Search:

SIYE Time:14:08 on 26th October 2021


Reviewer: Arnel Signed Date: 2015.05.26 - 07:04AM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstarstar

Since I seem to have lived through most of your references, I'm feeling rather old. Glad to know that Wizard Dip is keeping the hostiles under control. Well done. Good luck with the Challenge.

Author's Response: I am not sure which is the more fun---finding the older cultural references or watching the reactions of those who look them up. I'm not a bit surprised at how many people remember Mr. Ed, Gilligan's Island, and The Partridge Family. Then I meet people who don't know who Leroy Jethro Gibbs is. It's a fun device to use. Thanks for reading--Eric B.



Reviewer: GHL Signed Date: 2015.05.20 - 12:09PM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstarstar

So you have once again achieved your inimitable nuttiness, with a sprinkling of morality rhetoric to boot! Well done!

Author's Response: Ah, nuttiness. I have a sudden urge to bake Freedonian dried fig cookies with pickled huckleberries, green chocolate chips, toe jelly frosting, and lots of shaved Oregon hazel nuts on top. Mmmm...what a treat. It will inspire my next story if it doesn't kill me. Morality rhetoric? Hmm, I guess I was able to include a tad bit. Thank you very much for reading this. All of you are why I write. Eric B.



Reviewer: Mistress_Lrigtar Signed Date: 2015.05.19 - 11:26PM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstarstar

I loved this and all the hidden references, of many I am sure I missed. My favorites were the bat cave and Hutchinson and Starsky. Wizarding Dip, was brilliant and now that I think about it I imagine there must have a been some wizards working on the production of Roger Rabbit. I'm glad you were able to find the time to write and post for the challenge. Good luck!

Author's Response: Writing our fan fiction, as opposed to the more original avenues, is first a means of promoting Harry/Ginny, and secondly to have some fun doing so. If you have read any of my other stories, you will see that I love all the outside references. I've utilized everything from Bugs Bunny to Doctor Who to Bing Crosby. It's fun, it's a wonderful learning tool, and I hope it's something that my readers enjoy as much as I do. Thank you for reading--Eric B.



Reviewer: carolyn jinn Signed Date: 2015.05.19 - 12:42AM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstar


Very interesting read.
Good luck with the challenge.

Author's Response: It was a lot of fun to write. Thanks for reading--Eric B.



Reviewer: Bethina Signed Date: 2015.05.17 - 07:50PM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstarstar

I love your placement of pop culture references. Well done!

Author's Response: Parody and the occasional cultural reference are just plain fun. Our fan fiction is the perfect platform since nothing is copy written--it's all just for that fun and practice. I have to be much more careful when I write my original, non Harry/Ginny work. Thanks for reading--Eric B.



Reviewer: ellen Signed Date: 2015.05.17 - 02:43PM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Love this AU. A good response to the challenge - its obvious (once you'd pointed it out) that not all the portraits would be friendly, helpful characters. I bet they hadn't had such a chance to cause havoc for decades. Fun idea for Starsky and Hutch to patrol the portraits to help solve the problem.

Author's Response: It took me a bit of time to think of something original for this Challenge. A few years ago I wrote a book-length "The Best of Times" that includes an evil portrait of Voldemort. That gave me the spark. The rest came while my family sat watching the CBS series "Person of Interest". The portraits, like surveillance cameras, are everywhere and can be either good or bad. The Hogwarts paintings have personalities however, and that complicates out heroes' relationship with them. The "Starsky and Hutch" reference was inspired by a friend of mine, Louie, who owns and shows a restored car from that series. Thanks for reading my story--Eric B.



Reviewer: Dad Signed Date: 2015.05.17 - 10:46AM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstarhalf-star

You paint a good image.

Author's Response: Thanks. I write my stories to be read aloud. The best storytellers are those that can paint the experience in the readers'/listeners' mind's eye. It's something I really try to achieve. I appreciate your taking the time to read this--Eric B.



Reviewer: Broom Rider Signed Date: 2015.05.16 - 11:08PM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstarstar

I love how you are able to write the story in present tense. I've seen this done so poorly too often. Where was Spenser in the story. I miss him, especially when he interacts with Luna. What is next?

Author's Response: I prefer to write in the present tense, especially if it involves a narrator. Apart from comic relief, the character Spenser is primarily a storyteller. I didn't use him here, except for the last few sentences. I like the feel of the story if it's told as if it is occurring just as you read it. Thanks for reading--Eric B.



Reviewer: potterfan2008 Signed Date: 2015.05.16 - 09:06AM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstar

Loved it! What a brilliant idea :). I never thought that some portraits would be more sympathetic to the Slytherins. The Wizarding Dip is a great solution and a very Hermione type thing to do.

Author's Response: I had utilized a portrait in my book-length "The Best of Times" and I revisited that for ideas about the character of all magical portraits. A bit of inspiration hit me. Hermione was a stripper in my "A Working Title". Thanks for reading--Eric B.



Reviewer: Trucker Signed Date: 2015.05.16 - 12:38AM Title: The Fine Art Of Not-So-Fine Art

starstarstarstarhalf-star

Long time no read... glad you found the time to write such an entertaining little tale.

Author's Response: It's always fun writing Harry/Ginny. I've been working a non-Potter book for a while now, and it has been eating my time. I'm considering a fifth book here in my "Three Ginnys" series. We'll see. Thanks for reading--Eric B.




../back
! Go To Top !

Sink Into Your Eyes is hosted by Computer Partners. HARRY POTTER, characters, names and related characters are trademarks of Warner Bros. TM & 2001-2006. Harry Potter Publishing Rights J.K.R. Note the opinions on this site are those made by the owners. All stories(fanfiction) are owned by the author and are subject to copyright law under transformative use. Authors on this site take no compensation for their works. This site 2003-2006 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Special thanks to: Aredhel, Kaz, Michelle, and Jeco for all the hard work on SIYE 1.0 and to Marta for the wonderful artwork.
Featured Artwork © 2003-2006 by Yethro.
Design and code 2006 by SteveD3(AdminQ)
Additional coding 2008 by melkior and Bear