Search:

SIYE Time:6:18 on 25th June 2024
SIYE Login: no

Reviews For Taking the Train

Reviewer: kash2110 Signed Date: 2008.10.14 - 02:22PM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Well that is a different take on the situation, one I haven't thought about before! I'm very interested in seeing how you'll take this story on!



Reviewer: 7Ginny7 Signed Date: 2008.08.19 - 11:29AM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstar

Loveeeeeeedddddddddddddd it!!



Reviewer: RealmofShadows Signed Date: 2008.07.29 - 10:07AM Title: The Mirror Again

Your writing abilities are good. However Harry would never have taken the train! Everything that was a cause of his taking the train caused me to severely dislike or even hate that part of the story. Now that the story has resolved itself I'm happy to say that I don't hate it.

Author's Response: Of course Harry would never have taken the train - but I was curious to explore the "what if" part of it. I'm glad you stuck with the story, and if you want to read my take on the way I think things really should have gone, check out A Kiss Before Dying and a Kiss After Dying. Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: RealmofShadows Signed Date: 2008.07.29 - 10:06AM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Your writing abilities are good. However Harry would never have taken the train! Everything that was a cause of his taking the train caused me to severely dislike or even hate that part of the story. Now that the story has resolved itself I'm happy to say that I don't hate it.



Reviewer: potslicker Signed Date: 2008.05.29 - 02:29PM Title: The Mirror Again

This is a wonderful way to begin a story. I can't wait to read on!!!!!!!!!!



Reviewer: potslicker Signed Date: 2008.04.20 - 01:33PM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstarstar

This is one outstanding story. You have take and idea and really made it shine. I would have thought of using the Mirror of Erised as yu have.



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.04.15 - 06:46PM Title: The Mirror Again

Ahh, you've read my mind. No reason they can't *both* have a thing for Harry. No wonder Smith was so surly in the books. Jealousy. **nods head in understanding** It all makes sense now.

Author's Response: Yep, a secretly in-the-closet Hufflepuff is not a happy Hufflepuff.



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.04.15 - 06:03PM Title: The Mirror Again

Yes! Yes! Yes! **claps hands** Arnold is toast. **snickers** Bald Harry. Isn't that a contradiction? golf commentator. Yes, that may work. Or maybe she's running away with Malfoy and they're going to start a women's American Football league there in Britan, but only after she gives birth to Zacharias Smith's love child. But it's alright, because she'll still, secretly, be in love with Harry.

Author's Response: I think Zacharias should be in love with Harry instead. Go check your reviews - I was particularly amusing, IMO. -Mel



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.04.15 - 03:33PM Title: The Mirror Again

Ahem. Very nice, Pooky. Mel, bring on the angst!!!!! Apparently, that's ALL I know how to write. Bring on the deaths, illness, depression, nightmares...

Oops, that' s MY fic.

;)

Author's Response: He he. Maybe I lied. Maybe there will be fluff in the final chapter. Instead, a big, umm, Goodyear blimp will fly up to the Burrow and give Ginny the choice of getting on it and starting a career as a golf commentator, or staying with Harry and snogging. What does she choose?? And maybe I should kill off Arnold the Pygmy Puff while I am at it, assuming he is still alive at all. And, uh, yeah, Harry should go bald. And Ron and Hermione will spend a majority of the final chapter making out all over the place. What do you think??

:) - Mel


Author's Response: I meant to say, NO Fluff, in the final chapter. Darn quick fingers.



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 07:59AM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstarstar

I'm not sure how you topped the last chapter, but you did. I thought I'd been emotionally drawn in during the last one, but this one had me by the throat. I could literally feel Harry's desperation to make the right choices and to fix what he'd done, along with that healthy dose of the sense of abandonment by some of the Weasleys. What an amazing job.

Thank you for the chapter. Hope your family has a wonderful holiday weekend.

Andi

Author's Response: Thank you Andi - This chapter was definitely the most difficult for me - I wanted to include all the other family members in a meaningful way because they are an important part of the story. But at the same time, I did not want Harry to have to repeat himself too much, and I didn't want to focus too much on Ginny crying - that could get old really fast. Happy holidays to you and your family too. -Mel



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2008.03.17 - 11:22AM Title: The Mirror Again

I suppose we can consider this an interesting premise, but it also means the story is intrinsically flawed because Harry would never make such a decision. Harry is the quientessential man of honor. He has never, not once, put his personal desires above doing his duty. He knows from the prophesy that he is the only one who can defeat Voldemort and it is therefore his duty to do so. For Harry to violate his character like this would be the end of him. Also being a romanticist I take great issue with the idea that Harry would abandon Ginny.

The only way this story could work is there has to be an alternative reason for Harry to take the train. He just wouldn't violate his character by going on just because he 'wants to'.

Author's Response: If this is the only chapter you have read so far, you are right. It is not within Harry's persona to fail to do the noble and proper thing, or to abandon Ginny. However, all becomes more clear (at least I hope it does) as you read. I think I have done a pretty good job in later chapters of explaining Harry's motivations - let me know what you think after you finish. Chapter 8 is currently in the works.



Reviewer: Elvenlaughter Signed Date: 2008.02.18 - 07:42AM Title: The Mirror Again

I shouldn't have read this so early in the morning before my first class...
This is an absolutely gorgeous and truthful AU, so well depicted and reasoned. Lovely, heartbreaking...
I have only one request. Could you write another chapter that shows what happens after this? The final battle, everyone's responses, and exactly what Dumbledore meant in the very last line of this fic? That would be a fantastic addition, and well worth the time of both writing and reading. Please!



Reviewer: gejufan Signed Date: 2008.02.17 - 12:37PM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstarhalf-star

mm, i'm intrigued to read the rest of it.



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns Signed Date: 2008.02.17 - 12:58AM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstar

Great idea! Well-written, so far. I can't wait to read what you do with it.



Reviewer: Zapatorf Signed Date: 2008.02.16 - 09:32PM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstarstar

I must say that your writing style is wonderful. I can tell you know exactly what you are doing.
Now I do have a few questions, and here they are:
*SPOILER ALERT*
1. If Voldemort just killed Harry, then he now is the true master of the elder wand. If memory serves, that would make him unbeatable. How are you going to get around this?
2. How will Ginny react?
3. In the book, Harry saved Molly Weasley's life after her duel. With him not there, will she survive?
4. How on earth did the mirror of erised get into King's Cross?
5. How long are you planning on making this?
6. Will you update soon? =D

Please continue with your superb work.
10/10 so far


Author's Response: Thank so much for your review - I am having a lot of fun writing this story. I am halfway through the next chapter, so I need to be careful not to give too much away, but I can answer a couple of your questions: --The mirror got to King's Cross the same way that Harry got warm clean robes there after he realized he was naked; as soon as the realization hit, there were the clothes. In the same way, as soon as he needed a way to figure out what to do, there was the mirror. I am especially thankful to JKR for using that particular plot device. -- This story is not going to be long, maybe two or three more chapters. The idea I have is pretty concise, and should not take too long to tell. -- As for questions about the Elder Wand and Molly, all I will say here is that if you are familar with William Goldman's brilliant book "The Princess Bride", or even the nearly equally brilliant movie of the same name, you might have a clue about how I am going to get out of the mess I have apparently created. I hope to have the next chapter done by Monday some time. Enjoy!



Reviewer: irollam Signed Date: 2008.02.16 - 09:21PM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstarstar

This, without a doubt, is an amazing story. I am excited to see it become more and more amazing.
Awsome job!
:o)
irollam



Reviewer: ScopArt Signed Date: 2008.02.16 - 08:34PM Title: The Mirror Again

I'm so intensely curious to see where you take this.

I think you made Harry's decision fairly logical, it being so hard (for me at least) to see Harry not going back but moving on instead. You did a good job though. And Dumbledore's last little comment was intriguing. I get the feeling that he was maybe a little disappointed in Harry but that maybe he understood why Harry made the choice that he did. I hope we'll be seeing more of him. I also hope we get to see some more familiar faces next chapter...

I'm eagerly awaiting more and I hope it won't be too long. Keep up the great work. I really think you've got a brilliant idea here!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review - I am glad you are intrigued! This has been fun to write, even though Harry is not behaving the way that even I would expect or want him too. I am enjoying figuring out what makes him tick in this story as I go along. The next chapter should be quite enlightening - questions will be answered, although maybe not in the way you expect. I am about halfway through the next chapter, so hopefully I can get it posted in the next day or two.



Reviewer: Professor_Chris Signed Date: 2008.02.16 - 07:11PM Title: The Mirror Again

starstarstarstar

Interesting... Looking forward to seeing what happens with this story...




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Grey Media Internet Services. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear