Search:

SIYE Time:18:51 on 29th November 2021


Reviewer: BkRmGrl87 Signed Date: 2016.12.06 - 06:48PM Title: Journey And Arrival

Good job. I hope you finish this story. The flow and plot as it stands, has worked out really well so far. I home this isn't abandoned completely. I hope to see an update in the future.

Author's Response: Thanks. The future is such an uncertain place.



Reviewer: BrianMcLyr Signed Date: 2015.09.13 - 02:22PM Title: Journey And Arrival

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Damn pity to abandon this, I don't have a grammar badge, in fact I think they have a warrant for my arrest too, but this was a good premise that I would have waded through grammar, spellcheck and editing errors to read

Author's Response: Whoa! Thank you. That's a lot considering the grammar here was 2 inches away from hell.



Reviewer: Lord Otello Signed Date: 2015.03.30 - 01:42AM Title: Journey And Arrival

Hi, I hope you are doing great. Just one question, do you plan on finishing this story? Greetings

Author's Response: There are no plans at the moment. But, who knows...



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2014.06.18 - 06:45PM Title: Journey And Arrival

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thanks



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2014.06.18 - 06:43PM Title: Surprises

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thank you



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2014.06.18 - 06:43PM Title: The Burrow

starstarstarstarstar

No Review

Author's Response: Thank you



Reviewer: riegert8 Signed Date: 2014.06.18 - 06:31PM Title: The Girl-Who-Dreamed

starstarstarstarstar

That different in how Harry get bonded to Ginny, normal he save her life then get bonded

Author's Response: Different good or different bad?



Reviewer: KateP Signed Date: 2013.05.11 - 10:46AM Title: The Girl-Who-Dreamed

starstarstarstarhalf-star

I really enjoyed the story one of my fav types of H/G stories are bond ones and yours is up there with my favs

hope you write more as the way you left it just gets my mind thinking of the reaction everyone would have to Ginny's name being Potter

Author's Response: Thanks



Reviewer: AccioEye31713 Signed Date: 2012.12.01 - 02:30PM Title: Journey And Arrival

starstarstar

I will say that I liked the story as you presented it. It did seem to border within the limits of the challenge (based on the challenge wording, the siblings would have heard about the bond already). I like the approach you took to it either way. It is a good basis for expanding the story and I like how you "outed" the bonding at the end of this chapter.

My main bit of feedback, and the one thing that limits this to three stars, is grammar and usage. I do not know if beta readers are not allowed in challenges or not, but you would really fare better with one. Your ideas are good, and the underlying flow and pace are on target. However your word usage is very distracting. With the aid of a good beta, you could really have a good story shaping up here.

Author's Response: Back then I didn't even know what a beta was. Thank you



Reviewer: sapphire200182 Signed Date: 2012.11.28 - 10:54AM Title: Journey And Arrival

Judged for Challenge. The beginning was promising, with an interesting perspective, a more indirect plot and descriptions which had more show rather than tell. The incidents of Ginny's accidental Apparation and birthday gift were very nuanced and had some interesting layers. But Chapter 4 was a severe letdown as thousands of words are lifted direct from Philosopher's Stone. I would have much preferred you to continue the original work of the previous three chapters. The incidents covered may be the same, but it is important to tell the story in one's own voice, not J.K. Rowling's.

Author's Response: Agree 300%. I had awful grammar and didn't know how to write back then.



Reviewer: MyGinevra Signed Date: 2012.11.27 - 09:37PM Title: Journey And Arrival

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Of all the bonds in this challenge, your was the most nuanced and finely-developed. I liked how both Harry and Ginny acted their ages. Their confusion and embarrassment was sweet, and exactly as two children their ages would act. The last chapter was kind of a cliffy, I only half-expected it. I hope you continue the story.

Author's Response: Why thank you



Reviewer: pottermania Signed Date: 2012.11.27 - 05:51PM Title: The Girl-Who-Dreamed

starstarstar

A typical Weasley day...lol! I do agree with the other reviewer who said that the grammatical errors do make it harder to read.

Author's Response: Yeah. I'm not a native English speaker and past-me sucked at grammar.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2012.11.22 - 08:09PM Title: Journey And Arrival

starstarstarstar

Ah, the boot has finally dropped. I have to admit that it was dramatic. I continue to think this story is very well paced, but now I see that it is intended to be the first part of something bigger. I'm looking forward to finishing it. Thanks--Eric B.

Author's Response: Thanks.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2012.11.22 - 08:02PM Title: Surprises

starstarstarstar

This was clearly a transitional chapter. I was left a bit confused however. I'm beginning to wonder about the headaches they seem to be having, as well as the lack of progress in their developing an understanding of their magical bond. We still haven't seen it referenced in any conversation between the two, although we know how important it is. After all, it drew Dumbledore to the Alley. My curiosity is aroused.

Author's Response: Thank you.



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2012.11.22 - 07:54PM Title: The Burrow

starstarstarstar

The pace and direction of your story are good. The interaction with the rest of the family at the Burrow is allowing Harry to ease into his new situation with Ginny. You haven't even really explained to the reader what exactly has happened, but you're building up to it. We end up anticipating the next chapter even more. You did have a couple mechanical errors. You can't have two people doing dialogue in the same paragraph. You need to start a new one. Apart from that, you're doing a great job.

Author's Response: Thank you



Reviewer: Spenser Hemmingway Signed Date: 2012.11.22 - 07:45PM Title: The Girl-Who-Dreamed

starstarstarstar

I liked this less dramatic initial encounter between the two. Naturally, the basis of the Challenge requires their powerful bonding, but your approach seemed to be more realistic. Your characterizations are good as well. I'm looking forward to the nex chapter.

Author's Response: Thanks



Reviewer: Senator of Sorcery Signed Date: 2012.11.20 - 08:21PM Title: Journey And Arrival

Whoa! Didn't see that coming. HarryBond007 didn't play the married theme very much... but whoa... Ginny starts Hogwarts early. Cool.

Author's Response: Thanks



Reviewer: ProfessorBinns79 Signed Date: 2012.11.18 - 03:12AM Title: Journey And Arrival

starstarstarstar

Like many who have reviewed this story, I found the technical aspects of your writing (i.e. grammar) distractingly awful. It is usually impossible to follow a story with grammar this bad, but the story aspects of you writing are quite good! You have a good plot here, and I found myself enjoying the story despite any difficulties.

Your idea to have the adults involved keep the bond a secret from Harry and Ginny themselves was so good that I'm shocked no one else thought of it. Instead of the usual emotional outbursts from Molly and active interference by Dumbledore, we have here a very reasonable parental decision (assuming that they plan on telling Harry and Ginny when they're old enough to handle it); although, I expect that conflict may be looming now that the Sorting Hat has (at least partially) revealed the secret.

Two other small critiques I had (besides the grammar) were that you rehashed a lot of canon (Sometimes it would be good to just skip over things that are the same in your story.) and you haven't (yet) gotten into the Goblins role in Harry and Ginny's bond. I expect the latter will be coming in future chapters.

I really hope that you will finish this story. If you work on the grammar issues, it could really be excellent. I look forward to reading more!


Author's Response: I agree with you wholeheartedly that my grammar was awful. Thanks for saying it was enjoyable besides the grammar.



Reviewer: Emlyn Signed Date: 2012.11.17 - 01:02PM Title: Journey And Arrival

What a way to end the chapter! Quite the cliffhanger. This is certainly going to change things. It seems you quoted a great deal from the book. You should probably take care to cite the reference and indicate clearly which parts are directly from the book. Very interesting.

Author's Response: Thanks



Reviewer: v_t Signed Date: 2012.11.13 - 08:41AM Title: Journey And Arrival

Looking forward to seeing what you haveplanned to happen next.

Author's Response: Me too




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear