Search:

SIYE Time:15:10 on 26th October 2021

Reviews For May The Second

Reviewer: Lonecall Signed Date: 2012.10.17 - 10:09PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

Bravo. I must say, like many of the other commenters, I found this to be an extremely well written story. One of the things I value in stories most is believablility. So many fics (90% I'd say) just don't stay true to the characters or the situation. This tale was beautifully told and so very true to the characters and the situation. I can see this being how it happened.

My only 'critique' was that I found it difficult to read at first. Most likely this is because so few stories are written first person, so it took a minute to get my head wrapped around the tense. Once I did get into it though, it was a story I couldn't stop reading. Simply superb!

Like many of the other readers, I would love to see the story continued on in some fashion. Thank you for sharing it.

Author's Response: SIYE is not liking me today! I wrote out a ridiculously long response to your lovely and helpful review so you may be very pleased that you were spared. Here is the gist: Oh man, I totally agree with you on the tense thing. I am a hypocrite and have avoided stories for the same reason. I tried to make it third person, past tense for a while but I could not make it work, my focus being on Ginny's thoughts/reflections. The breakdown was where I gave in, it worked so much better for me in this tense that I had to stick with it. There are still parts of it, though, that would have worked better, I think, in third person past. C'est la vie. This is not my fav. tense to write in either, and I kept switching my verbs and sticking in pronouns where there shouldn't have been. Yay for betas! This is going to stay a one shot. Forever. I have the attention span of a chinchilla (which I imagine is slightly better than a hamster) so no long fics from me. I am, however, semi-working on a sequel (which will not be in the same tense/pov as this) and a few other short stories in this universe. I don't really have time to work them out until winter break, and I don't even want to make promises for them then. I don't want to do them by halves, and for me that means it may be a little while. I hope you'll still be interested when I finally get them rolled out. Thank you so much for your encouraging words and keep the critiques coming :D And yes, this is actually shorter than what I originally wrote, as hard that probably is to believe. *head-desk*



Reviewer: allabouthp Signed Date: 2012.10.09 - 09:24PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

Excellent! I've read a lot of "after the battle" fics and this one is perfect!

Author's Response: Wow! Yay! Perfect? That's... thank you so much! You're awesome!



Reviewer: Silverwolfsm Signed Date: 2012.09.24 - 06:59AM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

eI would love for you to continue with this story, either by adding on to this story or by starting a sequel. Please and Thank you!

Author's Response: Me too! Sorry I took so long to reply! I am slowly working out a few more short stories that are set in this universe. A sequel is one of the ones in the works, but I have a lot of opposing ideas on how things could pan out from here and I'm trying to figure out which one makes the most sense. I am afraid it may be awhile, I really want to make them right, but hopefully I can make good headway come winter break. Thank you so much for the review! A little encouragement is always a wonderful gift :D



Reviewer: NoTagBacks Signed Date: 2012.09.12 - 11:27PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Nice story. I enjoyed reading the aftermath from Ginny's viewpoint. Of course, like all well-written short stories, it leaves me wanting more. Looking forward to another tale from you soon.

Sorry I don't have any constructive criticism for you. Go bug your Beta if you want that.

Author's Response: Thank you! I do have some follow up plans in the works for this, so my beta is definitely going to be getting bugged, hopefully in the not-too-distant-future. I'm sorry I took so long to reply, RL has been a bit of a whirlwind recently. Thank you for your review and your compliments, they're very helpful in their own right and quite lovely to hear (erm... read).



Reviewer: arwen85 Signed Date: 2012.09.10 - 12:12PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

Great story, really. One of the best I have read about the postbattle Harry & Ginny's reunion so far.

Author's Response: Thank you! I really appreciate you taking the time to review! I'm so sorry I'm so late to reply.



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2012.09.04 - 04:44PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

This had so many moments that made me re-read just to get the rush of emotion again. Fantastic writing:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2012.08.08 - 06:05PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

Very, very sweet and very well done. I think you captured her range of emotions very well.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!



Reviewer: mdauben Signed Date: 2012.07.25 - 03:33PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

As another reviewer has said, the "after the battle" scenario has been done to death (if you'll pardon the expression), but I agree that your version is particularly well done. Ginny's turbulent and at times conflicting emotions come across as very real and very heartrending. I think the format was just right too. Continuing this on into a multi-chapter story might just be too much angst. Here, we've gone through it, we understand at least something of what it was like for one of the characters after the battle, and now we've ended on a hopeful note for the future.

Author's Response: I agree with you, it is definitely not my intention to turn this into a multi-chapter fic. As I was saying to another reviewer, there is the possibility of there being another one shot down the road to serve as a sequel to this, but it really depends on whether or not I find a way to keep the tone that I want and not turn it into a slobbering angst fest or, alternatively, something that isn't realistic to the situations the characters are in. I'm going to keep writing when I can, and since this is basically my head canon for post-battle, it's possible that this will be referenced again at some point, but for now, it's going to stay as it is. I'm really glad that the pace and the length of the story worked for you the way I hoped it would. Thank you so much for reviewing, I love getting feedback !



Reviewer: annep Signed Date: 2012.07.23 - 05:24PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

True, this scenario is pretty much a beaten-dead horse (another death metaphor!), but when it's written as well as this was, then it's very welcome indeed. I especially liked how you were able to show the range of emotions that such a time would evoke in a realistic way and how you kept true to the characters. I hope to read more of your work, thanks for sharing this with us.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really pleased to hear that you find it realistic and in-character, because ultimately, I think, that's what's most important in a story. And I do use death metaphors all the time (case in point, with the dead horse) without even thinking about it, so that's where her realization came from in the story, just thinking about the way we use language and the problems that can come up when we're thrust into situations where suddenly these words have much more weight.



Reviewer: Green Eyes Signed Date: 2012.07.19 - 10:14AM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

Very nice job. The general topic itself may indeed be a dead horse, but your take on it felt really fresh. I particularly liked all of the character insights that came from it being Ginny's POV.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed my take :D As much as I worried about the choice of doing it in first-person/present tense, I'm happy that it allowed me to follow Ginny and make it in her voice, because I love stories where we can really get into the heads of characters besides Harry (as much as I love being in his head, too).



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2012.07.19 - 04:20AM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarhalf-star

This is a wonderful post- battle story. Well detailed and expressed.

Author's Response: Thank you so much!



Reviewer: crystaltips1 Signed Date: 2012.07.19 - 03:06AM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

This is one of the best after the battle stories that I have read.Really
beautifully written and though emotional you managed to make it
realistic. I hate fics where they have Ginny slapping Harry and full
of anger,as you say she can see the bigger picture and not be petty.

I hope the good reviews will encourage you to write a sequel.

kutgw

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Those fics bother me as well, particularly when they make the reason the fact that he broke up with her, when we already know how she handled that (and it was far from slapping him). It makes me really happy to see all of the positive feedback (and someone nominated it for a Trinket-- I can't even handle that! I'm so grateful to you all)! But as I said, the ideas have to be there, and although I have a starting point for if I were to make a sequel, I have no idea where I would end it, or really how I would handle everything that would come up from this point. I agree with the review who said it could easily become too heavy and angst-filled and that would not be something I want to do. Nor do I want to write a version of events that doesn't ring true to me. So for now, at least, this is going to stay as a stand-alone. Thank you again for your review and your kind words!



Reviewer: ngayonatkailanman Signed Date: 2012.07.18 - 09:20PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

Very detailed. Well done, you.

Author's Response: Thank you! I do love the details :)



Reviewer: destin4fl Signed Date: 2012.07.18 - 08:17PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

outstanding

Author's Response: Thank you! :D



Reviewer: Tazio Signed Date: 2012.07.18 - 06:50PM Title: May the Second

This is a really impressive bit of writing, thank you so much for sharing it with us. Writing (and reading) stream of consciousness has always been something of a trial for me, but this was really done. I am especially fond of Ginny's thoughts as she finally breaks down- probably the best I have ever seen that particular scene written, and let's face it, it's been written a lot of times. Thanks again, -Jason (Tazio)

Author's Response: Thank you! Wow, that is really high praise. I don't know what to say. I'm glad you enjoyed it and that it resonated with you! I've seen so many post--battle fics and, no matter how well written, there was always something in each one that just didn't quite fit with me, so it was fun to try and hash out why and then make something that felt plausible to me. I'm just really excited to see that it seems to be resonating with other people as well, especially since it is a topic that's been done to death. Thank you so much for your review!



Reviewer: gemz1313 Signed Date: 2012.07.18 - 05:09PM Title: May the Second

Gutted to see this is a one shot :'(
Any chance of other one shots following them? Did they get found out got sharing the bed? How do the weasleys cope after the funeral?
We need more of your amazing storytelling!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! There may, possibly, be a sequel. I don't want to make any promises at this point, but it is a possibility. It all depends on how much time I have once the half-formed ideas about what would go down after this actually solidify in my mind. I am going to say that this is never going to turn into an epic/novel kind of thing. I have a huge amount of respect and admiration for the people who can turn those out, but I am not one of them. I am one of those people who tends to have long projects scoot further and further to the back burner until they've actually been absorbed into the wall behind the stove and disappear from my memory completely, and I'd hate to start something and not be able to finish it. So, anything from me is going to be relatively short and (hopefully) sweet. If you would like, I have a short fic (too short to post here) featuring Teddy that you can check out over here: http://pepperam.livejournal.com/7854.htm l. Thank you again for reviewing and for your interest in reading more! I really appreciate it :D



Reviewer: gemz1313 Signed Date: 2012.07.18 - 05:00PM Title: May the Second

Gutted to see this is a one shot :'(
Any chance of other one shots following them? Did they get found out got sharing the bed? How do the weasleys cope after the funeral?
We need more of your amazing storytelling!



Reviewer: gemz1313 Signed Date: 2012.07.18 - 04:51PM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

Beautiful story. So well written, heart wrenching, so emotional. I love you it

Author's Response: Thank you so much!



Reviewer: whizz kid potter Signed Date: 2012.07.18 - 08:15AM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

WOW!!! i loved this so much :) this was really amazing and (even if its embarassing) it made me cry...

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I hope it wasn't too depressing.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2012.07.18 - 07:24AM Title: May the Second

starstarstarstarstar

What a powerful, emotional and emotive bit if writing. It was possibly too good because the beginning made me feel quite depressed. It was also a bit of a roller coaster when Ginny found Harry, but I am sure it will all end happy ever after.

Author's Response: Thank you! I imagine things will continue to be a bit of a roller coaster for them for awhile, and at times quite depressing, but they'll get there. I'm really glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for reviewing!




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear