Search:

SIYE Time:7:09 on 23rd April 2021

Reviews For Legwork

Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2017.01.05 - 01:40AM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

I love Mummy Ginny



Reviewer: BkRmGrl87 Signed Date: 2016.08.23 - 01:09PM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

starstarstarstarstar

This is beautiful! Thank you for this wonderful story. I loved the plot and the writing was superb. I can't believe I don't remember reading this one, but I don't think I had. I loved Ginny's organization and how it was so thorough. This epilogue was perfect.



Reviewer: nayin1704 Signed Date: 2016.06.11 - 10:02AM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

Love the Mummy Gin nickname. She really is Harry's equal



Reviewer: BrianMcLyr Signed Date: 2015.09.12 - 10:14PM Title: Dumbledore's Army, Still Recruiting

starstarstarstarstar

you presented the Ginny that Jo only alluded to, but every one on this site wanted



Reviewer: brown_eyed_gurl87 Signed Date: 2012.07.03 - 03:20AM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

starstarstarstarstar

Wows! I loved your story, it made me laugh and cry and care for all it's characters :)
I'm so happy there are stories like these out there because I know the golden trio are the stars and all; there is more. Ginny, Neville, Luna and many others deserve credit for their efforts too. Thanks for writing this story and sharing it with us here ;)

Author's Response: Thank you! The characters drive my writing, so I'm glad they seemed real enough to care about to you also. I've always wondered about the rest of Hogwarts, the bits we didn't get to see because Harry was so wrapped up in everything else. (Granted, he had plenty to be wrapped up in!) Ginny and Neville and Luna are part of that other Hogwarts we don't see for a very long time. I'm very glad you enjoyed this!



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2012.06.11 - 01:12AM Title: To Each Their Own Fight

starstarstarstarhalf-star

One error to gripe about: I must way three stone more than you.
I think you meant "weigh."

Author's Response: oh. dear. I hate mistakes like that. Of course, you are completely right, and I'm horrified I missed that. Thanks for pointing it out!



Reviewer: SYLVELLE Signed Date: 2012.06.07 - 12:42AM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

starstarstarstar

I really enjoyed it. Glad Harry, Ron and Hermione showed up for the epilogue.
nice job.

Author's Response: I really couldn't write the whole story without them! I'm glad you liked it. :)



Reviewer: Belleowl Signed Date: 2012.06.02 - 01:25PM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

starstarstarstarstar

Great story. I loved legwork! Brilliant idea

Author's Response: Thank you! Legwork dropped straight into my head when I read the challenge prompt; I just had to write it out. I'm glad you enjoyed it. :)



Reviewer: MyGinevra Signed Date: 2012.06.02 - 11:13AM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really enjoyed this story, especially the nuanced way you portrayed Ginny and her relationship with Neville. Well done!

Author's Response: Thank you :) I put a lot of thought into Neville and Ginny's interactions, so I'm glad some of that came across. Don't we all wish we had a friend like Neville!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.05.21 - 09:21AM Title: To Each Their Own Fight

starstarstarhalf-star

So now you've created a bunch of super warrior types who seem to know everything. Ginny said 'these are my texts from when I studied to be a Healer' - Ginny is a healer? These kids don't seem like they need to be at school at all, they've managed to teach themselves everything they need to know. Harry really doesn't seem necessary at all. It doesn't seem like Ginny thinks he's necessary either - it is reading a lot like a Neville/Ginny story.

Author's Response: Ah, I didn't write that bit very clearly; my apologies! Madame Pomfrey gave her old textbooks to Professor Sprout to pass on to the students, and she wrote that note. Ginny was reading it aloud to Demelza. It makes me cringe a bit to write this, because Harry is (deservingly!) the hero of JKR's story. But Harry isn't necessary for what Ginny and the rest of Legwork are trying to do: defending Hogwarts. However, Ginny and company are not trying to defeat Voldemort! Harry is completely necessary to do that, which is why he's hunting Horcruxes. But he can't hunt Horcruxes and defend Hogwarts at the same time, so Ginny and Neville are rising to the task. And that brings us to the last thing you mentioned: it's reading like a Neville/Ginny story. I was afraid it could be read that way, and I'm not quite sure how to defend against that. I think Neville and Ginny have a very close friendship; they went to the Yule Ball in GoF, fought at the Ministry in OotP, and fought again in HBP. Ginny also comes from a large, loud, passionate family, and she's used to frequently hugging (or tackling, as the case may be) the people she cares about. Ginny does care deeply for Neville, but in the same way Hermione and Harry care for each other. Now I've written you a second story explaining my first one...which means the first one potentially missed important pieces. Drat. Thank you for pointing these though; this is the only way for me to improve! I really appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts for me.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.05.21 - 09:10AM Title: Executing

starstarstarhalf-star

I like the idea of using the other clubs, but I'm not really seeing how Legwork is seperate from the DA. I thought at first it was going to be a supportive team or just helping the younger ones stay safe, but now they are studying defence and survival so it doesn't feel so different.

Author's Response: I originally intended for Legwork to support the DA, but it really ended up the other way around, with the DA supporting Legwork. Funny how our creations take over, isn't it? I think the most important difference is in the spirit of the groups. The DA is more Weasley spirit (think Fred and George!) in that it's rebellious, head-strong, mischievious, and daring in order to undermine the Carrows. Legwork is more Prewett spirit, the way Molly explained it to Ginny on the platform in the first chapter; it's about keeping the students safe no matter what, even if that is through studying defense and survival. You could also compare the DA to Gryffindor (daring and nerve) and Legwork to Hufflepuff (who are fiercely loyal, to the point of defending each other).



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.05.21 - 08:58AM Title: Running Out of Ideas

starstarstarstar

Very interesting, I'm glad she's come up with an idea to help. The poor first years, at least Madam Pomfrey is there to help. Neville with a broken nose was a funny touch. The conversation about legwork was surprisingly negative - Harry, not Hermione, did plan the lessons for the DA, it talks about it in OOTP

Author's Response: My roommates thought I was crazy when I was writing that bit about Neville's nose; I couldn't stop giggling to myself! As for the legwork conversation, you and I know Harry planned the DA lessons, but remember it's Seamus speaking here, and his view point is a bit different than ours. He's a bit of a goofball and he likes to tease. He also wouldn't speak to Harry for quite a length of time during their fifth year, and I thought that would color his memories even after he apologized. I'm glad you thought the idea was interesting though, and I do appreciate the review!



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.05.21 - 08:30AM Title: Dumbledore's Army, Still Recruiting

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Great beginning. The poor Muggleborns - I really liked the relationship you showed between Ginny and her Mum, very sweet.

Author's Response: Thank you! I have to admit that I'm very close with my own mother, so it's natural for me to write Ginny and her mum being close as well. I'm glad you liked it. :)



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.05.18 - 08:41PM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

starstarstarstarstar

Congratulations for completing a very good story. I nominated you for the Trinket award for best drama because you deserve it.... This story ticks all the boxes.... any errors or shortcomings? Hey, nobody is perfect and perfection is over rated.

Author's Response: SQUEE! My apologies for the completely undignified response, but I never expected to be nominated for a Trinket! My main goal is for the reader to enjoy the story, and this is an honor beyond that. A very heart-felt thank you to you.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.05.18 - 08:39PM Title: To Each Their Own Fight

starstarstarstarstar

From dramatic scenes to c subdude Happy Easter..... brilliant chapter. Sometimes less is more. As long as the scenes make sense and continue to keep the Muggle film rolling by means of quill on parchment, you are on to a winner. You can always do outtkaes in the future ... and I am sure they will be good ones because you have laid down a very good foundation of plot and strorylines.

Author's Response: Thank you for the feedback on my experiment in writing styles! I am very glad that everything made sense and that the scenes flowed together well. As for outtakes? Well, Ginny and company will not get out of my head. Every OC I've introduced has a face and a story in my head that extends far beyond what you see here, and I'm very much wanting to share them with you. I'm afraid Ginny herself is demanding a more novel-length piece to tell her story properly...but we'll see about that particular project!



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.05.18 - 08:34PM Title: Executing

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent characterisation, description, communication of ideas.... well done, you.

Author's Response: Really now, I'm blushing. ;) But in all honesty, thank you for the praise. I struggled a bit with how to convey how the different students championed each piece of Legwork, so I'm really glad you enjoyed it.



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.05.18 - 08:32PM Title: Running Out of Ideas

starstarstarstarstar

Lots of action, activity, drama, emotional upheavals, bravery, fear, heroism... and everything else in between. I had to skim through this chapter because my heart cannot take the excellent way you put quill on parchment and make it alive like muggle films.

Author's Response: What a compliment! Thank you. :) I can see the whole scene playing out in my head as I write, so I'm quite pleased it reads that way as well. I do hope you enjoyed the chapter despite the intensity!



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.05.18 - 08:28PM Title: Dumbledore's Army, Still Recruiting

My attention was drawn to the paragraphs referring to muggle born frist years being questioned, listed and carted off somewhere to whatever fate..... Merlin.... this reminded me of Nazi Germany and the death camps. You really captured this so well. Excellent first chapter.

Author's Response: I have to admit Nazi Germany wasn't at all on my mind when I wrote that scene...but it is eerily similar, isn't it? I can only imagine what the Muggle-born first years and their families were feeling when they not only had to deal with a new world but a very hostile new world. The dramatic potential is endless. I'm glad you liked the chapter, and thank you for the review!



Reviewer: Abraxan Signed Date: 2012.05.18 - 03:23PM Title: Epilogue: Mummy Gin

starstarstarstar

What a satisfying end to a very entertaining story! And I love the way you wrote Harry, Rona and Hermione - you kept them perfectly in character. Your story was well-paced, well-written and never had a dull spot. Your characters were very much in character, which I love. I think you were wise to show Luna losing her dreaminess as the seriousness of what they were doing changed her. War is hell and people change because of it, and too few fanfic authors get that right. You got it. Well done!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed reading my story. I try hard to write with the characterizations JKR gave us, so hearing that I did it well really means a lot to me. Thank you for your giving reviews and feedback as you read each and every chapter!



Reviewer: Abraxan Signed Date: 2012.05.18 - 03:16PM Title: To Each Their Own Fight

The shorter scenes add more of a sense of urgency to the chapter when they're as tightly written as these are. I'd prefer longer scenes with more detail, but there is a place for this kind of 'quick cut" writing. Nice job.

Abraxan

Author's Response: I think I prefer writing longer scenes as well; it was a long night of cutting these and rereading them and rereading them again to get them in the form they are. I really appreciate your feedback on my experiment, and I'm very glad it worked in this instance!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear