Search:

SIYE Time:7:03 on 23rd April 2021

Reviews For Years

Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2020.07.01 - 06:38PM Title: Years

What a wonderful, rich journey all of your stories were!

Thank you.



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2017.05.26 - 04:00PM Title: Years

Have read all 3 parts multiple times over the years. Am having the most clarity I ever had with this time! Yay...

It's a wonderful fanfic! Thank you

Will also take the opportunity...on the presumption that you will eventually see this...to thank you again for the remarkable completion of MoO: Part Two...those 2 final chapters after so many years. That was a highpoint of integrity in this world...and, IMO, a true honoring of the inspiration that moved through you in bringing forth such an exquisite story.

Blessings...



Reviewer: PhoenixFeather2 Signed Date: 2016.07.15 - 04:18PM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

Hmm. This is a good trilogy. Thought provoking and serious, and very well written.



Reviewer: Ranma-sensei Signed Date: 2014.09.29 - 08:54AM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

Kind of bittersweet, but I like it.

I won't ask for clarification, but here's my theory: future!Harry was dying, and in a last-ditch effort to change the past, he and his Ginny went back in time to nudge their past selves together much sooner than they normally would. Also, getting rid of Harry's wand probably helped.

As always, your style of narration does not fail to delight me. Keep it that way. *smiles*

Best wishes,
Ranma-sensei



Reviewer: afpease Signed Date: 2013.05.18 - 04:02PM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

I saw your repost on metallic, and read that, so naturally had to re-read the entire trilogy (Finally). As a Huge H/G shipper since day 1, I always loved the premise of the story, and I think on going through it again, finally got a better understanding of the third story.

BTW, after reading story one again, I agree with notacat - still brings tears to my eyes.

There is so much background that you infer in these little tales, but never come out and state, that make the whole thing intriguing.

For a long time, I didn't really get how "Jaimie" and "Lily" specifically pranked Hermione, but my understanding now is that it's just that since she was the most perceptive, they were fooling her most of all, though they were pranking everyone.

I do hope that some day, you'll start to add on to MoO - there are so many classic greats that have never finished, and MoO is right up there with the best of them.

In any event, and regardless of whether you ever write another word, thanks for all of your hard work - I've enjoyed it all!

Alan



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2012.01.26 - 03:27PM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

Got to say I'm left more confused than ever...did those kids never exist? And if Ginny and Harry still exist on the other side how can Ginny and Harry exist on this side too?



Reviewer: YeCatsJ Signed Date: 2011.11.12 - 11:46AM Title: Years

starstarstarstar

Interesting concept that kinda begs a longer story while keeping the actual content short is very unique!!! I have to say I would have enjoyed more but it was quite good just the same!!!!



Reviewer: dshadel Signed Date: 2010.12.21 - 07:36PM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

Good little storys, im glad I found them

Author's Response: Me, too. Thanks for reading.
(I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.)



Reviewer: Aragorn Signed Date: 2010.10.19 - 01:28PM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

This is one of the rare times when we get to witness actual "magic" in this magical fanfiction universe. That's what I would call the alchemy of this trilogy.

I recall being so impacted by the emotional substance of Ages...and dumbfounded by the wand remnant in the fireplace. Months deepened the coherence...the emotional clarity...and now we have this one (love the tag line/Summary, by the way). I don't know if "coherent" is a word I'd apply to this one...but it's so rich, it doesn't matter. It doesn't matter if everything is tidy or if everyone "understands" it...it doesn't matter, because it's so real...and that's enough.

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.
High praise, indeed. I really, really wanted these stories to gel together into something that felt very human. They're not about war, or time travel, or transfiguration, or cleaning things. They're about people. Four people, really, though one of them is mostly present by implication and reference. And people aren't coherent, on the whole, so I decided not to worry about that very much. I just wanted readers to think about how the characters would feel and perhaps share that feeling a little bit.
It's probably not a shock that I love wordplay, so I admit that I spent way too much time polishing the summary. I'm glad you like it.
Thanks for the thoughtful review.



Reviewer: DukeBrymin Signed Date: 2010.10.19 - 01:25PM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice--I'm glad we were able to see the final chapter--it explained quite a bit.

It would be interesting to see this story arc from the other Harry's and Ginny's point of view--what led them to make the time trip.

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.
I admit - very quietly - that I've thought about the original couple's experiences. I had to, really, in order to write their interactions with the 'new' set properly. So far I haven't found anything compelling enough to put on paper, so to speak, but you never know.
Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2010.10.17 - 12:04PM Title: Years

oh, that makes much more sese now
it's a really bittersweet story but I enjoyed reading

Author's Response: Oh, sorry, I didn't notice that you'd left another review. It sounds like you caught up just fine. Thanks!



Reviewer: ginnyweasley777 Signed Date: 2010.10.17 - 11:42AM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

brilliantly written but confusing. I suppose that's because it's a while since I read the other stories, I'll have to re-read
I loved the way that Ginevra was Ginny but...not

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.
Yeah, if you didn't have a fresh grasp of the previous stories while reading this one, I think it would be tough to follow. I admit that I read "Ages" and "Months" at least three times each while writing and editing this one.
It was actually quite a challenge to separate Ginny from Ginevra, so I'm glad you can see the difference. Thanks!



Reviewer: aimless Signed Date: 2010.10.16 - 10:08AM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

Simply brilliant Trilogy. And too me it seems finsihed as well. Well done!

Tissue warning, imo! :)

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.
Thanks very much for the kind words. I'm glad you feel the same completion that I do.



Reviewer: hms42 Signed Date: 2010.10.16 - 09:10AM Title: Years

starstarstarstarhalf-star

No Review



Reviewer: BennettPotter Signed Date: 2010.10.16 - 12:17AM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent story - so glad that you tied up the loose ends for this saga. Just like the other two, I had to read through it 3 times to catch the many different things. Alternate universe rather than time travel?

The ending threw me the first time...guess I wasn't expecting Sirius and Fred to be live participants. I'm glad they survived though! I loved the fact that James and Lily weren't twins. This way it is a definited homage to both Alternate Harry and Ginny as well as Harry's parents. It leaves no question though that these are in fact current universes' Harry and Ginny's kids rather than something freaky with AU's Harry and Ginevra.

I'm so glad I read this again. I didn't catch it the first 2 times, but my favorite little thing in this story is how Harry so easily calls Ginny "Baby". So lovely.

On a side note: really looking forward to MoO update!!!

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.
I'm glad that this story tied up the loose ends for you; that was part of its purpose. As to the AU versus time travel question, I have to admit that I can't provide a clear answer. I took the rather scattered bits of info JKR has given us about the wizarding 'afterlife' and expanded it a bit to suit me. I would say that there isn't an alternate universe, per se, in which Ginevra and the other Harry can be together in peace. They truly died, and their actions made their futures cease to exist. Rather, they continue as inhabitants of the afterlife, or whatever you'd like to call it, until the 'real' Harry and Ginny die. What happens then? The existence and impact of the 'original' couple cannot be undone, so they cannot completely cease to exist. Perhaps they'll get their own sliver of the afterlife separate from everyone else's. In which case, maybe that's an alternate universe after all. Or perhaps an alternate afterlife.
Enough rambling. Thanks for hanging in there with these stories and spotting all the best bits. MoO is still in progress, though it's going very slowly. I'll post it as soon as I can find the time to work on it.



Reviewer: HGRHfan35 Signed Date: 2010.10.15 - 07:06AM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

I started to understand it somewhat with Months but I'm all here now.
It was beautiful and the ending brought a tear to my eye *snif....damn cold*

Thank you for finishing this.

C

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.
Ah, good. I wanted this story to answer the biggest outstanding questions while still being a story in and of itself. I'm happy that it seems to have worked in both regards.
Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: masonjar Signed Date: 2010.10.14 - 11:40PM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

No Review



Reviewer: afpease Signed Date: 2010.10.14 - 07:42PM Title: Years

I enjoyed the last chapter of your wonderful trilogy, but not quite as much as I expected to. I rather suppose that means that I'm missing something, So I will be re-reading then lot and providing another review when I have a clearer head with the entire trilogy more firmly in mind.

Thank you Soo much for all of your wonderful work, from Meaning of One, to the joint effort on the Contract, to this very entertaining and moving trilogy. I don't review nearly as often as I should, but your work deserves some extra effort on my part.

afpease (Alan)

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.
I'd be curious to know how you felt about this third story after re-reading the others. Not every story is a perfect fit for every reader, no matter how much we authors want to make them so. I think this set in particular is a 'tough sell' for a lot of people.
Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: Green Eyes Signed Date: 2010.10.14 - 05:15PM Title: Years

starstarstarstarstar

Man you are good at this! Itís a bittersweet story, but you ultimately provide enough answers to make it really satisfying. Whets my appetite for more MOO.

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on my review responses. Sorry about that.
Bittersweet is pretty much what I was going for, so I'm glad you got that out of it. These little stories were surprisingly difficult to write.
There is more MoO on the way, though my pace is very, very slow. Thanks for reading.



Reviewer: eladkse Signed Date: 2010.10.14 - 03:54PM Title: Years

starstarstarhalf-star

Great trilogy. I didn't quite get it in places, but it was well written none the less.

And on an even better note.... Meaning of One is coming back!!!!! (Cue fireworks)
I'd honestly thought you'd abandoned it. You proved me wrong. Thanks!

Author's Response: I'm a bit behind on responses. Sorry about that.
There was an awful lot to get in these three little stories. I like that, but I have the benefit of being able to invent the answers.
For the record, MoO is still coming back. It's slow, glacially so, but it's happening. Thanks for hanging in there.




../back
Ď! Go To Top Ď!

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & © 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights © J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site © 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code © 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding © 2008 by melkior and Bear