Search:

SIYE Time:14:31 on 21st July 2024
SIYE Login: no


Reviewer: FluffyNargles Signed Date: 2014.04.07 - 11:30PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Lol 😂 I laughed so hard when Lockhart turns out to be awesome! Nice job, and here's to hoping youll conintue on with your fantabulous idea! 👍



Reviewer: Senator of Sorcery Signed Date: 2012.07.07 - 05:02PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarstar

This obviously warrents a sequel!!!!!!! Get started, dude!



Reviewer: Mistress of Potions Signed Date: 2012.01.11 - 10:43PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstar

Whoa, that was out of left field! And well done, at that.



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2011.09.02 - 11:06PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: wanda Signed Date: 2010.12.02 - 09:30PM Title: Detention in Defense

please continue the story, this is such a novel and interesting idea... i would love to read what happens further



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2010.11.01 - 08:16AM Title: Detention in Defense

Very entertaining little story, with (as others have said) some great potential to expand into a longer series. I hope you can develop the idea into a longer format!



Reviewer: Prof McGonagall Signed Date: 2010.08.16 - 03:59AM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarstar

I hope you will continue this story and not leave it as a one-shot! It has too much potential!!!



Reviewer: jediprankster Signed Date: 2009.03.20 - 03:59AM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This plot bunny needs feeding. Brilliant! I felt as though I had been given a fantastically tasty appetizer, only to be told that was the whole meal, there is no more. Flesh it out a bit more, and you've got the perfect prologue. I hope you do pick this bunny back up when you finish your current project.



Reviewer: mutualunderstanding Signed Date: 2008.08.31 - 11:20PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstar

This was really cute and well written.
My favorite part:
"Nice to meet you Harry Potter. Ginevra and I were just talking about having sex with you.”
Gotta love Luna.

Julie



Reviewer: hgromance Signed Date: 2008.08.23 - 10:24PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstar

Very interesting. I would love to see this made in to a mult-chaptered story.



Reviewer: NotACat Signed Date: 2008.07.16 - 06:58AM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstar

/me sits down suddenly on the floor, boggling

That ... is ... just ... mind-blowing.

I read this ... read it again ... went back and checked ... confirmed that I was right the first time.

So now, you realise, you're going to have to write the rest of it. Because I'm going to be conjuring up bean-bags and pop-corn for everyone who's going to be camped here waiting for the next chapter...

Only one tiny little niggle: the "mention" of the "last team" could be made less subtle without significant harm. I had to scan through very carefully before I could even make a guess as to where it occurs. Even now, I'm only half-confident it's when Lockhart refers to them as potentially "the most effective Unspeakable team in over a decade".



Reviewer: harrypotterspirit Signed Date: 2008.06.07 - 08:22PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstar

This is a very interesting concept. Using Lockhart would certainly throw anyones suspicions. Shall look forward to the next installment.



Reviewer: Lesa Signed Date: 2008.05.25 - 10:32PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarstar

The first story where I actually like Lockhart! Great job in completely reversing the idea of a man I'd grown to love to hate. Brilliantly done, sarcastically ironic and humorous. Amazing work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words and for taking the time to review Unfortunately, the piece didn't fare well in competition (it came in nearly last), as it was not what the judges were looking for. But I'm glad it's given some enjoyment nonetheless. Best wishes, -Brian



Reviewer: lunaginevrapadfoot Signed Date: 2008.05.22 - 04:42AM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarstar

Oh my freaking gosh. I totally love this story and find it highly amusing that Lockhart is an Unspeakable. I laughed so hard I nearly cried. I hope that you continue on with this little one-shot. It would be so perfect!!!!
I hope to hear more from you!



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2008.05.11 - 07:09PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Judged for competition.

Wow! This is definitely a different type of challenge entry. Reading so many of these entries, it's amazing how many different ideas have come up in the various stories.

We begin with Ginny and Luna having a frank discussion about Harry and sex. I suppose that in a way, the discussion is age-appropiate, as Ginny mpves from a little girl with a Harry Potter doll up towards the onset of puberty. At first, when Harry and Ginny both get detention, I was wondering why Lockhart would give them such an Umbridge-like detention.

And then everything changes completely. We find out that the whole detention thing was a setup so that Lockhart could reveal himself to be an Unspeakable. I notice how he mentions how a rotation of Defense teachers will train them. Lupin, Moody, Umbridge?

Overall, great job. I hope you'll write more! Good luck in the challenge!



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2008.05.05 - 08:10PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarstar

Phenomenal story!! I love that Lockhart was an undercover Unspeakable--I've never read a non-git Lockhart story before. I sure hope you continue this--there're so many possibilities! I'd love to see the whole "marriage" theme continue on too.



Reviewer: elaithin Signed Date: 2008.05.03 - 01:02PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarhalf-star

A very captivating beginning. Several of us seem to have taken the route of stories that could very easily become new full-length AU tales. I really hope you decide to continue with yours - your use of Lockhart is inspired. Good luck in the challenge! - Patrick

Author's Response: Thanks! And good luck to you. I confess, I didn't enter the challenge with any expectation of placing, but rather had a desire to use the opportunity to write something fun. In that sense, I've already won.... Best wishes, and thanks for the feedback! -Brian



Reviewer: sanidad Signed Date: 2008.05.02 - 01:25PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarstar

So much to like about this fic...lots of originality (Lockhart = competent?!! ), the scene between Harry and Scabbers, and the last line about Harry's parents. I have to say that I agree with everyone else: I'd love to see this fleshed out as a longer piece. Thanks for the great story!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind words! -Brian



Reviewer: Dianne Signed Date: 2008.05.02 - 01:04PM Title: Detention in Defense

Wow, so Luna sort of believes in past lives here! cool. I laughed at Gilderoy 's having told Harry and Ginny that his name translates to Indomitable Warrior in Gobbledygook, Nice story,



Reviewer: christopher Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 04:40PM Title: Detention in Defense

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent stuff, Brian. I agree with the rest of your readers -- this would make a fabulous full-length tale. Looking forward to more, most definitely.
-Christopher

Author's Response: Christopher, Thanks for the kind words! (And for the plug on the other site). This is one of two I'm considering for my next fic. Best wishes, -Brian




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Grey Media Internet Services. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear