Search:

SIYE Time:19:47 on 21st April 2021


Reviewer: MySweetNothings Signed Date: 2009.07.20 - 07:25PM Title: What the World Needs Now

Can I be angry? The bullet points, while admittedly quite hilarious, were a total cop out. There's no way you're done. I'll cry. Cry I say! However, the many references to Back to the Future, Hitchhikers Guide, and a number of other things that I recognize but don't quite remember, were also hilarious. Please continue this story. Ending it like this was downright cruel.

Author's Response: Yeah, you can be angry - how do you think Harry feels? If you want a continuation, sorry, that\'s the punch line, end of story. However, if your concern is for the bits between the bullets, I could say that I was too lazy to write another 8-10 thousand words, or that it would be too long, or that there were some logistics I just hadn\'t worked out, or that I just wanted to get it posted, and any of those would have some of the truth. But you pointed out what made up my mind - the imagination can fill in the bits well enough to make it humerous in its own way, and potentially more than if it was all written out. Consider it a plot device :-) Now, you did identify two of my sources, and even though they were two of the more easily recognized, I grant 15 points apiece, and for being the first to review all three chapters, I\'ll toss in another 15 - 45 total house points for you. Great work!



Reviewer: MySweetNothings Signed Date: 2009.07.20 - 07:12PM Title: Come Together

Still frigging hilarious. Full review to come with the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks again!



Reviewer: MySweetNothings Signed Date: 2009.07.20 - 05:38PM Title: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

A good number of laugh out loud moments. Loving this. Still have two chaps to read, we'll see how it goes.

Author's Response: Thanks - glad you liked it!



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2009.07.15 - 11:09PM Title: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

starstarstarstarstar

OK, after what you wrote, I decided to double check the rules again:

"3. Multiple chapters are allowed as long as all the requirements are in the chapter(s) that are submitted by the deadline."

And so you're right. The fic doesn't have to be completed, as long as you fulfill all the requirements before the deadline.

And so I apologize for giving you the low score. To make up for it, I give you a 10/10 here, so that my real score to you averages out to 7/10, which is more representative of the score you deserve. Also, I gave you a vote in one of the categories. Too bad that you didn't win.

But you're not off the hook as far as finishing the fic is concerned. I still look forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the additional response, and if I don\'t get the rest of it posted in the next few days I give you permission to come back and give me a Troll, how\'s that? I appreciate the condolences, but I knew that I could not really begin to compete without at least the second chapter posted. As it is, I\'m surprised to get a vote for anything, so thanks for that as well!



Reviewer: Jim McGuffin Signed Date: 2009.07.14 - 02:04PM Title: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

Judged for competition.

Well, this fic is good so far. Voldemort actually reading directly off the Evil Overlord list was quite hilarious, and Harry splitting into pieces -- a bit unexpected, but the point of the prophecy is that it's difficult to vanquish him, not even by dismemberment.

But I'm disappointed for the second straight challenge, you weren't able to finish the fic before the challenge deadline. I only rated this fic 4/10, not because it's bad, but because I feel that you could do better in terms of planning your fic to be completed in time.

Tomorrow, after the results are revealed, the category will be opened up again, and you'll be able to post the next chapter. I look forward to seeing how "Dr. Xenophilius" will play a role in all of this!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Jim, and I agree with your comments, except that my last challenge entry _was_ complete in the requirements of the challenge, just not the entire story, which I am still working on as I get time. I assume your rating is my punishment for not meeting the requirements for _this_ challenge by the deadline, and I accept that. It is a challenge, after all, and if that logic is applied consistently to all entrants, I have no problem with it. Regardless, I hope you come back and give the rest of the fic a review based on its own merits, rather than the failings of the bumbling author who knows better than to try writing for a living. The story took a while to gel in my mind (it\'s really think in there), and I had seriously considered not submitting at all, but I felt the fic was worth doing even if I couldn\'t get it done by the challenge deadline. I hope at least a few readers will agree :-)



Reviewer: pippan121 Signed Date: 2009.07.13 - 11:11AM Title: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

Are you going to finish it? Because I really want to know what happens

Author's Response: I appreciate your interest - yes, I\'m pretty far along with it, and if you are familiar with the movie Dr Strangelove, you might be able to guess at least one thing that happens - hint: it\'s sort of cataclysmic...



Reviewer: Yunchao Signed Date: 2009.07.12 - 07:01PM Title: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

Good story. It was very funny and I liked Voldy's comment at the end. I've just read it for judging. Thanks for writing!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2009.07.10 - 03:24PM Title: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

starstarstarstarhalf-star

You have a nice flow of words with this story, and I especially thought your opening was well-written, and very descriptive. Your puns were groaners, which was exactly the goal. The best tool was of course your utilization of the list. I was amazed at how obvious, applicable and utterly ignored they were in any number of situations, not just in the Harry Potter epic. I was a bit confused with your ending the first time I read this, but with the second time through, I could see that you were leading us to an appropriate resolution. That is a perfect closing line. Overall, your story was very entertaining. Thanks—Eric.

Author's Response: Bumbling bad guys are just too easy, I suppose, and I wish I could say I had some meaty philosophical reason for not making my Voldy into that kind of cliche, but you caught me - I really wanted that last line to get maximum payoff. And you are spot on, Harry\'s last scene gives a huge clue to the nature of his savior - to be revealed in Ch 2, where the really big groaners and cliches take off. Yes, I\'m afraid it gets worse. Now, if I could only finish writing these blasted things before the deadlines :-)



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2009.07.02 - 02:47PM Title: Breaking Up Is Hard To Do

starstarstarstar

This story really had me laughing. I loved the punchline at the end and can just hear the groan in Voldmort's voice. Also, the fact that Harry could foil Voldemort and continue to live even though parts of his body were spread throughout the dungeons was rather amusing, especially when he told him to get used to it. I also liked the reference to Bohemian Rhapsody, Overall, nicely done.

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind words. This chapter is meant to be a tribute to those sadist fics that take the poor abused orphaned kid on to new heights, apparently with the thought JKR was too easy on him, all in the name of literature, you know. And you say you find it amusing, eh? . . . :-)




../back
‘! Go To Top ‘!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear