the format of the song - two people speaking back and forth to each other. Lily and I actually share the same birthday, so of course it had to be part of my pen-name!



Reviewer: armybabe09 Signed Date: 2008.02.21 - 09:21PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

I liked the fact that you had no explination of who was talking, but it all still worked. I've liked that style before and I think it worked very much like the song works.
Good humor, too.
Well done.



Reviewer: Dianne Signed Date: 2008.02.20 - 06:28PM Title: Chapter 1

LOL to the line 'Hermione would get mad if she had to wear Lavender.' Well done with the one liners. They should offer a class in defense against charming boys too. You could do a continuation of this story too and I bet it would be well received. Heee, a contraception charm by Mrs Weasly would likely mean neutering Harry. Very well done and I really enjoyed reading it.



Reviewer: GryffindorGal87 Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 07:31PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

OMG! That was the funniest thing ever! Great job! =]



Reviewer: harrysginny Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 03:13PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 12:26PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstar

Wow, that's a tough format to do. But you pulled it off really well. I liked that I really had to pay attention to what they were saying to be able to figure out what was actually happening. It was like a little mini-mystery. It was very cute. Poor Harry, though. Having to 'convince' his new wife that they should share a bed. :)



Reviewer: Zapatorf Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 10:19AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Good job. First one I've seen where Harry is the wolf. I think you pulled it off rather nicely.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Grey Media Internet Services. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear