Search:

SIYE Time:11:11 on 18th January 2022


Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.03.26 - 01:22PM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarstarstar

LOL. Very imaginative.



Reviewer: carolquin Signed Date: 2008.03.08 - 08:28AM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarstarhalf-star

this is being reviewed for judging purposes...

loved it! i absolutely love 'play that funky music' and it will be stuck in my head. i must go dig out my cd now and blast it all day long!!!

great work, very entertaining and a good read.

good luck!



Reviewer: PhoenixLament Signed Date: 2008.03.07 - 10:01AM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarstar

I liked this one, ha ha.
Nice job using other songs for, heh, 'the sake of decency'.
Very good, hilarious too.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2008.03.05 - 11:37AM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarstarhalf-star

You've done it again. I can always expect just the right balance of puns with descriptive language, a flowing plotline and great characterizations. I could actually feel Harry blushing at the wolf's advances. The hot tub was a perfect prop as well. I was introduced to Japanese ofuros when I was first over there, but you Scandinavians are the true masters of that art. The entire setting was perfect for what each wanted to accomplish, and the soundtrack that ran through my head while reading added to the effect. One minor point that I missed before; Beale Street in Memphis, Tennessee is generally regarded as the home of the blues, while New Orleans' Bourbon Street is the home to jazz. I have no idea why Salt Lake City has a basketball team called The Jazz. Anyway, this is another excellent effort. Thank you for a great read! Eric

Author's Response: Yeah - that's the thing that narrows down the reference to Night Train: "And don't forget New Orleans, the home of the blues". :-)

Anyway, glad you liked it, thanks!



Reviewer: knightsbridge Signed Date: 2008.03.02 - 08:53AM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarstarstar

I LOVE the title! The biggest music clue in the story. Papa's got a brand now bag.
I caught the one naming the cities, but can't for the life of me remember the name of the song. Night Train (and thanks a heap for sticking that in my head BTW)
I gave up looking after that. until they got to the manor (Soul Man?)
Whatever, I loved the story.
Darian

Author's Response: Hehe - perhaps I'd better do another crib sheet, then? Oh, and the one with the cities is Route 66. Thanks!



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2008.03.01 - 10:41PM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarhalf-star

Very nice, although not having all the insights into the musical references made it somewhat more opaque than I would have liked.

Author's Response: Well, that's part of the fun. If everything's on the surface, there's nothing to find, nothing to hunt for. The story's just the beginning - finding the references is your job. ;-)



Reviewer: elaithin Signed Date: 2008.03.01 - 05:20PM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarstarstar

Oh, the musical puns. Oh, the agony! - Patrick

Author's Response: Be afraid. Be very afraid.

Yes, I like puns. :-D



Reviewer: Penny Flamel Signed Date: 2008.03.01 - 03:28PM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarstarstar

Ah, Torak, I'm so jealous. :P Not only is it funnier, more original and more creative than what I had in mind, you actually managed to get it in...grrr.

Anyway, putting aside my terrible green streak, I actually found all or most of the musical allusions for the imaginary bonus, which I'll just have to make up myself. :-) I have to admit they were pretty brilliant. Great story, I think my favorite from all the ones I've read so far. In fact, I think it's one of the best you've written. ^_^

Author's Response: Hehe - want to email your guesses to me, see how many you got right? (I wonder how many will notice that, through one cheat or another, I managed to sneak in all the bonus phrases...)



Reviewer: Dianne Signed Date: 2008.03.01 - 12:58PM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

It was really nice to see what else Harry had inherited from his family. Many people give him as a residence, Grimmauld Place, which is fine by me, but I think it's nice for him to be somewhere that he could maybe find a bit more peace and familiarity from things that may be left with the the old homestead, such as photos of his extended family. The Magilectric engine for the Knight Train was very clever. I laughed reading about Creevey Duplex with its whopping three rooms. Soul Mansion was a very appropriate name for the homestead. And, unfortunately, I too have seen ice cubes in a hot tub when mine became unplugged during a storm and we went to get in and well .... ahhhhh!!! And no magic to warm it back up again either like Harry and Ginny would have. thanks for your stories!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it - it was great fun to write. :-)



Reviewer: Elizzza Signed Date: 2008.03.01 - 08:34AM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

starstarstarstarstar

OK, I love the magilectric motors and the fold-up railway. Why can't I have one like that? Environmentally it must be a Really Good Thing! Non-diegetic tones appearing in a fan fic is unexpected - but I wouldn't put it past you to have used the technique (is that the word I want?) frequently without telling us.

Anyway. That's just about where I got lost, searching for music references - and as always wondering how many I've missed. Oh well, I'll just do my normal thing and re-read the blasted story a couple of times.

Oh, and by the way - wasn't Bigwig a punk band some time ago, or is my memory failing me??

(Just for information : misprint on line three, third word from the end. Ha, feels good to have found one - or was it an intentional mixture of two words?)


Author's Response: Oh, I have played with diegesis on occasion before - see the sheriff's theme tune in Hollywood, for instance.



Reviewer: whimsy Signed Date: 2008.03.01 - 02:55AM Title: Harry's Got A Brand New Hag

I've seen Death and the Death of Rats appear in HP fanfics, but this is the first HP story where I've seen The Luggage or at least a close relative make an appearance. However, what was truly remarkable and likely unique about this story was that it used "diegetic".

Is the full name for the Burrow "Weasley's Burrow"?

What about a follow-on fic with Harry, Ginny, Ron and Hermione at a karaoke bar?



Author's Response: To be fair, my Luggage is probably closer to the one as drawn by Josh Kirby rather than Pratchett's original, but yeah. ;-)

As for karaoke, nah. It's been done.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear