Search:

SIYE Time:5:19 on 25th June 2024
SIYE Login: no

Reviews For Taking the Train

Reviewer: Lady Aster Signed Date: 2013.03.17 - 02:04PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: ginlovesharry Signed Date: 2012.10.31 - 01:25AM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

This story broke my heart. I've spent a good month going over various stories on this page, and on ff.net, and this story, by far is my absolute favorite. It is heart wrenching and honest. I loved every minute of it, even when I wanted to curse you for causing my two favorite fictional people so much pain. This was beautifully done. Thank you for sharing this.



Reviewer: LZephaniah Signed Date: 2010.08.18 - 05:34PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant! I have read far more than my fair share of fanfiction lately, yet it still amazes me when I come across a story as well-written, engaging and entertaining as this one. I shall keep an eye out for more from you should any more great story ideas cross your mind :)



Reviewer: kash2110 Signed Date: 2008.10.14 - 08:38PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

I tell you this, this story was withot a doubt one of the best I ever read, and not just fanfiction! This is actually what should of happened and would not looked out of place as Chapter 37 in DH.

A truely magical, wonderfully written story from someone with undeniable talent!

Author's Response: I just finished reading all your reviews and I intend to go back and respond to some of them individually (when I'm not stuck at work), but I just had to give you a heartfelt thank you for your thoughts. I love that you "got it" when you read, and that you were able to pick out most of my favorites lines too! Other than a very short SIYE challenge piece, this was the first story I ever wrote, and it has a special place in my heart for that reason. It's raw in some places, but I wouldn't change it. I now have a fabulous beta who has been pushing me in the right directions, and I hope that it's going to make my upcoming stories that much clearer. Anyway, you totally made my day with your reviews, so thank you! -Mel (lilyevans_Jan30)



Reviewer: JaTrRm Signed Date: 2008.08.11 - 09:18PM Title: Us

starstarstarstar

I blame it on my impatience between chapters but I didn't start reading this fic until it was finished. The slightest gap between chapters bothers me for some reason if I enjoy a story.. Couldn't tell you why.
So anywho, as I somewhat stated above, I enjoyed this story. It fit into my preferred timeline, and was even somewhat cannon-ish. So it fit me perfectly... Even if it wasn't the authors plan at the time of writing.
My only gripe with the Post DH timeline is the so often done "Fred Funereal" , thankfully you did it very well and it didn't drag thru a number of chapters. The chapters were paced very well, and it had an effect on suspense. I was 99% sure how you were going to end this story, but a quarter of the way thru, you had me doubting myself. The whole things was all written fantastically, very original (or atleast I haven't read anything similar to it so far), and I look forward to you're next outing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the thoughtful review - I really appreciate it. I tend to be pretty canon-centric myself, so you won't see any super AU plots from me - well, maybe the plot will be a bit AU, but the characters will still act fairly close to canon. I am currently working on a new long piece, but I'm trying to get a bunch done before I start posting so readers like you don't have to wait between chapters! Thanks!



Reviewer: Szors Signed Date: 2008.07.05 - 04:04PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2008.06.07 - 05:18PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

Thank you for the perfect ending to an amazing story. While chapter 10 COULD have been the ending...chapter 11 gave us more insight into whaat was destined to be.

Thanks again,

Darian



Reviewer: potslicker Signed Date: 2008.05.30 - 09:16AM Title: Us

The most remarkable story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Author's Response: I am really glad you enjoyed it - thanks for all the reviews!



Reviewer: griffindorechicky101 Signed Date: 2008.05.25 - 06:07PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

I love this story. Nice job and well done. You are a very good , author in my opion.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review and the compliment!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2008.05.24 - 05:09AM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

That was a truly good story. As someone who has family members with Asperger syndrome, I found Ginny's emotional journey to be VERY realistic. Those with that form of autism do have great difficulty processing emotions and understanding other people's emotional responses. The story rang totally true for me.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review - I am glad the story touched you and that it rang true with respect to Ginny's trouble processing emotion.



Reviewer: DebbieO Signed Date: 2008.05.21 - 11:58PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

Great ending to a terrific story. I liked the emphasis on "us" and Harry's realization that the journey is the destiny. After everything Harry is going to get to enjoy his life as it comes. I liked your idea of showing Harry taking the train in the end too. You would have to show the people he'd loved, lives he'd touched and things he'd done on the way there that wouldn't have been done in the original scenario. Loved the butter joke. And the kiss that left Harry thinking, "mpfhh." Cute.

Author's Response: Thanks Debbie! You are exactly right about what I would have to show first, if I was to end with Harry taking the train, finally. Especially his appreciation of everything, and his interactions with his family. Truth be told, I just kind of wimped out - for some reason it was hard for me to write about Harry dying, even at the end of a wonderful life. Maybe one day I will add a true epilogue to this piece - although for now, I have enought other half finished ideas to keep me writing until Chrsitmas! - Mel



Reviewer: Coco Signed Date: 2008.05.21 - 04:17PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar


wow...what a beautiful story.

Your writing shows an intense amount of emotion. I think I need to go sit on a park bench for a bit and let your
story roll around and loosen it's grip! Great idea to bring the mirror to the ending. My favorite chapter was the
fight in the forest, making Harry really think about what he values the most and why.

And I like your non-use of contractions, it's shows personal style.

I look forward to more of your stories!

Author's Response: Thanks for much for the review. Reading the story from start to finish is pretty powerful - I actually went back and reread it before posting the final chapter and even I was moved by things I had not remembered. I don't know if you read the other reviews, but I was chided for not using contractions in my quotes by another reviewer - it was actually a habit I barely noticed - I am a lawyer in "real life" and it has been drilled into me to make my writing as formal as possible. Since then I have tried to be more conscious of using contractions at times, but as you noted, I still like to omit them too, because I feel like it makes the reader slow down and think about the words. Thanks for your thoughts!



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2008.05.19 - 05:22PM Title: Us

some times the trip of a life time starts with a dumb ass mistake and end in the greatest adventure of all....glad that made it in the end...thought ginny had every right to kill him more then once...she also could have helped allilttle....kutgw in all u do

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: mon Signed Date: 2008.05.19 - 11:27AM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

I just read your entire story and LOVED it. I really hope you will write another harry/ginny fic because you relate them well. Wonderful job!!!! Thanks for the great read. I actually started reading your story on simply undeniable and was really happy to see it here already complete!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review - I am glad you found the story here because I do think it reads better straight through than piecemeal, and SU is sooo slow! Several more fics in the making - and if you don't mind a plug, you can check out A Kiss Before Dying (one shot) - also posted both here and at SU. Thanks!



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2008.05.19 - 09:04AM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

I think you pulled it off. Well done! Now how about an alternate ending, years in the future, about the time Lily Luna graduates Hogwarts.

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind review, and for sticking with me until the end! It is definitely bittersweet to finish. I will file the idea of an alternate ending away with my other half-finished plot ideas - currently I am working on my sequel to A Kiss Before Dying, and also mapping out a much longer fic/series of H/G through the years - keep your eyes open for them! -Mel



Reviewer: hgfan1111 Signed Date: 2008.05.18 - 07:21PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

Well, it's been a long, tough journey for Harry and Ginny...and you as well, Mel. Congratulations on finally putting this one to rest. I think it turned out brilliantly. And I love the feeling we get when both Harry and Ginny seek each other out throughout the day and evening. To me that was very intimate and perfect.

Thanks for sharing with us all. I'd write more but my allergy medicine is making me too loopy to see the screen much. ;) Andi

Author's Response: Thanks Andi - especially for your consistent, Minxy support through this journey. I never expected to get a group of friends out of indulging in my loves of writing and HP, and look what happened! Kind of feels like I am sending my firstborn off to college, finishing this. Bittersweet, but hopefully there will be more to come! -Mel



Reviewer: Wolfric Signed Date: 2008.05.18 - 02:19PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I am a sucker for happy endings. I enjoyed the story. Thanks for writing. W.

Author's Response: Yeah, I'm a sucker for happy endings too - you won't find too many loose ends or angsty finishes in my stories (A Kiss Before Dying excepted, but we all know how that turns out). Thanks!



Reviewer: FredsGirl Signed Date: 2008.05.18 - 12:59PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

Aw, Mel, that was great! I'm glad this is where you finished it.

I think my favorite part is when you wrote that neither one of them wanted to be apart from each other longer than necessary. I think that's sweet and appropriate.

And now they have forever! Yay!!

Thanks for a great story!

Jen

Author's Response: Thanks Jen! I liked that part too - I could see it in my mind that neither one wanted to let go of the other. I appreciate the review! -Mel



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2008.05.18 - 12:02PM Title: Us

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: potslicker Signed Date: 2008.05.18 - 11:45AM Title: Us

I loved you ending, WOW, I could not have done it better or improved either.





../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Grey Media Internet Services. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear