Search:

SIYE Time:5:37 on 29th November 2021

Reviews For Hunters and Prey

Reviewer: Bware0313 Signed Date: 2011.04.30 - 03:51AM Title: The Snare: Beater Grouses

starstarstarstarstar

I'm still a little confused about Linnys motives for wanting the split between Ginny and Harry... And they can't prosecute gred and forge for selling them the product. That would be like prosecuting olivander when someone murders with a wand he sold. That wouldn't hold up... Great chapter though!!! Excited to see this one posted!!! Update soon!!!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review
You’re still confused about Linny’s motives? Good! :-D
-N-



Reviewer: bricat Signed Date: 2011.04.17 - 01:39AM Title: Interlude: Magpies in Flight

starstarstarstarstar

I'm guessing a rather dangerous potion is responsible for this behavior: alcohol. I'm interested to see where thus is going. Great hook.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. As you'll discover, you are at least partially correct. -N-



Reviewer: bricat Signed Date: 2011.04.06 - 11:31PM Title: Introduction: Dogged Pursuit

starstarstarstarstar

Sneaky, sneaky Ron! I actually really like how you've written his transition into the joke shop business. I could see him finding the Auror business very boring. It's believable. Oh, and Ginny Weasley Action Figure! That's the best. I have a feeling I'm going to like this story as much, if not more, than Strangers at Drakeshaugh. Great work.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. JKR told us that Kingsley recruited the Harry, Ron and Neville into the Auror Office, and that Ron joined WWW and Neville became Herbology Professor. I already know when they will quit (obviously it’s after this and before Strangers at Drakeshaugh). There was a Krum action figure! In Strangers I’m keeping the action remote (out of Jacqui’s sight); consequently it is a lot more cosy than this story. -N-



Reviewer: AoiKazeToMidoriAme Signed Date: 2011.01.22 - 03:11AM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

I still really like this story, can't wait for more chapters, but I did feel this chapter could have had a bit more. More detail, and emotion maybe. Tenseness, fear, something along those lines. Harry could have died, almost did. Anyway, still a great chapter, please keep up your fantastic writting.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

I tried to crank up the tension in this chapter and I worried that I was getting bogged down in details (this is the longest chapter so far and to me It seemed to be going on forever. I was once taken to task (on HPFF) for my over-long chapters, but I will look at it again. I simply can’t stop myself from writing. I suspect that I’d be doing it even if no one liked it.
-N-



Reviewer: zeta_one Signed Date: 2011.01.17 - 12:23PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

Who would have thought "Lav-Lav" could do all that? Great chapter.

Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Lavender is certainly capable of criticising Harry\'s dress sense and comparing herself to a tragic character in a romance novel. That is what you meant, isn\'t it? :-D -N-



Reviewer: Green Eyes Signed Date: 2011.01.17 - 10:06AM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

Great chapter. Really exciting, edge-of-your-seat action. (Man, how many times has Harry been zapped by the Cruciatus?) Thanks for posting.

Author's Response: Thank you. Too many times, but no more. -N-



Reviewer: sabradan Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 11:14PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 09:07PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

something tells me ginny and harry and the crew are about to strom thr place and sent the rest back to what they should do and work out how to go from there....kutgw

Author's Response: These days, Harry has to abide by the law. -N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 09:06PM Title: Introduction: Dogged Pursuit

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: Ginny Guerra Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 08:17PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Can't wait for what comes next!

Author's Response: Well, you will see it first! -N-



Reviewer: jennkaye Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 06:43PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

Ah, the easy and unconvoluted part is over and we're back where we started. I love Lavendar in this. She has PERSONALITY! Beautifully developed secondary and original characters.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I just hope that I don’t confuse myself by trying to tell this story chronologically from now on. -N-



Reviewer: Birlan Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 04:46PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

Before your stories I had never found Lavender interesting or sympathetic. But she is both--and is still consistent with canon in her personality. You've turned her into a great character.

I appreciate what you've done with the structure here--looking back at the first interlude chapter when Harry arrives at montrose, knowing what Harry has gone through, gives some useful backstorty to his response. And I'm guessing that in the next chapter, Ginny will have heard the story we just were told--which moves things along nicely.

I'm looking forward to getting some answers to why Linney did what she did, and what it was that she did, and what the heck was meant by the comment about so-called friends who want to injure Harry-Linny or someone else. I thought the comment by Dacia to Ross to stop looking at Miss Brown's chest was great. I've enjoyed your original characters like Dacia and Fenella also. Dacia's lament that her children are so trusting about Harry being able to save them was painful to read--I can certainly imagine that they would feel that way and both Dacia and Harry know that past fame isn't a promise of future success. It resonates nicely with comments I remember Ginny making to Romilda (who is another well done mostly original character)about Harry being in just as much danger as anyone else.


Thanks again.

Author's Response:
Lavender, in the books, is an interesting character (to me anyway). In PS she defends Neville from the Slytherins and is called names for doing so. In GoF she helps round up the Skrewts. In OotP she joins the DA. Yet she believes Prof. Trelawney’s nonsense, is clingy and silly around her boyfriend and has appalling taste in jewellery. Just because she’s boy and fashion obsessed, pink, frilly and silly, it doesn’t mean that she’s useless or a bad person (I use Romilda for that).

I hope that, the way this has been written, you’ve found out what Harry has been doing at about the same time as his friends have. As you’ve guessed, the next chapter will start with Harry and company discussing what they know, and what they are going to do about it.

Linny’s motivation will be revealed soon. Ross is a young teenage boy, he is going to look, and I like to throw in the odd bit of humour, especially in such an action chapter.

Dacia is much too cynical to believe the Harry-hype. Besides, I have tried to read a few “Super Harry” stories, and I don’t like them. Personally I don’t think that being a hero should ever be easy.
Thanks for the review
-N- [Respond: In Review | Via Personal Message]



Reviewer: smokeylovegood Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 03:32PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstar

Plenty of wizards who'd like to see Harry dead - even some he counts as friends...hmmm...will we be finding out who is the real cause of Ginny getting the alcoholic pumpkin juice? Of course, now I'm racking my brain for tertiary "friends" who haven't appeared in your stories set further down the line...
Great chapter. I'm enjoying Lavender's fiestiness. I must admit, she and Cho have been two of my least favorite (on the good side, anyway) characters, as I just don't like that type of woman, but the way you write Lavender, she is growing on me a bit.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review. The real cause? You mean, you think that, after everything, it might not be Linny? Interesting (-;

In Grave Days, I had Ginny describe Lavender as “a steel fist in a frilly pink lace glove” people should always listen to Ginny. But I hope that you still sometimes want to slap some sense into her. I do.
-N-



Reviewer: freshwater Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 01:51PM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

Whew! That was a wild ride!

Loved the resolutions....finally! Your organization of the story --flitting back and forth in time and place-- and the multiple storylines, has been confusing for me, but the uniqueness of the story and the quality of the writing has made it very worthwhile. Eagerly looking forward to more story from you!

Author's Response:
Thank you.

I wanted (possibly even needed) to present you with information in a certain order. Ginny’s behaviour in the interlude was bad, but it would have seemed so much worse had you been judging her in the knowledge of what I’d been putting Harry through. I though that it was best if you knew as little as Ginny did about what was happening.
-N-



Reviewer: cddn Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 10:16AM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

Another great chapter of a really wonderful story. But you've goofed, I'm afraid. From Chapter 18 of the Prisoner of Azkaban (UK paperback edition, page 258):

"The Potion that professor Snape has been making for me is a very recent discovery. It makes me safe, you see. As long as I take it in the week preceding the full moon, I keep my mind when I transform ... I am able to curl up in my office, a harmless wolf, and wait for the moon to wane again."

So the "new" potion apparently works just like the old one did. oops. :)

Author's Response: Oops indeed! Thanks for this. I relied too much on the lexicon for my werewolf researches. I should havee rechecked canon, too. i will fix that immediately. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 09:04AM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarhalf-star

`Ross, if you don’t stop staring at Miss Brown’s chest I will blindfold you.’

In the middle of an extremely gripping narrative, this has got to be the funniest line I have ever seen. Great chapter.

Author's Response:
Sorry about that, but he’s thirteen, perhaps Dacia should have given the lad a break.

I’m happy that you liked this. Thanks.
-N-



Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 03:54AM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

Poor Harry! He can never get a break, can he? First Cruciated, then hung and then caged... my, my, my... your imagination holds no bounds and because of the setting of the story, all this misfortune is completely believable. At least he wasn't alone in the cage and was able to do some advanced planning for what would happen before dusk. In particular, it was very brave of Amber to have hidden Harry's Invisibility Cloak and mokeskin pouch by the Stone so that he'd have it for the battle. Also, Dacia herself was quite courageous for developing the new Wolfsbane potion and taking it in the hope that it would keep Harry, Lavender, Ross and Amber safe. I realize there are a lot of ifs at the end of the chapter, but hopefully, Dacia will be able to keep the other wolves at bay and Lavender and the kids safe while Harry is gone.

I love the scene in the tent when Dacia tells Ross to stop staring at Lavender! What a treat for a teen-aged boy! I had to laugh when he was disappointed that she buttoned up Harry's shirt. Whoever wrote the article in the Prophet saying that Harry was in love with Lavender is just as bad as Rita Skeeter! He kissed her on the cheek... and it sounded like it was a thank-you kiss and nothing more! Oh, the things the public reads into things like that!

I absolutely love this chapter and give it two thumbs up for it all-over-the-map emotions that had me alternately cringing, wringing my hands and cheering.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Harry must suffer! There is simply no way around that in this story. He doesn’t get a break, or even a chance to rest. Amber’s bravery is no more than that shown by Harry, Ron and Hermione at the same age. Dacia is not above stealing potion ingredients from Harry (which makes a change from Harry stealing them from Snape).

The tent scene was fun to write. Harry can focus on the job at hand, not Lavender’s body. The Prophet article was fed to the paper by Romilda (actually, you don’t know that for certain, but terry and Neville both think that’s what happened).

Will things start to calm down now? No, not yet.
-N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 03:47AM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

The pieces are all falling into place. Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Harry is now caught up to the events in the Interlude. -N-



Reviewer: butterfly Signed Date: 2011.01.16 - 03:06AM Title: The Hunt: Tooth and Claw

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: decdraft Signed Date: 2011.01.15 - 03:51PM Title: The Snare: Legal Lizard

So glad I finally went back and starting reading this again! I quit reading after Ginny in the bar - that was sooooo not Ginny, I had a bad feeling about how the story was going to go. Which only goes to show I should have had more faith in your fabulous story telling abilities! So, I am back to reading this again - can't wait for the next chapter. And your OC characters are so great - and how you interweave plots from your other stories is incredible. Loved the reference to Hannah and Neville's New Year's Eve kiss - and finding out why Lavendar is now a werewolf. Great job! Debbie

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review

The next chapter is now here. The next will have more information about Ginny\'s behaviour. I will admit that Fenella, for one, has grown from a bit of a joke character in Grave Days to one of my favourite OC\'s I probably over use her.

I have a detailed timeline of major plot events from the Battle to the epilogue and I write my stories around it. this makes interweaving easy and actually allows me to plot stuff around events in other stories.
-N-




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear