Search:

SIYE Time:6:38 on 29th November 2021

Reviews For Hunters and Prey

Reviewer: Silas Signed Date: 2013.11.29 - 01:13PM Title: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites

starstarstarhalf-star

Another good chapter, though a bit disjointed. It's good to finally catch up everyone to where they are and what's happening and learn small details like where Harry gets his Auror Office Healer idea from and what happened to the broom. But the jumping between joints of view is rather jarring, though that may be made worse by the way I'm reading it.

Author's Response: Thanks. This story is where Auror Office changes you see in It Takes Two, Strangers a Drakeshaugh, and other stories, begin. The point of view switches were, I think, necessary. But I may be wrong. There will be fewer in the final chapter. At the moment, I'm planning three: Harry, terry, and Theodore Nott. -N-



Reviewer: lunagranger Signed Date: 2013.11.27 - 05:55PM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstarstar

Sorry for the delay in the review, but I was away from home and didn't remember my password. Once more you write superbly. Lavender is really a smart girl that can recognize what her strengths are. I really like your version of her. I hope the final chapters come soon, but your one shots and other updates are all wonderful too.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. As you know I managed to get he penultimate chapter posted before I got the change to respond to this review. Glad you like my Lavender. -N-



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2013.11.22 - 07:42AM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstar

It was interesting to see what was going on from Lavender's point of view, I'm not entirely sure the whole sex pot thing works for her. I know she is supposed to be vain and pretty, but this sultry, sexy, overly self obsessed person doesn't really seem to fit with her actions (going after Ron, fighting in the battle). The Dacia/Doxine name similarities makes it a bit confusing at the beginning of the chapter I couldn't remember who was who. It was disappointing not to see Harry and Ginny, thought it is good to see how all of the bad guys came together and how all of that is related.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I have huge chunks of unwritten back story for Lavender (plus all of the Lavender stories I have written) which (to me at least) makes some sense of her attitudes. Perhaps she is a little overly sultry in this chapter. You're right about Doxine and Dacia, using such similar names was a big mistake on my part. I even confused myself (although I caught the error. The latest chapter is Ginny free, too. I'll try to make up for it in the final chapter. -N-



Reviewer: Meiadus Signed Date: 2013.11.17 - 05:49PM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstarstar

Aaargh I just wrote a massive review and then accidentally deleted it.
a) I made this account to finally tell you you're great (have before on Mugglenet, but that's about two years ago by now)
b) Thing with your cliffhangers is that.. [dear fellow readers, this might be a spoiler] Dacia is mentioned in Strangers, isn't she?
[end of spoiler] In your universe, you sometimes know how things are going to work out before you're supposed to. But hey, I don't mind, it's usually fun to see how things came to be.
c) If I'm mentioning Strangers anyway, I always hoped Henry was a wizard and that'd be the end of the lies but alas, that's not going to happen
d) I know my grammar's still a bit... messy (in my defence, I'm tired), but I'd like to thank you for your role in getting me to the level of English I have atm. (Harry Potter fanfiction started my obsession with English)
That's it I think. Greetingsandsuchthings

Author' s Response:
Thanks for the review.

Yes, by flicking through time I do tend to spoil some of my cliffhangers, but I hope that I still have some surprises left. Lots of people want Henry to be a wizard. As you say, that would be the end of the lies, and that’s why I decided against it. I like the tension and problems the “big secret” creates for Harry and Ginny.

I’ve seen worse grammar than yours (I’ve seen fanfiction with worse grammar than yours) so don’t worry about that. Thanks again.

-N-



Reviewer: intikhabalam12 Signed Date: 2013.11.09 - 11:09AM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstarstar

Thanx for the update. There are two things came to mind when I read the chapter. (1) I almost forgot the names and role of your updated characters and re-understand their role as I read the updated chapter. There should be a wiki of your universe ;).
2)Important chapter for the plot but no Harry/Ginny :(.
One more thing I noticed is that your updates or standalone stories normally gets 15 to 20 reviews within 24 hrs of their upload...But this chapter is updated some five days ago but the little number of reviews suggest that the readers are facing one of my two mentioned problems either no harry/ginny stuff which I think is unlikely because this chapter is important for the plot OR the readers are waiting for the completion of the story to reread the whole story as you had given the completion date and the story contains some complex plot with different characters.

Any how....nice update and waiting for your next one. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
Wiki? I don’t know about that. It sounds like a good excuse for me to do something other than write. I think if I updated a little faster, that would help
Harry (and Ron, Neville, Susan, Terry etc.) will be back in the next chapter, but you’ll have to wait until the final chapter (20) to see Harry and Ginny together again. I hope that you won’t be disappointed in what I have planned for them. I’m not sure as to why reviews have fallen. They are falling on every site, perhaps interest in Potter fanfiction is waning a little. Having said that, this is (usually) one of my least reviewed stories and the current number of reviews for this chapter (seven) equals the number of reviews for chapters 2, 3 and 7 (and the last chapter of Epithalamium), and it beats chapter five. I keep a check on these things, I probably shouldn’t.
-N-



Reviewer: potternut190 Signed Date: 2013.11.08 - 07:45PM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstarstar

Great cliffy!

Author's Response: Thanks -N-



Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed Date: 2013.11.08 - 05:36PM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstarstar

Another excellent chapter! You are doing such a beautiful job of tying this all together ... leaving few, if any, loose ends. Thank you for sharing all of your carefully plotted and intricately executed stories!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I had expected this to be 19 chapters, it will definitely be 20. There will be some lose ends, but they will be tied up in the sequel. -N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2013.11.07 - 04:11PM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstarstar

Wow excellent chapter! You never fail to delivery, outstanding cliffy too!

Author's Response: Thanks, I'll try to deliver the final chapter by the end of the year. -N-



Reviewer: Emlyn Signed Date: 2013.11.07 - 09:27AM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

That's only a slight cliffy your leaving us hanging on. ;-) Great to see a new chapter. Lavender is….uh, Lavender. Play to your strengths indeed. It will be interesting to see how the tie in with Fenella plays out. Looking forward to the next installment. I do hope they finally catch him and the body count isn't too high.

Author's Response: Thanks.
It’s difficult to do a real cliffhanger when my readers know that almost all of the people “in peril” are alive and well nine years later. Ross is the only one whose fate lies in the balance. Lavender is using her "assets". :-D As for Fenella... More soon.
-N-



Reviewer: skiutahnum1 Signed Date: 2013.11.07 - 06:22AM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

He really is on his last days on the run...something tells me he is not going to see the sunset....kutgw

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. Something tells you... You may be correct. -N-



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2013.11.06 - 06:29AM Title: Prey: An Owl and two Alpha Males

starstarstarstarstar

Eight months we have waited for this and you leave us hanging. I had forgotten how great the characters in this story were. A little sooner for the next update would be great because we must be getting near to the end of this particular episode of your great universe.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
This chapter has been completely rewritten, as I decided against revealing what is going on between Doxine and Fenella. It's completely Harry/Ginny-free, too (sorry about that). However Harry and the Aurors will be back with a bang (several bangs, in fact) in the next chapter.
There are two chapters to go: Prey: The Strange Snake Bites, and Aftermath: Menagerie. Both are currently about 2000 words, and both will eventually be at least double that. I hope to be finished by Christmas.
-N-



Reviewer: Catracha Signed Date: 2013.09.08 - 07:56PM Title: The Snare: Snakeslayer and Snakes

This is keeping me up, I'm enjoying it so much!

Got the impression from the beginning of the chapter that Neville and Hannah hadn't been together long. First time out in public, her shock at him calling her his girlfriend. Then they just casually drop the L word? Just thought it seemed a bit out of place, but that's just my opinion :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
After rereading this, you may be right. I'll look to doing a minor rewrite, but it may be some time as I'm currently working on the next chapter.
-N-



Reviewer: Catracha Signed Date: 2013.09.08 - 06:23PM Title: The Hunt: Wolf Hunt

Haha love your Auror team! And the list of all the professions Harry could summon made me laugh.
So Harry's off into the wilderness again. I wonder how he'll survive with Ron and Hermione ... and I hope he's got a nice waterproof tent for the Cheviots!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.
I know where all of the DA are, and what they are doing. Harry's tent is magical, and definitely waterproof.
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2013.08.23 - 02:36AM Title: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

Hey Neil,

Just wondering when we might be able to expect an update on H&P. You had said as of April that it was up to 4000 words, but was curious if it's anywhere near close to being unveiled to your adoring fans.

Hope all is well.

Author's Response: Hi
The next chapter reached 6000 words recently, but it's now back down to 5000 as I've deleted a Fenella-centred section and I'm busy rewriting it from scratch. Some other sections need to be moved, too. I'm working on it now, and I hope to get something to Amelie within the next couple of weeks. I'm fine, but real life has again interfered with my writing.
-N-



Reviewer: I Love Ginerva Signed Date: 2013.04.25 - 01:33AM Title: The Snare: Tidings of Magpies

starstar

ok, do me (and the rest of your readers) a small favor?? STOP JUMPING FROM STORY LINE TO STORY LINE!!! it's getting confusing!!!

ILG

Author's Response: I'm sorry you don't like it. I've had very few complaints. The good news is that after chapter 14 I stop jumbing about in time. The bad news is I jump from character to character instead.
-N-



Reviewer: Silas Signed Date: 2013.04.03 - 06:16PM Title: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

This is my third review so I think it's become clear that we need another chapter. :P

I second NoTag's idea of someone writing fan-fiction on your fan-fiction. I know there are lots of little moments I'd love to see come to life (Nevil, Harry and Ron's boozy night out would be great for laughs).

Also I'm going to be a pain and point out that you've made other timing mistakes. :P I pointed one out with Harry's toast at Ron's wedding, in relation to Harry and Ginny setting a date. Still, considering the size of your expansion it's remarkable you've had so few.

I'm sure I'm not the only one eagerly awaiting the next chapter.

Author's Response:
Thanks, the next chapter is now at almost 4000 words, and four different perspectives, but it still needs a lot of work. So, to make certain people don’t forget me I’ve written an unexpected (to me), and short, one-shot.

If (when) I write a boozy night story it will be Harry’s Stag night (and/or Ginny’s Hen night).

I try to fix my errors, and know that I fixed the “date” error (you can check, if you want). According to the site log, I last edited After Breakfast on 30 November 2012, that’s probably when I fixed it. :-D The earliest version of After Breakfast (which was my first one-shot abd written before I'd completed Grave Days) had a different surname for Parvati, and I know that I’ve edited parts of the reference to Lavender in After Breakfast, too.

-N-



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2013.04.01 - 07:47PM Title: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

starstarstarstarstar

Rhys Owen. That's Mark Moon's best man. And the girl in the white shirt at the end of the previous chapter that Mark was running to had to be Lavender. I have so much fun reading (and re-reading) your different stories and making the connections between them. Someday someone will need to create a wiki reference site for your stuff. Has anyone started writing fanfiction based on Northumbrian canon, yet? With the introduction of your new and interesting characters (Mark Fenella, Rhys), I feel it's coming.

Dementor essence. That was something new. Useful for a potion like this. But it would need someone who's competent with potions. Snape passed out praise to the Slytherins like candy, so I don't know who would be a good suspect, other than Malfoy, and I doubt he'd be included or trusted. I suppose it might even be someone who wasn't mentioned in the books, older or younger than Harry's year.

The phoenix patronouses (patroni?) gave me an unhappy twinge as I remembered all the sub-standard fanfic stories where Harry is a phoenix/wolf/shark animagus, and he's the richest man in the world, and he's more powerful than 30 Merlins. Thank god I'm not reading that in your works. Every story seems to be cliche-free, and they're all enjoyable to read (if sometimes a touch disturbing). Good stuff, thank you for your writing.

Author's Response:
Thanks for the review.

Rhys will (eventually) be Mark’s best man. You’ve just seen their first meeting, by the time of Beard Hunters they are firm friends (although the status of Rhianna Wrigglesworth from the York Office remains vague). It’s beginning to need a wiki, as my spreadsheet is now six linked sheets and I know that I’ve made a couple of mistakes in my timing (so far solely relating to Michael Corner and Trudi Pepperill/Corner).

I don’t think that it’s giving much away if I tell you that you’ve met the potions expert in this story, and he/she (oops, nearly gave the sex away) will be revealed by the end of this story. I’ll give you a clue, it isn’t Gregory Goyle.

I read very little fanfiction, and I hionestly don’t know what most of the clichés are. I suspected that a phoenix patronus might be a cliché, but I couldn’t come up with anything better. I wanted Harry and Ginny to have matching patronuses (that’s the word JKR uses) and I certainly didn’t want Ginny to be a doe. The phoenix, with it’s constantly evolving constancy seemed to symbolise the Harry/Ginny relationship as I see it.

I’ve been doing a bit of “research” over on ffn recently. My initial conclusions are that characterisation appears to be optional, simply keeping the character’s name is enough. I know that many characters (like Terry Boot and Susan Bones) are little more than names in the books so they are fair game, but... I’ve just read my first (and last) Harry/Draco fic. The argument used by writers for these unlikly pairings is always “opposites attract” unless, of course, the “opposites” are Ron and Hermione, when it’s ”patently obvious” (to the writer) that it could never work (unlike say Draco/Hermione).

I think I’m beginning to foam at the mouth. I’ll go and sit in a quiet corner for a while.

-N-



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2013.03.28 - 08:39AM Title: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

starstarstarstarstar

So good! nice bit of tying up the Harry/Ginny mess. I like the way you explained how the cure was successful and the interaction between the characters is amazing as always. Always god to see your updates.

Author's Response: Thanks. The Harry/Ginny mess certainly needed tying up before he vanished back into a dangerous situation. -N-



Reviewer: intikhabalam12 Signed Date: 2013.03.27 - 01:58PM Title: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

thanx for the detailed reply for my previous review. One of the many reason i like you as an author is that you comment on each review and thus keep your readers in a loop.

One thing though, you mentioned in you reply to my review that you are working on draco/ginny story, but please please please i really like your harry potter universe (so close to JKR's), so don't make any romantic and I would say any friendly relationship with draco and ginny. I think by mind, draco and harry is a complete apposite of each other, if you admire one and you will automatically hate the other.

I am also agree with you that Ginny is very fond of Nevelle and their relationship is purely platonic. i also think that harry is also very fond of Neville and I don't think that there should be any jealousy factor in it.

Author's Response:
Thanks.
I'm a slow writer, and the longer the chapters the more rereads and rewrites I do before I send them to my betas (and when I get them back I usually rewrite again).
As for my Draco/Ginny story. Some time ago I wrote "The Secret Diary of Hermione Granger" for a Blaise/Hermione/Draco challenge on another site. It came second (there were two entries) and the other story was full of spellling an grammar errors. You can rest assurred that my Draco/Ginny story will be along the lines of "Secret Diary".
-N-



Reviewer: rbrt_emmer Signed Date: 2013.03.26 - 11:35PM Title: Prey: Lioness Snarls, Badger Baited

Hey Neal, just curious, I just read the list of stories you are currently working on and noticed Aurors and Schoolgirls isn't one of them. Any word on when a new chapter on that might be coming?

Author's Response: Hi.
I decided a while ago that writing three novel length stories (Strangers, A&S and H&P) was ridiculous. (I don’t count Epithalamium or Molly and her Daughter as “novels” because (to be honest) there is no overarching plot to them.) My plan is to finish H&P, and then return to A&S. I hope to finish A&S this year, too (it’s about time).
-N-




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear