Search:

SIYE Time:6:40 on 25th June 2024
SIYE Login: no

Reviews For Taking the Train

Reviewer: kash2110 Signed Date: 2008.10.14 - 05:34PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

part of him had always wondered, or even worried, that it was the mutual darkness of Tom Riddle they shared that was the real reason for their connection - WOW that is such an insightful line, one I confess hadn't thought of before!

Harry's speech to Ginny was one of the most remarkable pieces of writing I've EVER read in all the fanfics I read on here and various other sites.

You write....not sure what compliment I should use..I love this story!!! Shame I can only give you a 10 for this chapter.



Reviewer: potslicker Signed Date: 2008.05.29 - 06:17PM Title: Fight in the Forest

A wonderful, but heart breaking story!!!



Reviewer: potslicker Signed Date: 2008.04.20 - 01:51PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

And I thought chapter 5 was wild. This one not only blew me away, but my mind too!!!!!! You had me crying all the way through this chapter.



Reviewer: Moxterminator Signed Date: 2008.03.21 - 05:21PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

BRILLIANT!!!

I want the next update ASAP :D :D :D

Author's Response: Thanks! The next chapter has just been submitted, so hopefully it will be up soon.



Reviewer: Serediti Signed Date: 2008.03.19 - 03:32AM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

I must say that I'm glad that Harry finally told Ginny off. I wanted so badly to say to her what he said. She has a right to be somewhat angry, but I thought that her comment on Harry's mother was the last straw.

So, marvelous job! I can hardly wait for the next installment. ^^

Author's Response: Thanks! I really liked Harry's speech too. He got to say a lot of things I think are implied in the series, but never put into words. The next chapter has been submitted, so hopefully it is up soon.



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2008.03.18 - 03:44PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarhalf-star

So you're writting a Greek Tragedy. Pretty good recovery, but now you've got a terrific problem. When Harry (the hero) made his tragic choice, in order to come back he had to cheat Death. But Death will not be cheated so something else had to die...Ginny's love.

In a true tragedy, Ginny's love would be lost forever, the hero's punishment. But is there any way for him to atone? It can't be done logically or by magic. Harry cannot explain or argue his case. Because Ginny's love is dead. The only way to restore it is a substitutionary death.

Great Balls of Fire, you've set yourself a real toughie.

Author's Response: You do make the point that I have been struggling with in the chapter I am currently working on. I know where I want the characters to end up, its just getting them there in a way that is realistic for the story and which also makes me happy that is proving difficult. Sacrificing someone has crossed my mind a couple of times, as well as several other near death scenarios. I may just have to write them and see what sticks. Thanks for sticking with the story!



Reviewer: cheetahyoda Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 07:32PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

awesome chap update soon! ~



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 04:41PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

Forgot your rating! :)



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 04:40PM Title: Fight in the Forest

A very interesting chapter. Life is messy and love is never simple. I like Harry having to fight this out, probably thinking through his actions more completely than he ever has before.



Reviewer: Wolfric Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 04:21PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

Thanks for the chapter. I think it is well done. W.

Author's Response: Thanks! Not done yet, but getting closer to the end.



Reviewer: Laurendcg05 Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 03:51PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

Aw, now Harry's gone and broke her...he needs to learn that when you play too hard with your toys, they can break. But seriously, maybe he said a little too much, a little too soon, but I do want Harry and Ginny back together, so it's okay. Great chapter, keep up the great work!

Author's Response: I had Harry be deliberately tough in this chapter, but I hope it came across that his hardness was all in response to Ginny. There was really no other way to "break her", so to speak, and his speech was not merely for the purpose of being mean - the theme of the importance of family and friends and those relationships will continue to be important. Thanks for the review - and for sticking with me!



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 02:45PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, that was very heavy!
Very well done.

Author's Response: Thanks - yes, this chapter was very emotional. It is not all completely smooth sailing from here, but I at least am beginning to be able to see a resolution.



Reviewer: Professor_Chris Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 02:40PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

Well that does expalin a lot, glad that Harry was able to challange her to really think about what it had been like for him, and what she had obviously taken for granted.

Hmm interesting development at the end, looking forward to finding out what this truely means and what the next steps are...

Author's Response: I am glad this chapter explained a bit more to you - I almost published this chapter, the previous one, and part of the upcoming one together and called it "stages", if that helps. Not exactly the same as the stages of grief, but a similar idea.



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 01:16PM Title: Fight in the Forest

I forgot to say congrats for your Challenge fic winning!!!! It was the first story of yours that I read and I still really like it.

Andi

Author's Response: Thanks! Now dh is taking all the time I spend writing just a little more seriously, but my girls think it is a gyp that I only got a ribbon on-line and not in real life. :)



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.03.16 - 12:16PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

Have I told you how much I LOVE this story? Everything about this chapter was just wonderful...even though it wasn't, if that makes sense. It's heartbreaking to see Harry forced to dredge up these feelings to "hurt" Ginny in this way. His speech in the center was just...I'm not sure I have the right words. It was perfection, eloquence and bloody brilliant. I'm not sure if I've ever read anything that captured those feelings Harry had toward the Weasley family so wonderfully. I can see Harry, late at night some evening possibly in the tent, having these thought swirling through his brain.

Mel, this was beautiful and, I think, the best chapter so far. It was definitely worth the wait. **wink** Keep up the great work.

Andi

Author's Response: Andi - you are the best for my ego! I am so happy that you saw the things in the chapter that you did - I really respect your opinion. It is my favorite chapter too, so far, now I have to work on getting H and G where they need to be. Hope you had a good weekend with your family. -Mel lilyevans_Jan30



Reviewer: Pooky Anonymous Date: 2008.03.14 - 09:18PM Title: Fight in the Forest

starstarstarstarstar

Another very emotional chapter! I really hope that Harry was able to get through to Ginny. They both said some very mean and cruel things to each other. I especially loved the part where Harry told the "messed-up" Ginny how "his" Ginny would have responded. And the part where Harry challenged Ginny's selfishness was very poignant. He was totally right of course. Harry definately did make a mistake and he hurt Ginny deeply. And while I know that their definately is some of the "real" Ginny's pain fueling "this" Ginny's responses, I think that there is definately "something" really underlying "this" Ginny's response to Harry. I am trusting my Harry/Ginny heart to you and I believe that you will make everything work out between them in the end. I always hate Harry/Ginny angst, because Harry/Ginny, in a manner of speaking, is my anchor, my point of reference in the "Harry Potter Universe." Everything else in this universe, every other relationship could burn down and go to hell-in-a-handbasket for me as long as Harry/Ginny are ok with each other. When they struggle excessively, or their love threatens to fall apart, my "Harry Potter Universe" compass goes out of wack and my equilibrium is thrown off. You are doing a magnificent job with this story, and I eagerly look forward to how it unfolds. Please, Please, Please let there be a happy ending for Harry and Ginny in this story!!!!

Chris (Pooky)

Author's Response: Oh Pooky - I don't think I could sleep at night knowing that you were lying awake worrying about whether Harry and Ginny ended up okay in the end. I love Harry and Ginny too, so hopefully the resolution, when it comes, will keep your equilibrium in check. But you will just have to wait a bit, won't you. But I am glad you picked up on Harry's speech about what "his Ginny" would have done. I really don't want readers to think that this "magical break" Ginny is the way she really is, in "real life." A more pressing question is how you got access to this chapter already when it is not even showing up on my Recently Edited list - you must have magical powers of your own, hmmm? Thanks for the review! -Mel




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Grey Media Internet Services. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear