Search:

SIYE Time:18:40 on 21st April 2021


Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2019.08.21 - 01:53PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

It took a minute to figure this out, but I liked it! Especially the title and its hidden meaning.

Author's Response: I try not to be too obvious :-) Thanks for the review! - gd



Reviewer: sunnyseaforever Signed Date: 2012.05.12 - 10:34AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

The structure of the story was quite interesting. I only noticed after reading Luna's explanation. And I must say, I enjoyed reading it from bottom to top.

Author's Response: Thanks - and that was how it was supposed to work! I'm glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: Abraxan Signed Date: 2008.09.09 - 09:07AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

What a clever story! I'm glad it was so short so it wasn't hard to go through it "both directions" to make sure I understood it! And the setafowt curse - Inspired! Well done!

Abraxan

Author's Response: I had planned a few more scenes, particularly the detention itself, but time caught me first. It\'s probably just as well; the device is really the point, and added length would merely get in the way. Thanks for the praise and the review!



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 01:26AM Title: Chapter 1

Judged for competition.

Ah, I enjoyed Louis Sachar's books when I was a child, too! It's been ages since I've read it, so I forget the particular chapter "What?" you mentioned earlier. A more well-known example of this occurred in a certain episode of "Seinfeld," in which every scene was followed by "Five minutes (or x amount of time) earlier."

The diary -- many of the other entrants have also mentioned the diary and found a way to tie it into the story. Since Dumbledore already knows about the diary, I assume that the Chamber is never opened in this AU fic.

Setafowt -- that's "two fates," of course. LOL! That's what cued me in to the true structure of this fic. Of course, JKR has a similar naming trick in Book One with the Mirror of Erised.

Good luck in the challenge -- or should I say, challenge the in luck good!

Author's Response: Another Sachar fan! You may want to re-read them; I\'m not sure I would have enjoyed them nearly as much if I had read them as a child (I read them to my own kids), or maybe I\'ve just grown more appreciative of silly satire. \"What\" was very short and made no sense when read straight; you were done by the time you realized how it was constructed. It was the beginning/ending tie-together that made it work. I probably saw the Seinfeld episode, but I don\'t remember it well. You\'re the first reviewer to mention the secret of the title; I thought I would have to bring out the Mirror of Erised as a clue :-) Weive reh trofs knaht!



Reviewer: hushpuppy22 Signed Date: 2008.05.03 - 07:59PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: Dianne Signed Date: 2008.05.02 - 12:55PM Title: Chapter 1

It was cute how Harry and Ginny both put their elbows into the butter dish. It was nice to see Harry so protective of Ginny at an early age. Nice story!

Author's Response: Harry was protective of all his friends (he rescued her from the chamber, didn\'t he?) so I think that if he and Ginny had been friends earlier, he would reacted that way. Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: ohhhdear Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 07:46PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Took me halfway through the story before I figured out the trick! LOL. Great tale :) (just a bit too short, or needs more chapters)

Author's Response: I was going for the shortest story award before I realized that I had read it incorrectly :-) Actually, a few more scenes were planned, but this challenge thing had a deadline, so... anyway, thanks for your review!



Reviewer: Kage James Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 06:11PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstar

very confusing

Author's Response: Yes, the curse can affect one that way. Thanks for reviewing!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 01:46PM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Eel soufflé? Okay why not. The thing that I liked best about this story was the way that you set us up for the ending. Luna gave it away and I never realized it until it was too late. Not only was your curse original, it was a great deal of fun. Now I have to go back and read it again. Thanks! Eric B.

Author's Response: Ah-Ha! Another caught by the curse! About that dish...The Hogwarts House Elves forbid me from saying that anything of theirs was \"off\" unless it was something that they have never nor would ever serve to innocent students. Otherwise, I can only plead temporary insanity. :-)



Reviewer: Pooky Anonymous Date: 2008.05.01 - 10:58AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Cute! I like the backwards flow. Had to read from bottom to top!

Chris (Pooky)

Author's Response: I suppose there\'s a bit of cruel satisfaction at making folks read it twice. (laughs evilly). Thanks for the review!

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: minerfan Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 10:47AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Very good I can see why Luna like reading the Quibbler backwards

Author's Response: Of course! In honesty, Luna\'s line was a ripoff from the story that inspired me to do this. Entitled simply \"What?\" - it is one of the quirky stories from \"Wayside School is Falling Down\" which is the sequel to \"Sideways Stories from Wayside School\" by Louis Sachar (also authored \"Holes\"). IMO, the series is way too full of wickedly warped humor for a children\'s tale. :-)



Reviewer: lilyevans_Jan30 Signed Date: 2008.05.01 - 10:32AM Title: Chapter 1

starstarstarstarstar

Ha ha ha! I had actually considered writing my challenge entry backwards as well - but I got confused after about two minutes of trying to sort it all out. This was very clever and very funny - I was in the middle before I realized what was going on - that is hard to do. Good job and good luck!

Lilyevans_Jan30

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Your experience was exactly the effect I was after. I\'m glad you also appreciate the challenge of trying to create something that can actually be read both ways. Good luck with your entry as well.




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear