Search:

SIYE Time:14:03 on 21st July 2024
SIYE Login: no

Reviews For Our Buried Life

Reviewer: allabouthp Signed Date: 2012.10.29 - 08:56PM Title: PART TWO

I felt like Ginny saw the real live Harry in the mirror and got him out the same way Harry got out the Soceror's stone. Happy ending.



Reviewer: SuLily Signed Date: 2010.10.29 - 02:16PM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

Being an optimist I imagined that Luna was right about 'True Love' and Harry was pulled out and they all lived happily ever after. I love how you let us readers have our own personal opinion, I think this story is beautiful in the tragic ending as well! I thought at the beginning that the mirror was merely showing what she had wanted to see, but by the end I believe it all to be real. Thanks for the wonderful story!



Reviewer: Kronkk Signed Date: 2008.07.14 - 10:31AM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

I was ensorceled by this story from the beginning. It's so different from any other fic I've read, and I think it highlights one of the basic truths of HP; Harry is a lucky sob. All those times he almost died and escaped by the skin of his nose are mind-boggling.

As for the ending, while I'd like it if Harry was pulled from the mirror, I find it just as likely that Gin was pulled in herself. In fact I think the second possibility fits more with the melancholy tone of the story.

In any case, kudos. This story was a masterpiece of intrigue and surreality.



Reviewer: hpnopart Signed Date: 2008.06.27 - 02:33AM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

Brilliant! I do like this format.
We all live in our dreams, our "reality". There is no absolute answer to what happened but I think Luna and Ginny both live in their own
world. They percieve things differently, maybe it was all in their heads.



Reviewer: NotACat Signed Date: 2008.06.11 - 08:38AM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstar

Well, I firmly believe that Ginny manages to hoick Harry out of the mirror. Luna nailed it dead on.

As for why DD couldn't see him, nor the others, they didn't have the required desperation to overcome the enchantments. I'm thinking that Tom managed to stuff Harry into the mirror like DD did the Stone originally, and only Ginny's "true love" was sufficiently powerful to override the programming ;-)



Reviewer: Chunky Signed Date: 2008.05.30 - 10:01PM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

Bittersweet... very much so. Several ways this could be taken indeed. Let's list it, from 'Wacky theory my mind spewed out after a dozen pints' to 'That's it to me' in that order... I think XD

1) Not Harry... Tom. He's GOOD this time. And not good good, but competent good. What better way to take over a mind but utter desparation? He creates a mirage of her life to make it as dark as possible and offers himself as the beacon of light... not nice, not likely, but possible.

2) She went bonkers. All in her head. If her childhood crush were strong enough, it MIGHT make her mind snap at the thought of him beeing that. That would require Harry beeing the very center of her world. And not just 'Yeah I love him' but really EVERYTHING she is about. THEN her mind would protect her by creating a world where he is alive - all in her head. Really convenient, but sort of sad...

3) All as written word per word, he got free in the end and they kick Voldemort back home and little bunnys hop around in the sunlight... yeah right.

4) see 3), BUT he's NOT free. In fact, I don't think that would be possible with Ginny's mindset. She is lonely. And here she has him: Her personal knight in armor, all to herself, no one can see him, no one belives he is still out there. And she LIKES it that way. She is reluctant to show the 'Harrybook' to Ron and Hermione, because it would mean to share him. She's not really willing to do that. Therefore, the mirror would make her wishes come true: She'd be able to hold him and let him cry on her shoulder, and have him all to herself - by pulling her into the mirror too. That's what I read out of it.

--Chunky



Reviewer: jk_salmeier Anonymous Date: 2008.05.18 - 02:49AM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

What do I think? Pretty dangerous question huh? ;-) You've written this story in a way that presents two possibilities:
1) Its all in Ginny's head, the book, the Mirror, Harry. Given her childhood fascination with him and the fact that it was her "dream" to meet him would support that theory. However, I think its too easy to think its all in her head and for the sake of her 11 year old sanity (and mine) I'd like to think it was actually Harry writing back to her.
2) Luna's wacky theory about the Mirror was actually correct and Ginny being Harry's true love is therefore able to set him free from the Mirror. This would support why only she could see his writing and him in the mirror.

I believe because she longed for and wanted nothing more than to comfort him, she pulled him out of the mirror. Also, because she wanted to solve the mystery of what happened to Harry that night I think that would explain why only she could see him and his writing, but that may seem like an obvious answer too.

Are all the dream sequences (including the childhood exchanges) Ron's? I think they are.

I love the imagery in Ron's dream. At first I thought it was the chess game, but the second sequence makes it seem like Ron actually saw what happened between Harry and LV.

Anyway sorry for the rambling, but you asked what I thought. This story was very well written. You certainly captured the angst. Well done.
love jk_salmeier



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2008.05.06 - 11:39AM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

Your ending was masterful. As I mentioned in my earlier review, I love a story that draws me in the way this one did. What happened there with Ginny and Harry? I can think of a few possibilities and I prefer to have them as opposed to a definitive answer. I think that the most important indicator of what I believe to be the more accurate was actually Hedwig's continued presence at the castle. What did I think the end was? I agreed with Luna. An excellent tale; thank you very much. Eric B.



Reviewer: fieryred Signed Date: 2008.05.02 - 08:45PM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

When Ginny first found Harry in the Mirror, she was wanting to solve the mystery, find out what happened to Harry - which she did by finding him in the mirror.. Then she wants desperately to help him - and he can get the book to her, so he can communicate with her, and she can help him.. At the end, much as Dumbledore wants to find Harry, he does not have the same overwhelming focus that Ginny has, or 100% conviction - it's more a hope. With the others gone, and Harry broken, Ginny wants 'nothing more than to be able to comfort him–to be able to hold him in her arms and rub his back as he cried onto her shoulder–to be able to speak to him, aloud, to tell him everything would be all right..' - something she wants with all her heart, because she loves him. Hence the final sentence 'And then, it was.' He is out of the mirror, and in her arms, ... and everything IS all right.
(So there was truth in Luna's ramblings, because it was because of her true love for Harry that Ginny was ultimately able to save him from the Mirror.)
Well, that's my take on it - anywhere near yours?



Reviewer: elaithin Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 04:06PM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

Wow. That's... that's a very incredible story, really. And it's the last four words that bring it all home. Very, very wonderfully done. I love seeing such creative interpretations of the challenge requirements - so good luck! - Patrick



Reviewer: gejufan Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 03:00AM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Dianne Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 05:28PM Title: PART TWO

'the sky was grey but the world was crimson' That blew me away! Wow! Ron not talking all summer was heartbreaking. The concept that someone's reflections in a mirror could be all used up, was sheer genius. Nice concept there. Your Luna was very well done. I really enjoyed this!



Reviewer: Fearlessvenom1 Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 12:34AM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

i really liked the ending, the best of the lot.



Reviewer: rushiruhua Signed Date: 2008.04.29 - 11:51PM Title: PART TWO

I assume, that just when Harry (in the books) got the stone out of the mirror because all he wanted was to find it, that because what Ginny wanted most was to get Harry out of the mirror- she did. Of course, this means we also have to assume that Dumbledore, Ron, and Hermione didn't want to get Harry out of the mirror as much as they wanted something else. In Dumledore's case, woolen socks a.k.a Ariana.



Reviewer: friendsofhagrid Signed Date: 2008.04.28 - 10:03PM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

I think this was a wonderful story. Could you please do a sequel?? An AU story, with what happened after Harry fell out of the mirror into Ginny's waiting arms



Reviewer: lilyevans_Jan30 Signed Date: 2008.04.28 - 06:22PM Title: PART TWO

Aha Zap! I think you got it! I was frustrated that DD could not get Harry out of the Mirror by wanting it enough, but maybe it was for Ginny to do alone. Although I am still disappointed with DD's attitude, but I guess it was necessary for the story. So, are we right?

Author's Response: That is certainly one possibility.



Reviewer: Zapatorf Signed Date: 2008.04.28 - 03:54PM Title: PART TWO

Please, forgive my earlier review. After going and thinking about it for a few minutes, I pieced it together. Ginny wanted nothing more than to free Harry, once she saw him in despair. She wanted him to know that everything would be alright, and to comfort him. And, as was her heart's desire, she freed him. True love, like Luna said. It took me a bit to get there, but I did.



Reviewer: Zapatorf Signed Date: 2008.04.28 - 03:48PM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarstar

Damn you. *Goes off to collect himself*
Sorry, I didn't mean that.
Excuse my language, but how could you leave us with that last sentence? Those few words open up vast possibilities as to what happened next, anything from Ginny getting transported into the mirror to Harry coming out of it. How can everything be all right with the world if Harry's heartbroken and stuck inside a mirror, and Ginny's unable to do anything about it?
Ugh, if you don't answer... I'll be really mad.



Reviewer: lilyevans_Jan30 Signed Date: 2008.04.28 - 11:49AM Title: PART TWO

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Wow. Heartbreaking, and a totally unexpected ending. I can't see Dumbledore giving up that easily, not if Ginny is begging him to see what she is seeing. But I read the story to mean that as soon as he sees the Mirror, Dumbledore believes that Ginny is seeing nothing more than her old wish and crush to be with Harry, and that if he was truly stuck in the Mirror, Dumbledore would be able to see him too. And yet, this ending also tells me that Dumbledore's heart's desire for socks is greater than his desire to find Harry again? This I find hard to believe. Even if we accept for a moment that he really saw Arianna and his family in the Mirror (as we learn about in DH), and they are his true heart's desire (and he is making it up about the socks), we also know that at certain times, the Mirror can act to actually corporeally produce an object, as it did with the Sorcerer's Stone. If DD wanted to find Harry badly enough, it seems to me the Mirror could have produced him. And yet it didn't so DD is presuming that Harry is really and truly gone. Does this make sense? My thoughts get kind of circular here. I wish we could see a bit more of DD's thought process - why did he disregard Ginny so quickly? That is the most frustrating part for me.

I would love to see a continuation of this, particularly to understand Ron's view of what is going on, and how he himself ended up in the Mirror.

Very good job, and a lot to think about.

Lilyevans_Jan30




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Grey Media Internet Services. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear