Search:

SIYE Time:4:20 on 25th June 2024
SIYE Login: no

Reviews For Taking the Train

Reviewer: kash2110 Signed Date: 2008.10.14 - 06:51PM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

“No, I guess I didn’t. No matter what my choice was, I always wanted the same thing. I always wanted a family. I always needed to feel I belonged somewhere.” He looked around. “It’s just I finally realized that what I needed now was this family.” - Another WOW! This had me in tears!!

I'm re-reading HBP for the umpteenth time and I remember Mr. & Mrs. Weasley telling Harry after he had saved Ron that it was a lucky day for the Weasleys when Ron sat in the same carriage as Harry, but I think, especialy after reading this, it WAS Harry who was the really lucky one!



Reviewer: potslicker Signed Date: 2008.04.20 - 01:54PM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

Outstanding again, Ginny is slowly coming around and your use of Fred on the train was really good. It is good that the Weasley's have some closure and Harry is out of the dog house.



Reviewer: Vike Signed Date: 2008.03.25 - 02:57AM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

Unbelievable. Just... yeah.



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 11:18PM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

Wow. You've created very believable characters in this (at least in HP universe) plausible scenario.

I love how Ginny in this chapter has gone from angry to sad and sure that Harry doesn't really love her. In a way, she's reverted to who she was around the time of her second year--in love with Harry, and resigned to the fact that he'll never love her back in the same way. So maybe she needs to do what she did in her third and fourth years--no, not date other boys, but allow her friendship with Harry to progress along natural lines.

Harry, on the other hand, has shown a tremendous amount of growth. He's unusually articulate about his feelings, something we don't see in canon. But it's plausible because: (1) he's older; (2) dying and killing Voldemort were transformative; and (3) he is in danger of losing Ginny.

I look forward to more. Thanks!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review - I know you were not sure about this story when it started. I have really enjoyed watching the characters grow, and I am glad it is reading as believable. They matured so much in DH, but JKR obvously had to leave a lot to our imagination, given that she had that whole plot-thing to move forward. I was worried about making Harry's original decision belivable enough to keep the story moving, but it looks like the gamble paid off. Look for more GInny growth in the next chapter.



Reviewer: cheetahyoda Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 01:20PM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

awesome chapter update soon



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 10:00AM Title: Family

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Although from the literary standpoint we disagree on what is recqired to atone Harry's mistake and renew Ginny's love, I want you to know as a H/G shipper I found this chapter to be emotionally powerful and appealing.

Author's Response: Thank you! You know, I was thinking about what you would say when I posted this chapter. I think the farthest I am going to be able to go with this plot is having Harry sacrifice some of his innocent ideas about his parents' role in his life and future. As he says, I think he always envisioned (in this story, at least), that if he didn't survive, at least he would be with them. But by committing himself to Ginny and their future, any other chance of family is gone. Considering the fact that his parents are dead, he got to see quite a lot of them throughout canon, and then in this story. I don't think he is going to get to see or talk to them ever again after this.. I really appreciate your review. -Mel



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 09:50AM Title: Family

This is my response to your response to my review. Say that three times fast! :)

Actually, I think your Ron is very like canon Ron. It's the fan fics that bash him and make him look like an immature jerk. Ron was always at Harry's side except for a short time in Goblet and again in Hallows. And the Hallows experience was largely because of the influence of the locket. I love fan fics that get Ron right. Loyal, supportive and very intelligent in some ways, not so much in others. I agree that he matured a lot in Hallows and that should be reflected in post-Hallows stories.

Ron was my favorite character (by far) for a long time. I didn't embrace Harry until he lost it in Phoenix. As much as his change jarred me, it was when he became "real" to me. People have flaws. They are jealous, foolish, angry...whatever. I think up until that point Harry had handled everything too well. Now, however, I can go back and love Harry just as much in the earlier books. Sheesh, what a babble. I hope you don't mind. I love talking about these books and stories. :)

Your story is terrific. What you're doing with Ginny now, as painful as it is, should be something she can grow through. She and Harry should be able to take something from the experience that will make them both stronger. You're already showing it with Harry. He's having to face the emotional repercussions of his decisions and he's doing it, sticking by her, fighting through things with her, confessing his feelings boldly and not giving up. I'm interested to see what Ginny does with it all in the end. I want to see a stronger, more confident, better than ever Ginny. There was a bludger of a hint, eh? :)

I'm enjoying it!

Author's Response: Can I review your review? It was great - I also love talking about the characters and how they have grown and developed. I never thought about Harry the way you described until you said it, but you are absolutely right - even with his internal angst from people not believing in him in the various books, he held it together pretty well until OoTP (although I would make an argument that it started earlier, with Cedric's death). I think both Ginny and Harry are going to come out stronger in the end of this story - look for some Ginny realizations in the next chapter. Thanks!



Reviewer: Wolfric Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 04:53AM Title: Family

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great chapter. Thanks for writing. W.

Author's Response: Thanks! I know I can always count on a review from you.



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 04:02AM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

Already did the review, but forgot the rating. Whatever possessed them to do rating this way is beyond me.
Happy Easter, Purim or whatever hol you celebrate.

Darian

Author's Response: Happy holidays to you too!



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 03:40AM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

Damn you made me cry and that is quite nasty when it's only half past nine in the morning and I woke up with a headache already :)
Great emotional chapter and that is something we won't find in JK's books. Looking forward to the fluff.
Thanx for the great read. C

Author's Response: Sorry about your headache! I am flattered that I made you cry, however. Working on the fluff right now . . .



Reviewer: Laurendcg05 Signed Date: 2008.03.22 - 03:15AM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

That was such a beautiful, emotional chapter, I'm very close to crying right now. Keep up the great work!

Author's Response: Thanks! A little more crying in the next chapter, but I have some really sweet moments planned too.



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.03.21 - 09:16PM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

Great job. I loved Harry's persistence and the Weasleys reactions. Especially Ron standing by him. Steady progress! The part about George was wonderful too.

Author's Response: Thanks! Obviously, the love of the entire Weasley family is really important in this story - I don't think Ron always gets enough credit in the books - he matures so much in DH, and I really wanted to show that here.



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2008.03.21 - 09:16PM Title: Family

After TRYING to read the most horrible story, and losing a bit of faith in SIYE, it is such a pleasure to read your work.
I understad Ginny's reluctance to believe Harry, but DD TOLD him going back wasn't going to be easy, What ever IS easy for Harry?
I look forward to readin more of how you bail Harry out of a mistake of his own making..LOL, at least no one has hexed him...yet.
Darian

Author's Response: Hmmm. hexing Harry - he has suffered enough in this story, but I may have to hold that thought for another one. Glad you are enjoying it!



Reviewer: Professor_Chris Signed Date: 2008.03.21 - 07:46PM Title: Family

starstarstarstarstar

Yeah progress... I am glad that they have been able to sort out so much already, still it looks like they have a way to go before it is all fixed.

Looking forward to the next Chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks - yes, they still have a ways to go, but things will hopefully be more positive from now on.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Grey Media Internet Services. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear