Search:

SIYE Time:14:02 on 21st July 2024
SIYE Login: no


Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2010.09.19 - 12:41PM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

starstarstarstar

Ever upwards.

Author's Response: You are a brave soul to tackle everything I've posted, and in order as well. Thanks for the effort--Eric B.



Reviewer: bookish327 Signed Date: 2008.05.28 - 09:13PM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

starstarstarstarstar

As always, you crack me up. Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2008.05.09 - 01:35AM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

Judged for competition.



And so I just finished reading your other entry here. Well, this was definitely "something completely different" from your other entry, despite it taking place at the same time.



Like your other reviewers, I was wondering about the start, too, until I realized that it was just Ginny making the original story sound more dramatic and romantic. I wonder whether she was writing this all in her diary -- you know, the one Voldemort made into a Horcrux.



Well, apparently not, since Spenser was able to edit it five years later. So little Lily Luna has first crush on a boy -- ooooh, I wonder who it might be... (unless you already told us who it is in one of your many other stories).



Humphrey Bogart was a bit, um, unexpected. Oh, and I loved that line, "and a Harry Potter lexicon–one that is actually authorized by his nice biographer?” -- an obvious reference to the current controversy regarding the HP Lexicon website and proposed book. LOL!



Great job as always, and good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: I've actually been accused of trying to make this a sideways angst story. It is indeed Ginny pouring her heart and fantasies into her old journal, which she eventually replaces with Tom's version. I relied heavily on my own children and what they suggested an eleven-year-old would write (my son Nicholas is into swordplay and my daughter 'Loony' loves princesses).

As for Bogie--he was a Muggle romantic lead (with Bacall his real life love as well), old enough that the Weasley family might know who he was, and of course there is the inevitable reference to the Bat Bogey Hex. I'm glad that you enjoyed it, and thank you for reading. Eric



Reviewer: Dianne Signed Date: 2008.05.02 - 01:33PM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

Okay, I have to. You know I do ... Shirley not! Harry can't complain about good old Spam! Spam, Spam Spam Spam Spam, lovely Spam, wonderful Spam! Heee, I about died when Percy was on the ground and I expected him to say that it was only a flesh wound! I have to give you credit for Humphrey Bogart filling the role as Harry's confidant for the challenge requirement. I always enjoy your stories! Thanks so much for this, it made me smile.

Author's Response: Who is to say that Ginny hadn't seen their performances? Sir Nicholas may have been the one to suggest the series. Actually, the scene with Percy was inspired by an old scene from 'Get Smart'...the series not the movie. It still fits well into the motif that she suggests. I've wanted to have Bogie as a guest star for some time. No, not to make use of Ginny's Bat Bogey Hex--he's immune. The whole point is that Ginny is just jotting things down in her journal without obvious rhyme or reason. She's hurting and finding relief in humor. I'm glad that you enjoyed this little story. The more I read it, the proud I am of what my children and I produced. Thank you for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: elaithin Signed Date: 2008.04.30 - 11:36PM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

starstarstarstarstar

Ahahahahahhhaahahhhaaaaaa!

- Patrick

Author's Response: I take it that you enjoyed it. Please don't hurt yourself. Thanks for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2008.04.26 - 01:48AM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

starstarstarstar

So....how did it feel, channelling the romantic fantasies of an 11 year old girl? **smirk** You did it surprisingly well. I was a bit confused in the begining, but the outrageous dialogue quickly clued me in. A bit bizarre, even from you....but great fun as always!

Author's Response: I really do need to go back and credit my twelve-year-old son for both inspiring and assisting me with this one. Nicholas has been silly with one or two crushes so far, and I can actually remember my first as well. I can imagine my reaction if someone wrote about it this way so I could share the experience with my son. Now I get to worry about my daughter Loony (Jennifer) when she discovers boys. Talk about 'mischief managed!' Thank you very much for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: Broom Rider Signed Date: 2008.04.25 - 01:52PM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

starstarstarstarstar

Oh I am soooo mad!!! I laughed so hard when I was reading this that I sprayed orange juice all over my schoolwork! Why don't you warn us when you are writing something so funny! I loved it, especially how you worked Lily into the end. Are the notes you include spaced through the thing Ginny's or Spencer's? I don't believe it. My sister is choking on her coffee reading a copy of it now. You're dangerous.

Author's Response: I do advise people not to eat or drink before or during the reading process. You tend to hurt yourself groaning so much at the crazy puns. The notes may be from Ginny when she first wrote it, or from Spenser when he is cleaning it up for her. The reader can decide. I'm glad you liked it---and sorry about the homework. Eric B.



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2008.04.24 - 02:09PM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

Funny, funny, funny!!!
Although, you're missing your obligatory reference to Oregon...

Author's Response: This was Ginny's story brought before Spenser to clean, arrange, and to try to prevent the diabetic readers from fleeing. It really was written in Oregon, but we are busy at the moment battling demonic grunger worms chasing our tabby cats down the street. My daughter Loony (Jennifer) is enjoying our work today, and giggling that her dad actually does this for SIYE. Thank you for reading! Eric B.



Reviewer: Defender Signed Date: 2008.04.24 - 08:46AM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

starstarstarstarstar

Very fun, but confusing to read...I understand the reason why it was written that way though, so my rating is still high. I have a 6 year old girl and this story scares me to think what my little girl will be writing in her diary. AHHHGG!

Author's Response: Exactly! It was meant to be a tad bit confusing. These were the tearful ramblings of a very hurt, lovesick little girl. In her mind her crush is true love. Her brothers are very mean to be picking on her one minute and intensely overprotective the next. Her parents are happy to have the house to themselves finally. She’s really pouring herself into that journal, which in fact is a strong basis for ‘Chamber of Secrets’. Feeling the same way, but then with Tom Riddle’s magical diary, Ginny continues to find solace in her scribbling. With this story I simply handed it off to Beta Reader Spenser to polish it enough so we could read it. Thank you very much for reading. Eric B.



Reviewer: lilyevans_Jan30 Signed Date: 2008.04.23 - 08:36PM Title: And Now For Something Completely Different

starstarstarstarstar

It has been a long time since I have read a fanfic story that made me laugh out loud. This did. Just brilliant, particularly since I have the feeling you wrote this kind of on the fly after finishing your first story. That is all I have to say, although you did inspire me to try writing a second story myself. I was going for humor, since there didn't seem to be any really funny entries yet, but now there is no way I can compete. Oh well, the story is half done anyway.

-lilyevans_Jan30

Author's Response: I got the idea for this about a week ago after helping my twelve-year-old with his own writing homework. I asked myself how one of the kids in the Challenge story would have presented it. Ginny, being the one with the crush was the obvious choice. The girl is hurting and just jotting down her lost dreams of Harry (and her frustrations with her brothers obviously).

This was actually a very time-consuming project. I did a fair bit of ridiculous role-playing with my young children trying to determine what they might say if they were being silly--sillier. I added Spenser's running edit after seeing how I was reverting to a more adult style. The character's working with Ginny's journal story made it a bit of a composite. Their sharing it with Ginny's own crush-enveloped daughter was just the right final touch I thought. I'm glad that you enjoyed it, and thank you for reading. Eric B.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Grey Media Internet Services. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear