Search:

SIYE Time:9:41 on 18th January 2022

Reviews For Snow Excuse

Reviewer: Ron Obsessed Signed Date: 2008.08.07 - 01:53PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstar

Brigadoon,
very clever ;)

Loved the story in its entirety, the imp had me snickering in the end, and a story that makes me laugh is one after my own heart.
Very well done!



Reviewer: jennyelf Signed Date: 2008.03.15 - 03:54PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarstar

I love it! I especially love the lyric references to let it snow as it is my husband's favorite Christmas song. I love the twist at the end with Ginny paying the imp outside. It made me laugh!



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2008.03.03 - 01:39AM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Judged for competition.

Ah, so this whole challenge was your idea? Well, it was obviously a very great idea, since this challenge has had the most entries of any post-DH (or even post-HBP) challenge! (The last challenge with this many entries was before JKR declared our ship to be canon!)

I've only read a few of the entries so far, but I notice that, in your fic as well as many of the other challenge entries, Ginny is the "wolf" who's trying to convince "mouse" Harry to stay. I suppose that this was your intention when you first came up with the challenge.

What sets this fic apart is the snow-stealing imp, of course. The snow belongs to him? LOL! And of course, not to mention the Scots guy who set Harry up. LOL! (Indeed, it's interesting that this fic takes place in the Scottish highlands and not at the Burrow.) Delightful little touches of humor that I've come to expect from your fics.

The ending was sweet. Well, this is certainly the best Valentine's Day Ginny's ever had! (Yes, I noticed the date you put at the top of the fic.)

Overall, good job as always. I wish you luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! (And as for the imp and the Scottish guy... have another look through, see what accent the imp has. They're one and the same.)



Reviewer: Elizzza Signed Date: 2008.03.01 - 10:27AM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarstar

I'll remember your advice next time I cacnnot find a snow shovel.

Brigadoon, indeed.



Author's Response: I was wondering who'd be the first to spot that. ;-)



Reviewer: Dianne Signed Date: 2008.02.28 - 07:24PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

I really enjoyed your story. I couldn't have come up with using cookie sheets as snow shovels in a million years! that was clever. The snow creature was adorable and very canon like. It would have fit right in with the canon gnomes and other magical creatures. I loved the ending where we find out that Ginny hired him, that was clever and well thought out. Also, I believe it was you who suggested this challenge? It was a good one and had really received a great response. It's a lovely idea and you made really good use of the lyrics. Thanks for a great read!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed them - both the fic and the challenge! Thanks!



Reviewer: elaithin Signed Date: 2008.02.27 - 03:03PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Okay, the snow imp had me just about rolling laughing. Great job! - Patrick

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it, thanks!



Reviewer: Steven Carnell Signed Date: 2008.02.17 - 01:29PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarstar

Loved it! Very satisfying read. Well written. You are very talented.

Author's Response: Thanks!



Reviewer: GryffindorGal87 Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 07:18PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarstar

I loved it! I really liked that snow imp! =]

Author's Response: Yes, the Gollum/Feegle cross was fun to write. :-) Thanks!



Reviewer: harrysginny Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 03:26PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: hms42 Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 02:55PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: hjp74 Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 02:09PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarstar

great challeng fic

so meny highlights from arthur now owning a Ferrari.(dear god theres a sub fic kust dying to be writeen about that sub plot). to using baking trays as shovels sledge yes but shovels we needs must (oh & the very discreat hint that ginny or maybe it was harry cant cook to save there lives.

Loved the snow imp & the scotch accent just goes with it perfectly (can piture it now with a kilt & bagpipes standing on the castle. The wonderful interlude with molly & arthur gave us a glimpse of whta hopefully will be harry & ginneys future.

then at the end we find out just how crafty ginny was (though it was a criminal waste of whisky puting it in the porrage no wonder she got a snowball to the back of the head)

Anyway godd luck in the challenge

James

Author's Response: Oh, Arthur's Ferrari definitely needs a fic - feel free to write it, if you like!
Glad you enjoyed it!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 10:30AM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarhalf-star

The finest humor, I sincerely believe, is that which is the most subtle and yet quietly surprising. The loud pie in your face comedy that some attempt does not work well in the written world. This story absolutely elicits its intended smile and quiet laugh. I’ve read it twice since it was posted, and it is one of very few that I’ve printed to share with my friends.



While following the story we see first an understated romantic tale with its traditional interactions and heartfelt moments between our favorite couple. We begin to suspect a twist when we cut to the Weasley parents’ perspective for their brief scene. The reference to their own song reminds us that love is not merely a young person’s pastime. When we arrive at the end of the story and discover what Ginny did, we immediately return to the beginning to search out any other little surprises that we may have been given.



The Songfic Challenge references a wolf and a mouse. In this case I believe that we are instead watching a clever fox performing her own special magic with Harry. One of the things by which I judge anything is how it leaves a lasting impression in my mind. This story placed me in a good mood for quite a while. I thought that it was very entertaining.

Author's Response: Oh, absolutely. Indeed, I am reminded that a female fox is a vixen, which seems somehow apt.
As for written slapstick, I heartily agree - subtle comedy - the kind that elicits a sneaking smile and a slight, persistent chuckle is for me far more fun than the sort of comedies that are so popular these days - those of the convoluted setups and belly-laugh whammies.
Anyway, glad you enjoyed it. Thanks!



Reviewer: gejufan Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 09:20AM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: melkior Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 03:06AM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I assume Ginny's 'business partner' is now back to fightin', drinkin' an' snafflin' coo beastie (imps, pictsies, whatever)?
Either way, I'm highly entertained (for more than one reason).
Dino

Author's Response: That's not entirely unlikely, no. Thanks!



Reviewer: Sibling Creature Signed Date: 2008.02.14 - 01:43AM Title: Micklehag Cottage

*snickers* that figures... should have known the imp was there at Ginny's request... his presence was really just too convenient...

Author's Response: It was, wasn't it? ;-)



Reviewer: CodeRomance Signed Date: 2008.02.13 - 11:06PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarhalf-star

haaa lol baby it's cold out side! that was great! cookie pans to shovel with! and the scottish dude that ginny paid to do that!! great! very funny!

CodeRomance



Reviewer: Ginzig1 Signed Date: 2008.02.13 - 08:49PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarstar

That was hilarious! Ginny hired snow stealing imp, VERY clever! I also liked how you had Molly and Arthur saying the words of the song too. Great story! Loved it!!!

Author's Response: And they got a song of their own, too, if you hunt around. ;-)



Reviewer: Zapatorf Signed Date: 2008.02.13 - 08:33PM Title: Micklehag Cottage

starstarstarstarstar

Good. I was laughing, particularly at the whole 'Mrs. Weasley's Idea' thing, not to mention the ending.
Nothing like a good story to warm your day. Unless, of course, you have a better way like Harry and Ginny did.

Author's Response: Glad you liked it, thanks!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear