Search:

SIYE Time:18:42 on 21st April 2021

Reviews For Shoes

Reviewer: Senator of Sorcery Signed Date: 2013.11.17 - 06:05PM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: _kb_ Signed Date: 2008.08.05 - 10:35PM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I assume the theme was Harry figuring out relationships, and that Ginny actions, words, body language were all to get him to say the last line (I choose you)? Cute story, although I'm afraid you did fail in 1 regard: you used humor. :-) It wasn't pranks or slapstick or anything major, so maybe that makes it OK. You did a good job of making them seem more grown up or older here. It's not much, but they "feel" older than in "Socks". Hmm, I don't know, it's sorta growing on me the more I think about it. Definitely not my favorite of yours, but still a nice read. Kevin

Author's Response: I\'m glad you enjoyed it. I agree it\'s not a favorite, but there\'s a message buried in there somewhere. You\'re close with Harry figuring things out, but it\'s a bit more focused. I\'m not sure it \'s fully discernible, really, but that\'s life. They should feel older, more mature, and more stable. That leads to the introspection over what was before, and what that might mean in life overall, as well as what\'s to come . . . Heh, heh. Cheers.



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2008.05.19 - 10:45AM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstar

Hmm, interesting sequel to Socks. It seems to lack a little bit of the "finished" feel of Socks--I'm left more up-in-the-air about the ending to this, and would probably prefer more of a closure-type scene, to really get to find out what Harry means by his last statement--Was it a statement of intent? was it a quasi-proposal? was it just Harry trying to avoid having to make a decision about fashion? Anyway, still very enjoyable.


Author's Response: I can understand your reaction, and definitely don\'t fault you for it. There was a theme that I was tasked with capturing, a key idea, and I\'d like to think I hit it. At the same time, I was restricted to exploring that idea in \"fluff\" only, so it rather limited how far I could run with things. I\'ll have to think about whether I can add another scene in the future, to clarify the ending a bit. While I do like open interpretations, this one was pretty fuzzy. Thanks for the review and sharing your thoughts. Cheers.



Reviewer: Ima Quidditch Fan Signed Date: 2008.05.16 - 12:27AM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarstar

success

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing.



Reviewer: calgary Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 09:24PM Title: Shoes

I hate fluff, so if there was any fluff in this, it was with Ron, daydreaming over Hermoine's picture. As they don't have any time to daydream, Harry and Ginny look at their relationship instead, small steps at a time. So like the shoes & socks, they'll be fine, and will always be there for each other. I always preferred this realtionship over Ron/Hr. They don't see each other through rose tinted glasses, They stay refreshingly cynical and hopeful at the same time. Heck, I think most people should get to try going through lilfe like that. .

As always, when yu write something you have something to say. Keep doing that and people will keep reading you.

Author's Response: You\'re one of the ones that pointed out how this may be light in tone, but it\'s not fluff. I fear this as close as I\'ll ever get to writing fluff, so I hope you won\'t be disappointed. Based on your stated view of fluff, I suspect you\'ll be just fine! I\'m glad you found it enjoyable. Those daily choices we make do add up, in most unexpected ways. Sometimes it\'s very hard to make the right choice, but I believe it will be worth it in the end. As always, thanks for reviewing. I enjoy reading your thoughts.



Reviewer: choco1 Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 07:11PM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: choco1 Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 07:10PM Title: Shoes

No drama, death, violence, parody - check. Your work always has a sharp underlying humour, but nothing overt (you can't help it if your'e clever) - check. However, I can't call it fluff, although it is lighthearted. "I choose you...not your shoes." After 14 years of happy marriage, I can tell you that making this choice everyday is serious business. I hope you write the great american novel someday, I never regret reading and re-reading your work.

Author's Response: Your point is well made. I probably did fail the fluff test if you define it the way most people do. That was part of the challenge -- could I write the theme (did you discern the theme?) and make it fluff? This is probably as close as I can come to fluff. I\'m not sure if that\'s good or bad, but . . . at least I have a metric for measuring myself against in the future. Thanks for reading and reviewing. And if you\'re not aware, you can catch some other work of mine on MetaFic (see my author page), and in a few days, Echoes of Power will start posting again here (and there). Cheers.



Reviewer: GREYWOLF Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 03:03PM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarstar

Inumeral small choices become our fates. Wisdom is in recognizing this subtle fact of life. Well done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words and reviewing.



Reviewer: NotACat Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 10:47AM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstar

That is so sweet. It's not an angle that most writers seem to catch onto, that Harry might have been so damaged by his years at the Dursleys. I like the idea of Ginny embarking on a long-term therapy regime for him ;-)

Author's Response: Ginny being long-term therapy for Harry? Now that sparks a bunny or three. Didn\'t someone write a piece about her therapy sessions once? Hmm. I may have to steal this idea that you\'ve presented me with. At any rate, glad you found it enjoyable. Did you find the purpose of the piece? Or were you unsure when you reached the end? Cheers.



Reviewer: Zapatorf Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 09:48AM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarstar

Once again, I feel there is no way to top Pooky's review. So, on that note, I'll just give you your stars, let you know I really enjoyed this, and be on my way.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, even if you felt you couldn\'t top Pooky. When he wants to be, he\'s quite the clever fellow. Glad you enjoyed it. Cheers.



Reviewer: hms42 Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 09:40AM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Pooky Anonymous Date: 2008.05.14 - 08:51AM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarstar

I have throughly enjoyed both of these stories very much. They are exceptionally well written, but easy to read and get into all at the same time.

I don't want to appear to be a butt by trying to "drag" a deep philosophical meaning out of a piece of Harry Potter fanfiction, but nevertheless, I feel at least impelled to try since you issued the challenge of trying to decipher the "theme" behind these works.

I think one of the overarching themes of this story is choices. In fact, choice lie at the heart of not only this story, but of all human life. The ability to make choices is in reality one of the defining characteristics of being a human being. It is our ability to rationally think (even though we don't always do it) and then to freely choose how to act on those rational thoughts that sets us apart from every other creature in the physical universe. And an even more important fact to be aware of is that all of our choices, be they "big" in the grand scheme of things or "insignificant," carry a moral quality and help to shape the individuals that we are and become.

One point that JKR brought up in the HP series that I totally agree with is the idea that it is truly "our choices, far more than our abilities, that determines who we are." Our choices, be they great or mundune, all go into shaping us into the people that we are at any particular moment. The riddle of Tom Riddle is in many ways not that difficult to solve, but difficult at the same time. Tom was not born being Voldemort, he shaped himself and "chose" his way into becoming Voldemort. All of his actions and choices, from the time he could engage in rational thought until the day he was defeated in Hogwarts's Great Hall, shaped him, molded him, and confirmed him in becoming and being the person known as Voldemort. The only true "riddle" to solve in his regard would be trying to flesh out the motivations behind why he made the decisions that he did. Those motivations are not as simple as the fact that he grew up in an orphanage or had terrible parents. Those external factors had a part to play no doubt, but can not carry the sole "burden" of responsibility in why Tom Marvolo Riddle became Moldyworts.

The same is true of Harry. Harry did not become the "Chosen One" and the victor over Voldyshorts because of the prophecy. Harry became those things because of the choices that he made. Harry chose to stand up, throughout his years at Hogwarts, against the evil of Tom and his Death Munchers. It was his choices, some of them "good" some of them "bad," that shaped Harry into the man that he became by the time JKR dropped the curtain on the HP series proper.

The same is going to be true of Harry/Ginny. Relationships, like people, are forged in the crucible of choices, and that is true of any relationship, be it parent/child, mentor/student, friendship, lover/lover, and spousal ones. Grand gestures and "romantic" moments are the icing, the spark of the last two I mentioned. However, it is the everyday, small, "ungrand" choices that are the real meat of these types of relationships. In my opinion, the reason that so many of these relationships fail in real life is because the lovers "fail" in these everyday, "ungrand" choices. This "failure" either prevents the construction of a firm foundation or erodes the one that is present. It is always easy to see why when a third party sweeps in with the "fluffy" icing of their grand gestures one of the lovers is swayed away and leaves. The problem is that if in that new relationship the everyday, "ungrand" choices are ignored as well, then the next grand gesture producer who comes along will generate the same response.

Harry and Ginny are right in this story. "Eternal" love, life long love, is made everyday, every choice. It is not simply a decleration that is made once, at a wedding or on the day of the beginning of the romance, but a consciously chosen reality that both individuals have to pour their hearts and souls into. It is true the people chance, and as they do so will their relationships. One would hope that the relationship Harry/Ginny have now will be much different than the one they have on the day the die. Hopefully, after a life time of everyday, "ungrand" choices, their relationship will be more powerful, more life giving, more filled "with" sunshine than it was on this day they went shopping.

Harry is on the right track. That simple gesture of buying Ginny socks, of getting her a trunk specifically for them, and of humoring her while she shops for shoes are decisions and choices that eternal love is really based on. Harry, I don't think you are as clueless as you imagine yourself to be.

An excellent story, Josh. I don't know if you intended any of these things in the writing of this story, but these are thoughts and observations that come to me/strike me as I read this simple work.

Keep up the great work and I look forward to more of your stories in the future!

Chris (Pooky)

Author's Response: Hey Chris, since you waited so long and so patiently, I\'ll reward you with the answer I\'ve been putting off explaining to anyone. I do appreciate your thoughts, and agree with some of the key observations: choice is a very powerful thing, and the ramifications of choice are beyond human comprehension. We may see short term effects, or anticipate major movements, but that does not translate to understanding even a majority of such. The re-affirmation of choices made before are a testament to who we are, and who we wish to be. Sure, we all fail from time to time, but the fundamental aspect of our lives is that we are bombarded every second with countless choices. Every choice made will have an impact, large or small, on our lives and the lives of others. So I agree fully there. But in terms of the theme here, the challenge setup (without giving it all away) was to focus on the moment of transition from adolescent understanding to adult understanding. Shoes, I hope, captures that moment. I felt I couldn\'t do it proper justice in a one-shot like this, though, unless there was a common point of reference to compare the two time periods. In order to see the result of choices and the changes they have brought, introspection and reflection to a previous baseline are required. So, did it work? I don\'t know. I hope so. I hope people could see that in this piece, but it\'s hard to tell from the reviews. At any rate, thanks for the great review of thoughts and ideas. I appreciate it. And now that you\'ve finished your degree program, when are you going back to your story, eh? Cheers.

[Respond: In Review]


Reviewer: Professor_Chris Signed Date: 2008.05.14 - 08:42AM Title: Shoes

starstarstarstarstar

Very good

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear