Search:

SIYE Time:6:27 on 29th November 2021

Reviews For Hunters and Prey

Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.12.19 - 05:22PM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

Well nice to see that they are alll on the road to recovery and time to start finishing up all the loose ends and to make the world a happier place...kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks, and thanks for all of the reviews. You're the most prolific reviewer of this story. -N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2013.12.19 - 01:08AM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

starstarstarstarstar

An early Christmas present!

Author's Response: I intend to get a one-shot, and the final chapter, submitted before Christmas! -N-



Reviewer: mwinter Signed Date: 2013.12.18 - 09:30PM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

Awaiting more.

Author's Response: Soon. -N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2013.12.18 - 05:39PM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

starstarstarstarstar

I can see why there had to be another chapter after this one; there's a lot of details yet to follow up. I assume that Knott won't be arrested in this story. Will he perhaps be a Moriarty for Harry in times to come, or is that giving him too much credit?

Interestingly, yesterday I was reading a book that also had the "...third time is enemy action" line (Sassinak by Anne McCaffrey and Elizabeth Moon). I'm going to have to research the origins of that quote. It sounds vaguely familiar, but that may be from the last time I read Sassinak - ~15-20 years ago.

Sextus Sempernovem - My Latin is non-existent, so I'll have to look that up, too. Perhaps it's "eternally bright and sexy"? Nah, not right for a hospital ward, especially in the HP universe. More likely "eternally lost and blind".

The food in your penultimate paragraph (I really have wanted to use that word) is similar to a dish my mother used to make when my father would hunt yearly and our freezer was always filled with venison. Now I'll have to call her to get the recipe.

Beef stifado is a suggestive name for a food, don't you think?

Outstanding chapter as always. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response:
I have plans for Theodore and Pansy, but I’m not going to reveal them at the moment, partly because they are in flux. I’d originally intended for Theodore to have a mistress, too, but I’m starting to enjoy the Parkinson/Nott dynamic.

I wasn’t sure if anyone would spot the “third time is enemy action” quote I gave Theodore. The earliest citation I’ve found is from Auric Goldfinger, the eponymous villain of the James Bond novel.

Another good spot. A translation probably won’t help, as it’s a bad translation of three words six times nine, simply because it’s ward 42 and I’m a fan of Douglas Adams.

Food (or the lack of it) always played a big part in JKR’s novels, I’m simply following tradition. I can certainly imagine Barbara Windsor telling Sid James, ‘Ooh, I do like a Stifado.’

-N-



Reviewer: intikhabalam12 Signed Date: 2013.12.18 - 10:28AM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

starstarstarstarstar

One chapter to go, I think the loose ends are the fate of Doxine, The role of Finella, and more insight as to what was the actual objective of poisoning Ginny despite the obvious.
Anyhow, it was a very well manage story with a superb plot which contain a balance amount of thrill, suspense, Drama, romance and angst. I really enjoyed reading it just like your other piece of writings. I hope now you can focus on "Aurors and schoolgirls" and "strangers at Drakshaugh" as these two seems in their finishing stages.

Author's Response: Thanks
The reason for poisoning Ginny isn’t obvious already? I’ll have to look at that. Fenella will make an appearance in the final chapter, and hopefully the explanation of her actions will satisfy everyone. I’m hoping that the sequel will also contain suspense, drama, romance and angst.
I reckon it will take me ten chapters to finish A&S and the same number for Strangers. However this story has taught me that I sometimes underestimate. I’d like to get both finished in 2014, but I may only manage one, depending upon what the next year brings.
-N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2013.12.17 - 11:17PM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

starstarstarstarstar

And so we will have yrt another chapter in this story. Great, because it is really a brilliant story. Only today I realised how you are making your characters, particularly ginny, grow. she isn't the woman of of Epithalamium yet. she still habve some of the insecurities of Aurors and Schoolgirls. That's really well done. there are so many good things in this chapter that I can't even say. My English is not good enough.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The next chapter will definitely be the last. But I hope that it will leave you wanting more. I’m trying to make all of the characters grow (although Ron and George seem to be resisting). You’ll see the final chapter soon.
-N-



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2013.12.17 - 06:22PM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

starstarstarstarstar

Wow great chapter, of course. Like the time slip too, worked well I think. You know I love your handling of Ginny and Harry and their relationship, feels so real. I am a bit confused though, doing with Occlumency? Does that mean with mind shields up? Maybe I'm being dense but I don't get it. I get the 'doing it' silly..
waiting breathlessly for the final chapter. Then again sorry it is over. More time for A&S maybe?
Love it Neil
Tricia

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Once again the Harry/Ginny relationship takes the foreground, and Ron and Hermione deal with their issues offstage. Thanks error spot, too. I've already corrected it (phew). I will finish this story this year. Chapter 21 is 5000 words, and with my beta. I'll be looking at A&S over the holidays.
-N-



Reviewer: Heather Longbottom Signed Date: 2013.12.17 - 04:51PM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

starstarstarstarstar

Thanks for updating, this whole story is exciting and fun to read. Looking forward to the last chapter, and whatever else you have in the works.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Next (on Friday, I hope) I'll be submitting "New Year's Eve (or, Amour Tension)" a seasonal one shot set just after the events of Beard Hunters. I also hope to get the final chapter of this posted before Christmas. I want to finish one Work in Progress this year. And my resolution will be to get two more completed next year. -N-



Reviewer: Marinka Signed Date: 2013.12.17 - 04:27PM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

starstarstarstarstar

So I finally took some time and read all your stories, admittedly on ff.net as it was easier to keep the chronological Oder. It is great tale of their lives, not just Harry and Ginny but all of the DA. And reading this chapter made em think about Lavender and Mark, they could have gotten together after this operation if not for Seamus's interference, or may be not? Lavender probably needed some time to mature and accept thigs, but even then it was not easy for them.
Harry and Ginny are just exceptional couple, and this chapter shows that they meant to be together, I loved how Harry dealt with the kiss and the whole issue.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I've no problem with you reading my stories in chronological order, so long as you realise that's (rather like this story itself) not the order I'm writing them. I have several stories to finish, a couple new ones to write (there will be a sequel to this and probably to Strangers at Drakeshaugh and there is "the Vampire story" which will be a novel length Lavender/Susan/Bobbie/Mark tale,
I'm a huge Harry/Ginny fan so of course I had a lot of fun with this chapter. Thanks again.
-N-



Reviewer: Silas Signed Date: 2013.12.15 - 03:41PM Title: Aftermath: Truths and Consequences

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Yet another good one. I think the brief timeskip works rather well, as the story now does need to wind up. I particularly like how both Harry and Neville trust Luna's judgement when it comes to people, it's nice to see that they have faith in her.

One more nice thing is seeing the effect that the death of Lestrange has on Neville, it's nice to see them still being effected by having to kill someone, instead of brushing it of as if it was nothing.

You've obviously been careful to avoid giving away anymore of Aurors and Schoolgirls than you had to, which is good, I'm rather looking forward to reading it when it's done.

Kreacher's opinion of "the Molly" is pretty funny, I do hope you do a scene with the two of them in Epithalamium, just for the comedy value.

As for Occlumency while "doing it", North you cheeky man. :P Though it's certainly an idea.

Finally, I once again love how you've done with Theodore Nott, he's smart and capable but not infallible (as his slip up shows). I'd love to see him turn into a full villain in a later novel, while he's probably to smart for it I just think he's make such a brilliant adversary for the Auror Office.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

The story is definitely drawing to a close, although there were woo many loose ends to wrap up in this chapter, the next one (Finale: Friends and Foes) will definitely be the last. It's already with Amelie, so I will be marking this story complete this year! (Hurrah)

Glad you liked the Neville bit, and surprised that you spotted my vagueness about the events of Aurors and Schoolgirls. Well done. The idea of Kreacher being a bit jealous of Molly, and seeing her as a rival, will run, and who knows, you may even see a chapter of Epithalamium about it (who will bake the wedding cake?). Couldn't resist the Occlumency comment. As for Theodore, he will be back.

-N-

ps How do you review a story before the mods have approved it?



Reviewer: intikhabalam12 Signed Date: 2013.12.12 - 03:37PM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarstarstar

Good to see the almost end. Although It was just 30 sec gape but the auror took ages to reach to the crime scene. A 911 call which I had seen in the movies is quick enough than the aurors. yeah so much for the magic stuff :D.
I am looking forward for the the updates of your next wonderful stories.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
It should have been a 30 second gap, but Harry will have something to say about that in the next chapter.
I hope to submit the next chapter today. It was supposed to be the last, but what I thought would be 6,000 words had more than doubled so next, 7,800 words of "Truths and Consequences, followed (closely, I hope) by 4,800 words of "Aftermath: Friends and Foes".
-N-



Reviewer: Emlyn Signed Date: 2013.12.03 - 07:47AM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

Wow! What an incredibly action filled chapter. The pieces are starting to come together. I think you did a fantastic job of showing how people simply react and then how reality takes awhile to creep back in. Good for Harry - nice to see he has his priorities straight. Love the use of ordinary charms/spells in extra-ordinary circumstances. I'm guessing Fenella has gone after Doxine? Hasn't Robards ever heard - "You can't always get what you want…."

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The combat is over and now all that remains is for Harry and his friends to begin to pick up the pieces. One of the few "fixed points in time" I had with this story was Ron's spell. A lot of things changed from the original plan, but that stayed. You'll find out where Fenella went (and much more importantly, why) very soon.
-N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2013.12.02 - 11:40PM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarstarstar

well done!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2013.12.01 - 01:32AM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarstarstar

Wow, two chapters in the same month. Life is good. :-)

Reading this story makes me realize that there are quite a few Auror procedures that Harry will be fixing once he's in charge. Dacia certainly identified a major one while yelling at Harry. Did no one think of including a Healer, or did Robards veto the idea?

Ron used a haircutting spell. Way to think outside the box! I'm glad you don't portray him as a complete buffoon, like in a bunch of other stories. Sure he messes up with Hermione, but that's an important aspect of their relationship. Ron messes up and Hermione forgives him.

Mark meets Lavender, and saves her life, and she calls him her hero... and yet it still takes forever for them to get together. I guess Lavender takes longer to mature than Ron did. Not sure if I'm surprised by that comparison.

So, does the next chapter wrap things up, or are there a couple more. I'll bet you're itching to polish off another one of your longer stories, eh?

Author's Response:
Only just within the month, but yes. And, unless real life interferes, the next chapter will be ready before Christmas.

This has been the story of Harry's first big field assignment. Now he'll need to start making changes.

I've had the hostage scene planned out since I started this story. It was one of several "fixed points in time" as the Doctor would say. That, and one final reveal in the next chapter were always there, although certain sections (like the raid on Ginny's flat) were very different to my original plan. Ron does his best.

Lavender was (IMO) very immature when she was going out with Ron. I've made her a bit more self-aware, There are many reasons why they don't get together immediately.

The next chapter is the final chapter. In it you'll discover more about the potion being fed to Ginny, Ross's fate, what happened to Fenella (and her aunt Doxine) and I will mark this story as complete, almost a year later than I hoped.

-N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2013.11.30 - 09:33PM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarstarstar

Exciting chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you. -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2013.11.30 - 05:13PM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Glad Lestrange is dead! I was rather confused about the blue glows - is that from the incoming Portkeys? I liked the hair cutting charm freeing Amber - that is rather classic Ron. I would have to agree with Dacia - they need to have medics go with them if they are taking a huge team into the field like that. I hope Ross survives. Hope to see Harry and Ginny together in the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
The blue glows are the Portkeys; I need to clarify that.
Classic Ron! I'm really glad you think so.
Dacia is right, as Harry realises. You'll find out Ross's fate in the next chapter, which contains a lot of Harry and Ginny.
-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.11.30 - 02:39PM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

Boy they are safe but what of the cost...at lease now they are working to the end of the game....kutgw and I hope the boy makes it thought...

Author's Response: You'll find out Ross's fate soon, and also (if anyone is interested) what Fenella is doing. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.11.30 - 10:34AM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarstarhalf-star

It is good this story is nearing an ending. It is even better to be looking forward to hearing more from the rest of your wonderful universe.

Author's Response: Are you trying to tell me you'll be glad when it's finally over? :-D I certainly will. Chapter 20 (Aftermath: Truth and Consequences is now 4500 words, and it isn't finished. It will be soon. -N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2013.11.30 - 10:00AM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarstarstar

I'm defeinitely not yout typical fan. One of the reasons why I love this story is precisely its characteristics most complained about. I love the initialchapters changing from one part to the other and I love the multiple points of view of this chapter. I think it adds to the excitementand makes the action even more thrilling. Harry's idea of making a fake wand was great, perhaps it wouldn't work for his task, but it certainly was good for the pace of the story.

Author's Response: Thanks. This story has been something of an experiment. It's certainly my most experimental chaptered story (you could argue that Owl Post, with it's second-person perspective, is more experimental. However, for the sequel (Friends and Foes) I'll be returning to a more traditional linear format. Harry's idea might have worked, but he needs to think about it, and warn people. -N-



Reviewer: Silas Signed Date: 2013.11.29 - 01:16PM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

One thing I forgot to say, it's lovely to see Ron being the one to solve the problem for once. Though god knows the Auror Office could use some better in-field communications, Ron and Harry having no idea what the other one was up to could have ended in disaster.

Author's Response: Thanks again. Ron often solves the problem, usually, however, no one believes him. Better communications for the Aurors, also coming soon. -N-




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear